BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/03/1989

Bill Gatton Honda

Phone: (423) 968-5111Fax: (423) 652-96092130 Volunteer Parkway, BristolTN 37620-9970

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/03/1989

BBB has determined that Bill Gatton Honda meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Bill Gatton Honda's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Bill Gatton Honda

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
01/18/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a car, It appeared to have a clean car fax. I recently went to a dealorship to trade. They ran a car check and the car fax shows it has been wrecked. I have spoken to, Used Car Sales Manager. He said they cannot find original paperwork but would look for it. We have both called each other and left messages. I left the last message to return my call and he has not responded.

Desired Settlement
I would like Bill Gatton to pay off what the car is valued at by Blue Book which is approximately $.

Business Response
We are aware of Ms. concern involving the vehicle she purchased. She indicated to our Pre-owned Sales Manager that the vehicle she purchased had a "clean" at the time she purchased the vehicle. She also indicated that she had signed a version of the Carcheck that showed the vehicle had not had a recorded accident involving the vehicle in question prior to her purchase. However, we have a copy of the Carcheck in the original deal folder that was run the day the customer purchased the vehicle. It shows that the car she purchased was involved in an accident . Page four of the Carcheck report states in part, "Carcheck can only report what is in our database Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Now all of a sudden the paperwork and Carcheck has reappeared. Why hasn't Bill Gatton notified me of this? The Carcheck I was showed did not indicate the vehicle had been wrecked! I have even spoken to the salesman who sold me the car and he even said the Carfax was clean. I want this resolved. If it is not, I will pursue further action.

Final Business Response
We will contact the customer directly and work to come up with a resolution to the customer's concern.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
the company contacted me and I plan to meet with him in the next few days to see if we can resolve this issue. I would like for the case to remain open until this is resolved.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/12/1989Business started: 04/01/1967
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Tennessee Motor Vehicle Commission
500 James Roberts Parkway
Nashville, TN 37243
(615) 741-2711
http://verify.tn.gov

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mitch Walters (Manager)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Bill Gatton Honda

2130 Volunteer Parkway

Bristol, TN 37620-9970

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2130 Volunteer Parkway 

    Bristol, TN 37620-9970(423) 968-5111
    Fax: (423) 652-9609

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Greater East Tennessee. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Bill Gatton Honda is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews as of November 2012.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.