BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 05/01/1974

Clayton Homes, Inc. (Headquarters)

Phone: (865) 380-3000Fax: (865) 380-3750

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

219 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 82 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues33
Delivery Issues4
Guarantee / Warranty Issues10
Problems with Product / Service172
Billing / Collection Issues0
Total Closed Complaints219

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (219)
05/30/2016Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The kitchen floor is falling away from the wall. Columns at kitchen island falling away from ceiling. Side entrance door or frame far from plumb.Purchase date *********** model ****** serial #XXXXXXAB. Sales rep. ****** ****** & ******* Homes. Kitchen floor is falling away from the walls. Columns at kitchen island falling from ceiling. Stool went through kitchen floor, nothing under the floor covering in that area. Mice coming in through area of TV room no subfloor under carpet. I can put my 3 fingers through the opening don't notice anything under carpet, plugged hole with steel wool. Bottom of master bathroom vanity not closed on the ends. Mice running in and out under the vanity. There are 2 slots on the ends open under the vanity. I stuffed steel wool in the slots. There is an opening at the top back corner of kitchen cabinet not open to view. Mice entering at that opening stuffed with steel wool. Side entrance door and door to kitchen far out of plumb 1 door does not stay closed all the time. Doors are tight at the bottom and 1/4" gap at the top. Stove is wedged in between cabinets not possible to remove to check for mice or cleaning.

Desired Settlement
I would like a subfloor repair under the kitchen area to allow me to sit on a stool. Repair area under carpet where there is no subfloor to not allow mice to enter home through carpet. Fix door frames to allow doors to stay closed and close the gaps. Finish detail under vanity to stop the flow of mice entering the master bath. This area is not able to be seen without lying on the floor and looking up under the vanity. Allow the stove to be moved in and out for cleaning.

Business Response
The factory ******* and I meet with customer yesterday. We reviewed his concerns and we have agreed to do a "good will gesture" service list, and explained that normally the items would not be covered since the home was bought many years ago... We advised that we would type up a final service letter, spelling out all the items in detail that we were helping with and how each item would be addressed... Once Mr. ***** signs and accepts then we would schedule a time to come out and make repairs.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Mr. ******* and his rep did come out an surveyed the situation. He implied that the problems would be resolved and some good will would also be included. This includes repairing the floor at kitchen island, caulking some crown mold. Also, adjusting exterior door and 0ne interior door at side entrance so that they would close properly. The Shult rep noticed some cabinet wood below the cabinet floor open where mice were coming into the home, possibly that may be repaired. I don't know if they can fix the floor gap at kitchen wall and floor. At this time all seems to be going well.

04/22/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Our house has been sitting on our property since Jan. We have called and texted both the salesman and manager with no responses. It is paid in full. We purchased a custom ******* home from ****** ***** in ****** CO in October of ***** Our house has since been sitting on our property since January ***** They set it and skirted it and installed the stair cases for the doors. They had a guy come out to fix the inside from travel damage. He did not finish and we have not had anyone to work on it since. We have placed several phone calls, voicemails, and text messages to ******, his Manager ***** and the main office. We get rare responses. The only response we get is that ****** is headed to a meeting and will call us later. We still sit here waiting. There are 2x4s in the utility room that aren't even connected to anything. Safety issue? We have paid for the house in FULL. No loan, straight out of our pockets. We paid for it in late December by check. It appears that the front door was already installed prior to painting because the entire backside is covered with paint splatters, as well as the glass door on our fireplace. The cabinets remain crooked, there is still a lot of work to be done to the house. We just want to move in. We have been very patient and polite with ****** and his staff but we are being taken advantage of. We got a phone call from the manager the day after a huge blizzard in Colorado stating that he wanted to send someone out. No one came? And we are pretty sure he said that solely to shut us up for a few more days. If the house doesn't get finished soon, and we don't receive a call back or some more information we will be taking legal action. This house should have been done months ago.

Desired Settlement
We want the house done, within the next two weeks and we want it done right. I want a return phone call from ****** or his manager stating that the house will be finished and an explanation as to why it hasn't and why they choose to ignore us. This should have been finished months ago considering the work we paid them for hasn't been completed yet. I want the painted door fixed, the fireplace fixed, the crooked cabinets fixed, the house finished and us moved in. My husband has a list of other issues with the structure that need to be fixed as well. We want this done in a timely matter and we do not want to be placed on the back burner.

Final Consumer Response
****** and his staff have since contacted us and began work on the house. It's looking like we will be moving next week at this time. I'm not sure if it was coincidence or the complaint that drove the work to finally get going but he is now being responsive and making every effort to get the house ready for us to move in.

04/15/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have had issues with my a/c since the first summer. The first repairman that came out. told me my unit was to small for my house.I purchased my home in november of ****** every year except one my a/c has had to be repaired.. the first repair man that can out told me my unit was too small for my house... have contacted ******* homes, did not want to resolve my issue... contacted the home show 2years ago which i purchased this.. they also did not want to help me...

Desired Settlement
I want my a/c unit replaced i also want to be credited the amount i've had to pay for my deductiable each year to have it falsey reparied

Business Response
We are going to send our A/C contractor to the customer's home to check the unit. We have not scheduled a date on when he will be able to make it to the customer's home, but he will be going there to check the size of the unit. This contractor did not install this unit, but we are sending him there to check. We will be contacting the ****** to set this up.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Replaced my unit...Satisfied.. appreciate clayton homes working with me..

04/05/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The items below are the things that need to be fixed,replaced, or compensated. 1. Front door does not open or close properly. 2. Paint on outside front door is damaged from sticker. 3. Weather seal on the bottom of back door is torn and falling off. 4. Master bathroom door does not lock. 5. Floor is making noise throughout house when walked on, also a loose board is lifting the linoleum on the kitchen floor. 6. Closet floor in master bedroom is stained from pvc primer that was dropped while fixing furnace that was improperly installed. 7. Door in utility room still hasn't been replaced due to noise when opening and closing and spots. 8. Breaker box is not labeled correctly, and breakers are popping.9. Walls and grout are cracking throughout house from settling. 10. Paperwork from delivery and permits say mobile home (manufactured home), and we paid extra money for house to be modular home. 11. Front and back doorknobs do not match they use different keys, they should be able to use the same key. 12. Color on the outside of house is the wrong color then what we chose when purchased. In July 2015 we agreed with the manager of Clayton Homes that everything on this list would be done by the beginning of September 2015. Do to weather, family emergency, and nobody from Clayton Homes contacting us or not showing up for multiple scheduled appointments it was not finished. I recently tried contacting Clayton Homes numerous times to resolve these repairs. I called four times and the manager was not there and nobody was willing to help me. I left messages with employees because i was told the new manager does not have a voice mail, and he refuses to call me back to fix the house that I've purchased from Clayton Homes.

Desired Settlement
I want the above issues fixed, replaced, or compensated on my one year warranty. I want everything done by April 2016. If resolving these issue's take longer than my one year warranty I want warranty extended.

Business Response
I just talked to your girlfriend that I reached She asked me to contact you at which I did call, but was forwarded to you answering machine. I left a message asking you to call me right away. I also said I would send you this email with my contact information.

My info is listed below, so please return my call to one of my numbers and/or this e-mail so that we can discuss this matter.
Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I accept the response as long as the company resolves all issues.

03/31/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Sales Contract to "replace or remediate" water heater issues prior to moving into our home, but problem persisted. As part of the sales contract on the home (of which I have a copy), the seller (******* ********* of ******* Homes - Festus, MO) had agreed to "replace or remediate" any pre-existing issues with the house's water heater. Upon moving into our home, we realized that the water heater was not working properly. D

Desired Settlement
All I ask to resolve this problem is the **** that I had to pay the warranty company for a problem that shouldn't have even been mine to handle in the first place.

Business Response
I contacted Mr. ****** yesterday ******** Very pleasant conversation concerning his water heater. He had an issue with his phone calls being ignored by the previous General Manager at the home center. He wants to be reimbursed for his cost concerning a water heater repair. I have assured him that I will cut him a check for **** to cover his out of pocket expenses. I also told him that we would remove an old carpet roll from him yard and dispose of for him. P.O. #XXXXXXXXXX has been submitted.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Mr. **** **** contacted me concerning my complaint and was very apologetic for the way Mr. ********* treated me and handled this whole situation. He advised me that the company had already taken action against Mr. ********* and that he had been relieved of duty. Additionally Mr. **** has come through on his promise to reimburse me for the cost of the water heater as well as take care of a few other loose ends that were left by Mr. ********** I am very pleased with how Mr. **** has handled this situation as it was both prompt and beyond my expectations.

Page 1 of 12
01/19/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
In the sales agreement it states " driveway" as a sellers responsibility. At this time and since the home was set up and delivered, there is still no "driveway". The sales agreement also list 2 4x4 decks. We've only received one 4x6 deck. There apparently isn't enough money in the sales agreement for the second deck. The sales agreement states that no other agreements can be made outside of the terms unless both parties agree in writing. Due to the missing deck, the county will not pass the house for final inspection. Due to it not passing final inspection, there will be no electric to the dwelling as it does not have a certificate of occupancy. The state and county still haven't passed the house for inspection. I've tried working with the home center but this is becoming ridiculous. At this time we cannot legally get to the house with a vehicle as the clearing they made to bring the house through was using the neighbors property and he's stated to trespass us. There is no legal driveway as defined In The sales agreement.

Desired Settlement
An actual driveway and the deck for the back door.

Business Response
The Home Ctr Mfg went to customer's property and staked out where the single section home would be placed on property. When grading contractor went out to property, customer moved stakes and had him grade out property for the house in totally different location than discussed which was up on a hill.
When the grading contractor started to grade out for the location where the customer wanted home, there was too much rock, consequently, the contractor wasn't able to get the hill down any further than what it is now. Now customer is not happy with steep driveway and wants us to fix the problem that we did not create. Customer also wanted the driveway on the opposite side of the property and there was extra work involved and drainage pipe installed under driveway. This also required a load of gravel to be brought in.
The sewer department did not tell customer that he was going to have electrical line dug from the road to the house to run pump to get sewage from house to the public sewer system. Consequently a long ditch had to be dug to run electrical wire from pump to his house which was not contracted for in the sales agreement (all of this as a result of customer moving the house further up the hill). Rather than paying for this additional cost, customer verbally agreed in front of general manager and manager in training for us to contract and pay for this work, and customer would pay for the decks himself. In addition, we purchased customer a generator so he could have temporary power to his house, and volunteered to put a 4x6 deck on the front of the house as a favor to customer, even though we paid for the other expense which weren't contracted for.
Consumer Response
Clayton Homes inc states there were stakes out on the property to mark where the house was. The house was never staked off and the county was never called, otherwise there wouldn't have been a Variance meeting on why the house was placed in the wrong spot. As a homeowner, I have no inclusion into the construction of a home, where it was placed, or how it is placed on the land. That is the responsibility of the contractor. The contractor chose to place the home where it is as there was too many large rocks. As far as what Clayton Homes inc classifies as a driveway, I have enclosed current images. There is no "driveway" Come out to the land and see for yourself. It is a mudslide. There is no gravel, there aren't any drainage pipes. I believe clayton homes inc is talking about the wrong property here. Regarding the sewer. Just as with the county and electric companies, the home center did not contact the Sewer dept. either as to find out the cost before hand on what was needed to have the systems installed, or where to place them.. I am a homeowner and not a contractor. it is not my place to worry about these things. I verbally agreed to have the Sewer electrical line dug for 300 ft. because we needed a working sewer. The home center told me that I needed cover the 300ft ditch myself. As for the decks, the home center states there is not enough money in the deal for anything else. Those "other expenses" that the home center claims they weren't contracted for is at the result of them failing inspection for electrical, state, health, and county laws. To this day the state and county still have not passed the house. They had to move the meter box to get the state electrical inspector to pass it and I have copies of the permits, zoning variance, county attorney documentation, Sewer dept. guidelines. and State law. please see photos attached.

Final Business Response
Customer did move home location and there is a driveway approx. 300 ft. long from the road to the bottom of the house pad. That is as far as the driveway can go. If customer had not moved the home up the hill to the back of the property, he would have had a driveway right to his front door. Instead customer wanted to be as far away from everybody else as possible. Because the homeowner did not have any evidence as to where the property boundary was, I ordered a survey. After the survey was complete, I met homeowner at property and showed him the county setback regulations and we marked the house pad area .He kept insisting that he wanted the home moved further up the hill and I told him because off setback and the visual I had on outcropping rock, that that was not a good area.

B: Customer obtained the fees from the septic and water supply companies

C: We put the original power pole where the power company staked it off.When power company came back to run overhead power line, they realized they had staked it off in the wrong location ,which would have required them to cut down 2 huge trees; power company made the home owner move the pole which we had to do on his behalf and bear the expense

D: The contract clearly states that customer responsible for all utility hook ups, even though we did assist him with some of these.

E: As stated before, the customer drove to my office and negotiated an agreement in front of myself, 1 other salesperson and the manager in training that he would forego the decks if we would take care of buying the sewer electrical cable, and dig the ditch. He agreed to cover the ditch back up and build his own decks. We did build the customer one deck, which again we beared the expense on.

F: Because customer moved home location, he had to go before the zoning board to get a variance. Customer did not have the $ to file for the variance and did not have any legal counsel to represent him at the zoning board meeting. We agreed to help him. We paid the fee and we represented Mr. Eubanks before the board, explained the geotechnical aspects of the project that prohibited the home from being placed anywhere else. The board agreed with our assessment and voted to grant the homeowner the variance

08/13/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Placement of home not desirable. Concerns were ignored. Has cause other problems on property.
We purchased a land/home package through ******* Homes of *********** ** in April of 2013 (closing date). Through out the entire buying process, we were told we would be working with the set up crew to determine placement of the home. On March 21, 2013, I went out to the property after work to discover that the land had been cleared and the foundation had been poured. I called the sales manager (who sold us the home) the following morning and expressed my concern about the home not being placed in a location my wife and I would have liked. My concerns were ignored. Upon placement of the home on the foundation, I expressed concern to the head of the set up crew ****** ***** that placement was not to my liking and I foresaw issues with the driveway and grading. She assured me that the drive would be "to code" and the grading in what was to be the front yard would not be as bad as I was thinking. After the home was placed and the drive and grading were done, it was everything I did NOT want. Now, by this time I could not extend my time in the apartment we were in, so we were stuck- start over and have nowhere to live until it was done right, or deal with it. Homeless was not an option, so we tried to "deal with it" while continuously raising our concerns and being ignored. After we closed, we did our initial walk through and made notes of repairs that needed to be addressed. It has been over a year, and nearly all of them are still an issue. Recently I found out that the placement of the home was based off a "general plan" that was submitted to the county we are in 2 years before we set foot in ******* ****** Through discussions with the county, I was told that based on the "septic map", I could have put the home anywhere on the property I wanted, as long as the room was there for the septic and a "repair field", which there was plenty of room. ******* homes first tried to tell me that the county tells THEM where the home HAS to go (false), then they admitted to "dropping the ball" on their communication to us that that was where THEY decided to place the home. The general manager of this particular location ***** ******** admitted that he didn't know the details about the sale, but that he knew I "wouldn't pay for another perk test" ($577), regardless that I had money set aside just in case something like this came up. Through several phone calls, one of the "regional V.P's" (**** ********** admitted that they "dropped the ball" communicating this to us, and that I should get with my wife and figure out how they could make it up to us, since moving the house is not an option and them buying the house back and us starting over again is not an option.
My wife and I decided that they should re-do the landscaping on the front and side yards where the grading was done very poorly, put up a retaining wall in the front yard (where everything washes out), and take the dirt that is removed and fill in the side yard (where everything washes out) with another retaining wall. Basically repairing the damage done by the bad grading and preventing further wash out. **** verbally agreed over the phone. Now, they have changed the "deal" and will not do the landscaping, and Lane has told me he will not send out the repair man to fix the list of problems we have had since the initial walk through unless I sign the "Resolution Agreement". I have the list of repairs that was sent to me by ***** and all are acceptable to me, except for the issue with offering me $1000 instead of doing the landscaping repairs on the front and side yards. $1000 isn't going to cover the block if I do it myself- $1885 (plus applicable taxes) for block, moving the power and cable lines, and equipment rentals. Not including more grass seed and straw- to which I have already spent roughly $1000 on trying to get something to grow in these areas.

Desired Settlement
1- Completion of all repairs listed on the "Resolution Agreement"
2- Landscaping done to our liking to repair poor grading/wash out, including moving of electric and cable lines
3- Move drive and parking to an acceptable location, including any necessary tree removal and additional gravel(and repair wash out damage in drive) for placement of pool at later date (parking is where we wanted to put a pool. Agreed on during meeting with **** ******* and ***** and *** ***** but not on "Resolution Agreement". I was told parking would not be behind house during set up).
4- Repair of back yard damaged cause by same set up crew dragging neighbors home through yard. Can be fixed using item #5
5- Fill any low areas in yard with topsoil to repair wash out damage.
6- Initial seeding and straw to repaired areas.
7- The $1000 check offered for "Hardship as goodwill"

None of this should come at any cost to me, since all of the yard/property issues would not be a problem if I had been informed that an additional "perk test" would have made it so my home would have been placed where we wanted. The test would have cost $577.

Business Response



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
In regards to completing the home repairs (they have had an updated list for MONTHS, it's the list on their "resolution agreement"), ******* neglected to mention the stipulation that I HAVE to accept the $2000 "bribe" in order for them to perform the repairs. ******* even sent ***** ***** (repair tech for *******) and a carpet guy out on Monday July XX XXXX to perform the repairs under the assumption that I had signed the papers accepting the bribe, which I did not. I would not allow them to perform the repairs (and ***** would not perform the repairs unless he had the approval from *******, which he did NOT get because I would not accept the bribe) due to the feeling that ******* would use that as my agreement to the bribe. I will not accept this bribe, due to the fact that it will not cover the cost of the retaining walls or the moving of the driveway to a location that would allow placement of a pool close to the home as we originally wanted and I informed Deena **** BEFORE the driveway and parking were even run all the way. Parking was not supposed to come past the side of the house, and it's behind the house, right where the pool was going to go. Now parking CAN'T go where we wanted it, because of the messed up front yard. As for us living in the home for more than a year before bringing up the placement issue, that was brought up in a phone call on the morning of March 21, 2013 to ****** ******* the morning AFTER I saw that a foundation was poured. I was told that ***** **** was supposed to contact me before ground was even broke regarding placement, and he would find out what happened. Apparently he never found out, because I never heard back regarding this issue, and every time I brought it up, the subject was changed. AFTER the home was set, I spent the next 3 MONTHS trying to call Mrs. **** regarding the torn up back yard, the heavily sloped front yard, and the parking placement issues. None of my calls were ever returned. As for not being under any form of duress, that is PARTIALLY true- I wasn't under any from *******, but I sure was from the apartment complex we were living in at the time. I was already month to month for rent for over a year (from a previous home center who's deal fell through on their end at the last minute), and the management was doing everything they could to get us out as they informed us that the rent for our 900 square foot apartment was going to go up over $900 on June 1st (since we were month to month waiting for the home)- they wanted tenants that would commit to a year lease. We were told the issues we had with the house would be addressed after we moved in by ****** ****** (who may or may not still be with ******* homes, depending on who you ask).

******* can feel free to come out and perform the repairs, but there will be no final resolution until the issues stemming from lousy home placement are handled- the issues with the front and side yards, the issues with the lousy parking arrangement, and the ruts filled in where ***** ******* crew drug the neighbors house through. Even the landscaper that came out to look at the yard thought the house was placed poorly. Not his exact words, but I will not type what he really said on something that can go public. Even HE thought the house should have been set farther back (about a house width and a few feet were his words).

IF I were to do the work on the front and side yards ONLY, it would cost me $350 to have the electric re-routed ****** **** had it run on an angle through the front yard), $40 to have the cable line re-routed (runs along side the electric line), $1125 for retaining wall block (estimated 500 blocks), $195 a day for bobcat rental, $85 a day for tiller rental (for areas the bobcat can't get in to), plus any smaller equipment and supplies that I would have to buy, plus taxes. Now if you add in what it would cost to move the parking back about 30 feet (pending septic line marking which STILL has not been done per verbal agreement with **** ********* the added cost of equipment rental plus additional gravel- plus the cost of having at least one load of dirt brought in to fill in the ruts in the back yard, it far exceeds the bribe of $2000. My guess is, **** ********* and **** ******* got the estimate from the landscaper that came out, saw how much it was going to cost to fix their screw up, and decided to back out of every VERBAL agreement that was made (since they know each other so well). Which is why I will no longer take a phone call from either of them, and any correspondence MUST be in writing.

Final Business Response
CMH Homes, Inc. d/b/a ******* Homes ("*******") has reviewed the most recent information provided by the customer. ******* disagrees with the customer's allegations, but has nevertheless made what ******* believes to be a good faith attempt to resolve this disputed claim. Unfortunately, it appears a negotiated resolution is unlikely. The previous settlement offer will remain open until the close of business Friday, August 15, 2014, at which time all offers of compromise and settlement are withdrawn.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Their "good faith" offer originally was to do the landscaping to "make up" for their miscommunication about the placement of the home. They changed their mind only AFTER the first landscaper came out to view the property. I still have not received an estimate from that landscaper. Their original "bribe" of $1000 was a slap in the face, and only after I told **** ******* that it wouldn't cover materials for the retaining wall did the bribe increase to $2000. They still refuse to perform repairs to the home unless I accept the bribe, and until it will cover the cost to fix their screw up in regards to poor home placement and the torn up back yard, I will continue to pursue a resolution. I have been brushed off for over a year in regards to this, I will not continue to be brushed off.

06/08/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Unusable vent leaking!!!!!Our home is all electric and this vent is for gas homes!Home bought in ***** Leak started in ***** Was woke up by all smoke alarms going off. Water was pouring from the vent where the account is. It just hangs there. We were told all the homes has it just in case we decide to use gas. We are NEVER gonna use gas and they will not come.and remove this vent. This vent has caused damage to our home. This is not a insurance claim. This is a claim where some thing was not made correctly. It has caused a lot of problems. We just want it removed and the deal ship acts like it's our problem and the in rance company says it's because of wind damage. Well, of course it's gonna from. something, but it shouldn't be there at all. I will not have my family living in a home that has mold and mildew in it!!!

Desired Settlement
Remove this vent so that our house will not be destroyed before it's even 5 years old.

Business Response
received a call from Mr. ******** on a Friday evening during the driving rain and flooding our area had approximately *** weeks ago. Immediately after the call, I sent my service tech out to the home. He got on the roof and addressed the leak which was around the vent above the furnace. Since Mr. ********'s home is out of warranty, I told him to consider filing a claim under his Homeowners Insurance or extended warranty. It has been inspected by the insurance company that services the extended warranty and they are waiting for Mr. ******** to get them an estimate for repairs that need to be made.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
They did send a serviceman out and he said that he fixed the problem. My issue is that if the problem was fixed why is it still leaking? Frathermore.....we have a warranty on our home still! They are not telling the truth! We have a warranty on our roof siding and was told a bumper to bumper warranty when we bought it. Funny how something goes bad and they say that our warranty is out. Our vinyl siding is also messing up. Why should we have to keep a vent on our roof that leakes?
We have a 15 year warranty von the siding that has to be replaced....it's wavy! And 20 on the roof!
I have come to you guys first to let you know what is going on before I contact a lawyer.

The vent did not just leak because of the weather! In our area NO homes were damaged, that was in the other counties around us.

This business hasn't done anything but push us around every since we signed the paperwork. I would never recommend them to anyone!

Final Business Response
After exhausting our efforts to make sure that Mr. ********'s home was built according to proper codes, we have found that the exhaust vent, which is used for both gas and electric homes, was installed correctly. The manufacturer and third party experts comments are below:

We have attached the Homeowners Manual. It describes the ********** **** which is the POS (passive ********* system). The other is a schematic of the ********** **** which shows the roof vent was built correctly.


This part is a compliance issue and is required by code. Once a homeowner buys the home, and takes possession, they may choose to do what they will with the vent. Please pay special attention, if the roof vent is removed this will void any warranty claim made.


If the customer no longer wants this, he is free to remove and repair himself. We, ******* Homes, are not permitted to change it or remove it out of compliance with our codes.

05/31/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Oakwood Homes will not come back and fix items that were agreed upon. Stated several times that they were cosmetic. When if fact some of them are not.
Items listed:
1- Fire place front piece mantle cracked all the way through and corible is crooked.
2- toilet tank cover scratched
3- window in kitchen not closing properly
4- No paint on molding around garage door.
5- fix center board in kitchen area, nails keep popping up after they been hammered in.

Desired Settlement
Replace Fire place stone veneer. Replace toilet tank cover.
Replace bottom sash for kitchen window. Paint garage door molding. Fix or replace center board in kitchen.

Business Response
We have the customer scheduled for Monday. I will provide an update after meeting with the customer.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
All the items were taken care of except for the fireplace corbel and garage trim paint and caulk around the front door.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The corbel is still crooked, which was found during the walkthrough and much be corrected. Paint on garage door trim and caulk around the front door still needed. Nobody said anything about as-is and my wife never signed off on the fireplace.

Final Business Response
We have Mr. ******** scheduled again for ****** May, ***** We will be sending a 2 man crew to pull his fireplace off, straighten corbel, and replace fireplace. We will also be caulking the front door and painting the garage side door. We will be done on ****** weather permitting. Even though the home was sold "As Is" as stated on his contract, we will certainly address these issues to the customers satisfaction.

05/26/2016Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I bought a double wide home in ******** and I've had nothing but problems.Some I have taken care of myself and the biggest complaint is well water is red and the smell of sewer coming up in the bathroom sink.Called the manager over this water problem and the last thing he told me was he will send someone out to put a filter on the well.Never happened and it has been over two months now.I have had this problem ever since I moved in.Can't drink the water and now laundry has ruined 4 sets of sheets as of today.Rain comes into a vent on top of the home and floods the kitchen and makes a loud noise when the wind is blowing.There are other problems that are minor and can be resolved by myself if need be.Right now my major concern is the water,sewer and vent on top of home.Bad enough the appliances that came with it aren't very good and they didn't come back and repair the damage they done to my property.

Desired Settlement
Get the well water situation taken care of,replace vent on top of home with a better one and fix the sewer smell.Bring me a load of dirt so I can repair the damage done to my property.

Business Response
Our office has made numerous visits to Mr. ****'s home to provide service. Mr. **** has our service manager's personal cell number for quicker responses to any of his problems that may arise.

Service has repaired a leak in the kitchen and we understood that Mr. **** would call after the next rain if he had anymore problems which he never did.

As part of our service package, toll-free numbers are provided for all appliances, water heaters, furnaces, etc... Our office was not made aware of an appliance issue for we would have been involved with all parties to resolve any issues.

Owning properties, Mr. **** was aware of the water quality in the area and understood water quality can never be guaranteed. Local environmental health and well installer reiterated that water quality can only be guaranteed by public water supplier. He stated of all the wells on this family property that only one had decent water. I did volunteer to have our plumber at that time to install a standard cartridge filter to filter the red rock sediment. The hired plumber went out of business and based on Mr. ****'s account did not install the filter. Our office will hire another plumber to install this filter to help maintain clear water.

We have never been informed of a sewer smell which could be the water, but more than likely are the plumbing vents for the bathrooms. We will resolve.

We cannot speak of the property damage because he limited our access to the property. The power company left ruts in the yard after we had performed positive drainage and passed ************ Being sandy soils, we do not have an issue delivering a load of sand to his property to accommodate his issues.

Our office was not diligent with follow-up each month after he moved in, but had Mr. **** contacted ****** ******* service manager, and/or our office we would have taken immediate action.

With that said, our office left a message on *** **** and called again this morning, *** ***** for Mr. ****. Our service manager has since spoken with Mr. **** and we will be visiting with Mr. **** the week of *** **** to resolve and/or to help resolve all the issues mentioned.

Thank you for an opportunity to respond and make amends for our communication breakdown with Mr. ****.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Yes the service manager tried to repair leak but didn't work so I done it myself because it takes days to get him out here and I didn't want any more damage done to my home.I tried sending Frigidaire a request to to get my refrigerator fixed and they claim all them make noises and on the washer they didn't respond at all.Service manager knew about the refrigerator because we listened to the noise together and he instructed me to register the appliances asap and I did.I was not aware of the water quality because I do have two other wells and I have no issues with them except one goes low during draughts and nothing else.I limited their access to my property because of the damage they were creating and making deep routes all over the place.I asked the service manager to just bring me a load of dirt or sand and I would repair the damage.Never got it and on top of that Dona the sales person knew about the appliance problem also.What is clearly stated from *** is he was not informed by his people or they wanted to wait to see if it would all pass *** nothing said.The person that made a big mess of my property is the one that quit and he was the one that put the pluming under the home.

Final Business Response
Simply stated, our service manager will be at Mr. ****'s home this week, week of *** ***** to meet Mr. ****'s desired resolution as stated in his complaint.

05/24/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Ive had unresolved water damage since august ***** not resolved resulting in the growth of mold and mushrooms inside my house. In August of **** I called ******* homes and informed them I had water leaking into my house along my front wall and that it was getting my sheetrock and carpet wet. ******* homes informed me that I needed to file a home insurance claim ( Even though its all covered under warranty, which I believe would be ******* homes committing insurance fraud). When I filed the claim with ******* my insurance company they sent out an adjuster who looked over the damage. He filed an official report stating the damage was caused by faulty manufacturer products and that the damage fell under the manufacturer warranty. Upon receiving this report from ******* I called ******* Homes to relay the message. That time I called my local ******* Homes who I had purchased from. On the phone I spoke with ******** ***, who told me," We only cover the first 2 years of owning a home you will need to call the factory with this issue." So I called the number she gave me and they scheduled to send a guy out. The guy shows up a few days later, looks at the front of my house and stands at the front door way and looks inside. He then tells me he sees nothing wring and that if I think I have a leak somewhere I better patch it before it gets worse. He then left without resolving any issues. That was August of ***** since then I have noticed water in the same spot. On around ********** my son woke up one morning to a Mushroom growing out of my wall. (I have pictures of all damages) Due to the fact that my home insurance told me they aren't accountable and the fact that ******* homes denied responsibility I took it upon myself to rectify the situation. Upon removing the carpet, drywall, and trim I was able to see a hole going straight through the wall to daylight on the otherside. I know for a fact that's where my water damage was coming from. I had a rotted hole all the way through my osb floor board of my trailer. I had mold growing up the wall covering the floor and the studs. I had to cut out and replace all rotted wood while combatting the mold with mold killer. Since that day in *** I have had to replace and fix the whole mess, even though ******* Homes was responsible under Manufacturer Warranty

Desired Settlement
Not only do I want reimbursed for my costs and time acquired to fix the water damage, I want to speak with whoever is in charge of the warranty department to discuss further reimbursement.

Business Response
I have scheduled an appointment with the customer on *** **** at 4 ******** ******** will be going with me to review. Once we meet with the customer we will update you with plan.

05/20/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Waiting on Drainage work, finish cleareing and driveway. My husband and I Purchased a home from ******* Homes in ****** NC back in March, We moved in a moNth ago and still have no driveway and the drainage hasn't been done nor has all the trees been cleared. Our first payment is due on May 1St. We have called and called ******* homes of ****** NC and they only give us the run around everytime we call. Our sales personS name is ***** They can't seem to give us a definite time that it will be completed. We paid for all of it to be done and we don't understand why it's not done.

Desired Settlement
We want the job done. A month has been too long already since we moved in a month ago.

Business Response
We have completed all work. We received the concern last week and spoke with customer. The grader was in contact with customer and advised to wait on gravel until utility company completed and weather has cleared up. The grader completed the job last week. I have spoken to the customer.
We have completed all work. We received the concern last week and spoke with customer. The grader was in contact with customer and advised to wait on gravel until utility company completed and weather has cleared up. The grader completed the job last week. I have spoken to the customer.

Page 1 of 32

Industry Comparison| Chart

Manufactured Homes, Home Centers

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.