BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Greater East Tennessee

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 06/23/2006

Cabins USA

Phone: (865) 429-7070Fax: (865) 429-7090

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 11 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service14
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints15

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (15)BBB Closure Definitions
02/19/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Advertisement did not disclose all conditions required to take advantage of an offer

Complaint: The amenities listed on website were not included or non-functional when we rented the cabin. The Cabins USA website states that the cabin included fireplace, hot tubs, washer/dryer. Upon arrival the fireplaces did not work, bathroom water was shut off, kitchen table chairs were missing and no trash cans in the bathrooms. The dryer did not work so laundry was a problem. We would like a partial refund to compensate for the inconveniences due to non-functional items at the cabin.

Initial Business Response
This matter has been settled between us and our customer and our customer is happy.

01/20/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Defective, damaged, or incorrect product received

Complaint: Advertised heated indoor pool not heated as advertised. Not corrected by departure.

12/26/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to respond to phone calls or written requests for assistance or support

Complaint: Cabin was dirty. Called the office, person said would send out cleaning lady but not sure when. Asked for another cabin was told non- available. Maid came but cabin still dirty. Was told she cleaned what she saw. Next morning called again and was put in another cabin. She was very helpful. That cabin was really nice. Called several times and even went by office to speak to manager who was not there. Left message on voice mail. My husband finally spoke to someone and was asked why didn’t we call about sheets . Was told we would be reimbursed cleaning fee of $$$. Husband told her not acceptable wanted a refund for one night stay or 2 nights free in future since drive was 4 hrs to get there. We have been reimbursed $$$ and a free night stay in future. This was not what we wanted. We lost a whole day vacation not to mention a lack of sleep because of beds.

Initial Business Response
Upon arrival to the cabin the guest called in cleaning issues and the cleaner was sent to the cabin at that time to address their concerns. The following morning the guest called in that they were not satisfied with the cabin so they were moved to another cabin for their remaining night. A refund for half of their first night was credited to them as well as a Free Night Certificate for a future stay.

11/13/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Defective, damaged, or incorrect product received

Complaint: stayed in a cabin that had various issues. when i tried to contact Cabins usa I was put off or hung-up on issues were never dealt with. I am requesting that we pay the price of 1 bedroom and loft (because this was not a 2 bedroom)$$ per night and all fees which would be damage waiver $$ administrative fee $$ cleaning fee $$ and taxes for above taxable amounts. we would like to pay for only one night not 2. we consented that we stayed but was over charged and should have been moved or refunded upon arrival to cabin at first complaint. we would like that following amount refunded $$$ I think it is close to half.

Initial Business Response
Upon arriving the customer called our office to note her dissatisfaction with the cabin. She stated that the T.V. was the older style and no T.V.'S in the bedrooms. Mrs. Holman booked her cabin online where she can clearly see pictures of the cabin. In the photos of this cabin on our website there are no T.V.'s in the bedrooms and an older style T.V. in the living area. At this time we asked her if there was anything we could do for her and she said no. Customer called back the following morning to continue voicing her dissatisfaction with the cabin stating she didn't like the area it was in, the hot water ran out too quickly, cobwebs, no steps for the hot tub and possible mold on the ceiling. We told her that we will have to send maintenance to look into the alleged issues and she declined saying that they would be out for the day and would be back late. Guest became very belligerent at this point and started using foul language. Guest called back that night at closing and requested maintenance come out to address her issues. Customer called back 3 days after her departure and cursed out the reservationist that answered her call. We will not be issuing a refund to Guest.



10/10/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Customer Service Complaint Issue

Complaint: We left this cabin a day early. We would like a refund for the night we did not stay because of health concerns. because of this cabin and we were charged a cleaning fee and would like it refunded because this cabin definitely was not clean at all. We paid $$$ for 5 nights for this cabin and expected everything to be working and this was not the case. Office was made aware of the situation but no restitution was offered as a matter of fact nothing was offered.

Initial Business Response
Can you please tell me when customer stayed or if it may have been under another name there were no guest complaints for that stay and it wasn't a 5 night stay.

Page 1 of 2
02/11/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor a repair estimate or agreement

Complaint: One TV was not working. We were promised it would be fixed the day after check in. They reneged on this promise and would not offer any accommodation. I called maintenance. They told me that they would have someone come up right away and fix it and that the problem was not normal. I would like one night credit or to have been moved to a cabin with at least 3 TV's.

Initial Business Response
The remote malfunctioned and had to be ordered, this was explained to the guest. We put a rush order in on the remote and it was delivered during the middle of their stay.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that while the company addressed the complaint issues, the complainant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside BBB Rules of Arbitration.

10/11/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to provide promised assistance or support for products or services

Complaint: RENTED CABIN THAT WAS NOT CLEANED AND OR MAINTAINED, TOLD TO CALL DESK OR EMERGENCY# IF PROBLEMS WITH CABIN ON ARRIVAL ENTERING IT SMELLED, BLINDS TORN,HOT TUB NOT WORKING AND SMELT LIKE A TOILET.CALLED DESK NO ANSWER CALLED EMERGENCY# NO ANSWER.DECIDED TO STAY ANYWAY BECAUSE OF COST AND TIME OF NIGHT WE SLEPT ON THE TOWELS NOT MUCH BETTER THAN SHEETS. ALMOST 2 HOURS LATER THE EMERGENCY# RETURNED CALL SAID HE COULD SEND SOMEONE OUT I SAID NOT TO IT WAS 11 PM BY THEN WASN'T GOING TO USE HOT TUB ANY WAY THEN.WENT NEXT DAY TO OFFICE SHOWED PICS OF THE PLACE GOT MY CLEANING AND DAMAGE MONEY STILL COST ME $$$ PLUS TAX FOR ROOM. I WANT RENTAL MONEY RETURNED .

Initial Business Response
The guest checked in close to the time our office closes. If they would have voiced their complaints to night person when he returned their call he could have verified them and possibly moved them to another cabin. The guest was refunded almost half of their money back at check out. We will not be issuing additional refunds.

05/07/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to provide promised assistance or support for products or services

Complaint: We went the last 3 nights of our stay without a hot tub. Our dishes were dirty.
We called about our hot tub being to hot and no one returned a call or sent anyone out to fix it. We also had issues with the utensils provided. The skillets had items burnt in the b bottom of the pan and sticky stuff in it. It was unusable. We had towels and asked for extra and was told they didn't have any extra to give. The remote for the TV's in the bed rooms would not work to turn tv on or off but would change channels and sound. The ice trays had holes and would leak. The silverware provided didn't match was bent and distorted like they had been used for prying stuff. The dishwasher did not clean silverware very well had to be done by hand. The sink had no strainer for it. The couch in the living room was all stained we put a sheet over the couch just to sit on it. The couch folded out to a bed and my teenage daughter who weighs 104 lbs was unable to sleep on the 3 inch mattress provided no comfort from the metal frame at all. When checking out Friday morning no supervisor was present. The attendant taking my complaint assured me a supervisor would call me on Friday and they never did.

Business' Initial Response
This guest called and reported that their hot tub was too hot. At check out the guest reported that the kitchen cookware was a little dirty. During the check in process we ask all guests to please notify us during their stay if they have any issues at all, giving us the opportunity to correct them. We were denied that opportunity since they weren't reported until the guest was leaving. The other issues were never reported to us (remote for the TV, silverware, and couch). These are all issues that could have been easily corrected had they been reported. Since he claims he did not get to enjoy the use of the hot tub during his stay I will be glad to send him a free night's stay in the cabin of his choice.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
They gave no reason why they never returned the phone call about the hot tub. They have no crediablity with me. If they are willing to give a free night then just subtract a free night from my charges on my credit card.

Business' Final Response
Our offer remains the same.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that while the company addressed the complaint issues, the complainant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside BBB Rules of Arbitration.

02/04/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Refund or Exchange Complaint Issue

Complaint: The condition of the cabin at the time of occupancy was less than advertised in the booking data. Several issues were discovered. Large sections of unraveled carpet, in two of the lower level bedrooms and the bathroom. The cabin was supposed to be equipped with working a telephone in kitchen, WI-FI and Network TV in every bedroom and living area. Only one receiver and television was working when we checked in and the WI-FI and telephone was not working at all. Ceiling fan above dining table was loaded with dust buildup which flew off on dinner table when fan was turned on high. No gas fire grill on deck as shown in pictures. I want two days refunded.

Business' Initial Response
I certainly feel like we were very attentive to this guest and went above and beyond with their needs. Our maintenance team was quick and responsive with each issue. The main issue was when the guest arrived, she noticed that there were a couple parts of the carpet that were torn. We offered to send maintenance, carpet cleaners and so forth. We also sent rugs out there to correct the torn carpet issues. We offered several remedies and options to fix their issues and many of those options were declined by the guest. We feel that we did everything we could in a timely manner to help these guests. We followed up with them several times. We also offered a free night certificate We could not justify any refunds as we were there to fix everything in within an hour of her check in and did everything we could to provide for a great vacation. We are sorry but we did all that we can do unless, they are willing to accept the free night stay certificate.

08/22/2012Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Cabin, Cottage & Chalet - Rentals

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.