BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Greater East Tennessee

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 10/30/2002

Little Valley Mountain Resort

Phone: (865) 428-8763Fax: (865) 428-8765

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service5
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints5

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)BBB Closure Definitions
08/13/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor a contract or agreement

Complaint: Has failed to provide wedding photos as contracted for in a timely fashion.We contracted with **** ***** at Little Valley Mountain resort to perform our wedding on May XX XXXX. Included in package was ceremony, food, decorations, photographs. We have contacted *** ***** three times about receiving our photographs. This past week she told us that her husband was to mail them to us. He was out of town and would be back this weekend. She would let us know after she talked to him when he got back. As of July ** we have not heard back from her or received our photos.Due to the lack of concern on **** part to get our photographs in a timely manner and not returning our calls. We want $$$ refunded.

Initial Business Response
I am sorry if there was a delay in receiving your wedding photos. Weddings in the chapel at Resort are contracted out to another company. I called **** to follow up on your complaint and **** said that your photos have been mailed. Call her at XXX-XXX-XXXX if you would like to verify your mailing address.

04/30/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to respond to phone calls or written requests for assistance or support

Complaint: The cabins appearance is what I expected from the reviews and the photos online. I went to lay down on the bed and there was dog hair on the comforter, I pulled back the comforter and sheets, there was black/brown human hair on the pillow and sheets. I called the office and they stated "the girl usually does a good job." I explained my concern was getting charged for pet cleaning charge if pet is allowed on beds or couches. Also, I wanted the sheets changed. They sent someone out to change the sheets and comforter. We went to take a shower upon stepping into the shower I stepped onto something sharp. I lifted my foot and there was blood dripping onto the floor. I had my friend look at the bottom of my foot she found 3 pieces of glass embedded and had to be removed. I called the office they stated they were sorry and offered someone to come clean again, I declined due to checking out the next day. The next day , I woke up early I opened the upstairs window and found a sexual vibrator. Upon checkout I spoke with staff and again in. They stated the cabin owner does not allow them to deep clean the cabin and then asked if I was going to stay with them again. I told them no.

Initial Business Response
Little Valley Mountain Resort staff takes care of every guest concern as quickly and completely as possible. Guest comfort and satisfaction is a high priority.This guest called the office stating that she found pet hair on her comforter. A housekeeper was immediately sent to remove all bedding and replace with fresh linens. The following day,the guest called to say that she stepped on a piece of glass in the bathroom. Office staff offered to send a cleaner to inspect her bathroom floor and help her clean anything that had gotten on the floor. Guest declined stating that this was not necessary since they are checking out in the morning. At checkout, guest told desk clerk that she opened a window and found a sexual toy sitting outside the window. Clerk called housekeeper, who looked in window and found a cigar case NOT a sexual toy. Clerk called guest who had just left to tell her that what she saw was actually a cigar case. Guest did not answer so she left a message.

08/29/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Refund or Exchange Complaint Issue

Complaint: Bed Bugs in Mountain Destiny Cabin on 7/31/2013.
Checked into to Little Valley Mountain Resort (Mountain Destiny Cabin) on 7/31/2013. About 12:30 AM, my wife noticed that there were bed bugs crawling and biting on my son in the upstairs bed room where the bathroom is at. Once all kids and ourselves showered off, we ended up sleeping in our van due to the fact that bed bugs can easily be spread. The next morning on Aug.1st, we proceeded to the front lobby to request a refund. She(I think her name is Lori) informed me that she would not give us our money back. Then she proceeded to tell me that she would call Orkin to verify bed bugs in the cabin, and she would call me back. She never did. We do have photo and video documentation of the bed bugs being in the cabin.


Initial Business Response
Orkin treated the cabin. We refunded total amount

08/10/2012Problems with Product / Service
05/02/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Resorts, Cabin, Cottage & Chalet - Rentals

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.