BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

East Tennessee Dodge-Chrysler-Plymouth-Jeep

Find a Location

Phone: (931) 484-9746Fax: (931) 707-9226View Additional Phone Numbers2712 N. Main Street, CrossvilleTN 38555http://www.easttennesseedodge.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

East Tennessee Dodge-Chrysler-Plymouth-Jeep is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered East Tennessee Dodge-Chrysler-Plymouth-Jeep's rating include:

  • Failure to respond to one complaint filed against business.

Factors that raised East Tennessee Dodge-Chrysler-Plymouth-Jeep's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on East Tennessee Dodge-Chrysler-Plymouth-Jeep

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (7)
09/02/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We bought a vehicle and it has been back in shop 5 times and is currently in shop now. The General manager has horrible people skills and is very rude. Takes forever to return calls gets smart with us. The car has been in the shop 17 days and counting as it is in shop now. They have done nothing but lie to us on numerous occasions. I have written on a calendar all dates of service. Last time car got put in shop it lost all pulling power as I was driving down the road it eventually got it back.

Desired Settlement
I would like to have the car replaced with something comparable to the car I purchased. All other cars there have really high miles.

Business Response
Indeed the family has had some really bad luck with the vehicle they purchased from us. We ran the vehicle through a 127 point inspection prior to putting it on the lot for sale just like we do all of our used inventory with under 100k. The vehicle checked out and passed the inspection with no problem. The vehicle has been in our shop on a number of occasions with different issues that we repair each time. This is NOT a case of a problem we just cant fix. We have provided the them with a vehicle to drive each time there's has been left with us free of charge. They have also not paid for any of the repairs that have been made to the vehicle or any tow bills that have accrued because it is covered by our warranty we offer here to the customer free of charge. Like I said in the beginning they have had issues and I am not denying that and it is an unfortunate situation, however I do feel we have provided them with the best service that any dealer could offer. As far as the lies and my being rude I'm not sure what they are referring too. I am not aware of any situation where the customers feels they have been lied to. As for my rudeness to the customer I can only assume they are referring to a recent situation where Mr. wanted to trade his car, even to another we have here that was a much higher end unit and more money than he paid for his. When I could not do that it seemed to upset him. I asked if there was anything else that they may like and out of our 300 unit inventory and was told that earlier mentioned was it. I would be more than happy to trade them into another vehicle but I need more to work with than one particular unit out of the 300+ that we have.

04/17/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
During the sale, the salesperson had trouble determining the actual value of the vehicle. At one point, the salesperson attempted to convince me the truck model plate on the rear of the vehicle had been switched out by a previous owner which we discovered was apparently untrue. Also, the salesperson has not fully handled my customer service issues in my opinion.
I called to speak to the general manager about my concerns. He informed me he'd call me back and I have not heard back from him as of yet.
I called to speak to the general manager again and he was not in for the day. The sales manager fielded my call. I listed my concerns and he actually suggested I could trade in my truck, which I just bought, and buy a different one. So instead of helping me with the truck I just bought, he tried to make more money from me. And he did not address my other concerns at all, other than mentioning I should call back to speak to the general manager. The sales manager's behavior was by far the worst part of the buying experience. Extremely unprofessional in my opinion. Issues with sale -
a. part of the deal was for the steering wheel to have vinyl re-applied. The process was attempted and not to my satisfaction. The old vinyl was not removed from the steering wheel thus lines could be seen on the steering wheel. The entire area to receive vinyl was not covered. Also the vinyl person over-sprayed the vinyl on the dash, radio, console, floor etc(the service department attempted to wash off the over-spray, however, it's still easily visible)
b. I've had to return the vehicle twice for service repairs Although, I wish my vehicle purchase hadn't had any issues to begin with. I now have another issue with the passenger window control not functioning although I haven't had time to inform them of this issue as of yet.
c. The vehicle had a large amount of damage, in my opinion, on the driver side door and bed side that I did not notice during the purchase as it was raining. I understand I purchased the vehicle so I should have noticed it, however, I wished the salesman had informed me of such a large amount of damage, although ultimately I should have noticed it. I just assumed as the carfax was clear, that there would be no large undisclosed damage.
would not recommend this dealership for the purchase of a vehicle.

Desired Settlement
1. I'd like the steering wheel to be properly repaired with a new vinyl coating - with the prior vinyl removed first. I would like the passenger window control repaired - I'm sure the Dickson office will be glad to repair it as its still under warranty.
I would like a rental truck during the vinyl wheel repair as this process should have been done properly to begin with.

Business Response
1. The salesperson has been with us for almost two years. We don't feel he is inexperienced or unprofessional.His customer service scores also support our opinion. As far as determining a vehicles value there really is no excact formula to determining the value of a vehicle. all will have a different value's for the exact same vehicle and salespeople are not who determines a cars value, that is the job of the managers. The model plate on the truck was a ls and the vin decoded a lt. It wasn't our opionion just a fact.

2. I have spoken with Mr.and I have been involved with Melissa in getting his issues resolved. We have had the truck taken to our store to try and resolve the overspray issues but im assuming now that they are not to Mr.likings. I will reschedule.

3. The attempt to trade him out of the truck was not to make money it was to resolve the issues he has with his used truck. Sometimes in the car business it is better to jut trade the customer into a new vehicle if we the dealer feel they may never be satisfied with the vehicle they have. So we give the customer full trade credit back for the vehicle they are having issues with. It is a good solution in a lot of cases.
It was never part of the deal to have new vinyl applied, only to reshoot the dye on the excisting vinyl because the vinyl itself was in good shape but with the truck being 6 years old the dye had come off. As far as the vehicle being returned for repairs however unfortunate it is a 6 year old vehicle with miles.
Damage to the vehicle- we don't feel that the damage on the truck was out of the ordinary for a 6 year old truck. We do not repair every cosmetic issue with every with used vehicle to keep the cost down.
Every cutomer is presented with a menu with all the finance options available to them as part of the fair credit act. There is a copy of it in this deal and the gap insurance was selected by the customer on two different forms.



01/16/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Bought a truck and warranty of 90 day,3000 mile warranty took truck in to be fixed twice,first time was sent home with truck to see if problem got worse,and it did to the point of not wanting to drive it.rear end and clutch are problems in this truck.was told last day of warranty,clutch wore out,no warranty,bumper to bumper warranty did not cover the issues.

Desired Settlement
I want the truck I bought to be fixed,I have put 2000 miles on this truck,can't drive it.bought it be puss of the warranty.i always buy new,mistake to trust agreement made by this company.and a no time I feel that this warranty was going to be upheld.now I am stuck with a truck with major repairs.

Business Response
These statements are not true. The repairs were not made because there was nothing to repair other than the clutch. The commits made about the rear end are not true. The truck was put on the rack and all tolerances were checked for the rear end, universal joints and drive shaft yoke. They were all with in tolerances with the manufacturer specs and this was explained to the customer. The clutch is not covered due to the fact that it is a wear item. Even on a brand new vehicle the clutch is only covered by the manufacturer for the first 12mo and 12000 miles due to this fact. Also the warranty was referred to as a bumper to bumper by the customer, that is not true either. It is listed and presented to the customer as a limited power-train warranty.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Due to the fact that it was just a few days after buying the vehicle that it was brought back to them before the milage was over for the power stearing pump and told them about the clutch issue. I was instructed to drive it for a few more days to see if it would straighten out. We drove it and it continued to be messed up. We even had another mechanic drive it and they said it was the rear-end as well. We would not have bought the truck if the warranty would not stand. It was bought and brought back with issues before the mileage was used up on the warranty. It has been parked and not drove so the mileage is still not used up on the warranty. Also, the dealer told us face to face that everything was covered for 90 days while we were making the sale.

Final Business Response
Our position remains unchanged.

11/17/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Not as advertised, or described, or promised
Found truck online july 26, for 19749.00 July 27 2014 went to e.t.d. purchased 2006 f-350 pickup. Internet pictures showed toolbox ,floormats, listed several accessories not found on truck when saw it. Liked truck anyway. That morning internet price dropped to 19600.00. Agreed to pay their price if get 5th wheel hitch installed. Was excited about getting truck, when going through paperwork didn't pay that close attention finance manager rushed through really fast. Said about 10 days get tag in the mail.On the way home looking at papers didn't get new sale price 150.00 less, had added price of hitch to truck 800.00 called salesman (kody stevens) said he would check on it. 6 phone calls later finally said 800.00 was for internet sales, 150.00 price reduction wasn't authorized. Toobox was sold, someone stole floor mats. Call about hitch. Have to take back let them see what hitch they need to order. Kody said would give money to help pay for 2 trips up there 143 miles each way. 2 weeks go by no tag , no big deal mail is slow. 3 weeks no tag call kody said check on it 4 weeks no tag, paper tag expires kody said mail another paper tag & money for gas. 5 weeks no permanent tag no paper tag, no money for gas. They don't no what has happened. Same story weeks 6-9as of today same story & no tag paper or permanent, no gas money as promised.

Desired Settlement
Would like to have tag so can drive truck. Would like extra time on warranty since cant drive truck (2mts). Would like to have money promised for gas. Would be nice to have refund 800.00 agreed upon price. Refund of lowered sales price on internet $150.00

Business Response
Customer has received all his title and tag work at this point. As far as the missing tool box and floor mats on the truck they were gone before the cust agreed to buy the truck and was fine with that at the time, not sure why its a issue at this point. the fifth wheel hitch has been installed as well. at this point to my knowledge all issues have been addressed. upgraded his hitch

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do have tag now,how everything they charged $102.97 late fee for them not filing on time.yes i agreed to purchase truck without floormats or tool box,but they still advertized it with them.does not address issue with warranty of 1 1/2 months couldn't drive because of no tag.or with the price descrepancy of purchase price,or money promised for having to return back up there

08/01/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Lien holder from my trade in keeps calling me saying that there is still a balance to be paid. Dealership is not resolving or returning my calls.I just want the problem resolved before it hits my credit.

Business Response
This matter has been resolved.

Page 1 of 2
12/29/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They sold me a service and have never paid me for a vehicle of the service they owe me for. Corporate office no help in the situation.
I bought a service plan from them when I bought my first car from them. Part of the service plan was 500 dollar towards purchase of next new or used car from them. I purchased a used car from them roughly a year later. I told the salesman that night that I had previously purchased the cardoc warranty when I got my new car. A month or so later I realized they had not given me the 500 for the cardoc from the new purchase. I brought this to their attention only to get the run around and them belittle me by telling me I shouldn't speak about integrity when I was trying to get more of a discount than they already gave me. The bottom line is I have a contract for the cardoc which states 500, I have the contract for the second car which does not show the cardoc discount at all on it, I have talked to corporate HR in Michigan, and 2 different *** in **** at the dealership and they tried to talk around this and make me feel like I was this horrible human being for wanting what is owed to me and everyone needs to know the type of business these guys are running and that corporate apparently condones this.

Desired Settlement
The 500 dollars owed either applied toward the second car or given to me.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/12/1997Business started: 02/01/1997
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Tennessee Motor Vehicle Commission
500 James Roberts Parkway
Nashville, TN 37243
(615) 741-2711
http://verify.tn.gov

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Brandon Letner (General Manager)
Contact Information
Ms. Debra Thorton (Manager)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Products & Services

THIS FIRM OFFERS NEW & USED CAR SALES & SERVICE


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

East Tennessee Dodge-Chrysler-Plymouth-Jeep has received 4.6 out of 5 stars based on 2 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for East Tennessee Dodge-Chrysler-Plymouth-Jeep

2712 N. Main Street

Crossville, TN 38555

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 2712 N. Main Street 

    Crossville, TN 38555(931) 484-9746
    (800) 264-0506
    (865) 471-6142
    Fax: (931) 707-9226

  • P. O. Box 1247 

    Crossville, TN 38555

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Greater East Tennessee. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*East Tennessee Dodge-Chrysler-Plymouth-Jeep is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 264-0506
  • (865) 471-6142
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews as of November 2012.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.