BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/01/1993

Dentacare of Knoxville, PC

Phone: (865) 544-1711Fax: (865) 544-17123001 Knoxville Center Drive, #1100, KnoxvilleTN 37924

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/01/1993

BBB has determined that Dentacare of Knoxville, PC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Dentacare of Knoxville, PC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues3
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Dentacare of Knoxville, PC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (6)
05/18/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Did not receive all services paid for.
Scheduled an appointment and when we got there the girl forgot to actually schedule it. We paid for exam and xray. This service was supposed to include cleaning as posted on their sign outside. No exam was given and the xray was only for the area of tooth that was a concern and not the entire mouth which we paid for. No information was given except 2 prescriptions. Nothing about how to care for the tooth, nothing. No receipt was given, cash was paid. I was told I would have a followup appointment, which they never made. I had to call them for the appointment. When I went to my followup appointment I was charged before services were render when their sign says "payment after services render". No work was done and I had to demand a refund which they were not going to give me at first. Now my funds are tied up for services I never received. on "hold" until they batch out their credit card machine.

Desired Settlement
Full refund of exam and xray,

Business Response
I am happy to address questions that may arise about fees and payment guidelines in our office and in dentistry in general. Our fees for a single periapical x-ray (that looks predominantly at one or two teeth), a problem focused exam, and in-house sterilization fee is $77.00 These procedures are performed by determining what a patient states their needs are when scheduling AND what they write on their patient information form. When a patient requests we look at a particular problem with a single tooth that is what the dentist examines. An x-ray is necessary in most cases and an exam is inclusive of giving prescriptions. A dentist would not prescribe medications without an exam on a new patient. We do not schedule a cleaning appointment without a comprehensive exam, probings, full mouth x-rays, etc. The fee for these services is $. Again, the request for these services is denoted by the patient in writing on their initial form.
Additionally, these procedures as well as their fees are reviewed in writing and agreed to by the patient with their signature BEFORE we proceed with treatment. Sometimes we do collect payment for services before a patient has treatment (surgery, for example). If a patient pays for a particular procedure and then either decides NOT to do the treatment or the treatment CAN"T be performed (due to clinical reasons), the fee is refunded. If one pays in cash,then cash is refunded (or check). If a credit card is used, then it is credited. We have no control over any batching procedures a credit card processing center uses.
The only sign that we have posted addressing x-rays and exam states that we offer a "free whitening"(bleaching) with a new patient exam and full mouth series of x-rays including approximately eighteen x-rays of all teeth). A whitening is not the same as having a prophylaxis(cleaning). Again, that is scheduled at a "PATIENT'S REQUEST" and is denoted on their patient information card and is filled out by them.
Hopefully, this information answers the questions that have been raised. Please let me know if there is any further information needed. Thank you.

08/25/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I received a consultation by phone before making my apt. I had shared that I was concerned with the health of my wisdom teeth and needed them removed. The clerk shared with me that an x-ray would be sufficient. the day of my apt I was advised by front desk clerk to receive an exam as well. she informed me that the doctor would take a closer look at my teeth to determine their over all health and that of my wisdom teeth. I prepaid for exam and x-ray. was taken back by dental assistant who did not wear gloves or wash her hands prior to prepping my mouth and machine for x-ray. once x-ray was taken I was directed to wait for doctor. he briefly looked at x-ray, showed me where my wisdom teeth were and suggested having them removed. doctor proceeded to examine my teeth without washing his hands prior to wearing gloves or touching implements. as soon as he began the exam he was prompted by his assistant not to follow thru. he said im sorry I need to check with the front to see what we are supposed to do today. he left room, assistant then came in and said I had not paid for that type of exam today. i explained that i was told i would have my teeth looked at by doctor which is why i paid the extra amount for the exam. she said she was not sure and the doc would be back in to finish the exam. doctor came back did not attempt to finish exam. said he was not in charge here and would have to ask someone else what he is supposed to do. the office manager came in to treatment room and explained that the x-ray i paid for was not the best exam to determine the health of my teeth and that i should pay for a separate x-ray so they can get better results. i explained that the x-ray shows the full scope of my teeth and the doctor even explained how it worked. she continued to argue that it was not effective and i should pay for another x-ray as well as a full exam. i expressed my frustration and disappointment in the efficacy of my service experience. i was not offered any reimbursement or apology.
Product_Or_Service: dental x-ray and exam

Desired Settlement
full refund on x-ray and "exam"

Business Response
We are more than happy to respond to an individual complaint. However, we are required to receive a signed and dated authorization of release of information from any person that we have seen as a patient before we can discuss information pertinent to a patient's care.
Please note that for general information purposes dental office receptionists cannot perform diagnostic consultations for either someone who is a patient of record or a new patient who has not been in our practice previously. They are not dentists and can only supply general information.
Often times patients misunderstand the various types of x-rays that dentists use to make diagnosis. There are different types that are used for various reasons. Additionally, there are different types of examinations that are used for different circumstances.
Please note also that prior to proceeding with treatment, we routinely inform our patients of the procedures and the associated fees. Patients sign a form indicating they have been informed and they consent for us to proceed. The only refund that would be processed is if we had not taken an x-ray or done an examination tat we had charged for in error. A dentist is required to perform an examination in order to make a diagnosis. A x-ray is a diagnostic tool used to help make the diagnosis. When these criteria are met, we do charge a fee because a service was performed.
Hopefully, this general information helps to address these concerns.

03/12/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I called before my apt and they stated they were in network. So I went had a cleaning and paid my deductible only to be billed 6 month later for . When I called they stated that they were not in my network and that this was the amount owed after insurance payment was applied. We went back and forth with the business office. Then she stated that it was taken care of. Now over 1 year and 5 month later I got a collection notice from them.

Desired Settlement
Dissolve the amount they claim to be paid.

Business Response
We are more than happy to explain the procedures that we follow regarding the processing of our patient's insurance. This office is a participating provider with three insurance companies. Our employees are well aware that these are the only ones we participate with. We can still take someone's insurance as a non-participating provider, however, that usually is at a different reimbursement level. If a patient wants us to treat them, it is explained that we are not participating in order to avoid confusion or issues as the one Ms.states here. Typically, employers (or their insurance company) informs their employees of the participating list.
Regardless, prior to providing treatment, we present a patient with a form explaining the procedures, their cost, and what the insurance portion is estimated to be. We cannot guarantee the reimbursement of any insurance company as they will not guarantee this information to us. If there is any question as to what the insurance issues may be, we review these prior to the patient signing the estimate. Therefore, if a patient does not agree with the fees, they may decide to not have that treatment performed.
Also, many patients may not recognize how their insurance is processed as being correct because they don't understand dental insurance procedures and processing. Most dental insurance companies have deductibles and depending on the procedures performed, they will apply regardless of being participating or non-participating.
When we have presented this information, the patient signs their agreement, and then consents to treatment. We do ask to be compensated for treatment rendered. After numerous attempts to collect these monies, through mailings and phone calls, we do proceed to the services of a collection service.

01/16/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My xrays and records were not sent to my dentist when I had the service done, however I have been charged for the record.
I went to Dentacare to have a broken tooth assessed for a crown. The xray was taken and I was presented with what the charge would be.I felt pressured to have the service done immediately, but I was not comfortable. As I left, again I was presurred to make an appointment that week to have the work done on my tooth. I told them that I would not come in that week and had to be at work in the morning. Still the receptionist persisted saying they do that all the time. I finally told her that I would think about it and let her know.
I checked with my dentist to see if they could fit me in. They told mw an approximate price for the crown. I told them I requested the xray from Dentacare. When I went on December to have the crown done at my dentist, they had still not received the xray. My dentist took another xray in order to do the work, In the meantime, we had not heard anything more about the xray from Dentacare. One time, I returned a call to Dentacare on my cell phone and told them to forget it as I had already had my dentist start tbe work on my tooth. I received a bill for $5 for the records to be sent to my dentist. I do not believe my dentist ever received the record and if they did it was after the work was done. I do not feel I should have to pay for the record since it was so delayed and I am not sure that my dentist ever received it. Even if they got it now, it was way too late since the work was already done and the xray had to be done again. Thank you for your help with this matter as I do not feel I owe Dentacare for the record they did not copy and transfer in time.

Desired Settlement
The settlement I am seeking from the business is that they drop the $5 charge for the record as the record was not received by my dentist in time to do the work.

Business Response
Most patients are not aware that, by law, dental facilities are required to maintain "original" records, including x-rays. Also, we are required to receive a signed and dated authorization to release information. As there are costs involved in processing the duplication of any records, we are, also, allowed to charge a nominal fee for this service. However, if a patient changes their mind about wanting their records duplicated, then we are more than happy to eliminate this charge.

Thank you.

08/25/2016Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Dentists, Dentist - Dental Implants

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/01/1993Business started: 10/01/1985
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Tennessee Board of Dentistry
425 5th Avenue North (1st Floor Cordell Hall)
Nashville, TN 37247
(800) 852-2187
http://health.state.tn.us

Business Management
Principal: Ms. Nancy Thompson (Manager)
Number of Employees

14

Business Category

Dentists, Dentist - Dental Implants

Products & Services

THIS FIRM OFFERS DENTAL PRACTICE, FAMILY AND GENERAL

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Dentacare of Knoxville, PC

3001 Knoxville Center Drive, #1100

Knoxville, TN 37924

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 3001 Knoxville Center Drive, #1100 

    Knoxville, TN 37924(865) 544-1711
    Fax: (865) 544-1712

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Greater East Tennessee. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Dentacare of Knoxville, PC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews as of November 2012.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Dentists

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.