BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Greater East Tennessee

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/25/2009

Colonial Properties

Phone: (865) 365-0240Fax: (865) 774-3554View Additional Phone Numbers3049 Veterans Boulevard, Pigeon ForgeTN 37863

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/25/2009

BBB has determined that Colonial Properties meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Colonial Properties' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Colonial Properties

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)BBB Closure Definitions
03/13/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Customer service were rude and told us two hours before check in we had a different cabin
We had chosen this cabin due the seclusion of the cabin. In fact we paid a little extra for this feature. We both just got back from deployment and havent seen each other in months. Two hours prior to our check in, we were told that the roads were too bad for the cleaners to clean the house and that they had moved us to A Cabin. The saleslady was very rude and offered no apologies. We finally get in to check in and the people at the counter were rude still. I had checked the price of the new cabin and it was cheaper than the orginal cabin. We had asked about a refund for the difference and was told a manager would contact us the next day about it.

The next day someone outside the company called asking how our visit was. She was surprised to hear what had happened. She said a manager would get in contact with us that day. A few hours later,someone from the company called, and said that there was nothing he could do. Finally a manager called back. She was rude and cussed. She said the Cabin was an upgrade due to the rates that change daily. I had asked, so the rates change whenever you want them to? and she said yes, pretty much.
We understand things happen, but the only thing we want is a refund of the difference of the cabins and taxes. It wouldnt have been such an issue if the company was not rude. Me and my wife do not have a lot of time to spend together and we were trying to do something nice for us.

Desired Settlement
the only thing we want is a refund of the difference of the cabins and taxes from when we first booked the cabin.We also would like an apology for what had happened.

Business Response
The guest made an online reservation with our company and agreed to all the terms and conditions of the rental contract. We experienced a winter storm prior to their arrival; we had no way of predicting the weather or the accessibility of the cabin. We called the guest to let them know that due to the storm and the icy road conditions they would not be able to make it to the cabin they originally booked. At this time we offer guest a full refund or the option to move to another cabin that is accessible. The guest stated that he would look at the cabin via internet at our office and decide if he wanted to move to that cabin.
The guest booked the cabin at the rate of $ per night. The cabin that they were moved tois an upgrade. That cabin has a nightly rate of $ per night. We moved the guest over to the unit at no additional charge. During this time due to the snow storm we were experiencing extremely high cancellations. Management dropped rates to try and increase new bookings. Guest went on the website and saw that the cabin he was currently at was showing cheaper than what he paid. The manager on duty spoke to the guest and tried to explain that if he would look at the cabin that was originally booked, it would show an amount less than what he paid. All cabins were discounted $ per night, for new bookings. Guest originally booked in Jan prior to the discount being offered, thus not being eligible for the discount.
We did upgrade him from a standard unit to a deluxe unit at no additional charge. We apologized for the inconvenience; we have no control over the weather and did all we could do to satisfy the guest.
The guest was demanding a refund from the manager; she was not able to meet his demands so he was not happy. This manager has worked for our company for 6 years; we have never received a complaint about her customer service, nor "cussing" at a guest. We understand that the guest is upset and feels he deserves a refund. Unfortunately, due to the circumstances we are unable to meet his demands.
We sincerely apologize that we had winter weather during their stay that altered the plans they had. It was out of our control.

11/08/2012Problems with Product / Service
11/14/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Not properly identifiying their booking policies or refunding funds as promised.On ******** I booked a cabin for over 2 months out with Colonial Properties. The next day we went to cancel one night - we were informed at that time that there was a 4 night minimum booking which is nowhere noted on their website. We went with another company all together that did disclose all their policies up front. On ******** I went to cancel our reservation and told the person on the phone for Colonial why I was canceling. She informed me that due to it being over 30 days out they would waive the cancellation fee. When I checked my credit card on ******** I not only got charged the *** fee but also ***** as a tax - on a fee!! When I pointed this out I was told too sad, so sad even though on ******** I was told I'd be credited back 100% by their own staff.I want to be reimbursed $$$ as I was verbally told over the phon on 1111111 that I would be reimbursed.

Business Response
On ////// guest booked for 4 night and agreed to the polices set forth in the rental contract. On //// the guest called wanting to remove a night from her reservation. She was advised during the call that due to the holiday season there is a 4 night minimum and a night could not be removed from her stay. Guest stated that she would call back on //// to speak to the manager. The employee called the manager and explained the situation. Since the guest was already upset about not being able to remove a night from her stay, the manager approved for the guest to receive a full refund minus the cancellation fee of $$$. This refund was offered in order to show good business practices, although the contract states no refunds will be given. The employee called the guest back to let them know of the offer the manager had expressed. The guest called back and requested to cancel the reservation. She was advised at this time that the refund would be made for her entire stay, minus cancellation fee. On //// the credit card company of the guest called stating that she was disputing the cancellation fee charge. This guest was refunded the amount of her stay minus the $$$. Since we were not able to accommodate the guest with a 3 night stay, in effort to make the guest happy we gave her a full refund minus the cancellation fee as good business practices.

09/06/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
rented a cabin from colonial properties nothing was as described as in there online site. the cabin was not clean, it was very run down no up keep of property they had listed 2 couches/sofa beds there was only one there was to be 2 Tvs only one worked.We want what we were promised which we did not get.
The mother lost her footing and fell when walking the dog. Cabin had steps that led down a hill and stopped .They told us the home owners insurance will pay.

b>Final Business Response
Each cabin on our program is individually owned and furnished by the home owner. Unless the home owner notifies us of furniture that has been removed from the unit or amenities that are not working we are unaware of any issues till a guest calls our office. We did give the guest a credit for the non-working TV that was reported to the office. None of the other issues were ever reported to the office.
and as stated by the guest the insurance company from the homeowner has contacted them concerning the injury claim. We feel that we have done everything we can to satisfy the guest. We have tried to work with customer, but we are unable to to meet the demands.

08/29/2012Advertising / Sales Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Cabin, Cottage & Chalet - Rentals

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/06/2008Business started: 05/01/2005
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Tennessee Real Estate Commission
500 James Robertson Parkway #180
Nashville, TN37243
(615) 741-7546
http://www.state.tn.us/commerce/boards/trec/index.shtml

BBB records show a license number of 260167 for this company, issued by Tennessee Real Estate Commission. Their web address is http://www.state.tn.us/commerce/boards/trec/index.shtml.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ben Hughes (Owner)
Number of Employees

4

Business Category

Cabin, Cottage & Chalet - Rentals

Products & Services

Overnight Rental Company

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Colonial Properties

3049 Veterans Boulevard

Pigeon Forge, TN 37863

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 3049 Veterans Boulevard 

    Pigeon Forge, TN 37863(865) 365-0240
    (800) 371-0341

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Greater East Tennessee. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Colonial Properties is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 371-0341
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews as of November 2012.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Cabin, Cottage & Chalet - Rentals

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.