BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/28/2010

Gutter Helmet of East Tennessee, Inc.

Phone: (865) 687-6996Fax: (865) 687-3031View Additional Phone Numbers1601 Dutch Valley Road, KnoxvilleTN 37918

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/28/2010

BBB has determined that Gutter Helmet of East Tennessee, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Gutter Helmet of East Tennessee, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Gutter Helmet of East Tennessee, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
07/18/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Gutter helmet warranty provides lifetime protection against clogged gutters from leaves, debris, etc. The section of my gutter which is overflowing with pine needles was installed by gutter helmet crew in They replaced a 35 foot section of gutter which had been damaged by a fallen tree. I reported my clogged gutter and was told a crew would be sent in 1 1/2 to 2 weeks. I called again on and was told one of the crews had some problesm but they would send a crew to my area in the next week or two. I would like a refund so I can replace the gutters.

Business Response
I personally called customer and left a voice message, Yes we were in his area on ////, but he had elected to get the BBB involved and we were not aware he would accept a call or an appointment with us; since he did not return our phone call from ////. We are also going to be in his area //// and we have talked with him today and scheduled the appointment with him.

04/22/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Company removed a large portion of gutter guard that leaked - has not replaced. I have received no response. I proposed an upgraded replacement of the portion (approximately // feet) that had been removed, at a cost to us of ***** To date I have had no response from the company. We paid over ****** for this product, and all guttering installed on the entire front of our home is currently unprotected. I am willing to pay almost half of their proposed solution. At this point, I am so disgusted with the company that I only ask that they send someone other than ********* out to re- install the original product that we paid for, and to keep our warranty in place. We have done nothing to void it. That is better than nothing, and at least we won't have to worry about cleaning the gutters. I will accept that and be done with them.

Business Response
We wrote customer a response to her letter. She doesn't mention our letter or any of the attachments sent with the letter, she does indicate receiving the proposed estimate for the 50 ft of Gutter Helmet for the front of her home at a price $$$ and that she feels that $$$ would be an acceptable price. We explained in our letter we could not honor the price of $$$ because materials cost more than that amount, And we are unaware of who removed her guards on the front of her home in between service call visits we had on ////// and ////// we asked if she got a new roof during this time or if any other workman working on this area could have removed it. If customer has product lying in her garage we will go and put it back on the front of her home for free, but if she wants the Gutter Helmet lifetime warranted product on front of her home her estimate that we gave still stands. We cannot discount it to the amount she offered.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Gutters & Downspouts

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 10/29/1992Business started: 06/01/1992
Business Management
Principal: Ms. Kimberly Welch (President)
Contact Information
Mr. Eddie Welch (Vice President)
Number of Employees


Business Category

Gutters & Downspouts

Products & Services

This firm offers Sales and Installation of Gutter Covers

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Gutter Helmet of East Tennessee, Inc.

1601 Dutch Valley Road

Knoxville, TN 37918

To | From


1 Locations

  • 1601 Dutch Valley Road 

    Knoxville, TN 37918(800) 730-6066
    (865) 687-6996
    Fax: (865) 687-3031
    Fax: (865) 687-3031

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Greater East Tennessee. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Gutter Helmet of East Tennessee, Inc. is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 730-6066

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews as of November 2012.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Gutters & Downspouts


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.