BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Greater East Tennessee

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/03/2011

Champion Roofing Services, Inc.

Phone: (865) 332-0318Fax: (865) 890-78243257 Regal Drive, AlcoaTN 37701FacebookTwitter! There is an alert for this business !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/03/2011

BBB has determined that Champion Roofing Services, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

BBB Accredited in Florida since 1996

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Champion Roofing Services, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
02/18/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Champion said they would do all the repairs and charge only, what the insurance company pays. Signed contract for $$$ and was billed $$$. Charged extra for materials used. Have agreed on amount in writing after work was completed and owner refused to abide by his estimate. I want the company to accept $$$ as payment.

Business' Initial Response
Customer sent company a final payment for the project and all the issues have been satisfactorily resolved.

05/01/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Invalid or false contract

Complaint: Contractor did not complete work on dates agreed. Contract was cancelled. Contractor insists payment on work done that was not approved.On ////, a verbal agreement was made with Champion Roofing to repair my roof.I feel that I gave company ample opportunity to meet the agreement, however when they did not show up as promised, I cancelled the contract before any work was performed. They should not be able to do the work after I cancelled our agreement and threaten me with a lien. Especially considering that the work they did unauthorized, was not to my satisfaction, did not complete other necessary repairs, that would have been covered in the original agreement, and did not provide a report that was originally promised. I am willing to pay company $$$ out of the original verbally agreed price of $$$ provided they are willing to send me an invoice that indicates it is paid in full and that they sign a lien waiver that prevents them from harassing me any further. I am willing to offer this compromise despite the fact that I did not authorize any work after the morning of ////, that they did not provide an inspection report, and the work that they did do was not to my satisfaction.

Initial Business Response
My repair foreman will testify that the repair which customer requested had been completed by the time he called to cancel. I cannot explain why customer did not receive foreman's phone calls for several days, but he will testify that he tried to reach customer multiple times. Customer called us, to do some minor work for him. We completed the work on time as promised, for the price that we had agreed to. The only thing that we were not able to do was to call him while my repair man was on his roof to discuss his findings. The foreman tried to call customer later that day after reviewing the photographs and discussing the repair with our roofing foreman.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that while the company addressed the complaint issues, the complainant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside BBB Rules of Arbitration.

01/30/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor promised refunds, exchanges, or credit

Complaint: After doing business with Champion
Roofing Services since 12-22-2011,they still owe me money from my overpayment to them through the insurance co.
I first began my association with Champion Roofing Services on December 22, 2011, when after discovering that my old roof which was only four years old but damaged by the hail storm of April 27, 2011, was leaking and that my former roofer was still unavailable, I signed a very specific contract with Compensation for the minimal damages to my home's exterior were paid to me in June of 2011 by insurance in the amount of over $8,000.00; however, no compensation was paid at that time for three outside buildings due to an oversight by the co. adjuster which becomes important later.
CRS handled the problem of the exterior roof leaks promptly by placing a tarp over the chimney and part or all of the flat roof and I was able to relax for a short while. Then around January 30, 2012, I received a call that work could begin later that week. From the beginning on that Thursday morning of February 2nd, problems arose because the workers sent spoke little or no English making it very hard for me to communicate with them unless someone from management was there. But, in two short days, those initial workers did more damage to the house's exterior than the storm and new and larger problems developed over time because of their workmanship or lack there of. For example, while removing the two old roofs, the roofers were apparently instructed to remove the existing guttering and all of the siding on the domer at the back of the house although only one piece of siding had been damaged by the storm. Because the guttering was removed prematurely and the excessive spring and summer rains of 2012 were severe, several times water seeped into the underground basement and the above ground garage once. Likewise, a leak directly related to the fact that the gutters had been removed and were not replaced for four months occured once in the dining room. In addition, the roofers in those initial two days broke plants and bushes including a priceless, old family rose bush and an outside light fixture and damaged some of the remaining siding and window screens.

Business' Initial Response
It seems customer is not clear about what the contract requires of me and of her. Or perhaps what a contract is. Sometimes that happens. In its most basic form, our contract with her says that Champion will repair all of the storm damage that ***** agreed was storm damage for the amount of money that **** approved (in addition to her deductible and any upgrades that she opted for, as well as wood repairs or code upgrades that Travelers would not pay for). In other words, Champion is under contract to do the remaining work, for which we would be paid an additional $8,000 or so. To this day, we are still under contract to perform that work.
I consider a contract to be an integral part of how we conduct business. It outlines the minimum that both parties ought to expect of each other. It establishes the scope of work, the price for the work, warranty information, and many other relevant terms and conditions. At this point, it is apparent that ***** is not concerned about our written, signed agreement, that she does not expect us to complete the job, nor that she feels she has any obligation to finish paying us. For these reasons, it is now clear that the best thing for me to do is to give her the money that she considers to be an 'overpayment.'
Consequently, if this is the action that she truly desires, I will give her $1,683.25. It must be clear, though, that, if I release her from the contract, then neither of us will rightfully have any further contractual expectations of the other from this point forward.
She must determine if she does in fact want out of the contract. If she does, then I will accept that, I will release my lien rights and I will not pursue any legal action for her breaking the contract.
On another note, I researched the issue with the gutters and found that her had in fact requested the upgraded size. It is not clear to me whether she would pay the additional cost of the 6" gutter vs. the 5" or if she was expecting that service to be free. Regardless, I confess we didn't install the larger size but mistakenly installed the size that she had on her house originally. True, this was an error, but please recognize that we didn't CHARGE for the upgrade that we failed to give her. We charged for what insurance paid for, that is, the 5" size.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Roofing Contractors, Contractors - General

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/21/2011Business started: 01/01/1959Business started locally: 05/01/2003
Licensing

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractors Licensing Board
500 James Robertson Parkway, #110
Nashville, TN37243
(800) 544-7693
http://verify.tn.gov

BBB records show a license number of 63991 for this company, issued by Contractors Licensing Board. Their web address is http://verify.tn.gov. The expiration date of this license is 09/30/2014.

Type: Contractor

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: March 2010, TN

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chris Wiedenhoeft (Owner/President)
Number of Employees

30

Business Category

Roofing Contractors, Contractors - General

Industry Tips
BBB Warns Spring Time Brings Home Improvement Scams
Home Improvements

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Champion Roofing Services, Inc.

3257 Regal Drive

Alcoa, TN 37701

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 3257 Regal Drive 

    Alcoa, TN 37701(865) 332-0318

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Greater East Tennessee. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Champion Roofing Services, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews as of November 2012.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

Champion Roofing Services Inc. is NOT affiliated with Champion Roofing & Siding!!!

Champion Roofing & Siding at 8705 Unicorn Drive is not an accredited BBB business. The BBB has a separate report on this company

http://www.bbb.org/knoxville/business-reviews/roofing-contractors/champion-roofing-and-siding-in-knoxville-tn-90015927?gid=1&gen=1&lid=1

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.