BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Greater East Tennessee

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/14/2008

Carey Moving & Storage of Knoxville, Inc.

Phone: (865) 862-4129Fax: (865) 588-93814013 Henson Road, KnoxvilleTN 37921

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/14/2008

BBB has determined that Carey Moving & Storage of Knoxville, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Carey Moving & Storage of Knoxville, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Carey Moving & Storage of Knoxville, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
02/01/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We did business with Carey the spring and summer of 2012 when we contracted with them to store and move our possessions to our home in Tampa, FL from Knoxville, TN. We paid them in full for their services and purchased their moving insurance to further protect our belongings. We chose Carey in part because of their reputation and clear history on the BBB website.
When our truck came to Tampa for delivery several items were missing or broken, some of which were very important to us, and we received very little help from either Carey or their insurance company.
Over 30 items were unloaded off their truck with no Allied sticker forcing their driver and me to make guesses about which items were there and which were not at the end of a long and strenuous day of work for both of us.
Several items were broken upon arrival, many of which were packed by Carey employees and for which we paid an extra fee. Various knicks and dents have been discovered on our furniture since we unpacked.
Items were missing and Carey tried to trace their whereabouts with no success. When the tracing process was completed we submitted a claim for the lost and damaged items. Carey's insurance company's response was disappointing. In a letter dated November 13, 2012, Ms. *** **** informed us about the settlement of $518 plus some of the shipping charges and we received a check for $627 the next day. In her letter, Ms. **** used the phrase "all else has been declined" ."
Besides the broken items which we still have, our claim included several never-found items that Carey put on their truck at our house in Knoxville that did not come off their truck in Tampa.
I wrote an email to the Carey office in November, 2012, detailing our issues and did not receive a response. I wrote a letter to Mr. Patrick Carey, company president, on December 14, 2012, and did not receive a response.

Desired Settlement
We want Carey to take accountability for their actions. We want help in repairing the furniture that was broken or damaged while our items were in the care of Carey. We want the lost items replaced.

Business' Initial Response
We are sorry the ***** are unhappy with the resolution to their claim. We certainly never ignored the ***** The Allied claims processor assigned to resolve their claim had 17 back-and-forth email correspondences with Mr. and Mrs. ***** from the time they initiated claim activities in October until the time the claim was settled by Allied claims in November, not including phone communications and internal communications. Since Mr. ***** was delivered to a mini-storage through no fault of his or ours and subsequently moved items from the mini-storage on his own, this might have had something to do with part of his claim being denied. He is certainly entitled to contact claims again and ask for a second review of his claim if he doesn't feel he was treated fairly. Since his claim was handled by Allied corporate, we as the booking agent are unable to intervene further.

11/05/2012Problems with Product / Service
08/07/2012Problems with Product / Service
07/31/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Movers, Storage Units - Household & Commercial

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/14/2008Business started: 01/01/1907Business started locally: 05/09/2007
Business Management
Principal: Mr. Chris Waters (General Manager)
Contact Information
Mr. Patrick Carey (President)Mr. Michael Carey (Vice President)
Number of Employees

8

Business Category

Movers, Storage Units - Household & Commercial

Products & Services

This company offers moving and storage of household goods, electronics and commercial goods

Industry Tips
Planning a Cost-Effective Move
Relocating Across State Lines? Know Your Rights and Responsibilities
Spotting Rogue Movers Before They Have Your Goods
Tips on Renting a Self-Storage Unit

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Carey Moving & Storage of Knoxville, Inc.

4013 Henson Road

Knoxville, TN 37921

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 4013 Henson Road 

    Knoxville, TN 37921(865) 862-4129

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Greater East Tennessee. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Carey Moving & Storage of Knoxville, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews as of November 2012.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.