BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 01/03/1996

Landmark Home Solutions

Phone: (905) 646-8995

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

18 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues5
Guarantee / Warranty Issues4
Problems with Product / Service9
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints18

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (18)
09/16/2013Advertising / Sales Issues
06/23/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have had so many problems with the company that I couldn't list them all in here but I don't seem to be having any luck getting anything resolved.
I had 7 windows installed by Landmark Home Solutions back in August of 2011. A sales rep came to my home and I purchased the windows through him. After signing all the paperwork and giving a deposit to the sales rep I was told that someone from the company would contact me in regards to coming out and measuring for my windows. I did tell him that I wanted the windows done as soon as possible because the windows that were being replaced were not in good condition at all and he assured me that it would be done very quickly. My deposit cheque was cashed and I waited over a week and didn't hear from anyone so I contacted the sales rep and he told me that he would get someone out to my house to measure for the windows right away. The guy came and measured for my windows and again I waited and heard nothing from the company so I called again after about a month and finally a date was scheduled for them to install the windows. On the day that they came to install the windows they found out that they had measured incorrectly for the windows so they couldn't be installed and had to make the windows again to fit. I waited again and my windows weren't actually installed until November of 2011.In September of 2014 I noticed that all the paint was peeling off the screens on my windows so I called and was assured that this was covered by the warranty and someone was scheduled to come out and look at them. Someone came out in October of 2014 and took pictures and I also pointed out to him that one of the screens on the window wouldn't stay in properly and once he removed the screen he noticed that the frame of the window had been broken when it was installed which was something I couldn't see because the window was a bedroom window on the second floor. He took the screens and told me that they would have to be repainted. Once again I waited for someone to contact me regarding when I would get the screens back and I had to call once again to find out the status. The person I had originally been dealing with told me that she was no longer in that position and would have the new person contact me. I waited for another week and when no one contacted me I called the company again and found the person that had replaced her and she had heard nothing about my screens and said she would call me back when she had an answer for me. She finally called back and told me that they couldn't find my screens at the warehouse but they were still looking for them. Again I waited for another few weeks and called back again when I heard nothing on when my screens would be returned only to find out that that person was no longer in that job and had to talk to someone else who had no idea about my screens. She had told me that she was very embarrassed by my situation and would get it resolved but I am still waiting. The screens for my windows were taken in October of 2014 and here I am in April of 2015 and still don't have an answer on when my screens are going to be replaced. I paid a lot of money for these windows and was assured at the time that they were great quality and worth paying more than other companies were charging. I contacted the company today and asked if I could have the email address to one of the owners of the company only to be told that I had to email the installation manager and that she couldn't give me the address for the owners. I would like to have my screens returned but I am also very concerned about the quality of the windows and since the windows were only 3 years old when the paint started to peel. Can someone please help me in trying to resolve this situation as I am having no luck at all with the company. Thanks for your help in this matter ***** *****

Desired Settlement
I would like to have the screens returned that were taken months ago.

Business Response
We here at Landmark Home Solutions place our customer service above all else and stand behind our warranty and the products we make with complete confidence. Anytime, any of our valued customers feel they have not received the exemplary service of which we are widely known then they have our most sincere apologies and we will immediately set out to rectify it.

I have been assured that our service department has already been in touch with this homeowner in particular and we are immediately looking in to this situation to ensure total customer satisfaction.

Most Sincerely,
Landmark Home Solutions


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I would like to leave this complaint open until I actually receive my screens that were taken and the repairs done to the windows. I have had many promises by this company and service people scheduled to come to my house only to have them not show up. I have someone scheduled to come to my house on May 9th so I would like to wait to make sure they actually do show up and fix my current problems with the windows.


Final Consumer Response
Hi:

I just wanted to let you know that I still have not heard from this company to set up another date to come and repair my windows. There was a scheduled appointment for May 30th in which no one showed up and I did call them and let them know that no one showed up and they still haven't gotten back to me with another date. This has been going on now since last September and I really just want to get this resolved.

Thanks
***** *****
XXX-XXX-XXXX



Final Business Response
Here at Landmark Home Solutions Customer satisfaction is of the highest priority!

If in anyway this valued customer of ours feels they have not received the high level of service that we strive for daily and are known for, then our most sincere apologies.

Immediately after being made aware of this situation I am pleased to say we have contacted this customer and placed in to motion the steps in order to meet and rectify all of their concerns.

Most sincerely,
Landmark Home Solutions

06/15/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Defective, substandard front doors purchased and installed in home. Landmark Home Solutions not responding to multiple requests for solution.
New front doors purchased and installed by Landmark in spring 2013. In December 2013 placed a service call due to malfunctioning doors which resulted in door replacement in January 2014. The primary door had warped out of shape, creating gaps in the seal, allowing frost to build up inside the house. Also complained about the quality and durability of the finish of the doors at that time, no resolution was offered other than giving us some touch up paint to use.
March 2015- same problem has occurred with the doors over this winter. Email sent to Landmark on March 6 with pictures showing the exact same problem occurring once again on the replacement door. The door has warped out of shape, creating gaps to the outside. Light can be seen shining into the house from outside. Frost and condensation builds regularly along the seam of the door. The door handle hardware has rusted up and frosts over in cold weather. All around the door frame you can feel extreme cold and drafts with your hand. Also complained again of the quality of the finish on the doors. White chips out of the paint can be seen in the pictures and are caused by peoples fingernails as they attempt to open or lock the door.
No response was received so requested an update March 24th via email. Landmark (***** *******) responded that the installation manager *** would be consulted and a service call set up. Did not hear anything further so requested another update on April 20 via email. No response has been received as of May 5th.
Original order- February XX XXXX
Delivered and installed - April XX XXXX
Double Door model Royal RD 2248 ?
Price - $8402.00

Desired Settlement
In the last email to Landmark I requested a full refund of the price and removal of the product from my home so that I can purchase a new door from a different company. This product has proven twice to be defective and unable to stand up to a normal winter in this area.

Business Response
We here at Landmark Home Solutions take our customer service very seriously and proudly stand behind everything we manufacture and install.

If in anyway even slightly, this valued customer has felt they were not receiving the customer service for which we are known and take a great deal of pride in then we profusely apologize.

Our service department is attempting to schedule in a site visit as we speak so we can ascertain the concerns first hand in order to plan the best course of action forward.
Our only goal here is to provide our valued customer with peace of mind and assurance that we here at Landmark always stand behind all that we do.

Most Sincerely,
Landmark Home Solutions


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We have had two visits from Landmark so that the doors could be inspected and photos taken. However, resolution to the complaint has not occurred yet. We are still waiting to hear back on whether they will give us a refund.

Final Business Response
We here at Landmark Home Solutions take great pride in our products, customer service and the warranty we put behind each and every single one.

It is with pleasure that I can say we visited with this valued customer of Landmark and have been able to correct and put to rest all concerns that they had.

Each customer is highly important to us and every concern no matter how big or small is always of the most importance to us and we look forward to this homeowner being a continued, valued customer of ours for years and years to come.

Sincerely,
Landmark Home Solutions

03/16/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They are calling often and it is not welcome. I am not interested in whatever it is they are trying to sell me.
Please stop calling my number. Remove me from your list. Its not appropriate to gather info from a sweepstakes and then use it to make constant phone calls.

Desired Settlement
Please stop calling me.

Business Response
It is with most sincere apologies if any phone call placed on our part to this home has created any type of concern or issue and we are more than happy to immediately cease any future. I do wish to make clear however that it is not harassment as indicated as we fall well in to the guidelines and business practices set forth by the CRTC and have done nothing wrong as the phone number associated with this home is not registered on the NDNC list. I would also strongly recommend that should this home wish to avoid any further unsolicited calls from any type of organization that they indeed become proactive and register their number with it.
Lastly, with respect to the statement that we gathered information from a sweepstake is not completely accurate however, I can accurately state that any form that may have possibly been filled out by this homeowner relating to Landmark Home Solutions clearly stated we would like to contact them to which they would have authorized us to do so.
Kindly,
Landmark Home Solutions


12/09/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
multiple times I have called them with complaints about the service. we already booked four times to get things fixed. twice they were no shows. other times they come do a poor job and said they don't have the tools they need to finish the job and leave. again they had to come back to fix this patio door that had to be spray foam since it was never done and with this cold weather all the wind was going through. they booked an apt two weeks later since that's the only available appointment they had. the guy finally shows up spray foams it and says don't have my tools to finish, will come back.
Product_Or_Service: windows and patio door
Account_Number: contract

Desired Settlement
I would like this issue finally fixed as I have waited long enough for them to come and only do a really poor job. and also would like a major discount for my loss in time for the days they have made me stay home waiting for a no show, portion of the heating bill to keep this house warm and for the horrible service of constantly waiting to get the job done. the original date of the install was in august.

Business Response
We here at Landmark Home Solutions take our customer service very seriously and our customers satisfaction is paramount!
We apologize for any inconvenience that they may have experienced either directly or indirectly from us but would like to also make clear that while we did have to re-schedule two service appointments with this homeowner they were contacted on both occasions VS what was stated... and that was that we just did not show up. While we also do wish all service concerns could be rectified during the initial first visit, often this is not possible as we first must ascertain the best course of action in order to correct it.

We stand behind our products and honour one of the best warranties in the home improvement business anywhere and while we always make every effort possible and rarely ever need to cancel an appointment, let alone twice, from time to time flu bugs take hold or things beyond or control can unfortunately happen. The silver lining in all of this is despite any frustrations that may have been initially felt, this highly valued customer should take comfort in knowing we stand strongly behind our warranty and we will rectify all of their service concerns 100%.

Lastly, we had made arrangements prior and had sent this valued customer of ours a cheque to cover their first monthly payment and have also just recently left them a message to contact us back in order to confirm a service date for later this week.

We look forward completing this to their 100% satisfaction!

Sincerely,
Landmark Home Solutions


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have emails to prove the fact that the did not show up without a call as per company says. Get her more the one month they are referring was because I told them that the payment should not come out since the work was not do. So because they payment was already issued they sent me a check to cover it. That does not mean a discount for my incovenience. I will never refer this company to anyone as they do not stand behind their customer service

11/10/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have asked this company to stop calling our home we do not want their business. 5 times we have asked to be removed from the call list
we have asked this company to stop calling us and trying to sell us windows and doors 5 times we have asked I called again today was told the same thing you may get one or two more calls before the system stops calling. NO MORE CALLS please make sure we are removed from the calling list

Desired Settlement
for them to stop calling us and remove us from the calling list me calling and telling them to remove us does not seem to work.

Business Response
We here at Landmark Home Solutions do apologize if we in any way have caused any undue stress or inconvenience to this complainant.

We have found zero indication or record however of them ever requesting to be removed from solicitation and we have broken no law.
We strictly follow all rules and regulations of the CRTC governing telemarketing and abide by them all.

We will remove the number provided from our calling list immediately and I would recommend that they perhaps consider being proactive and registering their number with the National Do Not Call to avoid future phone solicitation from other companies.

Sincerely,
Landmark Home Solutions


Page 1 of 4

Industry Comparison| Chart

Windows, Windows & Doors - Installation & Service, Windows - Installation & Service, Contractors - Gutters

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.