BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/16/2007

Hidden Mountain Resorts, Inc.

Phone: (865) 453-9850Fax: (865) 428-6742View Additional Phone Numbers475 Apple Valley Road, SeviervilleTN 37862

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/16/2007

BBB has determined that Hidden Mountain Resorts, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Hidden Mountain Resorts, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Hidden Mountain Resorts, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)
05/06/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Replacement of my belongings for all that was damaged in the severe house flood in a cottage . After 2 days, my family and I were out when we came back to the cottage and water had flooded the house. A pipe in the upstairs bathroom broke and water had flooded one of the upstairs bedroom and there was so much water that it begin running through the floor and stairs to the downstairs. The water flooded the beds, clothes, suitcases, shoes, everything was soaked. I called ****** ***** four times after the maintenance men and the office told me to make a list of what was destroyed by the water. She replied and told me to call back in a week, then another week, now she doesn't even answer her phone.

Desired Settlement
Replacement fund for all that was lost in the house flood.

Business Response
We have provided the customer with a **** credit towards a future stay.

03/10/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Without any electricity my family and I went 6 hours without proper heat and water. The heat returned later that night but the water had not I called guest services 14 times to receive a busy signal every time on Feb *** ***** Feb ******** I called ****** and spoke with guest services explained we had no water in the kitchen and or the bathrooms to flush the toilets I was told that they was working on restoring the water to the villas. Later that afternoon after having no running water, I called again and requested to retrieve a bag that was left in the original villa we stayed in **** a maintence man brought it to us we asked him how soon would the water be restored he explained that he did not know. Meanwhile roads are slick and there is no way to check out and go home and no one from the resort has offered us water for drinking and or flushing the toilets with knowing our then conditions. This calling back and forth went on for another day. I proceeded to explain our distressing circumstances allow him to see the conditions in which the villa was rented to us, which he took pictures to document my concerns to relay it with the maintain dept, ***** gave his sincere apologies explained that water should have been offered to us on day one and brought us water for drinking and to flush the toilets. That was the first time in 3 days the toilets had been flushed. The next day I explained that we decided to cut our trip short and we wanted to receive a refund for our stay due to lack of heat and no running water for 3 days in our villa, we was offered a stay with the resort any time within the next three months. We checked out on Feb *** **** with no refund.

Desired Settlement
We would like a full refund, due to the basic necessitates not being rendered to our family, which are heat and water.

Business Response
We did indeed try to assist this guest. Attached are the notes from our employees each time we talked with her and each time we attempted to assist her. We did not ignore this guest. No refund is merited.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not see any attachment from the resort to accept or disagree.

10/28/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We had issues with the quality of the cabin for the price. Commodities of this cabin as well as personnel. There were several issues that we feel indicate we should be refunded at least part of our money back. I request my original partial refund of $$$ the discount I was given was for being a AARP member.

Business Response
All of our Cabins are privately owned, we try very hard to maintain each and every one of them. The cabin the customer rented, has just recently been remodeled. The cabin usually rents for $$$ a night, the guest had already received a nice reduction rate.. We tried to accommodate the guest by letting them do an earlier check in. There are no notes of any discontent while they were there. Our written policy is to our guest, if a guest has a issue they are to get it resolved before check out day. We do not feel like the guest has cause for a refund.

05/21/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Cabin is shown on Hidden Mountain's website for $$$$ per night. I went to the site's main page, entered my dates Upon calling to reserve, they tell me it has been increased to $$$$ per night and will not honor the $$$$.

Desired Settlement
All I am seeking is the original price that they are advertising, in conjunction with the stay 3, get 2 free special.

Business' Initial Response
cabin has just been remodel from a one bedroom cabin to a two bedroom cabin. When it was a one bedroom it rented for $$$$ per night. So that is why it is still show the one bedroom rate. The computer didn't hold the new rate when they went in to changed everything. I sorry that it did that , but in our policy it say subject to change.

09/11/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Cabin, Cottage & Chalet - Rentals, Cabin Rentals, Resorts, Real Estate, Campgrounds & RV Parks

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/19/2004Business started: 10/01/1981
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Tennessee Real Estate Commission
500 James Robertson Parkway #180
Nashville, TN 37243
(615) 741-7546
http://www.state.tn.us/commerce/boards/trec/index.shtml

BBB records show a license number of 2073 for this company. The expiration date of this license is 10/24/2015.

Type: Real Estate

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Brenda Smith (Owner)Customer Contact: Ms. Mary Lou Miller (Customer Service)Ms. Belinda Hatley (Office Manager)Mr. Kevin Hedrick (Owner)Ms. Misty Hedrick (Owner)Ms. Summer Smith (Owner)Mr. Blue Smith (Owner)
Number of Employees

72

Business Category

Cabin, Cottage & Chalet - Rentals, Cabin Rentals, Resorts, Real Estate, Campgrounds & RV Parks

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Hidden Mountain Resorts, Inc.

475 Apple Valley Road

Sevierville, TN 37862

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 475 Apple Valley Road 

    Sevierville, TN 37862(800) 541-6837
    (865) 453-9850
    (865) 365-0562
    (800) 452-5992
    Fax: (865) 428-6742
    Fax: (865) 428-6742
    Fax: (865) 428-6742
    Fax: (865) 428-6742

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Greater East Tennessee. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Hidden Mountain Resorts, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 541-6837
  • (865) 365-0562
  • (800) 452-5992
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews as of November 2012.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Cabin, Cottage & Chalet - Rentals

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.