BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/06/2006

Gatlinburg Falls Resort

(866) 972-2246View Additional Phone Numbers645 Park Vista Way, GatlinburgTN 37738

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/06/2006

BBB has determined that Gatlinburg Falls Resort meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Gatlinburg Falls Resort's rating include:

  • 65 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised Gatlinburg Falls Resort's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 65 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

65 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 30 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues9
Billing / Collection Issues2
Problems with Product / Service54
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 65

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Gatlinburg Falls Resort

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (65)
12/21/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I called to make a reserve ration for a cabin near Pigeon Forge. During the call the fepresenitive made several mistakes. I received a conformation number and was ready for a good vacation. ( I will add I have stayed here serval times befor with no concerns) On the way down it was raining and fog and we were stopped dead on interstate several times so we're running late so I called ahead to see if I could get information Togo straight to the cabin as I knew from the advertisement I had booked from it was out side Pigeon Forge. I was told I was staying in Gatlinburg and needed to come to that office. We arrived a little after eight in the evening and I asked a man the office manager that I was scheduled to stay a a cabin there. Tired from the day's events I took the information and went to the cabin. When we opened the door we were greeted by a extra stove sitting in the hall way, a cabinet door completely missing, and a kitchen table with a ax notch in it. There were probably more issues but these were enough to send us back down the hill to the office. I stated that this cabin was not acceptable and asked what I had not been given cabin I was told I booked on the phone. I was told that they wer sorry for my concerns and they would send maintenance to correct my concerns but that that would take from two to four hours, I could not get a refund to go else where but could go to the original thought booking for an additional $ which would be refunded if the cabin was found to be as stated. I was to call the next day at noon to get the follow up. At noon the next day I called and was told they know nothing of my concerns, but would have someone call me back shortly. No call. The next day I called again and was told they were sorry as they knew I had called yesterday and they would pass the concern on again and I should expect an immediate call back. Again no call. When I returned home and called I was told that they had corrected my concerns and since I did not accept that cabin I indeed needed to pay the additional cost, when I again asked to talk to the manager or owner I was told they were not on site or available. I have vacationed in this area for over fourth years and have two more planed for this year, a family vacation in March and the Gather concerns in May. We will make these but may be our last visit. I am not concerned so much about the money as I am the principal and the way the coustomer (We) were treated. I hope your actions will help others from going thru the same experience.

Desired Settlement
Refund and apology would be nice, but insurance management changes that others do not experience the same.

Business Response
We appreciate all guests' feedback and are constantly striving to be the best in the business and could not do so without information from our guests'. Here at Gatlinburg Falls Resort we treat each and every guest as if they were family and our goal is to keep guests for a lifetime.

We spoke to Mr. and feel we have made him happy. We hope he is pleased with the conversation he hadand are very excited him to have him as a return guest. If there is anything else we can do please let us know.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
My conversation with D was pleasant and resolved my concerns from our recent visit. D represented herself, Gatlingburg Falls, and southern hospitality well. It is my prayer that this event will help them focus their team in total to insure others do not experience the same initial experience while on vacation.

09/15/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We will never book again w Gatlinburg falls resort. Upon arriving at the check in office our name was not on our packet, no map was inside luckily there was still someone there when we called them at 2 45 am. When we got ti our cabin and open the door the pungent smell of old grease about knocked us down. Cob webs hanging from every ceiling and on the walls. Mattress was soiled and only a fitted sheet thrown on top of that. I had spilled some water on the floor and wiped it up the paper towel was black. The blinds were broken in the bedroom so that others could see through. The couch had crusty food stains. We decided to stay there since it was so late...luckily i had brought something else to sleep on. The next morning we went back to the office and the man behind the desk was very apologetic and told us to go visit gatlinburg while they cleaned up...even though we were still tired and hadnt showered we patiently said ok. Came back at noon when we entered the cabin this is what we saw dirty dishes in the sink (that werent there when we first came and they werent ours) and the cabin hadnt been touched so back to the office we went. That man was still super nice but our patience was wearing thin he called for the manager she came out...no apology and handed us another cabin code and said go check that one out. Upon entering this cabin it appeared cleaner but very warm. So we turned the a/c on...nothing happened. So by this time we were steaming...literally! The time is now 3 pm we wasted a whole day of what was supposed to be a stress free vaca. He told them we want our money back we were going elsewhere. They would not refund us...the maintenance man came and had to go get a part to fix the unit. People ...this place is horribly managed no discount or apologies from the management Dont waste your money! I have pictures to prove all.

Desired Settlement
We would like a full refund of the stay and for the amount of cleaning items we had to purchase to clean the dirty cabin.

Business Response
First and Foremost, thank you for your feedback concerning your recent stay at Gatlinburg Falls Resort. We appreciate all guests' feedback and are constantly striving to be the best in the business and could not do so without information from our guests'. Here at Gatlinburg Falls Resort we treat each and every guest as if they were family and our goal is to keep guests for a lifetime.
We spoke to Ms. and feel we have made her happy. We hope she is pleased with the conversation she had If there is anything else we can do please let us know.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I did accept the refund of half of our stay although we had asked for a full refund and would have stayed somewhere else if they had refunded us at the time of our stay. I felt pressured into accepting this amount because only offered to refund me for the amount of one night's stay (which we lost the first day we were there due to the problems we had listed. I told her that we would have stayed somewhere else but didn't have the money since they had told us we would not be refunded. I told Dolores we wanted a full refund and then she "countered" back with the final amount which was half of our stay and indicated to me that was all she could do. So yes I accepted it because half is better than nothing but "no" I am not satisfied and will not be returning as long as these policies are in place.

09/03/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The first floor issue caused a leak down to bottom floor. Five hours later our cabin was still not cleaned. The bathrooms showers and toilets are outdated. They are stained and should not be in use. I have pictures to provide. They advertise this place to be a luxury cabin. The staff was not helpful not professional. Nothing but excuses after excuse. Zero empathy. Even after informing them that we had three children. Two 8 year old twins who recently had surgery. That should defiantly not be in a dirty filthy cabin. They still did not seem to care.

Desired Settlement
I would like a written apology from managment from the lack of professolism I and my wife endured. Also a full refund.

Business Response
First and foremost, thank you for your feedback concerning your recent stay with us. We appreciate all comments and are constantly striving to be the best in the business. We cannot do so without information from our guest.

Our records show that the toilet was reported as being clogged. After maintenance attempt to unclog the toilet we had to call the plumber. More times than not our maintenance staff is able to fix any issues they come across, but on rare we do have to call outside vendors to assess the situation. Unfortunately, this was one of those times.

The next day the guest called and spoke to staff. She put in a maintenance request for the cabin to be cleaned thoroughly. The request was very detailed explaining the guest wanted the bathroom recleaned, new linens, and new towels. The guest also wanted the cobwebs cleaned out of the windows. This was completed the same day staff even called the guest and left them a voicemail to let them know the cabin was cleaned. The guest called back afterwards and let her know they wanted the cabin cleaned again. They told Her they wanted the entire cabin cleaned from top to bottom every room cleaned, floors swept, mopped, and pick up the dirty towels left behind. This was completed by our housekeeping crew P and D the same day. They cleaned the whole cabin from top to bottom as asked.

When the guest came to the office and spoke to S and C he was offered $ to make them happy. The guest let us know they felt that was unacceptable. We ended up giving the guest a total of $ dollars back.

After reviewing the guest complaints and our internal records, I cannot justify a full refund. The complaints guest made was addressed in a timely manner. We did take a total of $ off the guest bill as well as cleaned the cabin exactly how the guest asked. It is unfortunate that the guest did not have a positive experience with us here at venture Resorts, but we hope they will give us another chance to serve them again in the future.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
This response is a total lie. I was told by D that they do not have a maintence crew. That they have to wait for an outside Plumber. So there was never a first attempt. As far as the claim the cabin was cleaned and provided with detail instructions. That is a lie. Not only did they leave the dirty towels that were used to dry up the floors they placed the towels behind the door. When I called she was nasty and told me that the cabin is clean and she has pictures. I brought cleaning supplies and started cleaning myself. Her solution was for us to leave. My response how in the world on a Saturday evening with three children and my wife would I find a place up to our standards. As for my family I do not have them in 3star and below. That there website states luxury cabins. Also they clear did not seem to care that our children were recovering from surgery. This was a trip that planned to be a peaceful time prior to the start of school. They fail to mention how I was lied to for over 30 minutes about not having a manager avalible to speak too. They failed to mentioned how in the front lobby how they slandered my name and spoke about my issue out loud with other guest present. I exchanged contact information with several guest that informed of what they heard and witnessed me go through. They failed to mention my issue was not an isolated one. That the while I was checking out. If this company does not want to choose to own up 100% to the lack of profelalism and total disrespect and lack of empathy for my family and I. I will file suit in Court. I will also prove with ease this is not just an isolated problem.
I also will contact all surrounding base commanders to strongly encourage their soldiers. To avoid any and all properties owned by this company. We take care of our own. Sadly enough in this shame of a response. They lacked a backbone to even apologize. To add insult to the wound. The nerve to suggest staying there again. I would stay and enjoy the outdoors by a camp fire and hunt any day. Before I step in pure filth.

08/21/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Could not find cabin, even with help from cust rep. Told full refund would be given. Now refund being refused.
At checkin, we were given written instructions to the cabin and the door code. The female checking us in did not mention the cabin was over 5 miles away, nor gave us a map with the cabin location. We left the resort and ate supper in Gatlinburg. We then drove, using the directions given, to where the cabin should be. We proceeded to retrace the instructions several times (the roads are very narrow and hilly, making matters worse). We called Gatlinburg Falls customer service, spent 53 minutes with a Cust Rep "following along" with a map to direct us, and were repeatedly back to a place with nothing but trees, no cabin. Finally we said we were going back to find a hotel, and we want a refund for the cabin we could not stay in. The customer service rep said he could not give a refund. He apologized for our troubles (again), and then put us on hold to talk to his manager. The phone disconnected. He immediately called back. He said he talked to his manager, we would get a full refund; he asked for the credit card information to give the refund, we gave the credit card info to him. He said a full refund would be given amount was said by the customer service rep), he apologized multiple times. We found a hotel.
No refund has been given. I emailed to this business the details and asked when a refund would be given. I received an email reply m with the following "Thank you for your email. I have no notes about you getting a full refund. Do you remember who you spoke with about you getting a full refund? If you have any further questions please email us or contact us Guest Care @ Cabins of the Smoky Mountains
I did not ask the male on the phone his name; we were quite frustrated and wanted to find the cabin. And we TRUSTED we would receive a refund like we were promised. We were not taking notes, not out to get anyone. We expected a relaxing vacation in a cabin, we're not given proper directions. We were promised a full refund for our problems, and we would be satisfied with that.

Desired Settlement
Full refund as promised.

Business Response
First and Foremost, thank you for your feedback concerning your recent stay at Gatlinburg Falls Resort. We appreciate all guests' feedback and are constantly striving to be the best in the business and could not do so without information from our guests. Here at Gatlinburg Falls Resort we treat each and every guest as if they were family and our goal is to keep guests for a lifetime.

We spoke to Ms. and feel we have made her happy. We hope she is pleased with the conversation she had . If there is anything else we can do please let us know.



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Received the refund promised from the business

08/11/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We rented the cabin for 4 days. We had 8 family members. When we arrived to get checked in, only one person working the counter, long line and a customer complaining. Once we arrived in our cabin, we found one bed had No pillows, another missing one pillow. Two beds missing sheets. The internet didn't work and one of the toilets was leaking. We called and were on hold for thirty five minutes and gave up. The next morning we called and same issue. We were 10 in the cue, then seven, then 3 then one and were one for 40 minutes. We gave up because we had made it to our activity. We call around 11:00am that same day and after 30 minutes finally reached someone. He said they will drop off the sheets and pillows and send maintenance to fix the toilet and internet. They never showed. We called for the next two days and never able to reach anyone. We checked in on Saturday. On Tuesday we finally reach someone. She stated the computer shows they were there and left us pillows and sheets. We told her they did not and she said well the computer says they did. No apologies. We asked to speak to the manager (Tuesday night after dinner we arrive at the cabin to find a note on the door from maintenance. It stated ( we tested the internet and it is working). We tried and it was not. The fact that you could not reach anyone was extremely frustrating and using clothes balled up to make pillows was equally frustrating. Lack of internet we could deal with but it was a service we paid for. The employees were rude. This was terrible service. The cabins were not inexpensive. I don't' feel that sheets and pillows were asking too much!Now that we are home we have been reading reviews and so many people having the same issues of missing pillows, sheets, internet and unable to reach anyone.

Desired Settlement
I feel compensation is in order. We paid for 4 days. Three family members out of eight didn't have pillows. Two didn't have sheets. 28% refund believe is fair.

Business Response
First and Foremost, thank you for your feedback concerning your recent stay at Gatlinburg Falls Resort. We appreciate all guests feedback and are constantly striving to be the best in the business and could not do so without information from our guests'. Here at Gatlinburg Falls Resort we treat each and every guest as if they were family and our goal is to keep guests for a lifetime.

We spoke to Ms.and feel we have made her happy. We hope she is pleased with the conversation she had . If there is anything else we can do please let us know.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
The person that called me was very nice and apologetic. She gave us very fair compensation.

Page 1 of 4
02/01/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I booked a cabin here less than 30 days before traveling. I ended up having to cancel the reservation and was told if they were able to re-rent the cabin my deposit of $ would be placed in escrow. I was fine with this because that was laid out in their documentation. Things changed and I was actually able to travel on the original date I had booked. I had not heard back from them that the cabin had been re-rented to I called to have my reservation re-instated. I was told they couldn't reinstate my reservation but that I could re-book since no one else had. Problem is...I would have to pay the $ again. Once again, I was fine with this. Problem is I cannot get the first deposit back until I check-out, which means, I lose this money. I am not able to use it for my stay (deposit or towards the remaining balance). They will also not refund it to me after I stay. I am the exact same person staying on the exact same days that I originally booked but that doesn't matter. I was told that $ does not belong to me anymore! I live 10+ hours away and will most likely not be travelling back here but am not able to get MY deposit back that I am being asked to pay twice for the same EXACT cabin on the same EXACT dates. This is a pretty shady practice if you ask me. When I asked to speak with the manager above the person I was speaking with she refused to let me do so. Even though I asked over, she continued to tell me there was no reason for me to speak to someone else; terrible customer service! By the way...no where does their policy say that someone must book and check out of the cabin before you get the money in your escrow account. Their policy states "you will be given a cancellation number at the point of your cancellation (I never received this over the phone or in e-mail, so actually it appears I never cancelled). If your reservation deposit is placed in escrow, the money will be available for 2 years from the date of your cancellation to be used for another reservation." Nowhere does it state the person must stay and your amount of money will not be available until they check out. Especially when the person staying in the cabin is YOU!

Desired Settlement
I would have liked to have used the deposit I had already paid to stay on the dates I originally booked. I would like a refund of this money

Business Response
We appreciate all guests' feedback and are constantly striving to be the best in the business and could not do so without information from our guests'. Here at Gatlinburg Falls Resort we treat each and every guest as if they were family and our goal is to keep guests for a lifetime.

We spoke to Ms. and feel we have made her happy.We hope she is pleased with the conversation she had\. If there is anything else we can do please let us know.

01/25/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We checked into our cabin We immediately called to move to another cabin as view was not a mountain view but a view of the cabin across the street. Hot tub was placed so you close to road and cabin across you could ease drop on conversations. The top floor balcony looked directly into another cabin bedroom. I was told there were no other cabins but they would take $ off, not really wanted as my husband was really looking forward to a nice view from the hot tub. When I hung up I looked on line and there were other cabins available for 4 of our 5 days, as my husband added a 5th day before seeing the cabin. I called to see if we could move to the cabin next door as their balcony was much higher so we could at least get some privacy. I was told they would have to charge me a $ to change cabins since I was already inside the one we booked. (I had been there 10 mins)
We figured we had no choice since they told me they would not refund the money so we could find somewhere else to stay and they would not move us without a penalty. We started to unpack and my five year old found large globs of what looked like mucus on the porch swing, I can only assume kids walking by spitting since it was so close to road. There was broken glass in the cabinet and black mold under the sink. I decided to go to office and demand the night my husband added literally 30 minutes prior which they did refund but they would not refund the dates We went to the store for cleaning supplies and when we returned we called for towels since there was only 2 and 3 of us. This was around 8. We decided to wash all the dishes in the dishwasher as it looked dirty in the kitchen, and we wanted to be sure they were clean. My husband came down to get something to drink and stepped into a flooded kitchen. The dishwasher leaked all over the floor soaking our shoes and bags. We used the few towels to try and clean up the mess and called the manager. She stated she was really sorry but no one could come out for at least 2 to 4 hours. Anywhere between midnight and 4 am. I asked for more towels as we had now used our only 2 and my son needed a shower, she once again stated how sorry she was but basically when they get there they get there. There was nothing she could do to help out. I once again asked for a refund so we could leave and find another place but she said there was nothing she could do until they came out to look at dishwasher. I want a refund, I am only here tonight because they would not refund money and we could not get another place with invested in this place on our credit card. The views advertised are false, the cabins are dirty and falling apart and the customer service is awful. Our first day of vacation has been ruined, and if we are forced to stay without a refund, I can only imagine what else will go wrong.

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund for our entire stay since I asked to be moved or receive a refund immediately, and was told I could not do either. I should not be looking in other cabins when I should be enjoying a mountain view and I should not be mopping water out of the floor with my paper towel, (as only things in kitchen was left over food in cabinet from other guest) on my vacation.

Business Response
We would like to thank the guests for their comments. It is regrettable to hear of the issues they incurred with our resort. We strive to build and maintain relationships with all of our guests and assure you that guest satisfaction is important to us. We'd like nothing more than to make every guest a guest for a lifetime.
Our records indicate that the guest faced issues with the dishwasher. Although it is unfortunate these things can happen and often after inspection. We try to handle all issues as quickly and efficiently as possible. However, on rare occasions issues arise that are out of our control, such as the mentioned issues with the dishwasher. Unlike a hotel all of our cabins are individual homes. As your own home when things break, we are at the mercy of an outside vendor and where unable to get a technician out right away. We had to schedule a technician from Tri County to provide proper services. Due to the loss of the amenity we refunded the guest $
We also see that the guest reported the cabin did not have a view. We did send a maintenance man out to verify the view of the cabin. He reported that the cabin did have a good view, but we decided to make the guest happy so we moved them to Inspiration Point. My records do not show us charging the guest an additional $ to move cabins.
The guest had complaints about the location of the cabin. We state online that the cabin is in a resort area. In any resort you will be able to see other cabins around you. They are set up like a neighborhood area.
I do not have any record of the guest reporting any issues with mucus on the porch swings. I also have no record of broken glass. The guest did report black mold under the sink on their 4th day in the cabin. Our maintenance verified it was not black mold. We have record of the guest asking for towels and those were delivered within 2 hours of the guest request.
We have tried to call the guest to talk about the issues they stated. They spoke to staff and stated they have pictures of everything. As of right now we have still not seen these pictures. We have refunded $ for the broken dishwasher and gave the guest back the night they added. We feel that all other complaints the guest have in the BBB were addressed in a timely manner or not reported to us at all.
Consumer Response
More pictures to support our complaints. Everything we have stated is true. The company has lied in their response, and we have paperwork to proof our original cabin was Inspiration Point and they never moved us. The refund was given hours before dishwasher leaked and it was given because they lied online about the view. The last picture is of the cabin across the street which was our view.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I left a message and received no response. On a man called my husbands phone not mine while he was at work, stating he was manager of front desk operations and would like to talk to us. I called him at the number he left, which is not a direct number. It is simply the resort number which did not let me speak to anyone. I sent all pictures in a email and customer care, it stated they in fact lied in their response to the BBB on what they did to help us. They have all the pictures, all the facts. They have lied on what they did to correct the problems, and they have not called the primary number they have for me and they have not returned my phone calls. Once again I state I want a full refund for the horrible condition of the cabin, the lack of customer service when the problems had been brought to their attention, the fact that that they flat out lied about what they did to help us, and what complains they received and the lack of effort to even address the whole situation.
Final Business Response
First and Foremost, thank you for your feedback concerning your recent stay at Gatlinburg Falls Resort. We appreciate all guests' feedback and are constantly striving to be the best in the business and could not do so without information from our guests'. Here at Gatlinburg Falls Resort we treat each and every guest as if they were family and our goal is to keep guests for a lifetime.

We spoke to Ms. and feel we have made her happy. We hope she is pleased with the conversation she had. If there is anything else we can do please let us know.

01/22/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We were rented a non-working, dirty cabin, with an unclean hot tub, broken fireplaces, internet, televisions and x box, and animal control issues.
Prior to our arrival, we were surprised to find several negative on-line customer reviews of this cabin. We shared them with Gatlinburg Falls management in advance of our trip, and were assured verbally and in writing that all prior issues had been corrected, and there was no need to switch cabins or otherwise change our plans.

We therefore proceeded with our trip, only to find that the cabin was a complete disaster, and our trip was therefore ruined.

Among the many problems we encountered were:

- inoperable internet system on arrival;
- first repair attempt unsuccessful, so a second technician had to then come by to repair the system problem;
- 2 inoperable lower level tv's upon arrival, including the large home theatre tv;
- partial restoration of service to 1 tv by tv technician, but only if we manually operated controls located within a built in wooden box on the floor that he had opened (we had to crawl on our knees to do this; all remote controls and the other tv could not be repaired);
- since the other tv was completely inoperable, the attached X box console could therefore not be used;
- 2 inoperable 2nd floor fireplaces on arrival;
- most alarming, the hot tub that had never been cleaned, which we and our children discovered upon tub entry later the first evening by stepping on slimy growths clinging to the hot tub floor when we got in;
- then, when the hot tub technician finally arrived the next afternoon, upon draining the tub, he found a large amount of fungus like debris at the bottom. He confirmed that no one had ever drained and cleaned the tub prior to our arrival, meaning we stepped into and sat in water containing this potentially hazardous material. Needless to say, we did not use the tub again.
- the cabin was dirty, with dust and dirty windows, no dishtowels, and relatively few glasses, mugs, dishes and pans for our use.
- on our final day, an animal was rooting around in the interior walls, adding to our cabin related pleasures.

We spent most of two days talking to Gatlinburg Falls management about these problems, trying without success to get them fully remedied. Countless hours were wasted with these calls and periodic service visits, and we never had full use of the tv's, x box, fireplaces or hot tub. Given these conditions, we had no choice but to cut our trip short, and departed on January 6th.

What makes this situation especially troubling is that:

- all of the conditions were significant and deprived us of basic cabin amenities that had been advertised and promised in advance of our trip;
- all were present before we arrived at the property;
- all could have been detected and corrected with even the most cursory inspection prior to our arrival;
- all existed despite the fact that we also spoke to Gatlinburg Falls personnel numerous times in advance of our visit, and were specifically assured the property would be in rentable condition when we arrived.

Desired Settlement
We request a full refund of our rental, and more importantly that Gatlinburg Falls reform its practices so other families are not similarly harmed.

Business Response
We appreciate all guests feed back and are constantly striving to be the best in the business and could not do so without information from our guest. It is unfortunate that this guest left on an unhappy note, as we feel we did everything in our power to make their stay enjoyable.
We do have record that the guest reported the internet was not working. At 5:54pm on the same day reset the router and the internet worked. We have no record of a second call about internet or another technician coming to fix it. The guest also states that his televisions where not working. Our records show that they were fixed. We also called the maintenance man and he confirmed with us that all TV's where working when he went to check them.

We have no reports of problems with the box. We do have record that the guest reported fireplaces not working at 5:14pm. At 7:40 pm the same day Milton also stated that he just pressed the button on the fireplaces and they were working fine. This may have been a lack of the guest knowing how to use them.

At 9:47pm on Jan. 4th we have record that the guest reported mold growing in the hot tub. The next day at 5:06pm He came to the cabin and cleaned the hot tub. He did state that he had to drain the hot tub, remove the screen in the bottom, so he could get the food (cheese, olives, and mushrooms) out. Then he cleaned the hot tub, and filled it back up. We have no reports of a dirty cabin or the guest needing extra items such as dishtowels, glasses or dishes. Had they made those requests we would have delivered those items to them.

We also have no report of an animal in the walls of the cabin. Again had the guest let us know of such an issue we would have taken correct measurements to get it taken care of.

The guest called and spoke to our Manager Bryson and he offered the guest back $ which we felt is more than fair. The guest did ask for half their stay back and we declined due to the issues they reported were taken care of in a timely manner. Upon receiving this complaint our Manager called the guest and offered him back % of his stay which would have been $ he declined that as well.
We will be happy to refund the guest $ of their stay but we do not feel that a full refund is justifiable considering the things that they did report we took care of in a timely manner and the rest were not reported so we did not have a chance to fix them.
Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I appreciate the detailed response, but am unable to accept the assertions or the proposed resolution. the concept that their "records" constitute proof of what actually happened is convenient for them, but yet another untruth. The facts are as we stated in the complaint .... for example, the large TV could only be operated as I originally described (on all 4's, to change channels and volume), the second TV and attached X box could never be operated because the remotes were not repaired, the hot tub had never been cleaned and frankly it is unclear what the material eventually removed in fact was, and the animal within the walls and overall condition of the cabin are as stated. We spent countless hours talking to Gatlinburg Falls staff and hosting maintenance personnel throughout our trip. Gatlinburg Falls answer does not satisfactorily address these issues, and instead is just another example of what seems to be their preferred business model. Then, the idea of a % resolution is also unfair and deceptive .... it is only the product of a series of incremental concessions, where we were first offered nothing, then eventually $, and now % of our invoice (which barely covers the hot tub cleaning we never received). Accordingly, we cannot accept %, and instead must pursue other available remedies. For a business to repeatedly act this way without correction is simply not right. Thank you.

Final Business Response
We at Venture Resorts stand by our previous post. As we state in our reservation agreement we do everything we can to make sure your cabin is ready for your stay. We provide the finest luxury cabins in the Smokies with maximum amenities; they are not hotel rooms and, therefore, from time to time, appliances, hot tubs, satellite TV, water, electricity, etc. will break down or malfunction. We will respond as quickly as we can to make repairs and restore amenities. The reservation agreement also stated that we will not refund monies due to these issues. However,we did offer this guest money back. As we stated in our previous post the issues the guest made us aware of were taken are of in a timely manner, the issues they reported that we were not able to take care of we offered the % back. We feel this is more than fair and will not be offering any more monies.

12/28/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Terrible customer service, Rude staff who could care less about issues, cabins not maintained properly....
When we got to the office there were upset customers.. we were taken to an office to get away from them, and there were complaints laying on that desk.. We checked in and was sent to the cabin we reserved.. only to see someone inside!!! So we go back and there were other upset customers... We were sent to another one 30 minutes away... without the video games, without the jacuzzis, with 2 Tvs that didnt work and a dryer that stopped working as soon as I used it. I called to get the dryer repaired and was told 2-4 hours. I asked if there was another cabin I could just dry out wet clothes and was told NO. I asked if a housekeeper could come get our wet clothes and dry them and was told NO. So I dried them on the fireplace.. Overnight, little by little... only to be called at 10 am to be let known that I was to leave immediately because housekeeping was there... I asked for another hour since I was running late due to the dryer not working and the answer was NO... She gave me 30 minutes for all 5 of us to be packed and out or she was having us escorted off of the property, and she "was the manager and nothing could be done about it" ... SMH We will see about that! Calling to cancel my payment tomorrow!

Desired Settlement
I expect a refund of $, and compensation for the day at
+++++ my family missed while we had to wait for the dryer to be fixed which never happened..... "We are a family if 5 with 2 adults and three children.... management " needs to be reevaluated and trained on how to handle an issue instead of rudely avoiding handling any issue that arrises and telling the customer "take it or leave it with no refund"..... Gatlinburg Falls needs to hire individuals who care about their customers needs instead of those obviously there for a paycheck and an opportunity to bully customers into just raking what they get.

Business Response
First and foremost, thank you for your feedback concerning your recent stay in the Smokies. We appreciate all guests' feedback and are constantly striving to be the best in the business and could not do so without guest input. It is unfortunate that this guest left on an unhappy note. We would be happy to address the issues mentioned.
Our records show that Ms. was upgraded to due to prior guests still being in the cabin. The cabin she was originally is was a 2 bedroom and we moved her to a 5 bedroom cabin at the same price as the 5 bedroom. We called her before she arrived and moved her. I have no record of Ms. Adkins ever being sent to a cabin that had a guest in it.
I also only have records of phone conversations with Ms. I show nowhere that she spoke to anyone in person. If she knows who she dealt with we will be happy to check into that. We hate to hear that she felt anyone was rude to her. Our staff is trained to be the best in guest care and would never treat any guest rudely or disrespectful.
We have noted t upon arrival, the guest faced issues with the dryer. Although it is unfortunate these things can happen and often after inspection. We try to handle all issues as quickly and efficiently as possible. However, on rare occasions issues arise that are out of our control, such as the mentioned issues with the dryer. Unlike a hotel all of our cabins are individual homes. As if in one's home when things break, we are at the mercy of an outside vendor and where unable to get a technician out right away. We had to schedule a technician from Tri County to provide proper services. We would be happy to refund the guest for the loss of the dryer. We do not have record of the guest asking use a dryer from another cabin or we would have accommodated them however we could.
We do have record that the guest was called about checking out of her cabin. The guest asked to be checkout out by 2-3 pm and we did decline that do to new guest checking in. However, we did give her another hour to check out.
We understand that the issue the guest had with the dryer was frustrating, and would be happy to give a discount for that, but we feel a full refund is not justifiable.
Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I got NO call before I arrived to be made aware that the cabin I booked was being occupied by someone else. When I checked in I was sent to the cabin I originally reserved only to see a woman walking by the window!We even damaged our truck backing out of that particular driveway! If I had been let known that the cabin I reserved was unavailable I would have not had to go through the check in process TWICE . I am shocked at how dishonest that response is, claiming that someone had called prior to my arrival!Phone calls should be documented by a legitimate business..And dishonesty in attempt to justify mistreatment of your customers is NOT the answer.How are there no records that I spoke to anyone in person? I was there TWICE my first night along with other upset customers being there on both occasions, and while seeing written complaints from more customers laying around. How can the response state that they would never be rude or disrespectful to a guest? There are complaints all over the web about how rude and disrespectful they are!!! The issues with the dryer were on my second vacation day, and were never fixed. How can they not have a backup dryer or a way to repair a dryer?And how are they going to put another customer in that cabin right after me knowing the dryer and TVs do not work? By pretending they do not know just like they did with me? And of course there is no record of me asking to use a dryer at another cabin, because they do not keep records! Duh!And they did not give me an hour to get ready to check out! My children had to ride home unbathed to top it all off on a 3 hour drive home! I did not get to go to Gatlinburg on my first day because the cabin was not even close to Gatlinburg like the one I reserved and I had to be checked in TWICE. The 5 bedrooms upgrade was not a plus to me... What could we have done with 5 bedrooms? My kids wanted the video games that were advertised on the web at the cabin I reserved!!! I did not get to go to ++++ on my second day like planned because I was drying clothes over a fireplace... Then I get threatened to be removed from the property for being 30 minutes late to check out, because I was drying my clothes over the fireplace that morning...I have seen the other complaints on this site and wonder how in the world are there this many complaints without an F rating!!! And now I see, with dishonest responses! Not only are the cabins not maintained properly, and the customer service the rudest I have ever encountered, but dishonesty on top of it all. I want a full refund. I also want my childrens blankets that were promised to be mailed to me and were not.
Final Business Response
Our records do not match what the guest is stating so we called the guest and are trying to work this matter out with them. We have also emailed them to ask them when is a good time to speak with them about their stay.
Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I feel that at this point any questions asked should be asked through the BBB since I had to place a complaint on this site. I also feel that a response to my complaint should be made on this site. I still have not received a refund nor my children's blankets which were promised to me on my day of departure. We are returning to Gatlinburg this weekend and we do go to Gatlinburg 5-6 times each year. This is the first complaint I have ever placed, and we travel a large amount due to owning a construction company, and we have stayed at other hotels and cabins in the past with no issues. Something needs to be done about how customers are treated , about how customers are misled into having to settle for what is available instead of what is reserved, about how the cabins are not maintained but then rented out while it is known that the cabins are not maintained,items in them don't work, and how belongings left behind are not returned. I have copies of the emails showing our reservation information and can either fax or mail them if needed. Meanwhile , we will be spending our Vacation in Gatlinburg at another cabin rental as I continue to wait for a response stating what is going to be done about our terrible experiences and unreturned items from a month ago!

10/27/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I attempted to order a gift certificate from this business for my parents on Aug and was told on the phone that "He didn't know how to do that" and to call back on Monday. So I called back on Monday and purchased the gift certificate. The money went through my account on Tues. By September 2015 my parents still had not received their gift certificate. I called this business on and spoke with an employee who verified the purchase and the complete address where the certificate was supposed to be sent, then she told me she would look in to it and call me back. She never called me back. So I called again on and spoke with a different employee. She also verified the purchase and my parent's address. She indicated that she would insure that the gift certificate was sent out this time and would call me back as soon as she mailed it. She also never called me back, and a week and a half later my parents still hadn't received their gift certificate. At this point I was becoming annoyed with the lack of customer service. I called this company againand talked with the same employee I spoke with the last time. She "checked" on the gift certificate again and told me that the certificate had been "delayed" in being sent out because the company had lost a lot of employees lately and they had all been really busy. I calmly asked to speak with a manager and was told that they wouldn't be able to do anything for me that she couldn't do. I said I would like to speak to one anyway. She put me back on hold, and then returned 10 mins later, saying, "all of our managers are too busy to talk to you right now, but I can put your number in for a call back if you want." I reiterated that the main problem was no one ever called me back. She assured me that they would THIS TIME! Of course no one ever called me back. So I called again and spoke with a very rude woman on the phone who said she was a manager. At this point I was well past my limit of good faith in this company and requested a full refund of my money. I was promptly denied this refund and told that she could not refund my money even though I had not received my product, because my purchase of a gift certificate was a binding contract in her state that she could not refund even though I had received horrible customer service from this company and no longer wished to have my parents stay there. I was also told that the gift certificate had been sent out conveniently, the last time I spoke with someone on the phone, not in August, when I actually ordered and paid for the gift certificate! I am very disappointed in the poor customer service I have received from this company who is essentially stealing money from me and my two sisters who worked very hard to be able to afford a gift certificate for our parents as a retirement gift after 35 years of work. All I am asking is that they refund my money for a product that I never received. I would not recommend this place to anyone! Run away, and do not give them any of your money, because you will never get it back and they will not deliver on their promises!

Desired Settlement
I would like a full refund I paid for a gift certificate in August, that I have still not received in October.

Business Response
First and Foremost, thank you for your feedback concerning your recent stay at Gatlinburg Falls Resort. We appreciate all guests' feedback and are constantly striving to be the best in the business and could not do so without information from our guests'. Here at Gatlinburg Falls Resort we treat each and every guest as if they were family and our goal is to keep guests for a lifetime.

We spoke to Ms. today and feel we have made her happy. We hope she is pleased with the conversation. If there is anything else we can do please let us know.


Page 1 of 10

Industry Comparison| Chart

Resorts

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/13/2011Business started: 09/01/2003Business started locally: 06/01/2009
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Billy Parris (General Manager)
Number of Employees

100

Business Category

Resorts

Products & Services

This company offers Resort and Cabin Rentals


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Gatlinburg Falls Resort has received 3.23 out of 5 stars based on 2 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Gatlinburg Falls Resort

645 Park Vista Way

Gatlinburg, TN 37738

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 645 Park Vista Way 

    Gatlinburg, TN 37738(866) 972-2246
    (865) 430-7571

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Greater East Tennessee. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Gatlinburg Falls Resort is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (865) 430-7571 (Disconnected)
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews as of November 2012.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Resorts

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.