BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 11/01/1995

21st Mortgage Corporation

Phone: (865) 523-2120Fax: (800) 813-8164

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

25 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 12 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues5
Delivery Issues2
Problems with Product / Service17
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints25

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (25)
06/03/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I filed a insurance claim on our home in results of the flooding and straightline winds. After the insurance guy came out and inspected the home top to bottom we received estimates in the mail along with the insurance check to repair our home about two weeks later. We was advised we had to sign and then mail the check to TwentyFirst Mortgage. We did that the next day after receiving the check and paid for priority mailing so we could track the check. I called TwentyFirst Mortgage on to confirm the check had been received,someone in customer service advised me that it had and advised me that someone would sign it and send it back with 24 hours. On the very next day we received a call from a guy stating that he will not mail us the check back until our account is current. My husband had already spoke to these people one to two weeks earlier about our situation as far as a house payment go and we had just sent them $ and our balance was only about $ for the month of April. The even guy advised me that it showed that my husband had already made arrangements to pay the $. So I was wondering why the guy was calling talking about payments because they had our insurance check. I asked the guy if he could legally hold the check and he said yes and stated that it was in our insurance policy,I read over my contract and nothing stated they could hold a insurance check if our account wasn't current.I advised him that I would like to record the call because I wanted to get someone to look over my paperwork. I told the guy that since he called and stated to keep the insurance check we would scrap money to pay the $ on Thursday one day before the arrangements my husband had already set up. He advised once I made that payment on to call back with the control # so our account will be updated and the check would be mailed. He stated he would even put a "special note" on our account. Once the payment was made through Western Union (we also paid for them to get the payment the exact same day which was an additional $ we called back as told and provided them with the information. I was told now that your account is updated your check will be mailed to you on tomorrow . I continued to call back throughout the day to speak with different reps since the guy stated he put a "special note" on my account. Every employee I spoke to in the customer service department gave me a different answer oppose to when the check would be mailed or why it hasn't been mailed. Every time I call someone tells me something different.

Desired Settlement
If the check has not been mailed I am requesting that my check be mailed by Priority mail or by Next day mail so I receive it in the manner as previously stated by TwentyFirst Mortgage Customer Service department which is where the check was mailed.

Business Response
After a review of your situation it does appear that you spoke to several account representatives and resolved your questions and issues.

If this is not the case then please notify us and we will look into your further concerns.

Sincerely,

21st Mortgage Corporation

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


05/31/2016Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
A purchased mobile home poorly delivered and setup. We purchased this mobile home in June of ***** The trailor was poorly setup while me and my wife was in the hospital having our high risk baby. They didn't put the trailor all the way together and shot staples in our wall. They had to lay floor four times to get the kitchen, dining room, wash room, and master bedroom. They stretched the carpet but the carpet doesn't even go all the way to the baseboards. The heater and ac went out and we have been out of pocket almost ****** to replace it. Some of the trim doesn't even go all the way from floor to ceiing and they put puddy on it.

Desired Settlement
We paid ******* for the trailor to raise our family in. We woud just like to have it fixed like it should be.

Business Response
Mr. ******,
I have reviewed your situation with our ***** managers and we do want to ensure you are satisfied with the property, as such we are offering to complete the following items:
1. The carpet within the home has been stretched twice by different contractors so in order to try and resolve this issue we would lay new carpet in the living room and master bedroom to address the issue you described with the baseboards. We would not be able to guarantee a color match to the original.
2. We are also offering to send a different contractor out to your home to address the remaining trim out issues.
3. As for the remaining flooring issues with the ***** flooring you requested, we were advised that you were satisfied with this type flooring repair that was installed to replace the linoleum.
4. Finally, the HVAC (Air & Hearing) units were not warranted under the purchase agreement.
Please do not hesitate to contact us so that we may schedule the contractors for these repairs.
Thank You,
********

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As far as the kitchen floor yes we are satisfied. However the master bedroom, living room, den, and three bedrooms the carpet does not go up against the wall and under the baseboards due to being cut too short. Also where the two trailers meet in the seam the carpet is wore due to the crack not being filled in when the trailer was set up. Roops carpet and flooring done the and we was satisfied with their work. We would like them to do the work if possible. Please let me know if I can help out anymore. We would like to get this resolved as soon as possible thanks.

Final Business Response
Please inform them that we have engaged the services of ******* Carpet to complete the repairs they were requesting so they should be hearing from Mr. **** **** to setup the installation over the next few days.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
We accept that they are Willing to fix our carpets.

10/07/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have contacted 21st mortgage multiple times requesting a statement of payments made. I have always made my payment a month ahead, and always paid more than due. When viewing payment history online, it never shows the actual amount paid (I do have e mails with confirmation codes to verify what I have paid). I was told I would get a printout in the mail of current balance and payment history, to no avail. It states online that payment is due on October 1, when in all actuality it is due November 1, because I pay early.
I have also received about 7 letters in the mail about property taxes. I have contacted my assessor to make sure everything is correct in my parish, which it is. I gave that info to 21st and still receiving letters after 4 phone calls. Communication with the people that pay you should be key to success, and unfortunately here it's not.

Desired Settlement
I would like the items I have been requesting mailed to me, and the other information regarding property taxes corrected.

Business Response
I apologize for any inconvenience you may have encountered as that is never our intention. I have reviewed your request and your loan history. I see that you have been in touch with your account manager and that the requested information
Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I still have yet to receive my payment history in the mail. The payment status has been updated as I am well over a month ahead, but would like a payment history mailed to me.

Final Business Response
Dear Mr. Tullier,

The history you requested was indeed mailed out to the following address on 9/22:
I would ask that you notify me if the USPS does not deliver it by Wed, 10/7 as that would be more than ample time for them to get the letter to you. If you have not received it by then I will request they expedite the history to you.
Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I received it in the mail today. Thank you, but it should not have had to come down to the BBB to get things accomplished.

04/27/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My 21st Mortgage loan was discharged in ch. 7 bankruptcy in ***** but on X/00/XXXX 21st Mortgage reported negative information to the credit bureaus. However, on March *** ***** 21st Mortgage began reporting negative and inaccurate information to the credit bureaus about this account, in violation of U.S. bankruptcy law. 21st Mortgage needs to immediately have this negative, inaccurate information removed from my credit reports, and cease and desist from all future credit reporting violations relating to this account.

Desired Settlement
21st Mortgage should remove the negative, inaccurate reports they made to the credit bureaus dated March *** **** regarding my discharged 21st Mortgage account

Business Response
Thank you for contacting our company. I have reviewed the file and it reflects that our Customer Service Manager and his Credit Dispute team have already submitted the appropriate updates to the bureaus.

04/15/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The company increased my interest rate illegally.
In a matter of 6 months my mortgage has increased over $. I have a fixed interest rate. My mortgage was sold to this company but they specialize in mobile homes. I don't own a mobile home. They are rude and harass you when they call to collect payment.

Desired Settlement
I want my interest rate back at the original. This increase has made my mortgage unaffordable. I would like a different mortgage company.

Business Response
This correspondence is being issued in response the Better Business Bureau complaint you filed against 21st Mortgage. Since August 1, 2014, there have been two changes to your monthly payment. The first was scheduled on August 1, 2014 as a result of the annual escrow analysis completed on your account. 21st Mortgage is required to complete this analysis on an annual basis to confirm your monthly escrow payment is sufficient to cover your property taxes, homeowner's insurance premium and monthly mortgage insurance payments. These funds are not used for the repayment of your mortgage debt. Your current monthly escrow payment is $. You may be able to lower this monthly amount by reducing your property taxes or finding a more inexpensive homeowner's insurance premium. Please note, 21st Mortgage has the right to protect the lien holder's rights by confirming your homeowner insurance has adequate coverage.

The second change to your monthly payment occurred on March 1, 2015. This payment increase was the result of an interest rate change which was scheduled through a Modification Agreement you completed with a prior mortgage servicer.

21st Mortgage's research has confirmed the changes to your monthly payment are accurate. For your records and to confirm 21st Mortgage's findings, enclosed you will find copies of the Annual Escrow Account Disclosure Statement sent to you on July 1, 2014 regarding changes to your escrow account and monthly escrow payment. You will also find a copy of the Modification Agreement. The schedule of changes to your interest rate and monthly payment can be found on the second page of the Agreement.

21st Mortgage has programs designed to help customers experiencing financial difficulties. If you are having difficulty maintaining monthly payments, please contact your Account Representative.
21st Mortgage Corporation


Page 1 of 2
08/31/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Won't give me my insurance claim money.. I have got a insurance check to repair some material in my home from water damage and I've been having to jump thru hoops just to get the material check so I can replace everything and they finally sent that out. Imgoing to do the work myself and I told them to take whatever I owe out of the labor check and they are refusing too. I don't want to lose my home. I just hope someone would understand were I'm coming from and not want my wife or kids to get sick from being in the home right now.

Desired Settlement
To take what I owe out of labor check then send me the rest

Business Response
Mr. *****, I have reviewed your file and see that you have been working with our Customer Service representatives on a solution to these issues.It appears as though they have overnighted some funds to you in regard to your insurance claim and you have a plan to resolve your situation. If this is not the case and you require additional assistance then please let us know upon receipt of this response.With your account being 60 days past due, all disbursements have to be made to a contractor or materials store such as ******** Previously you had advised us that your intentions were to use insurance funds to bring your payments up to date, so we will follow this policy unless you advise us differently.

07/28/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
In the process of buying a Mobilhome for them they decided to send it somewhere else and jack the price up without any warning to me.
I was approved by them to buy a repo mobile home. I had a deposit down to hold the home while paperwork was completed. Before I could even respond i was then told the home had extensive frame damage and wouldn't be warranted or make the move needed to my lot and to come pick up my deposit. Before I could get check back - 21st had unknowingly to me - already picked the home up, changed the price to an moved it to another dealers lot without any contact with me to let me know. This is not a way to do business. Now the home with supposed frame damage is being sold at mclaughlins manufactured home movers

Desired Settlement
21st should at least contact me and let me know how they can do this to a person out of no where with no warning.

Business Response
I appreciate you reaching out to our company and we will research into your inquiry regarding this dealer and the home that you intended to purchase.
Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I will be waiting to hear back from 21st.

07/27/2016Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
A dirt pad was to be made in accordance with state laws before the delivery of mobile home. sales hired an individual to complete this task, but in doing so he knowingly drove over a well marked septic tank and caused it to cave in and cause non repairable damage. he also demolished an 8x10 storage shed that was supposed to be moved to another location on the lot, "the dirt guy" also ripped the gas line from the meter, broke the water line, and drove into the power pole causing it to lean so that the power lines were drooping over the roadway. the property has been deemed unlivable by the health department and my family and i cannot live in this mobile home due to an incompetent person who through negligent and or wantonness behavior demolished said properties. 21st mortgage has known about this issue and has yet to repair damages, therefore they have breached contract due to the fact that i purchased a home which has been made unlivable and do not seek to resolve this dispute. we have not stayed one night in our new home unitl this day and do not foresee living in it anytime soon.

Desired Settlement
after resolution i want nothing more to do with refund for down payment, refund of (4) months paid mortgage including escrow, reimbursement of the following damaged and or destroyed property: 8x10 storage shed cost to repair water and gas line),cost to repair power pole. As for the breach of contract, you can come get the mobile home off of the property anytime you please, as long as i am there to make sure nothing else is destroyed. Total resolution- a check made payable to heather annette johnson in the amount of fifty-two thousand and three hundred dollarsand mobile home removed from premises within thirty(30) days of receiving this notification. i hope this matter can be resolved very quickly due the fact i have already waited (6) months. if you feel you are unable to have this matter taken care of, i will have my lawyer file the suit.

Business Response
At this time you should have been contacted by one of our field managers a few weeks ago, after we first learned of the issues outlined in your complaint.
It appears from the updates I have reviewed that these issues are being addressed properly but if you should need anything further please do not hesitate to contact me.

07/14/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Insurance claim check never returned to me.
On ******* submitted wind damage claim to **** Mort. I was issued a claim# XXXXXXXXX. Adjuster came an assessed the damage. On ******** I was issued a check #XXXXXXXXX in amount of ********* from *****. made to 21 Mort and myself. I called 21st and was instructed to send them check and they would endorse and return it to me. My mortgage payment is due on the **** of each month and I had already made Mort company aware that the payment for May would be made between the third and fourth ********* of the month. they said there was no problem as long as it was made. They received the insurance check that I sent back to them and held it until I made the monthly payment. Which is fine but now it is May **** and they are sitting on the check. I called again to make sure they received payment & was told by ext **** I personally mailed it. I was so happy and waited again. I received that same check #XXXXXXXXX on ****** signed and a 21st stamp so I went to my bank ********** & was told check needed signature guarantee stamp & legibly sign & provide contact info. It could not be accepted. Called 21st mort. again spoke with ******** and was told to endorse chk and send back to them, they would cash check and issue one in my name only. On ******** I went to post office and sent Priority Mail Express & I also paid the return priority express postage envelope and inserted in package. I tracked & they received next day. I was told it would take up to ** hrs to get another check issued. It is now ********* and nothing. I called **** on ********* and I was told it had been sent on ******** they gave me the tracking # which I had because I paid for it. I have gone to Post office twice and package is no where to be found has never been scanned. Post office states package is scanned 4-5 times in transit. This particular one has never been scanned. I have been very patient with them and all I have gotten from them is grief and lies. Bottom line is I have not been able to repair my home and it makes me sick to think someone could do this to a human being.

Desired Settlement
We are on a fixed income and I really need this check to do repairs. If I didn't have coverage I would not be bothered but I do and I am not getting assistance from the Mortgage company.

Business Response
Ms. ****,
I apologize for the delay in reviewing this issue but it does appear you were sent the insurance check in question via priority mail back on **** ****** there are any further issues please do not hesitate to contact us. 21st Mortgage Corp.

06/15/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
21st Mortgage has inaccurately reported a late payment on my credit reports. After several attempts to resolve this, they still are not cooperating. 21st Mortgage has inaccurately listed a late fee on my credit report. I sent a payment via mail, and they processed it five weeks after they received it! I called them and spoke to a manager when I realized they still had not cashed my check, and the manager informed me to NOT send another payment until advised. The check finally cleared and once it had done so, my payment was late. I followed the advice of a manager of 21st Mortage, and yet they still have not agreed to remove my late payment listed on my credit report/ The employees of 21st Mortgage have shown to be incompetent and extremely rude! They were clearly negligent in causing my payment to be late.

Desired Settlement
21st Mortgage needs to correct the late payments listed on my credit report.

Business Response
21st Mortgage has conducted a reasonable investigation and concluded there was no error in negative credit reporting on your account. Section ****************** of Regulation X gives the borrower the right to request documents relied upon by the servicer in reaching its determination. Document requests may be sent to the Customer Inquiries address listed below.

21st Mortgage processes payments mailed to the P.O. Box *** address in ******** Tennessee on the same day they are received. 21st Mortgage has no contract with the United States Postal Service, nor does it have any control over how long mail takes to travel from its point of origin to the destination of our payment processing center. As such, if a payment is received at the processing center, it will be posted to the customer's account the same day. 21st Mortgage posted a check in the amount of **** to your account on March ** ***** which posted the February ** **** installment. As such, the payment was received over thirty (30) days past due and would reflect as such on your credit report.

21st Mortgage attempted to contact you throughout the month of January and then again throughout the month of February when your monthly payments were not received in a timely manner. Your Financial Counselor made contact with you on January *** at which time you informed him you had mailed your January payment. After he informed you that it had not been received, you authorized a check over the phone for the January monthly mortgage payment and advised you would mail in February's installment. Representatives from 21st Mortgage attempted to contact you when that payment was not received in a timely manner. There are no notes indicating that contact was made with you in the month of February. We spoke with you on March ** **** when you advised you had mailed in your February installment the prior month and requested that the late fees from January and February be removed. At that time, your Financial Counselor advised that 21st could look for the check that had been mailed, but that the check by phone option would ensure that the payments were received if the mailed check hadn't been received by 21st before the end of March. 21st Mortgage received a check in the amount of ******* on March ** **** which posted your February ** **** installment.

The next contact your Financial Counselor had with you was on March *** **** when you authorized the March installment over the phone, at which time he informed you that 21st Mortgage waived the late fees incurred for the January and February installments as a courtesy to you. Waiving the late fees as a courtesy did not have any effect on the credit reporting or payment history on your account. 21st Mortgage has a duty to report accurately to the credit bureaus.

Page 1 of 4

Industry Comparison| Chart

Mortgage Brokers

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.