BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Timber Tops, LLC

Phone: (800) 266-1066Fax: (865) 429-0892View Additional Phone Numbers1440 Upper Middle Creek Road, #204, SeviervilleTN 37876

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Timber Tops, LLC is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

This business has no rating at this time.

Although some customers disagree with the company's response, based on BBB experience the company properly addressed all the issues.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

16 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service15
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 16

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Timber Tops, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (16)
03/16/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

The business has received payment for a reservation and cancelled it and refuses to reimburse my funds , conflicting THEIR customer agreement.
My reservation was for the date starting 2/20 check-in and 2/22 checkout. On 2/20 , Four hrs. into our traveling at 11:48 am. I receive a phone call stating that the pipes under the cabin are frozen and the property is not available. Then the employee states they DO NOT have any alternative lodging for us and my deposit is non refundable.
She also informs me there is no hope of receiving a cabin in my vacation timeframe because of them having to relocate other customers already on vacation. She also states their situation will not improve due to another evening of inclement weather.
I have an extensive call log from myself and the business attempting to reach each other . Sometimes successful and many unsuccessful. I also have voice recordings they left on my phone stating the same thing the first employee informed me of verbally.
When I am successful at reaching Timber tops to discuss the situation I basically receive the same message each time.1)I have received the guest agreement and 2) they are not refunding my funds because I did not purchase travel insurance.
These are the pertinent paragraphs verbatim as they are written by the company !
Timber Tops,LLC reserves the right to SUBSTITUTE PROPERTIES,PROVIDE ALTERNATIVE LODGING or CANCEL RESERVATION if for any REASON BEYOND OUR CONTROL the property becomes unavailable.If cancelled, a FULL REFUND of the deposit will be made.Upon refund ,all contractual rights and obligations are released.Timber Tops,LLC and Property owners will not be responsible for loss,theft,or destruction of personal property of guest. Each Guest is responsible for making sure they have all their belongings when checking out.
Timber tops,LLC cannot refund monies for circumstances beyond our control or for any issue not reported DURING YOUR STAY.This includes,but is not limited to Acts of god,particularly,severe or inclement weather,failure of public utilities or outside services, e.g.,power,cable television,satellite television. Timber Tops, LLC also cannot refund monies for amenities,decor,etc. Accordingly, we recommend purchasing travel insurance,particularly during the winter months. 1) In paragraph 2 the guest agreement does not state I have to purchase travel insurance to receive a refund UNLESS something happens during my stay.
2)In paragraph 1 the guest agreement states they can substitute properties,provide alternate lodging or cancel reservation if FOR ANY REASON THE PROPERTY BECOMES UNAVAILABLE.IF CANCELLED, A FULL REFUND OF DEPOSIT WILL BE MADE !
3) Timber Tops DID NOT substitute properties,or OFFER ALTERNATIVE LODGEING
4) They DID therefor cancel my reservation

Desired Settlement
The settlement I was seeking was a future reservation with my deposit but that was declined.
The other offer I suggested was that I understand this is a business and there is overhead created from making a reservation. This was also declined.
This leaves me with the last option of a FULL refund as their guest agreement states.

Business Response
Mr. was scheduled to stay with our company as his complaint states. All the information in the complaint is correct, including our refusal to refund his deposit.
The conversations between Mr.and our staff occurred during a very stressful few days of bad weather. After further review, we were unreasonable with Mr.requests for a refund or a date move. Since we were unable to provide accommodations, per our Guest Agreement a full refund is due to him. A refund in the amount of $ was processed this morning, and I have attached a copy of the receipt. I apologize that this situation with Mr. escalated to a complaint with the BBB over $. We should have handled the matter internally.

10/17/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

A verbally agreed upon refund has not been completed.
Due to military obligations, my deployment was extended. My wife called Timber Tops to discern if we would be able to cancel our reservation without losing our deposit. She spoke with an employee who assured her that we would only lose a small fraction of our deposit. A refund confirmation number was issued. As a refund had yet to be applied to my card, I asked my wife to call and check on the status of the cancellation. She talked with a man who informed her that the refund would not be issued due to the cancellation policy even though the situation is an extenuating circumstance due to military obligations. We were told we would not lose our deposit in full, and only cancelled the reservation under these pretenses.

Desired Settlement
We are seeking the full refund promised

Business Response
This matter was taken care of the customers refund was processeed.

07/23/2015Problems with Product / Service
11/12/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Rental cabin was found in an uninhabitable and disgusting state at check-in. Timber Tops refuses to give full refund even though they were at fault.
We made a reservation through Timber Tops on 10/04/15 for "Smoky Mountain High" for Oct. 11-13.Half of the total amount was deposited by credit card ($232.80), as required, Confirm # 117438.Check-in time was to be 4p to 11p.On 10/11 we arrived at 5p, we were asked to sign a guest agreement and pay the balance by credit card ($232.79).We then received a key code for the cabin.At the cabin we immediately went to the bathroom.The lower toilet was found inoperable and the upper toilet barely flushed enough to remove water from the bowl.In addition, the hot tub was found to be disgusting with murky water and a cloudy substance growing up the walls and in the water of the hot tub. I immediately contacted the office and told them about the unfit conditions.They offered to send maintenance to look at it.After hanging up with the office, we found the cabin appeared to have not been cleaned prior to our arrival.We located filthy conditions behind the beds, beer cans on the deck, and the windows cloudy with dirt blocking our advertised "view".We then decided to return to the office due to the cabin's uninhabitable state and did not want to spend our vacation waiting for repairs/cleaning.At the office we continued our complaints and then were told that the cabin was not guaranteed at 4pm and that check-in was between 4p and 11p.However when we arrived to check-in, we were not told our cabin was still in need of repair/cleaning.The service representative, Sunshine, told us that she had been "employed there for a month and this had only happened two other times."She looked to see if there were other cabins available and they were not.We requested a refund of money due to the conditions of the cabin and the inability to move us to a different cabin.She then told us that we had to give them a chance to correct the issues before we could receive a refund and again that the cabin was not guaranteed at 4pm.After much debate with Sunshine, another service rep stepped in (unknown name) and agreed to give a refund minus a reservation fee of $43.90.We then asked to speak with a manager and one was not available after hours but would be in the morning.She then said if we did not stay and let them try to fix the situation brought to their attention, we were breaking our reservation and they could not return our reservation fee.We stated that we did not break our reservation, by showing up within check-in time and paying both a deposit at time of reservation and the remaining balance at check-in, we in fact kept our end of the reservation. We were again told that a manager would not be there until the following day (10/12/15).After finding a last minute hotel for the night, we returned the next morning to the office.Mandy Rodriguez (manager) was there and familiar with our occurrence.Mandy told us that our reservation fee was non-refundable since we had "broken" our reservation and left the night before without waiting for the problems to be fixed and that the cabin is not guaranteed at 4pm.Quote from guest agreement:"Check-In is between 4:00 pm and 11:00 pm; however this is not a guarantee.Occasionally, due to unavoidable circumstances, a property may not be ready for Check-In at 4:00 pm. No Check-In will be permitted until your rental account has been paid in full, including taxes and any other fees."We were told that our cabin was ready when we checked in and were not told of any pending repairs and/or cleaning. Quote from the guest agreement:"Timber Tops, LLC cannot refund monies for circumstances beyond our control or for any issue not reported during your stay.This includes, but is not limited to Acts of God, particularly, severe or inclement weather, failure of public utilities or outside services, e.g., power, cable television, satellite television."Dirty (the entire cabin), unhealthy conditions (hot tub), and inoperable basic essentials (toilets) are not "Acts of God" nor beyond this company's control as utilities were not out of service.

Desired Settlement
My family and I are requesting an apology letter for wasting our valuable vacation time and money as well as a full refund of the reservation fee still being held by Timber Tops.

Business Response
Attached you will find the signed Guest Agreement from the guest. Also, highlighted is our cancellation policy. We refunded back a total of $, receipts are also attached along with the Guest Agreement. and the manager did speak with the guests, about the reservation fee being non-refundable, and went over the cancellation policy on the Guest Agreement. Everything but the reservation fee was refunded back to the guests.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
What part of the guest agreement actually protects the guest? If a consumer is not happy with the result of a product purchased, money should be refunded. The guest agreement does state a cancellation policy but it also states "Check-In is between 4:00 pm and 11:00 pm; however this is not a guarantee. Occasionally, due to unavoidable circumstances, a property may not be ready for Check-In at 4:00 pm." It does not state, it will not be ready the entire length of your stay due to filth and inoperable toilets and you may get a horrendous infection from the hot tub. Samples from this hot tub should be submitted to the CDC. Not cleaning a cabin and improper cleaning of a hot tub are not unavoidable circumstances; that's laziness and robbery of someone's hard earned money. Before a binding agreement is signed the consumer should have the right to preview their cabin to insure the cleanliness and safety of it since the pictures used on their website are obviously skewed in their favor. This company is trying to (and does) require the total amount due for your vacation at time of reservation. Most companies hold the reservation with a credit card number and would not charge until you arrived at check-in. Then if you did not show up for check-in a cancellation fee would be applied. The fact that I paid a reservation fee (plus half the balance due) to begin with means I made a reservation. Meaning that the company knew we were coming and that there should be no reason for the cabin to not be clean and the hot tub to be disgusting. We were not a walk-in reservation; they had ample time to clean the cabin and hot tub. Had the toilets even been cleaned since no one was aware that they were inoperable? What kind of company has hundreds of cabins and uses a cleaning team of one and sometimes two to clean that many cabins efficiently while being safe enough for public inhabitance? This place should be condemned if this is how they clean all their cabins, as I was told "they clean a cabin in 30 minutes" by a staff member (Sunshine). By reviews posted on Facebook and previously TripAdvisor, (TripAdvisor reviews have been removed by the company) there is an ongoing problem with cleanliness with this company. Also there are other complaints of toilets and heat-pumps not operating properly and how the company takes a day or more to fix things and sometimes does not fix them at all. Maybe this company should close for about a month or two and get caught up on all the necessary maintenance these cabins are in desperate need of! This is also false advertisement, if the pictures of the cabin on their website showed murky water in the hot tub and filth both inside and out, no one would rent this cabin ever, including me. This company is taking advantage of consumers by making them sign a binding guest agreement sight unseen and then refusing to refund FULL amount of money (including reservation fee) when they are in the wrong. It was very obvious the cabin had not been serviced or cleaned properly for public use. I am again asking for my full refund of the reservation fee and an apology letter for wasting my time and my family's time during our vacation. At the time of this occurrence we were also offered "free tickets" to a local attraction to distract us from the situation, if they can offer tickets to a show/activity for four adults there should not be any problem in returning the $43.90 that they rightfully owe my family and I. To our family, renting a cabin is not about spending additional money or time going to see shows and attractions; it is about spending family time within the walls of the cabin and enjoying its own amenities without having to go out. This is why cabins are up in the mountains and off the beaten path versus being on the main strip in Pigeon Forge; you have entertainment at your fingertips. We were all very disappointed in our time wasted and the upset that this added to our vacation. This place is definitely not "luxury" by any means possible, including in customer service.

11/02/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Timbertops has falsely accused us of theft. When brought to their attention, they were rude and unhelpful.
My wife and I rented Timbertops cabin for the period of four days. We checked out at seven thirty, Saturday morning and called the office as instructed in their literature and informed them we were departing. We complied with all of their requirements. Bedding and dirty towels were placed in the bathroom, dishes were cleaned, etc.
Four days after we left they e-mailed us that we had stolen 12 batteries from the remote controls from the unit and that she was charging our account $ for reimbursement. This was at 2:40 in the afternoon. Some 79 hours after checkout. She said she was authorized to do this as we had signed Guest Agreement. She refused to listen to any of my arguments. Only that we had signed said document.
We are septuagenarians and have no need of batteries. We used the remotes all during our stay, except for the upper level, which was not used. They worked properly. When I told this to her on the phone and in e-mail, she adamantly refused to acknowledge anything I said, only that I had signed the guest agreement.
She charged our account and the same moment she e-mailed us about the problem. We have filed a fraud dispute with our bank.

Desired Settlement
As stated in our original e-mail, we seek not only a refund of $, but a full and complete apology.

Business Response
Upon going to the cabin to clean, all the batteries were missing from all the devices that required batteries. This was reported from our housekeeping department. A delivery charge of $ and total for replacement of the batteries is $ for a grand total of $. This is what was charged to the guest.

10/16/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

We booked a cabin with Timber Tops "Luxury" Cabin rentals and found the accommodations to be miserable. What was advertised on the website was untrue. I have photos and detailed records of trying to contact management during our stay and after. We asked to be moved or receive a refund on our second day and we were denied. This is a list of some of the problems we incurred:-Maintenance took 8 hours to come remove a mouse that we spent several hours during the night trying to capture ourselves. It was never found.-Kitchen floor was absolutely filthy. We had to wear footwear to prevent our feet from becoming dirty.- The cabin rugs were not vacuumed and had dead and alive bugs on them. - Kitchen cupboards not stocked adequately. Definitely not the promised "Gourmet Cook's Dream".- Dirty dishes in cupboards and silverware drawer.- Greasy fingerprints on appliances.- Crusty orange puke on blanket on my son's bed.- Master smoke detector was missing.- Bathroom drawers and cupboards were filthy with toothpaste and hair in them. - Vents and ceiling fans had excessive amounts of dust on them. We could not use the ceiling fan or it would rain dust down over us. - Master sink does not drain. -Master shower handle did not work properly and was very loose. -Master tub was filthy. We could not take a bath. -Shower curtain was covered in mold. We had to take a show with the curtain open. -3 days with no wifi because data was used up. Could not plan excursions. - The view of the mountains was cloudy at best from dirty windows. - Downstair bedroom had a mattress pad that is filthy. Looks like a urine stain. Needs to be replaced. - Scorpion in bed sheets. - The hot tub had a strong smell of body odor.- The handle on video game did not work properly-DVD remotes were missing. We had to contact TimberTops to receive new ones. This was not the luxury cabin we hoped to spend family time bonding in. We found ourselves spending as much time as possible away from the cabin.

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund

Business Response
Listed below are the issues the guests reported to Timber Tops during their stay, also I have copied a portion of our Guest Agreement, which pertains details of which the guestsigned and agreed prior to her stay.
These are the issues that were reported from \ Maintenance
(10:15 : guest reported they chased a mouse and cornered it in the laundry room (stuffed a towel
under the door). They would like him and his 2 dead friends removed please (in the laundry room as well)
7/2015 6:26:47 PM Front Desk
guest called wanting to move to a different cabin, i told her he had nothing available to move her too i asked her why she was
wanting to move. She said that the cabin was extremely dirty and there was mice. I told her we couldn't send someone up to clean
because the checked in 2 days ago and they should of reported it on the day the checked in if it was that bad. She said they didn't
even notice it until now as far as the mice are concerned she said that when someone
came out to get rid of them they couldn't find them. i told her to call back tomorrow to speak with Mgr.
7/21 Front Desk
(4:00 PM) Guest reported that they don't have a DVD remote for the DVD player in the loft.
7/2015 10:44:11 AM
(10:40 AM) the Wi-Fi is not working, they have reset multiple times and still nothing.
(10:41 AM) OK TY

MISCELLANEOUS INFORMATION: Here is a portion of the Guest Agreement explaining our policy...

Timber Tops, LLC reserves the right to substitute properties. Timber Tops, LLC and Property Owners will not be responsible for loss, theft, or destruction of personal property of Guest. Each Guest is responsible for making sure they have ALL of their belongings when checking out.
Timber Tops, LLC cannot refund monies for circumstances beyond our control or for any issue not reported during your stay. This includes, but is not limited to Acts of God, particularly, severe or inclement weather, failure of public utilities or outside services, e.g., power, cable television, satellite television. Accordingly, we strongly recommend purchasing travel insurance, particularly during the winter months. If you would like assistance in this matter, please call here are the work orders for the complaints:

We sent pest control up for the rodent issues arrived ISSUE TAKEN CARE OF WORK ORDER #

- Notes from pest control... could not find any mice dead or alive i did check all around the cabin and found nothing.

On we put a new DVD remote in the cabin- ISSUE TAKEN CARE OF WORK ORDER#
This cabin is Owner Maintainted, which means the owner has certain companies other then Timber Tops to take care of the cleaning and maintenance issues. I spoke with the owner and she agreed to a % refund however, given the issues I refunded one night back in the amount of $. She was given the option to leave if she was not happy in the cabin and refund the difference. I cannot refund ALL the funds due to the guest staying at the cabin for the length of their stay. When I spoke to Mrs. I never agreed to % back, I simply was listening to the issues she was stating with the cabin. Upon arrival, guest are told at check in, either on the phone or in the office, they are to report any issues right away so we can address them immediately. They reported on their second day, at 6:26 pm.

In conclusion, Mrs. received a % discount and a free night with her stay on top of the free night refund that was given to her for the issues.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I absolutely do not accept their response because most of the response paragraph is untrue.

In addition, the % discount and free night stay this had ABSOLUTELY nothing to do with this situation. Those were promotions that TimberTops was offering ahead of time. The ONLY concession given was a free night stay. I find this unacceptable and frankly insulting for what we endured on what was supposed to be a once in a lifetime family vacation.

I do agree that we should have called the first day and reported the dirty cabin, but unfortunately we were out exploring the Great Smoky Mountains and did not discover the disgusting conditions until the second day. We called immediately and could not get ANY assistance.

We feel that the accommodations we were promised and paid $for were NOT accurate and the business did NOT do anything to help remedy the situation. I have spent many hours trying to recoup the funds we deserve. Even if our family does not get what we absolutely deserve, I feel that it is my obligation to warn others before they end up in a similar situation. I wish someone had taken the time to warn me before we invested in a nightmare of a vacation.
I would definitely NOT ever use this business again. They are not willing help the consumer, and they are lying to cover their misjudgments.

Final Business Response
Position has not changed.

10/09/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

We called several months in advance of our stay and specified we needed a pet friendly cabin with grass. We have several dogs so grass is very important to us. I worked with the representative over the phone to locate a cabin that met our needs and we booked it. When we arrived at the cabin we realized there was no grass at all (I took pictures if needed to show all sides of the unit and there is zero grass). There was concrete, blacktop and landscaping that was not accessible so the only area dogs could go to the potty would be on concrete or blacktop. This did not work for us and that's why I had worked with the representative in advance.

We immediately called and asked to switch cabins but they did not have anything pet friendly available. We told them we would have to move and requested a refund. We were told that a manager would contact us but none ever did.

Since we did not get a call back, we tried to call again but no one was still available. We had arrived fairly late and since we didn't hear back from anyone we decided to try to see if we could make the cabin work. It was a terrible night. Our dogs did not know what to do so we took them out nearly every hour of the night trying to get them to go potty. Not trying to be over-dramatic but driving 6 hours and then not getting much sleep the first night of our vacation was terrible. We knew we had to relocate so we contacted another rental company and they had a pet friendly cabin with grass open so we switched cabins.

A third time we called Timber Tops and for the second time spoke to the same person,and were again told how busy they were since it was a holiday time period (July 4th) but a manager would get right back to us. Again, no manager called.

When we got home from vacation we were met with some serious personal issues including surgery and a death but after a month or so we sent an email to Timber Tops since they were not responding to our calls. Still no response. As such, two weeks ago, we went on their website and filled out their form and submitted it and stated that within two weeks if we didn't get a response that we would contact the BBB. Since for the fifth time we have not gotten a response, we are filing a complaint.

We have stayed many times over the years with Timber Tops and are familiar with several of their cabins and we've been very satisfied over the years so it's unfortunate they're not working with us on this issue. We have been very nice and patient but it's going on three months so we need our refund.

Desired Settlement
We would prefer a full refund but would accept a refund for all but one night.

Business Response
I am looking into this reservation and we have no complaints reported from these guests during their stay. If there is anything further I need to do please let me know.

Guest Services Manager

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As stated in my initial complaint, we called 3 times, emailed and filled out their online form; so I am not sure how much more persistent I could have been to make them aware we had problems. As such it is confusing how their response said they have no reported complaints from us. Our first complaint was called in within a few minutes of our arrival on the first night of our stay. I have the name of the person I spoke to twice, (they only give their first name so I don't know her last name). On both calls said a manager would review the phone conversation when I booked the cabin because they record all calls. I said that would be fine because I know we inquired about grass because we always do and I remembered the conversation with the booking agent. Both times also stated that they were especially busy and was very nice and apologized. She told me on both phone conversations that a manager would get back to me. I am sure since they record calls that they can go back and listen to my calls with Ashley as well to confirm what I am saying. However, I am glad that they are looking into my reservation so we can finally get this issue resolved. I would like to add that they did not provide a date by which they would respond, so can we please establish a date? Thank you so much!

Final Business Response
We have investigated further into the complaints from the guests on the issue. We have listened to the calls, at the time of booking, and the guests did request a grassy area for their pets that they would be bringing. There is a picture, that I have attached, that does show where the small grassy area is located by the driveway, which the reservationist stated. This is the only issue that was brought to our attention during the their visit. My sincere apologies for not responding accordingly during their stay.

11/10/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

1st, poor customer svc from ***** and ****, 2nd, ants in the kitchen, 3rd, a cockroach crawled up my husbands leg while he was in the bathroom. Even prior to our arrival there were a couple of incidents over the phone, things such as not giving out all pertinent time frames for payment to miscommunication of what was needed from us in order to check in. Once we arrived we had to deal with ants in the kitchen and then my husband was in the bathroom and had a roach crawl up his leg that he had to kill. In my opinion, if its luxury then there should be better customer service and better pest control. Too much money for such poor results.I think, at minimum, a partial refund for all parties involved in the payment of the cabin, up to and including a full refund.

Business Response
We are responding to the complaint filed by Ms. **** *******. We have been unable to identify the reservation associated with Ms. *******'s complaint. She correctly identifies two of our staff, so she must have been a guest. If Ms. ******* is willing to provide any additional information, we can respond accordingly. Thank you.

09/08/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

We stayed at your cabin "the great bear" from the 7th - 10th Aug. We are your regular and repeat customer and did not expect this. I am highly highly disappointed and will never recommend timber tops to any of my friends. The bathrooms are extremely dirty and moldy. The kitchen was super dirty. The hot tub did not work. We complained a number of times and no one helped us. I demand to be compensated for putting my health at risk due to moldy conditions.

Desired Settlement
As a regular n repeat costumer I demand half my money back for the worst service ever and posing a hazard to my health with moldy bathrooms

Business Response
We are in receipt of the complaint filed by **** *****. Our records indicate we did have guests in ******* ****** 8/7-8/10/2014. Name on file was ********* ******
Guest checked in on 8/8/14 at approximately 2:30 am.
Guest called the evening of 8/8/14 at 5:20 pm and reported the shower was nasty and moldy. Guest services sent the message down to our Housekeeping Department but as it was afterhours, Housekeeping had already gone for the day. The cleaners went to the cabin on 8/9 and re-cleaned the shower the best they could.
Guest never called in or mentioned the kitchen or hot tub during their stay. We didn't know about the problem until we received an email from the guest the morning they were scheduled to leave.
In addition to sending out the cleaning crew on 8/9, we issued the guest a 10% refund of $112.75 back to their credit card on file. This was to compensate for their issues during the stay.
We feel we did respond to the issue that was reported - the bathroom. Our records do not indicate the kitchen or hot tub was reported in time for us to resolve during this stay.

Page 1 of 3

Industry Comparison| Chart

Cabin, Cottage & Chalet - Rentals, Resorts

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 02/02/1999Business started: 01/01/1993
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Business Management
Customer Contact: Shannon Lethco (Property Acquisition Coordinator)
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Richard Robillard (CEO/CFO)
Number of Employees


Business Category

Cabin, Cottage & Chalet - Rentals, Resorts

Products & Services

Vacation Lodging

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Timber Tops, LLC

1440 Upper Middle Creek Road, #204

Sevierville, TN 37876

To | From


1 Locations

  • 1440 Upper Middle Creek Road, #204 

    Sevierville, TN 37876(800) 266-1066
    (800) 266-1066
    (800) 266-1066
    (800) 266-1066
    (888) 886-9212
    (888) 886-9212
    (888) 886-9212
    (888) 886-9212
    Fax: (865) 429-0892
    Fax: (865) 429-0899
    Fax: (800) 360-2988
    Fax: (865) 868-0725
    Fax: (865) 429-0892
    Fax: (865) 429-0899
    Fax: (800) 360-2988
    Fax: (865) 868-0725

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Greater East Tennessee. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Timber Tops, LLC is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 886-9212

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (865) 429-0899
  • (800) 360-2988
  • (865) 868-0725

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews as of November 2012.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Cabin, Cottage & Chalet - Rentals


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.