BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/10/1997

American Home Improvements, LLC

Phone: (865) 909-0440Fax: (865) 909-0804View Additional Phone Numbers11028 Terrapin Station Lane, KnoxvilleTN 37932

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/10/1997

BBB has determined that American Home Improvements, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised American Home Improvements, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on American Home Improvements, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (6)
06/01/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
my balance was ******** was given to **** now I owe ****** Already sent *** to them. had no idea this would be sent to another agency.The roof is ok even tho it is Not the exact color promised. I was called by American Home to set up a budget payment. I gave them a ***** check with a balance of ****** *********** total price on the contract was ****** I was not told they would be giving it to another party. I sent **** Home a *** dollar check as my first payment. The principal alone is ******* bank had a credit charge of ****** (why charge me?) I don't feel I was treated right by American Home with the payment practice. **** **** was the salesperson. I just don't have that kind of money to pay out especially with it open and a principal of ****

Desired Settlement
To pay original balance that was on the contract from American Home ***** and no more. I was told this would be the balance so they need to make good with the contract.

Business Response
Customer contracted with us to do a roof on her home in the amount of ******* She made a down payment of ******* leaving a balance due of ******* .I am sorry that Ms. ******** was confused regarding the financing arrangements for the balance. We have several banks that we use to finance our projects and we choose the best one to fit the customer's individual needs. In this case, we chose ***** I personally took the financing paperwork to Ms. ********'s home to be signed and went over the paperwork with her, which said **** on it.Our company only received the ****** balance for this job. The bank is the one charging and receiving the finance charges. If she doesn't want to pay any finance changes; she can pay the loan off There are no pre-payment penalties,

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
There was no misunderstanding. I would have done things differently if I had known they were sending my account to another source. This was not explained AT ALL!!! So why tell me a balance then send it to a bank they chose. I would have used my on bank for the loan.

Final Business Response
We have two options for the financing of our customer's jobs. They can either pay cash, or we can obtain financing for them. Since Ms. ******** did not write us a check at the end of the project, she obviously knew the balance was going to be financed. It does not matter if she finances with our bank or her bank, she is still going to have to pay finance charges to someone. If she goes to her bank and gets a loan, she can pay off our loan and she will only have paid the ****** that we agreed to. I really don't understand why she feels like she was misled or used since we are only being paid ****** as per her contract which included her down payment of *******

05/18/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
In March of 2010 we bought windows from this company. During the past 2 years nine of those windows have become defective. The vacuum seals breaks and the windows become cloudy.

I have tried in vain for about eighteen months to get these windows replaced. The company agrees that the windows were guaranteed and promises to replace but the representative keeps making promises but does not deliver. He says that the windows are at the shop but will take a full day to install.

Business Response
We have received the complaint and wish to respond. Unfortunately, the company that made their windows, Gore11, went out of business. Those windows are no longer covered under warranty. When they originally called in with seal failure on one window, we agreed to replace it free of charge. When our representative went to their home to replace the glass, they pointed out several other windows with the same issue. Our representative told them he would order the other ones as well.

I was under the impression that the glass had been ordered some time ago. When the installer went to look for the glass to schedule the installation, he could not find the glass packs in our warehouse. When I called the manufacturer, they informed me the glass packs were never even ordered. In addition, we cannot find the paperwork with the sizes on it. Therefore, we are unable to reorder the glass this time. We will be more than happy to send another representative out to re-measure and get the order placed.
I am so sorry about this delay. I have no excuses-we just made a mistake. We want to make this right as soon as possible.


09/04/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
******** ******* repair work was shoddy and not done in a workmanlike manner. They refuse to resolve the matter
On August 8, 2012 I contracted American Home to repair damage to my residence from tree damage. The work was completed on January 10, 2013. Approximately 6 months later, the sheetrock repairs were faulty in two rooms and multiple nail heads are popping through. This work is covered under their warranty for a period up to one year. I made contact with their representative and had numerous recorded conversations where he was going to come back out and repair the work. I was promised the repairs would be resolved. I was extremely patient and after 9 months of the "run around" and delays, I was told by the representative that he could not find a drywall contractor because they are so hard to come by and I would have to do it myself. I was able to "find" a dry wall contractor with 1 day of searching. Within a week they came out and gave me an estimate. I submitted the estimate to American Home as per their representatives request and we are still waiting for the damages to be repaired with no response from American Home.

Desired Settlement
We are seeking company to come out immediately and repair the aforementioned problems or pay me the $875.00 it will cost me to have someone else to do the work.

Business Response
We have been at the customer's home making repairs and are almost finished with them.

01/18/2016Problems with Product / Service
10/21/2015Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Home Improvements, Windows - Installation & Service, Siding Contractors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/10/1997Business started: 01/01/1997Business started locally: 02/01/1997
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

Business License City # 31254
County # 141298

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Mark Sims (President)
Contact Information
Mr. Paul Quinney (Vice President of Marketing)Mr. Nathan Sims Ms. Crystal Sims (Office Manager)
Number of Employees

94

Business Category

Home Improvements, Windows - Installation & Service, Siding Contractors

Products & Services

Home Improvements, Cabinets, Siding, & Windows. Sales and Marketing Home Improvement services in the East Tennessee and Western North Carolina areas

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for American Home Improvements, LLC

11028 Terrapin Station Lane

Knoxville, TN 37932

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 11028 Terrapin Station Lane 

    Knoxville, TN 37932(865) 909-0440
    (888) 684-6877
    Fax: (865) 909-0804

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Greater East Tennessee. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*American Home Improvements, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 684-6877
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews as of November 2012.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Home Improvements

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.