BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Greater East Tennessee

BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Cars Etc., Inc.

Phone: (865) 688-5566Fax: (865) 688-99656525 Maynardville Highway, KnoxvilleTN 37918

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Cars Etc., Inc. is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Cars Etc., Inc.'s rating include:

  • Failure to respond to one complaint filed against business.

Factors that raised Cars Etc., Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
03/20/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Unauthorized credit card charges

Complaint: unauthorized charges to credit card, dishonest business pracice
discovered used ****** H2 in knoxville that i was interested in. Was traveling thru knoxville from ** 10 days later. Called delearship to inquire about vehicle. Converstaion with *******. Told me vehicle in perfect condition. I asked very specific questions about vehicle including GPS. ******* informed me GPS was factory and working great. Also stated exterior was like new. He said they would hold it for me til the Feb 28th but wanted a credit card to prove I was serious. I informed ******* I was serious if the vehicle is as described. I told him I cannot put a deposit down on a car I have never seen. He explained that they wouldnt charge my card but they just wanted reassurance that I would be there on the 28th to see the vehicle. I arrived on the 28th to see the vehicle. After driving the vehicle I discovered the GPS was not functioning. ******* first tried to hand me a handheld GPS in a box and said I could have that one. OF course I said no. Then he tried to tell me that GM will replace the disk for free. I called the ****** delearship I use in ** and they informed me that a new disc is $390. But they also informed me that if the problem wasnt the disc then it could be over $1000 to fix. The vehicle also has a large, deep scratch on the drivers door that they attempted to hide. Obviously the vehicle was not as described so I passed. ******* informed me that "it's no problem because we have it sold to someone else if you don't want it. Im going to call him as soon as you leave" So I got up and left. I received my credit card bill later and discovered they charged $500 for a deposit which was completely unauthorized. My credit card company is now handling the disputed charge. This is a very dishonest company and I was lied to multiple times by them. And then they tried to steal $500 from me

Initial Business Response
Mr. Feeney called our dealership 2/12/14 inquiring about the 2005 ****** ** **** Customer did have specific questions in which ******* answered for him. Customer stated he was serious about purchasing this vehicle and would be coming to Knoxville on 2/21/14. He requested we hold the vehicle for him. ******* explained we could with a deposit and that the deposits are NON refundable. Customer proceeded to give credit card number and was aware his card would be charged. Customer arrived at our dealership on 2/28/14 (which was 1 week later than he had stated he would be here) He looked at the vehicle and took it for a test drive. When he returned from the test drive he stated he liked the vehicle but the disc to the Navigation system was missing so the navigation would not work. ******* offered him a handheld GPS which the customer turned down and at that time decided he did not want the vehicle because we did not have the navigation disc. He stated the Hummer dealership said it could possibly be more than the disc. He also stated he did not have the amount of money that was agreed upon on the phone. We post all of our vehicles on our website with approximately 20 pictures. The pictures include all angles of the outside of the car, inside pictures and the engine so he was able to see thorough pictures before he made the call.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
**** etc is a dishonest business and their response is also a lie. My plans were always to be in ********* on 2/28/14. I was traveling from ************ to ******* ** to watch my son run in the *** indoor track champioships on 2/28-3/1. So my plans to travel those dates were in place months before so obviously **** **** is again untruthful. They also NEVER told me my card would be charged. ******* said his boss needed to prove I was serious and I would show up on 2/28. ******* either lied to me or lied to his boss.
At least they were honest in their response when they said the *** didnt work and they offered me a cheap handheld. I asked the exact question before setting up the appt if the vehicle had a working *** and ******* told me yes.Obviously the vehicle was not as promised.
They DID lie about settling on a price. They sent me a online price but I never agreed to ANY price. I would never agree to buy a vehicle, put a down payment on a vehicle, or agree on a price without seeing in person and taking for a test drive.
Of note, ******* informed me they had the vehicle sold for more than they quoted me online if I didnt take it. So they obviously didnt lose any sale if they did hold it for me. And it was gone from their website shortly thereafter.
**** is a dishonest business practice. They lie to obtain your credit card info, then if you dont purchase a vehicle then they steal from you.
They owe me $500 and I will not stop until returned.

Final Business Response
The date we had the consumer scheduled to come in was 2/21/14 and we held the vehicle 1 week longer even though we had 2 other people interested. Consumer's travel plans for his son may have been already in place prior to his promise to view vehicle 2/21/14. We explain to all of our consumers that our deposits are NON-REFUNDABLE.What consumer would give their credit card information if they thought their account would not be debited. There was an agreed sales price during the phone call when consumers gave his deposit. It was when he was exiting he stated he didn't have the amount agreed upon.
**** ***** **** has been in business for over 30 years. We would not be able to continue business if we treated consumers the way we are being accused. At this point it is his word against ours. Our word should be backed by doing business in this community for over 30 years. We have a stellar reputation in the ***** **********

04/20/2012Problems with Product / Service
01/23/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation misrepresented the product

Complaint: ***** at **** *** sold me an **** 4x4 and told me that the four wheel drive worked fine and it did not.
***** at **** *** sold me a 2000 **** **** 4x4 and after test driving it I asked ***** why the four wheel drive did not feel right and he stated "it's just stiff because it's never been used but it works great." After having the truck for only 3 weeks and only driving it 71 miles I needed the four wheel drive one day and found out that the transmission/transfer case was no good in the truck. After being towed back to a shop and incurring the cost of a new transfer case and all repairs which totaled $2600, I called ***** several times and he never returned my calls. I also emailed him and his response was telling me to bring the truck back and he would resell it but I would not recoup the $6800 in total repairs that I have put into the truck since purchasing it. I am not asking for reimbursement on any of the routine maintenance repairs or other repairs that absolutely had to be done as I knew of them up front when I bought the truck, I am only asking for reimbursement on the drive train issue because I was told it worked and at a purchase price of $13,000 I would expect honesty on this matter and the 4x4 should have worked. He has not responded to my latest email or phone calls so now I am contacting The *** to resolve this issue.

no response from company

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - Used Cars, Auto Dealers - Antique & Classic

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/11/1991Business started: 05/17/1983Business started locally: 07/01/1991
Licensing

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Tennessee Motor Vehicle Commission
500 James Roberts Parkway
Nashville, TN37243
(615) 741-2711
http://www.tennessee.gov/commerce/boards/mvc/index.shtml

BBB records show a license number of 00006923 for this company.

Business Management
Principal: Mr. James Hensley Jr. (President)
Contact Information
Mr. David Hensley Sr. (Proprietor/Principle)
Number of Employees

10

Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars, Auto Dealers - Antique & Classic

Products & Services

THIS FIRM OFFERS USED CARS & TRUCKS.

Industry Tips
Used Cars
BBB Teams with J.D. Power and Associates to Boost Value of Information Available to Car Buyers
Buying a Used Car
Dont Get Soaked Buying a Flood-damaged Vehicle
Millions Expected to Heat up the Holiday Season with Auto Purchases
Purchasing a Car Online
Know the Facts About Used Car Fraud Before You Buy
VIN Cloning Swindles Luxury Car Buyers

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Cars Etc., Inc.

6525 Maynardville Highway

Knoxville, TN 37918

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 6525 Maynardville Highway 

    Knoxville, TN 37918(865) 688-5566

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Greater East Tennessee. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Cars Etc., Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews as of November 2012.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.