BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/21/2007

Champion Chevrolet-Cadillac, LLC

Phone: (423) 218-0317Fax: (423) 283-6135View Additional Phone Numbers3606 Bristol Highway, Johnson CityTN 37601

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/21/2007

BBB has determined that Champion Chevrolet-Cadillac, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Champion Chevrolet-Cadillac, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Champion Chevrolet-Cadillac, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
09/22/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Incorrect diagnosis - charges for work not needed. Refused to refund, even though no signed repair estimate.
Brought in 2001 ******** ******* because Service Transmission light was on. Said they would check the codes and test drive - and then that 4th gear was out and car was unsafe to drive, as internal broken parts might jam and cause accident or leave us stranded. Performed an un needed servo and oin check - and determined 4th gear band or 3-4 shift valve was out. Charged $262.44, with estimate of $4345.00 to replace transmission. Brought nest door to ******** ******* where we bought car, and mechanic found that 4th gear worked perfectly - and that code registered was just overfill of transmission fluid. Sales *************** refused o adjust charges for incorrect diagnsis and non repair and said, "Go ahead to the ****** ******** ******* You are not going to get a refund, because we did the work, needed or not!" - and, "It doesn't matter whether you sighned for repairs or not!" ******** ****** can verify that the Transmission is working perfectly and that the diagnosis and non repair by ******** was incorrect. They listed that 4th gear was not applying and transnmission has internal problems with 4th gear band or 3-4 shift valve- and that we needed a $4345.00 transmission replacement. I did not sign for the incorrect diagnostic repair, nor the invoice required to pick up our car. Their customer service is as bad as their vehicle service - and that is saying a lot. We had our vehicle brought over for two prior warranty repairs, and both times they failed to correct the problem and the vehicle had to be returned a second time. It is hard to believe that any one would want to do business with ******** ********* based on my experience.

Desired Settlement
At the very leasr\st, refund the $262.44 charges for the incorrect diagnosis and non-repair. Also, I believe that ther should be some consequence for refusing to release the vehicle without paying contested charges for work performed without customer signature (I did not sign the origionalor final invoice, due to concerns about conflicting statements relating to work needed and final costs. We picked the vehicle up with NO REPAIRS made and an estimate of over twice other transmission specialists quoted, i,e $4345.00 vs. $1700.00 to rebuild transmission. We drove next door to ********** ******* where we had bought the car, and they immediately test drove with two mechanics and myself in the car, discovering that 4th gear was working properly and the transmission was fine - that the Service transmission light code was merely a transmission fluid over fill and that there were no internal problems.

Business Response
Mr. Customer came to our dealership on Aug 1 at 11:38 and told us the service transmission light was coming on and it felt like it hesitated a couple of times. Our technician checked the vehicle and it had 2 codes ***** and ****** Test drove with diagnostic tool and found gear ratio at 1to1. The ratio should be.65 to 1 and 4th gear was not applying. We called the customer with 2 options on repair.
Option#1 Pull the cover to check the pin and seal that engages 4th gear. If this was not the problem the transmission would have an internal problem that would require extensive repairs.
Option#2 we priced him a new transmission.
Mr. Customer elected to try the 1st repair with a estimate of $282.00 Mr. Customer also signed the repair order when he dropped the car off to us for an estimate. We investigated the 1st option and found it was not the issue with the transmission. We advised the customer the problem was internal and he did not want any further repairs. The customer was told upfront this may not fix the car and the customer had the estimate of $282.00. The bill he received was $262.44 which was less than estimate. If the car has not been repaired it is still not working properly. The codes that appeared have nothing to do with the fluid level. We refilled the transmission fluid after draining it to do the estimate. The technician that worked on the car is a GM world class technician. We have been in business for 7 years 6 months and have not received complaints thru the BBB so obviously we do not take advantage of customers.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I did NOT sign the repair order with out an estimate - and the 4th gear is NOT out.

Final Business Response
We did a diagnosis on his car as he ask us to do. He knew the charges upfront and agreed to them before we did any work. We stand by our diagnosis and our charges. The car does have a issue in 4th gear. I will not refund any charges. If Mr Customer goes to the DR and gets a diagnosis and goes to another Dr and gets another diagnosis does he go back to the initial DR for a refund? NO he doesn't. We have much better technical equipment to diagnosis the car than a ****** dealership so I feel very confident in our findings.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/21/2007Business started: 12/16/2006
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Tennessee Motor Vehicle Commission
500 James Roberts Parkway
Nashville, TN37243
(615) 741-2711
http://www.tennessee.gov/commerce/boards/mvc/index.shtml

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Robert Copenhaver (President)
Contact Information
Mr. Daniel Dietrich (Vice President)Mr. Patrick Spivey (Secretary/Treasurer)
Number of Employees

45

Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Products & Services

This company offers new and used car sales

Industry Tips
Used Cars

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Champion Chevrolet-Cadillac, LLC

3606 Bristol Highway

Johnson City, TN 37601

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 3606 Bristol Highway 

    Johnson City, TN 37601(423) 282-2121
    (423) 218-0317

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Greater East Tennessee. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Champion Chevrolet-Cadillac, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (423) 282-2121
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews as of November 2012.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

Used Cars
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.