BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/25/2010

KaTom Restaurant Supply

Find a Location

(800) 541-8683305 Katom Drive, KodakTN 37764

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/25/2010

BBB has determined that KaTom Restaurant Supply meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised KaTom Restaurant Supply's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 29 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

29 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues5
Billing / Collection Issues5
Delivery Issues4
Problems with Product / Service15
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 29

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on KaTom Restaurant Supply

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (29)
04/15/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

I purchased items based upon what was depicted and received only half of the order. I purchased ten items listed on the site as ***********. When I received my order all that was included was 10 *******. It was advertised as a set in the picture and by using the abbreviation for with. When I emailed the customer service their reply was they were sorry for the misunderstanding but it was sold as individual risers not as a set. I replied that it was misleading and that wasn't what I was expecting. I called and asked for a supervisor. He indicated that it could have been worded differently but it was only sold as single risers and the manufacturer has discontinued it. I feel like it is the bait & switch because I only received a portion of my order and now I'm being told that there are no other pieces to the order.

Desired Settlement
I want the company to contact the manufacturer and send the additional items based upon how the item is listed on my invoice and depicted on their site.

Business Response
After reviewing Ms. ********'s complaint and visiting our website concerning said product. I agree the information concerning the product is worded incorrectly and I too would agree that I was to receive a complete set. What I can do is offer her a complete refund for her order at this time.

01/02/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Damaged **** from KaTom is not being refunded, even though they gave **** and acknowledge it arrived broken.I would like KaTom to refund my money for the damaged *** unit, which they have at their site. I don't have the product, and I don't have my money. I simply want my money refunded.

Desired Settlement
I would like KaTom to refund my money for the damaged shelf unit, which they have at their site. I don't have the product, and I don't have my money. I simply want my money refunded.

Business Response
After listening to the phone conversations and re reading the emails, yes I do believe a full credit is warranted. I have submitted the refund to our accounting department for processing and should be finalized within 48 hours.

12/19/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

I placed an order via the phone. Credit card charged over and above amount, refund not given.
On XX-X-XX I went to to purchase a Waring Professional 1-gallon deep fryer. The website stated ****** + ****** for shipping. I needed it the next day, so I called the company to order. The shipping over the phone was **** over the websites stated price. The gentleman stated my total would be ******** confirmation XXXXXXX. I gave my debit card visa. I was not told that next day saver would have additional shipping charges, or could vary from the actual stated price.I received no email confirmation and no receipt in the box. I checked my bank account and was shocked at the charge for ******** I have spoken with ***** in customer service now 3 times to no avail. I would not have ordered if I was told shipping would be ******** That is almost **** more than the stated website price. ***** has stated they would refund me *** of this, but it has not been processed. I am not happy with *** returned: I want the full difference ******* I would not have ordered at that price, I would have gone elsewhere.

Desired Settlement
I would like to be charged the agreed upon price and to get a receipt for my purchase.

Business Response
I have put the request in to have Ms. ********** completely refunded the additional cost in shipping. Credit will be processing by close of business tomorrow, ***********

10/29/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

ordered a **** rack and was sent a ***** rack.The factory said since it was partially welded,they considered it a welded rack.In the restaurant industry their is a big difference. Katom refused to help.My total bill was ****** for the racks and *** for shipping.Knew they were not the right racks when they arrived .Refused delivery.By the time the factory was through with their charges for the return,I received ****** of ****** Have no intentions of buying from them again.Over $$$ dollars is a lot to lose for a small business. Just want the rest of my money back.

Business Response
After review of Mr. ****** claim, I feel he is correct and the remainder of his credit will be issued. The credit will be processed in our office within 24 hours. We apologize for the confusion. Credit for the remaining amount per Mr. ****** request has been issued back to his card.

10/23/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Late delivery of products and products received damaged. Poor communication with customer and poor customer service.To date I have not yet received a refund for my items that were damaged and have communicated with the company by phone and email and sent pictures of damaged items on 2 occasions. Refund for damaged items and shipping cost related to those items. I require a confirmation of refund to my credit card as soon as possible with no further delay.

Business Response
A claim with UPS has been filed to for reimbursement on the damage items. The order was placed online on the 31st, however Monday was a holiday therefore the order was not processed until 2 days later. Yes, the customer is correct the website does state the products "typically ship within 1-3 business days. However, we did not have all products in stock therefore shipped them directly from the manufacturer which added extra days for processing, then travel time to reach the complainant. Typically it does not take this long. Again, the claim is filed and customer will be given a credit back to his card for the damaged items. Which should be finalized within the next 7 business days.

Page 1 of 3
08/17/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Cancelled item was shipped and credit card was charged. Katom refuses to refund or give a pickup date.

Desired Settlement
I would like Katom to first issue a full refund ASAP. And second provide a pickup date as to when the item will be picked up.

Business Response
Per the manufacturer, credit should be process by end of X-XX-XX and issued back to the customer.

08/10/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Horrible customer service
I had a very bad experience with KaTom. I received the wrong parts and returned the parts via UPS. The customer representative "manager" was not helpful at all and dragged on the return process weeks after the parts was returned. I dealt with another "manager"and was told that it would be taken care of right away. However, after several days of waiting, I still did not get any follow up and had to call the company again for updates.

The customer service is horrible and the whole experience is regrettable. I will not shop with this company ever again.

Desired Settlement
I'm still waiting for my full refund: cost of the product and the shipping cost that I had to pay.

Business Response
I apologize for the unacceptable experience. I agree you should be issued your shipping cost as. Therefore, I am processing a credit today

01/20/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

I order a ********** ******* from Katom. The item is defective and they do not want to issue a refund.

Desired Settlement
I am not interested in receiving a 3rd used and defective item. I want this item picked up and refunded.

Business Response
A call tag has been issued to pick this unit up. Once it arrives back to the manufacturer all will be taken care of.

10/15/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

I order a shelf and I got part of the shelf. The item description is not clear, I paid ****** for a part not the shelf, and I need a shelf. Next to the item is a picture of the whole shelf. I paid for Shipping: ******* Now I want to return the item but must pay another ****** for Shipping! I am losing money and time. That is why they do not offer return expenses and that is why they have wrong picture for the wrong item. I like to return this item without paying the Shipping: $$$.

Business Response
Our website clearly states a ***** ****** shelf. Yes it is shown as a complete shelving unit but the description does indicate that it is a singular item. I am sorry the picture look deceiving to the customer, that is not our intention what so ever. I can credit back the customer the $$$ he paid for the shelf.

Consumer Response
So, in the website it said you must agree in order to get to next step, I also have print out of the statement, that I could close the case or agree.Today is ///// , after checking my bank, there still no credited amount of $$$. Could some one please let me know what is going on?

Business Response
He is correct, I have done the credit today.

08/28/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

I ordered a oven with two burners and a griddle. I ordered the item over the phone to insure I spoke with a somebody. Well when my oven arrived it was just the burners and griddle and storage space underneath. I called about my order multiple times and always referred to it as an oven. I was shocked I immediately called to have the item returned and also reordered the oven with two burners and a griddle. I left messages and spoke with the returns office but I was always told they would look in to it and assured me they would call back that same day! They never returned my calls or when I did speak to a person they never followed up. I explained that without my stove I am not able to run my kitchen properly. I was told there would be a restocking few of $$$ and $$$ shipping. I assumed that because I was sent the wrong item and was clearly asking for a oven when I spoke to the rep that I wouldn't pay for KaTom's mistake. At the very least this company has to refund me for shipping. It's not my fault they sent me the wrong item. I have never experienced such poor customer service.

Business Response
I agree with customer, I think there was a lack of communication concerning this order and we should not hold him responsible for the error. Therefore, I have spoke with the manufacturer, they do have the range in there possession and credit will be given back to Mr. **** along with the shipping cost. I do apologize for the inconvenience this has caused and hope that Mr. **** will continue to do business with us. I will have credit returned no later than the end of this week and will send a copy to his email address.

Page 1 of 4

Industry Comparison| Chart

Restaurant Equipment & Supplies

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 01/12/2006Business started: 01/01/1980
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Business Management
Principal: Ms. Patricia Bible (Owner)Customer Contact: Ms. Mary Meade (Customer Relations)
Contact Information
Ms. Paula Chesworth (Vice President/Marketing)
Number of Employees


Business Category

Restaurant Equipment & Supplies

Refund and Exchange Policy

All orders are subject to a 30% restocking fee plus the freight charge to return the items back to us. If you received the items defectively or in our error, we will pay for the return shipping and waive the restocking fee. All items must be returned unused and in its original package.

Alternate Business Names
B & B Equipment and Supply, Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

KaTom Restaurant Supply has received 3.46 out of 5 stars based on 2 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for KaTom Restaurant Supply

305 Katom Drive

Kodak, TN 37764

To | From


2 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Greater East Tennessee. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*KaTom Restaurant Supply is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Email Addresses


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews as of November 2012.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Restaurant Equipment & Supplies


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.