BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Greater East Tennessee

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Aardvark Cabin Rentals of Gatlinburg

Phone: (865) 430-4115

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service8
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints9

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (9)BBB Closure Definitions
07/08/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Horrible customer service; cabin full of scorpions; paint fumes and overspray everywhere, outside of cabin painted the day of our arrival.
We rented ***** and ****** cabin with A ****** aka *********
They do not provide a physical address for any of the properties that they manage. Once they have received full payment, they send you turn by turn directions.
The instructions did mention gravel roads, but what they did not mention was that the gravel roads were steep incline hills (that you would normally find paved) and that if you met someone on the road, one of you has to back up until you find a driveway to pull into. The first hill was so steep that it took us 3 tries just to get up and all the gravel hills were full of ruts, making the trip even more difficult. We wouldn't even make it half way up before our tires would start spinning in the gravel and we feared we'd fall off the road due to sliding. None of the roads were maintained, not even the black topped roads. The brush was growing into the road and the directions with all the odd turns were quite hard to follow. This is not an ideal place for a family without 4 wheel drive.
Once we finally arrived we found the cleaning people still in the home. We called the office to tell them we didn't want to stay in this home because of the bad roads and how often we would need to be up and down and we were actually afraid to drive them. She informed me that was not possible that all their properties were owned by different individuals and they couldn't just move us from one to another. I continued to push the issue while she decided I needed the codes to get in the cabin and I could have another family member stop at the office on their way to pick up a mobile hot spot. I said, did you not just hear me...we cannot stay in this cabin. I couldn't care less about a hot spot right now. We've already told 2 of our families NOT to even try to come up here. I told her I wanted to speak with a manager and she informed me ***** was out until 4:00.
I called back at 4:00 and he had not returned. I called every 5 to 10 min and he still had not returned. Once in the home, we found it full of paint fumes as the outside of the home had just been painted that day. Everything on the outside of the home was tacky so we couldn't touch the railings and there was overspray everywhere..on the decks, windows, doors, etc. One of my phone calls also included this information. When I called at 4:25 I informed her we were all coming to the office to wait for the manager to arrive. Of course, he just walked in. It was obvious that she had already filled him in and she was putting me off all that time.
***** picked up the phone and he refused to hear anything I had to say or do anything about it. I worked in customer service for more that 15 years and NEVER have I treated a customer or spoke to a customer in the manner in which he treated me. He continually argued with me and I told him everything he was telling me was exactly the opposite of what I had just experienced. When I told him about the paint fumes, he said an inspector had just been at the cabin and they said it was ready to go. Every time I tried to say something he would cut me off and speak over me.
We had little choice but to make the best of it. He refused to help us in any way. My parents went to a hotel afraid to make the drive. 9:00 that evening we unloaded the cars finally and tried to settle in. 90 min later, we were packed up and headed down the mountain in the pitch dark. We started finding scorpions all over the house, then one in the kids bed. We were done at that point. Undrivable roads, wet paint, paint fumes, and then scorpions, we left at 10:30 and never returned to the property and are now seeking a full refund of almost $1500. Never bothered to contact the office again due to their inability to listen to their customers. I have also filed complaints ****** ***** ******* of ******** and ****** ******* ******** ******* ************ Also trying to locate cabin owner and ******* owner for complaints.

Desired Settlement
We are seeking a 100% full refund of every penny we paid them for the rental of **** **** for June 4, 2014 - June 8, 2014.

04/08/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I rented a cabin and the cabin was under maintenance and they promised me a full refund and I haven't gotten it yet. Where is mt refund?
I rented a cabin from ******* ****** on Feb. 26,2014 for 4 nights from March 7, 2014 thru March 11, 2014 for $574.17 total. On March 5th 2014 ******* contacted me stating that the cabin I paid for was having maintenance problems and that it was unavailable and that they would have to refund my money back for a full refund of $574.17. I paid by a ******** debit card. I have contacted this company several times about this matter and they keep telling me that its their independent billing agency fault and they would check into the matter. I don't know whose at fault all I know is I paid ******** $574.17 and it's their responsibility to refund my money back as promised. They should have made sure that the cabin was in livable and working condition before they even put it on their website for rental and then waited until 2 days prior to arrival to contact me about the issue. This is not the appropriate behavior of a professional business. I just want my money back ASAP. My confirmation number is XXXXX

Desired Settlement
Full refund of $572.17

company failed to respond

02/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I had booked a cabin rental through ******** ***** ******* for my wife and I to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary in the ***** *********** was sent the contract on 12-1-2013. The first line of the contract says that there will be a $25 fee charged for any changes made to reservations. Later on they state that reservations canceled within 14 days or less of check in date are non-refundable. We had every intention of heading to ******** however my wife was not feeling well to travel and combined with the -18 degree F weather, ice and snow made it difficult to travel. I sent an email on Jan 06, 2014 asking to change my reservation date, expecting a $25 change fee. They informed me that I would have to cancel my reservation and book another one and I would forfeit all my money paid.
Product_Or_Service: Cabin Rental
Account_Number: XXXXX

Desired Settlement
I feel the contract is poorly worded and I would like to pay a $25.00 change fee and stay at a cabin that is available on another date that is available for us to travel.

06/19/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The company failed to provide wifi services, which is advertised. Company's customer service was very poor.
My guests and I arrived at the "Above and Beyond" cabin on 5/17/13. Upon our arrival, we were informed by a staff that WiFi was not available and that the manager was going to bring a service card in the morning (5/18/13) so that internet would be available in the cabin. By 12 noon, on 5/18/13, no one had arrived nor contacted me in reference to the service card for WiFi. I then contacted the office to get an update and was told that the card should have been delivered. At 4:07 pm, I contacted that office and spoke with Cindy in reference to the issue. Cindy informed that the manager was still in Knoxville, TN getting the service card and she would contact me when the card came in. I explained to Cindy that I will not be coming down form the mountain to get the servoce card, when I was told that it would be delivered to me. At that point, I requested the manager's name and contact information. Cindy provided her manager's name, but refused to get me contact information. I was told that the ony way I could reach her manager was by the number that I just called. Around 6:30pm, I contacted the office again for updates on WiFi service card and was told by Cindy that the WiFi card would have been at the office an hour after out last phone call, but since I had stated that I was not coming to office to get it, the manager would bring in the morning. I was irate and stated that if I was contacted and informed that the card would be in within an hour, I would have come to get it. I asked Cindy how can I get compensated for a services that are not being provided. I was informed that I could speak with the manager on Tuesday (5/21/13), which was not acceptable because I was due to leave on Sunday (5/19/13). We then arrived at the office and observed Pigeon Forge PD present at the office. Cindy then offered to allow us to check out at 3pm instead of 10am. The Wifi service was importance due to the fact that we had a guest that is currently obtaining her PhD and had assignments due during our stay. Our guest was inconvenienced due to the WiFi not being available (She had to come up and down the mountain to submit her assignments). On 5/21/13, I contacted that office to speak with the manager, but was informed that he was goine for the day and he would be in the office on 5/22/13 @ 9am. On 5/22/13, I contacted the office @ 9:30 am, when asked to speak with Scott, I was put on hold and then told that Scott was in a meeting. I leave my name and contact information, but never received a returned call. On 5/22/13, I contacted the office @ 12:10 pm, I was informed by Cindy that Scott was not in, but he did receive my message.

Desired Settlement
I would like an apology letter. I would also like to receive a free night night stay at the cabin that I stayed in. I would like to be able to use this free night within the next year.

02/15/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They have rats in the cabin, ignored our phone calls to complain and were rude. Tv did not work..Not very clean and poorly stocked. not as advertised.
I have used them several times in the past. They are fairly small company. Used to be very good and personable. We rented cabin this weekend -very bad experience. The main TV in living room did not work, the other 2 TVs were around 20 yrs old with only VHS players -no blueray or even DVD players. The big problem here is RATS!! horrible experience. It looked so nice online but BEWARE... This company does not rent out quality cabins. We tried to call and complain but their office staff was totally hateful. No extra blankets in the place... hot tub set on 95 degrees so could not use till late in trip. The only positive was a great view.

Desired Settlement
would like a refund - service and quality are horrible.

Page 1 of 2
08/23/2012Problems with Product / Service
03/29/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Cabin Rentals

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.