BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/07/2009

HEP, Inc.

Phone: (865) 240-0944Fax: (865) 963-0120View Additional Phone NumbersP. O. Box 14668, KnoxvilleTN 37914View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/07/2009

BBB has determined that HEP, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised HEP, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 12 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service10
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 12

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on HEP, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (12)
10/29/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

I was promised a refund due to the fact that the repair tech broke my heating and air system.
the tech came to repair my system. When he got there, he had to hook up a thermostat. He hooked the thermostat up incorrectly which blew the transformer he had just replaced. I had paid *** for a service agreement and another **** for a new transformer and labor. A new tech was supposed to come out the next day and no one showed up. After waiting a few days, I had a different company come out that fixed the blown transformer for ***** I spoke to a gentleman named ***** who assured me a tech would call me and a service manager would call me as well. The tech called finally and talked about the situation with me and asked what is it I exactly want.I want a refund of all monies given to this company.

Desired Settlement
I want a refund of all monies given to this company. $238.00 for transformer and labor and $99.00 for the service agreement because I can never trust this company again when it comes to my heating and air unit.

Business Response
We strive to provide a premium service to every customer and to maintain a 100% satisfaction guarantee. Unfortunately, we make mistakes and we work diligently to correct them immediately. In this case, we were not as quick to respond as we desired. If we committed to call you back in ten minutes and we did not, I apologize. It also appears that due to a death in his family the technician understandably failed to follow proper procedures. We respond to thousands of service calls every month and we do receive complaints. They are usually resolved within the office following our complaint resolution procedure. As with your complaint, some were not resolved in the office as quickly as we would like. Over the course of the past 3 years, we have only a .3% complaint ratio; 3 complaints for every 1000 service orders. 92.8% are resolved via our current procedure; less than 3 in 10,000 make it past our administrative people and managers. We know these stats do not make your experience any better, but as we continue to grow we realize we must quickly adapt our processes to satisfy our increased customer base. In this case we did not adapt quickly enough. Your complaint highlighted a concern that we have since addressed. We have positioned a person to be totally focused on customer communication. We know that there will still be mistakes, but our customer communication should be best in class as we move forward. We do realize that is not always possible with our vast array of services. To provide the service we desire, we are required to maintain specialist in many fields. In the construction industry, one can only imagine the difficulty we have hiring qualified specialists in heating, air conditioning, plumbing electrical, roofing, gutters, handyman, painting etc. As a service to the community, we want to be a one stop shop. That requires keeping multiple processes running smoothly every day. I thank you for taking the time to speak to me today and as promised, your refund was processed and mailed today

10/28/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

i had a problem with the duct work under the crawl space leaking cold air causing a lot of condensation which was causing fungus and mold problems to develop on the subfloor. I called HEP HVAC Service and requested that a service person come out and see what needs to be done to correct this problem. Later that day tech came out and went under the crawl space to do necessary repairs. He was too big to fit under all of the duct work but did repair two lines closer to the crawl door. I went under there a few days later and found two more duct lines that also needed repairing. I was charged $000.00 dollars for the small amout of work he did. I called HEP back a few days later and requested that they send another (smaller) person back to complete the work needed. I was told that the HVAC manager would call me back to discuss my issues. As of today he has not called me. I did not complain about the amount I was charged even though it was only a few pieces of duct tape and about 15 minutes of time. I do have a maintenance service with HEP. would like someone to come back to my house and complete the work I paid for. It should not be my problem that the Service Man could not fit under the crawl space to identify all that needed to be repaired and causing another charge to come back out.

Desired Settlement

Business Response
Our technician only charged you for the repairs he was able to perform. That was $$ for the service call and $$ for the repairs. That is a very reasonable price for any work done, let alone duct repairs in a crawl space. It is true that he could not reach all of the ductwork, and the HVAC manager did call you and offer to send another technician out without charging an additional service call fee of $$. You would only be charged for any additional work performed. We feel that too is very reasonable because the first technician was unable to completely solve your problems. If you would like to call and schedule another technician, please reference service order ########. Thank you for your business.

08/04/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

company failed to honor signed contract. i would like Hep to return and finish the job as per our contract, and not have to incur any extra fees.

Business Response
We have refunded this customer's money and he is satisfied. It is unfortunate that we were unable to provide the services he needed, but that was simply a mistake made by the salesperson.

06/16/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Did not fix air conditioning during first service call and expected payment of another service call fee. We paid their service call fee and all they did was remove freon. When it still did not work two weeks later, they tried to make us pay another service call fee. We paid them the first time and they did not fix the problem, why should we pay them again to come back and fix their mistake? They supposedly have a 30 day guarantee. I would like a refund since they will not honor a guarantee and the air conditioning is even worse since the technician left.

Business Response
I am certain that no person employed by HEP believes that we charge anything for service failures. I will find out whom and why you were given the impression that a service call fee would be charged. It is also regrettable that the technician failed to correctly diagnose the issue and solve your problem. I have authorized a refund of your payment.

05/16/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

I "won" a year contract with HEP I called them for my first "free" service call on my air conditioner-heating unit which was working fine. He came out and all of a sudden it was not working. So he replaced the capacitor added a **** for ******* I kept the capacitor he took out as it was different from the one he put in. He told me the reason was the one he put in was a universal and was better. He told me my unit was well over 10 years old and would need replacing soon. That the work that day was a patch job. This spring is now air conditioning season - and low and behold thaw air starts and the fan motor stops and the compressor is making a terrible noise. So I turned it off, and called ***** tech opens it up and low and behold the capacitor is over rated and wired wrong and the **** is not installed correctly He corrects it and all the noised are gone and the fan does not over heat. I want my $$$ back.

Business Response
We have refunded this customer's money in full and fired the technician who performed this work. Customer is satisfied.

Page 1 of 2
08/13/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

HEP is SO overpriced, the office workers who take calls are rude & disorganized, and they require too much paperwork from their servicemen.
This company is completely ridiculous and their prices are highway robbery. We had to do an "after hours" call which cost $128 just for them to come to our house and do nothing. They said they would come sometime after 6 pm and the man showed up at 11 pm on a Friday night. The woman at the office who had taken down my information had apparently written down the wrong phone number and address, so the serviceman had a lot of trouble finding us. Once he looked at our AC unit, all he could do was tell us we had to wait till Monday to get our part that was under warranty because that's when the carrier was open. (Or we could pay $600 for a new motor now that wasn't under warranty.) We chose to wait. That was fine because it wasn't really their fault, it was the carrier. (Although I did hear from someone else in the AC biz that the carrier could have gotten us the part on a weekend if they felt like it.) Plus, we knew the after hours call was going to be expensive, so we were ok with that. Then, on Monday morning, I called HEP again to schedule the warranty part installation. They couldn't find my name or information in their records, so I gave it to them again. The woman said she'd call the serviceman and then call me right back. An hour and a half later, she still hasn't called me back, so I called again. They hadn't heard of me/couldn't pull up my account, so I gave them my information AGAIN! We finally scheduled an appointment. The service man (who was actually very nice and tried to be helpful) said he would be there in a half hour and actually took a whole hour to arrive. Finally, he installed the part in 8 minutes and then spent 45 minutes doing required paperwork (a digital form on his tablet and at least 2 written forms). And we got our bill. It was $373. For the man to do 8 minutes worth of work. I was furious and called the next to speak to a manager. She was extremely rude and did not care one way or another if I was a satisfied customer. She said the prices were the prices and that was it. The labor price included going to the carrier to pick up the part. And we had purchased a $99 maintenance agreement, which my husband and I were confused about. I asked if we could have that refunded, as we wouldn't be using their company again. She said no, the check had already been deposited. So all in all, it cost us $500 for HEP to install a part that was under warranty (aka supposed to be free to us) that took 8 minutes to put in. NEVER, EVER USE THEM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I've also heard horror stories from my friends about workers from this company falling through their roof and spending more time fixing their own mistakes than fixing their house.

Desired Settlement
I would like to be refunded the $100 for the maintenance agreement that we do not want anymore. And any additional refund would be nice for all my inconvenience and since it was so much money for something that took 8 minutes.

Business Response
I'm sorry you feel our services are overpriced, but in order to maintain a high level of service, we must charge accordingly. You may not be aware that the technician removed your blower assembly and brought it back to the shop to clean thoroughly, replace the motor, and align and balance the fan. This was about 1 1/2 hours of work that made it easier to quickly slide the assembly back in place when he returned to your home. He had also spent the time to thoroughly diagnose the issue on his first visit. Overall, he spent far more than 8 minutes solving your issue. We do not feel our price was unreasonable, and in fact you were given a 20% discount because you signed up for a Maintenance Agreement.

Our office staff does make mistakes occasionally. It appears a typo in your address (8350 instead of 8340) did cause some issues, but the staff is trained to find your account using other information if needed. We have reviewed your conversations to try to learn from and correct any training issues the staff may have. I assure you no one was intentionally or consciously rude. The clerk did not tell you no refund, she said she could not guarantee the refund, but she would process the request. Our office staff is not authorized to issue refunds. They must be reviewed by the department manager and the owner. This serves to ensure that we learn from every dissatisfied customer.

As for the "Horror Story" you heard, I would say the important message in that is that, unlike some companies, we work very hard to fix our mistakes and satisfy our customers. Every company makes mistakes, it's what they do about it that makes the difference.

10/16/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

We hired this company to correct electrical work that was incorrectly done by another company. After they completed the work and were paid, the inspector failed the electrical work again. This company was paid to do a job, they said they did it, they got paid and now they will not come back and complete the job unless we pay them more money.

Desired Settlement
We want a refund of the money we paid this company.

Business Response
This customer did contact us to do work. We did the work as requested and were paid for our service. The inspector came and failed the job due to labels not being on the HVAC unit. We had nothing to do with that and therefore are not responsible for the job failing.

08/13/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Contract written for removal and replacement gutters. Sign contract app. one month ago. Still no gutter after they gave me 3 scheduled dates and kept none. Excuse vacations, weather even though weather has been good, employees replaced . HEP has had three different gutters supervisors in 1 month and cant get an answer other than to reschedule me each time. Wasted two day off during this time, thinking they were coming out. No phone calls from HEP saying they weren't coming out and not showing up. I want my Money back.

Business Response
We have worked out all of the issues with this customer and completed the work to his total satisfaction. The issues were internal, and we are confident we have learned from this incident in order to prevent future occurrences.

02/14/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Repair that did not cure the problem. Next attempt damaged non-related duct insulation - never fixed. Final repair failed to fully insulate duct. The thermostat for zone did its job of having the HVAC unit generate heat, but the zone damper was not opening, so the heat had nowhere to go unless another zoned called for heat and it's damper opened. HEP investigated and claimed the main zone control board was "Bad". After the replacement zone control, they claim they tested the system and all was good. A couple of days later I noticed the zone was cold. Upon investigation I deducted that the damper was still not opening, yet the furnace was still producing heat. That heat never flowed anywhere unless another zone call for heat and opened anther damper. This caused the furnace to run continually since the failed zone thermostat was communicating to the furnace that heat was needed. HEP returned and decided that the damper was defective and could not confirm that the zone control board was ever defective, therefore, they agreed to order and replace the damper at no additional charge. When the damper was finally replaced, the duct was not fully wrapped with insulation, but rather just covered with the foil tape to disguise and give the appearance of fully insulating the duct. The other duct insulation that they damaged unnecessarily was never taped closed and, therefore, leaves duct improperly insulated. If they are willing to return the duct to its original condition, I will accept that.

Business Response
The board failed, and a motor failed a week later. That kind of thing happens. We may or may not have been able to determine that the motor was going bad at the time the board was replaced, but we replaced the motor for free anyway. We had to order the motor, so the tech who examined it did not seal the duct work back knowing he would have to install the new motor in a couple of days anyway. We don't condone that. There was also apparently some confusion over what ducting needed repairs. We plan to send duct work techs to re-seal and re-insulate the duct work now that the new motor has been installed. We have been in contact with customer and have worked out a solution that satisfies him. We have not been able to complete the work because we have been unable to schedule a satisfactory time for the customer. We expect to be able to complete the work within the next few days.

07/19/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

The service was done, The sales person said that the only thing we needed was a new fan and a hard start kit. We have a home warranty so we decided to use a contrActer that they recommended. We were not happy with this company.

Desired Settlement
We want our money back. We don't want a replacement as there is nothing wrong with our compressor.

Business' Initial Response
Our technician found that the condenser fan motor was failing and recommended it be replaced. The customer did not want this work done at the time, but wanted to get the unit up and running. The technician recommended a hard start capacitor for the compressor due to fan motor stopping and compressor running without the fan. The customer agreed to have this done.
The condenser fan failed a few days later causing the compressor to heat up to very high levels, which most likely caused the failure of the hard start capacitor. Since another company responded to this service call. We can not possibly say with any certainty what really happened, nor can we be responsible for any work they performed. Had the customer called us back, we would have responded as we always do in such situations; we would have assumed that the service we provided was somehow inadequate and the return call would have been free of charge unless the technician found that a new problem had arisen. In this case, we would likely have found that the fan we recommended be replaced had failed, and would therefor have to charge for the repairs. Even though the hard start capacitor was probably damaged because of the fan failure, the technician would have replaced it at no additional charge anyway.
We believe we did the best we could to satisfy the wishes of this customer, but they did not accept our recommendations for a proper repair, so we cannot be responsible for the consequences. We do not agree with our competitor's assertion that the hard start capacitor was an unnecessary part. Our technician was simply trying to extend the life of the system in accordance with the customer's wishes.
Customer satisfaction is extremely important to us. We discussed the situation with the customer he completely understands, and we agreed to refund part of the money because we should have explained more carefully the potential consequences of not replacing the fan motor. Customer is very happy with this decision and will continue to use HEP for future repairs.

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Heating & Air Conditioning, Duct Cleaning, Carpet & Rug Cleaners, Doors, Windows - Installation & Service, Remodeling Services, Siding Contractors, Roofing Contractors, Plumbers, Painting Contractors, Contractor - Insulation, Handyman Services, Home Improvements, Gutters & Downspouts, Electricians, Contractors - General

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 04/07/2009Business started: 10/01/2002
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This firm is Licensed HVAC, Electric and Plumbing

Type of Entity


Incorporated: August 2002, TN

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. William Hitchcox (Owner)Customer Contact: Ms. Catherine Cattafi (Complaint Handler)Mr. Rocky Glenn Mr. Eric Mitchell (Marketing)
Number of Employees


Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning, Duct Cleaning, Carpet & Rug Cleaners, Doors, Windows - Installation & Service, Remodeling Services, Siding Contractors, Roofing Contractors, Plumbers, Painting Contractors, Contractor - Insulation, Handyman Services, Home Improvements, Gutters & Downspouts, Electricians, Contractors - General

Products & Services

This company offers Heating & A.C., Electrical, Plumbing Contracting, Roof contracting , Duct cleaning and Refrigeration for Residential & Commercial

Alternate Business Names
Oak Properties, Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

HEP, Inc. has received 5.00 out of 5 stars based on 2 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

1 Locations

  • P. O. Box 14668 

    Knoxville, TN 37914(865) 240-0944
    Fax: (865) 963-0120

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Greater East Tennessee. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*HEP, Inc. is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (865) 525-2009
  • (865) 523-4921

Additional Email Addresses


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews as of November 2012.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Heating & Air Conditioning


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.