BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Sunset Cottage Rentals & Realty

(865) 429-8478View Additional Phone Numbers3630 S. River Road, Pigeon ForgeTN 37863! There is an alert for this business !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Sunset Cottage Rentals & Realty is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

This business has no rating because BBB has information indicating it is out of business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service9
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Sunset Cottage Rentals & Realty

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (11)
02/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
When I initially called to make reservations, I asked two questions, how far is the next cabins and if there's snow, will I have issues trying to reach the cabin. I was told, and I'll quote as best as I remember, " The closest cabin is 1/4 of a mile, and I can't imagine whatever the weather that you'd have issues reaching the cabin." Both of these are lies. The closest cabin is adjacent to the one we were stuck with and ingress and egress from this place is a chore. In fact, I was told to back in each time, which is a chore during the night time hours. When we first entered the cabin we found: 1. Dirty dishes in the pantry, 2. I was unable to secure the lower exit door onto the deck. (I later learned that some ritual of lifting and pushing, etc., to secure the deadbolt). Christmas Day upon using the exterior hot tube it sprang a leak (s) enough to empty the tube completely. Called the number provided was told someone would be out the following day, advised the office that we would be gone and the dog would be in his enclosure, not an issue. When we returned, note on door advised that because of the dog the person would not enter.

Desired Settlement
I will accept only a full refund to start with.

Business Response
Company states that they have a policy that if a guest checks in and doesn't like the property, they will be moved to another cabin based on availability or refunded. We did not hear from the guest that he didn't like the cabin. The only issues of which we were informed was with the door and the hot tub.
On Dec 24th maintenance went to cabin to repair hot tub and a dog was right inside door barking. Maintenance was afraid that dog would get out door if he opened it. He left a note advising this. The guest later called and said not to worry about the dog. We offered to come then or anytime they were at the cabin but guest declined. We went out again to repair hot tub on Dec 26th. Again the dog was loose just inside the door. Another note was left.
We were unaware of issues the guest had with this cabin other than the hot tub until we received this complaint from the BBB. The guest stayed the entire 5 nights with his wife and 2 dogs and we do not feel a refund is due.

02/03/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Dec19-27 2015, stayed in cabin gone fishin, rat poison, black mold and live rodents and feces everywhere every day no manager she refused to call us
On December 19 we checked in to gone fishing cabin Who we rented from sunset cottage accommodations December 19 through the 27th.. We finally made it to the cabin and discovered that night around 10 that the main bathroom ceiling was full of black mold upon putting the children to bed I noticed that under the pillows were full of feces and like plastic chewed up went to make my bed noticed The same thing as I looked closer I saw more feces on the cabinets in the drawers all over the dishes on the counters in the sink on the stove in the oven feces everywhere so I called the emergency number I let them know my problem and they said that they would send a letter message Sunset cottage at that point I was very upset because now we had to sleep on soiled Feces sheets so the next morning bright and early I called as soon as they open I let them know about the feces rodents debris everywhere I also told them about the mold in the bathroom they said they were aware of the problem of the black mold that they just going to bleach it and it comes back that night we got back supposedly they were gonna come during the day clean the sheets changed and make the beds we got back that night and first thing we noticed the same comforters with the same marks and the same holes put back on clean sheets so once again another night without clean sheets your bed comforters mind you the temperature is 27/24 at night called the service again could not bring us comforters they will send a note the next day I also let them know that the pilot light was now off of the fireplace they have a service man call me who said he was not going to come out and light the pilot light that there might be something wrong with it and if I couldn't let myself there was that he could do because he was going to come out I call the next morning I let them know pilot light out my bed sheets were changed but the comforters were not Crystal informs me that I did not ask for the comforters to be changed I only asked for the sheets I told her it's common sense if this sheets and the comforter's were soiled and feces why wouldn't they change them both as she said you did not ask and then hung up I didn't call back again and I said can I please have a manager call me she said she would let manager know and then I am formed her The fireplace is not staying lit with the pilot light and could they please do something with the black mold because nobody came and cleaned it yesterday like they were supposed to I also told her that there is a rodent problem because the silver where's keep having feces on them the counters keep having feces on them and it's a big problem it's not safe or healthy for us to be here she said she would have manager call and hung up..
An hour later they sent a guy with two small comforters and have him bleach the ceiling and he told us that is black mold in it will come back that they been doing with that we showed him the Rodent feces on the counters in the drawers in the dresser on our stuff now on the coffee pot in the stove on the bar... Still no manager I go to pick up my phone fell through the couch lift up the cushion and it is full of rat poison the whole chair has rat poison in it green and orange tablets this point I'm stuck spent all this money to be there long way from home don't have enough money to take my family out of this horrible environment unsafe environment health hazard and going to a hotel and all I got was rudeness on the last day when I finally checking out I called and spoke crystal so once again and asked is the manager ever going to call me and she says I don't know I am formed her about the rat poisoning all the furniture and how unsafe this was that nobody let us know was here and I could potential he killed my children and I think that they should take some money off my bill and credit back to me for this nightmare that they put me through you she said have a I don't think sogood day and hung up Never got call

Desired Settlement
I want a partial refund well I want some money taken off of what I've already paid I paid over $1000 to stay in something that was not described hello I had black mold feces rodents and I couldn't before I take my family to a hotel because when I paid so much money for our dream trip to the cabin to be hung up on me Manager refused to call Crystal customer service desk girl rude is to be hung up on asked multiple times to speak to The manager never got a call
The sad part of this whole situation is that the owner of sunset cottage accommodations owns the cabin gone fishing and I have plenty of pictures

06/08/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Promised to exchange the dates of our stay by splitting up the paid 5 days(3 in the fall and 2 in the summer). We took the three in Oct. Still have 2.
We Reserved the Snow
Bear cabin on May 3, 2014 for July 6-10 2014. The total amount of the stay was $825.05. Sunset Cottage charged my debit card for $429.37 on May 3, 2014 and $395.68 was charged to the same debit card on June 22, 2014. We were unable to go these dates. We were contacted by Sunset Cottage . She said that was no problem and we had a year to use these 5 days. I them by email (still have these emails) and asked if we could split the 5 days and use three October 2nd, 3rd and 4th, 2014 and save the other 2 remaining days for the summer of 2015. She said this would be fine ( still have this email). We went October 2-4, 2015. We called May 2015 to reserve our 2 days plus we were going to purchase an extra day. We also were going to pay the cleaning and other fees. We were told she no longer worked there and they would not honor that agreement even after we sent the emails. They would not give us the managers name nor would the manager return our phone calls. She was employed by Sunset Cottage and they should be responsible.

Desired Settlement
We would like to stay two nights free In the summer or fall of 2015 in the Snow Bear cabin or one similar in the Blackberry Ridge area. We would pay the cleaning ($110.00) and property damage fee ($25.00) and would also purchase an extra night. Thank you.

09/26/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The condo had mold in the bathroom jacuzzi, feces on the bathroom wall, mold in the shower, unbelievable dust and more
We rented unit **** at ******** **** ****** from Aug 22-24, 2014. After check in, we went to the location and were unable to open the door with the given code. I informed ****** ******* and they said that the doors "swell in the summer and just jiggle the door til it opens." That is not the case! We finally got it open after about 5 minutes. The door handle is a fire hazard. It literally took us 5 minutes every time we entered or left. There is clearly something wrong with the handle/lock. I took pics of my complaints if you need them. There was feces on the bathroom wall and you could tell it had been there a while. There was mold growing in the bathroom shower, mold growing on the shower head, and mold growing in the bathroom jacuzzi. These are all health hazards. One of the main reasons I chose this location was because of the jacuzzi. I was going to use the jacuzzi the last night of the stay, until I noticed the mold. I was going to call ****** ******* and complain, but it was after hours and I didn't have an "after hours" number to reach them. I did tell them about it the next *** and they said that a manager would contact me (but no one has reached out to me). Also, there was a thick layer of dust on the blinds. When I opened them for the first time, I started coughing and sneezing because there was such a thick layer of dust. I'm not normally bothered by dust. As we were leaving, there was a gentleman getting the garbage out of the trash receptacles on each floor. He was doing this DURING CHECK OUT HOUR! He was using the elevator. The elevator had a HUGE puddle of liquid on the floor. It really stunk because there was no airflow in the elevator. There was also a dead bug in the elevator. There was NO WET FLOOR SIGN in the elevator! This is a fall hazard and a liability for your company! We did see two roaches and another bug in our room during our stay. The ones in our room were alive and not dead. I informed the front desk of the bugs, as well as everything else I mentioned in this complaint (except the elevator situation). Lastly, the tv remote in the living area would not change the station. I'm assuming that the batteries were dead in the remote. I was hoping that I could find a place for me and my family to stay at several times a year, but obviously this is not the place for me or my family. I am very upset that I have called Sunset Cottage 4 times to resolve my concerns and NO ONE has returned my phone calls. I was giving them ample time to return my calls, thinking that they were just busy or that the call people back on a specific ***, but that is not the case. It has now been 1 week and one *** and I still have not gotten any resolution for my concerns.

Desired Settlement
I understand that there is a "cleaning fee." However, the condition of the condo and the lack of cleanliness, I am asking for the cleaning fee to be refunded ($56.25). I am also asking for part of our stay ($175.93) to be refunded: for not being able to use the jacuzzi or tv remote, for the inconvenience of the door not opening or locking back which is a fire hazard, for having to shower in a mold infested shower which is a health hazard and for us having to breath in smelly garbage liquid in the elevators which is a health hazard and a fall hazard. Please consider my request and reach out to me in a timely manner. Thank you in advance.

06/18/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Disgusting and unsanitary condition of cabin, no remedy to the problems during or after out stay
EMAIL DETAILING ISSUES BELOW (SENT TO SUNSET COTTAGES ON APRIL 17)
Good morning. I am emailing to inquire as to when and how you will be making right the unsanitary, dirty, and generally gross conditions of the cabin I recently stayed in with my two children. We arrived on Saturday, April 5 to find that the place smelled awful, was extremely dirty-and the coffee maker was black with what appeared to be years of crud inside. There were holes in the pillow cases, the blanket on the loft bed smelled of urine and there were only 3 total towels for our use in a cabin advertised to sleep 4. Additionally, as evident in the photos I showed at the office and forwarded to one of your associates, several inches of black slimy mold covered much of the chlorine float/dispenser that was in the smelly hot tub.

As I indicated, this was our first little vacation following my divorce and; therefore, I did not want to waste our two nights enveloped in the negativity of constantly complaining about these issues until someone finally addressed them. However, I am much less than impressed with the way this was handled. I was told on Sunday, April 6 that a manager would get back to me some time after noon. That did not happen. Additionally, at the very least, I anticipated that someone would bring a clean and useable coffee maker and a mold and mildew-free chlorine dispenser. That also did not happen. When I called on Monday to check out, I reiterated the problems and informed the woman that I still had not heard from a manager.

Later that evening, after already having driven the 5 hours home, I finally received a phone call from the manager. I was driving at the time of the call and did not get specific information as to how this would be remedied. The manager indicated that he was shocked and disgusted by the photos and appreciates that I have been a returning customer since 2001. He said that he would certainly make this right and would be mailing out, on that day, some type of compensation for the inadequacies. Again, that was on Monday, April 7-and I have yet to receive anything from Sunset Cottages.

I understand that this was a lower priced rental; however, having stayed several times in your less expensive properties, I expected that it would be clean--as the others have been in the past. I was shocked at the condition of the cabin and I am more shocked and disappointed in the general lack of concern, effort or expediency in Sunset Cottages' ability or willingness to effectively address this issue.

Please let me know at your earliest convenience when and how you will be taking care of this.

Desired Settlement
Full refund

02/20/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Cabin rented was disgustingly dirty and not smoke free as advertised
I had a reservation for the 29th until the 31st of December 2013 in one of your cabin the Teddy Bear.  When we arrived (we were a late arrival), the cabin was disgustingly dirty.
 
- the sheets on the bed were not changed,
- the inside of the cabin was not vacuum,
- the hot tub on the porch was nasty,
- the grill was dirty with left over in it,
- they were beer bottles everywhere,
- they were cigarettes buds,
- the trash inside and outside was still there,
- to top it off the bed smelled like cigarettes.
 
When we rented this cabin it was clearly noted that it was a non-smoking cabin.
 
At our arrival the owner came out and asked us who we were so we proceeded in telling her that we have rented this cabin. She then stated that she was not notified that the cabin was rented and said that it wasn't clean. It was about 8:00PM. So you can only imagine our reaction when we heard that and we saw the state of the cabin. Now we had to wait until the owner went and got clean sheets, took the trash out and empty the hot tub. Needles to say that the evening was ruined and we could not use any of the amenities. After a couple of hours we were finally ready to go to sleep as we were tired from a long trip and could not relax but the smell of cigarettes was in the bed.
 

Desired Settlement
I contacted sunset cottages by email on January 10th 2014 but they never responded back. I also called and ask to speak to a manager and was told that Brian (supposedly the manager) will call me back but he never did. Sunset cottages has shown a lack of professionalism hoping that the problem will just go away. I do not believe that we should have been charged since we could not use any of the amenities, relax for the reasons mentioned above and the worse thing we didn't sleep well due to the smell from cigarettes. Also the wasted time that we lost the next day to pack, move to another location and unpack instead of enjoying our vacation. This a place that I will not recommend to anyone that want to enjoy their vacation and avoid it as they are others rentals companies that provide a higher and better customer experience. Sunset cottages ruined our vacation and they should refund us for their below average service.

02/04/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We had Sunset Cottage renting our cabin located in Pigeon Forge. They owe me for two months
They owe me two months of rentals for renting my cabin. They owe me this money. Tried calling and would not answer my phone. Also one of my ch

Desired Settlement
They owe me two months of rent.

01/21/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On 9-2-15 I reserved a cabin for 12-23 thru 12-27-15 Ridgecrest I paid $529.93 had to cancel on 11-19-15 they are out of Business as of 1-4-16.
On 9-25-15 reserved a cabin Ridgecrest for 12-23-thru 12-27-15 due to health issues I had to cancel on 11-19-15 cancelled reservation they charged 45.00 and the rest would be kept for a yr on my account for the next reservation. I received a E-Mail from another vender that said they shut their doors and went out of business on 1-4-16 I tried looking up their web site also tried calling the local and toll free # neither are in order and web site closed I would like my balance refunded but do not know how to contact them.They had told me on 11-19 that if my money was refunded their policy was to charge an additional 49.95 that would be fine but the balance needs refunded.

Desired Settlement
Refund the balance of my money if they are out of business.

01/18/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
they closed their doors before i could get my money refunded on a cabin rental
11-14-2015 i made a reservation to rent a cabin at sunset cottage in pigeon forge. on 1-04-2016 i received a email from them they were closing the business the confirmation number for this rental is wr189584 i paid a installment of $357.99 the payment was done online with a visa check card from first Tennessee bank acct.# 4451028732501447 i received a phone call 1-12-2016 telling me that the would honor my reservation and i could pay the balance to rent the cabin i told the agent i did not have the money that day but could get the payment on 1-15-2016 she agreed but i could not get in touch with them on this date all phone #s are disconnected and the website is not working i would like to get a refund i decided to rent with someone else because no one at this business are not responding the owners name is Dayna Day

Desired Settlement
i want my deposit back for the rental cabin

01/12/2016Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I paid Sunset Cottage $1634.88 for a Vacation cottage and they have gone out of business and I am out the entire amount.
On 9/30/2015 I contacted Sunset Cottage, by internet, to book a cottage for October vacation.
I booked the Mountain Breeze cottage just outside of Pigeon Forge for a week. The price was $1634.88 which was charged to my credit card in two payments. We arrived in Boone, NC on Oct 21, 2015 and had our Van breakdown. We could not get it fixed for 3 days because it was on the weekend. I contacted Sunset Cottage and told them we were stranded in Boone and could not get to the cottage and they rescheduled our Vacation for October 16 2016, since they did not issue a refund. I received confirmation of the Vacation by e-mail. Then on January 10, 2016 I received an e-mail from the Smokey Mountain Lodging Assoc. that stated Sunset Cottage had closed the doors and left people with nothing. I contacted my credit card company and they said the 90 day restoration period for getting my money back had expired and that I should contact the BBB in Tenn. I am out $1634.88 and no Vacation please help me if you can. It will be greatly appreciated.

Desired Settlement
Return of my payment for $1634.88 for cottage reservations for 2016.

01/11/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Booked cabin. Paid Deposit. Now website is down and business has closed???
Booked a cabin (Autumn Breeze) for the week of March 28, 2016. Check in March 28 and Check out April 1. Paid $284.70 on November 1, 2015.
I received an email from a third party telling me that Sunset Cottage has closed. I tried to access their website and it also says closed. I simply want my deposit back so I can find another cabin for my Spring Break.

Desired Settlement
I want my money back in order to book a cabin with another company before the Spring Break rush begins!

Industry Comparison| Chart

Cabin, Cottage & Chalet - Rentals

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/09/1996Business started: 11/01/1995
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Dayna Day (Owner)Mr. James Wade (Treasurer)
Number of Employees

25

Business Category

Cabin, Cottage & Chalet - Rentals

Products & Services

Overnight Cabin Rentals

Alternate Business Names
Accommodations by Sunset Cottage
LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 3630 S. River Road 

    Pigeon Forge, TN 37863(865) 429-8478
    (800) 211-4599

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Greater East Tennessee. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Sunset Cottage Rentals & Realty is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 211-4599
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews as of November 2012.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Cabin, Cottage & Chalet - Rentals

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

According to information in the BBB files, it appears that the company is no longer in business. The phone numbers the BBB had for this company are disconnected, and directory assistance does not have a listing for this company. The BBB's mail to this company has been returned as undeliverable. If you have an unresolved dispute with this company you may wish to seek legal advice.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.