BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 01/03/1996

Landmark Home Solutions

Phone: (905) 646-8995

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

16 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues5
Guarantee / Warranty Issues3
Problems with Product / Service8
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints16

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (16)BBB Closure Definitions
03/16/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They are calling often and it is not welcome. I am not interested in whatever it is they are trying to sell me.
Please stop calling my number. Remove me from your list. Its not appropriate to gather info from a sweepstakes and then use it to make constant phone calls.

Desired Settlement
Please stop calling me.

Business Response
It is with most sincere apologies if any phone call placed on our part to this home has created any type of concern or issue and we are more than happy to immediately cease any future. I do wish to make clear however that it is not harassment as indicated as we fall well in to the guidelines and business practices set forth by the CRTC and have done nothing wrong as the phone number associated with this home is not registered on the NDNC list. I would also strongly recommend that should this home wish to avoid any further unsolicited calls from any type of organization that they indeed become proactive and register their number with it.
Lastly, with respect to the statement that we gathered information from a sweepstake is not completely accurate however, I can accurately state that any form that may have possibly been filled out by this homeowner relating to Landmark Home Solutions clearly stated we would like to contact them to which they would have authorized us to do so.
Kindly,
Landmark Home Solutions


11/10/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have asked this company to stop calling our home we do not want their business. 5 times we have asked to be removed from the call list
we have asked this company to stop calling us and trying to sell us windows and doors 5 times we have asked I called again today was told the same thing you may get one or two more calls before the system stops calling. NO MORE CALLS please make sure we are removed from the calling list

Desired Settlement
for them to stop calling us and remove us from the calling list me calling and telling them to remove us does not seem to work.

Business Response
We here at Landmark Home Solutions do apologize if we in any way have caused any undue stress or inconvenience to this complainant.

We have found zero indication or record however of them ever requesting to be removed from solicitation and we have broken no law.
We strictly follow all rules and regulations of the CRTC governing telemarketing and abide by them all.

We will remove the number provided from our calling list immediately and I would recommend that they perhaps consider being proactive and registering their number with the National Do Not Call to avoid future phone solicitation from other companies.

Sincerely,
Landmark Home Solutions


10/13/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Financing contract not explained in full. I was told it was a 5 year loan. Not really. I was surprised to find out is 10 years.
On September 14, 2010, my wife and I entered into an agreement with Landmark Home Solutions to install 8 windows in our home. We had to finance this and the sales person worked at finding us an affordable solution. We were advised that we could have these windows on a 5 year loan for $106.25 per month. Never was it explained that at the end of 5 years we would still owe well over half of the loan amount and have to negotiate new financing. We never got to speak to the finance company directly, only the Landmark representative. We have been paying for 4 years and thought we would pay out the load. The balance came as a complete surprise as it is almost the price of the windows before taxes. Had we know or were explained the true conditions of the financing, we would have definitely done things differently. Too bad for you when the 5 years are up. I have had loans for cars, furniture, heating and air conditioning and other renovations. I have never had to renegotiate at the end of a loan. When the 5 years were up, so was the loan. I am not a financial wizard and need this stuff explained in detail. It also turns out this loan is not fully open as I thought. You cannot make any lump some payments unless you pay it off completely! Just as another note, the interest is compounded daily. that was also not mentioned.

Desired Settlement
Being the the financing was misrepresented, I would like this "loan" re-negotiated on my behalf to a lower interest rate as well as arranged so that I can make accelerated payments when I have the funds available. Landmark might also consider not having their regular sales people handle financial matters and have a proper financial representative, who understands the ins and outs of the financial business, talk to the customer.

Business Response

In 2009 this customer was denied financing due to past credit issues and we could not get them approved through our traditional lenders. In 2010 however through a different lender we were then able to help them secure financing but unfortunately due to this customer's credit history it was at a slightly higher interest rate than normal. This however is clearly not the fault of Landmark Home Solutions.

In addition, in front of me with the signature of this customer on it is the terms and conditions of the loan agreement which CLEARLY lists in large, bold, font the terms of the loan including the cost of borrowing, amortization period, interest, etc.
To say we "misrepresented" the loan or that they were not aware of its terms is 100% not true! In addition, the customer was also given a copy of this document at the time of signing and should it be requested, I would be more than happy to forward another copy of it to them.

With respect to the request made by this customer to have Landmark Home Solutions re-negotiate their loan to a lower interest rate...
This would literally be impossible as that is between the customer and the financial institution that gave them the loan. Therefore it would be my advice for the customer to contact the financial lender to see if this is possible as Landmark Home Solutions has zero to do with this loan whatsoever and could not possibly be of any help in trying to help them achieve the desired outcome that they are looking for.

Sincerely,
Landmark Home Solutions


07/21/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
landmark telephones to schedule service appointments and don't show up.
9 new windows installed in our residence fall of 2011. over the years numerous problems with the windows have occurred. locking mechanisms, windows out of alignment, capping outside, handles faulty, etc. many calls made to landmark requesting service appointments. some appointment were kept by them, most were not. no-shows my landmark is the norm. most recently, I phoned landmark the evening of june 26th to confirm an appointment for june 27th which was made about the middle of may 2014. I was told on the phone that the service man would arrive between 8am and 10am june 27. that time came and went with no phone call. I phoned landmark at 11:30am to ask where the crew was. I was told that there was mis-communication and that the crew was in Guelph for the day.

Desired Settlement
landmark to honour their warranty and fix the faulty windows as promised. landmark to honour scheduled appointment times as promised. many lost work hours because of missed appointments by landmark.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** *****, Manager
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ******@landmarkquality.com
We here at Landmark Home Solutions believe our customer service is of the highest priority and if we have even slightly dropped the ball or been, the cause of any concern or inconvenience we most certainly apologize. We are trying to reach this most valued customer by phone as we speak in an effort to confirm a date for their service so we may rectify their concerns.
We offer one of the best warranties in the business today, always stand behind it, and look forward to bringing this matter to a close and the satisfaction of our client.

Sincerely,
Landmark Home Solutions

04/21/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Been solicited by phone 6-8 times in last 2 mos.Each time I ask to be removed from their call list,am told I will be, but still harass me with calls.

Desired Settlement
I want to be removed from their call list & never receive a call again.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** *****, Manager
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ******@landmarkquality.com
I response to the request to have this phone number removed from our calling list I am happy to report that I have done so. I would also like to make extremely clear that our business practises are legal and fall well within the guidelines put out by the CRTC. We have done nothing wrong, illegal or questionable with respect to our "sales practices." In the best interest for this homeowner I would also highly recommend should they no longer wish to receive telemarketed calls of any nature then they may wish to consider being proactive and visiting the CRTC website to sign up for the National Do Not Call List.
Should they have any questions or I may be of assistance in any way please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Page 1 of 3
12/09/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
multiple times I have called them with complaints about the service. we already booked four times to get things fixed. twice they were no shows. other times they come do a poor job and said they don't have the tools they need to finish the job and leave. again they had to come back to fix this patio door that had to be spray foam since it was never done and with this cold weather all the wind was going through. they booked an apt two weeks later since that's the only available appointment they had. the guy finally shows up spray foams it and says don't have my tools to finish, will come back.
Product_Or_Service: windows and patio door
Account_Number: contract

Desired Settlement
I would like this issue finally fixed as I have waited long enough for them to come and only do a really poor job. and also would like a major discount for my loss in time for the days they have made me stay home waiting for a no show, portion of the heating bill to keep this house warm and for the horrible service of constantly waiting to get the job done. the original date of the install was in august.

Business Response
We here at Landmark Home Solutions take our customer service very seriously and our customers satisfaction is paramount!
We apologize for any inconvenience that they may have experienced either directly or indirectly from us but would like to also make clear that while we did have to re-schedule two service appointments with this homeowner they were contacted on both occasions VS what was stated... and that was that we just did not show up. While we also do wish all service concerns could be rectified during the initial first visit, often this is not possible as we first must ascertain the best course of action in order to correct it.

We stand behind our products and honour one of the best warranties in the home improvement business anywhere and while we always make every effort possible and rarely ever need to cancel an appointment, let alone twice, from time to time flu bugs take hold or things beyond or control can unfortunately happen. The silver lining in all of this is despite any frustrations that may have been initially felt, this highly valued customer should take comfort in knowing we stand strongly behind our warranty and we will rectify all of their service concerns 100%.

Lastly, we had made arrangements prior and had sent this valued customer of ours a cheque to cover their first monthly payment and have also just recently left them a message to contact us back in order to confirm a service date for later this week.

We look forward completing this to their 100% satisfaction!

Sincerely,
Landmark Home Solutions


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have emails to prove the fact that the did not show up without a call as per company says. Get her more the one month they are referring was because I told them that the payment should not come out since the work was not do. So because they payment was already issued they sent me a check to cover it. That does not mean a discount for my incovenience. I will never refer this company to anyone as they do not stand behind their customer service

10/22/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They continue making calls when we have repeatedly requested that they stop calling and take us off their call list.They are now calling several times a day and hang up when we answer.

Desired Settlement
Tell them to stop!

Business Response
While we are sorry to hear that they are upset with respect to our phone calls we have zero records of them ever asking to not be called again nor have we ever called and "hung up"

While it has been indicated that they were not interested in our service at the time, which we kindly respect, following any good customer service protocol we do follow up with them once in a while in an effort of keeping them apprised of any new promotions or specials we are running so they certainly wouldn't miss out!

We here at Landmark also wish to make clear that we have done nothing wrong and strictly adhere to all laws of the CRTC and this household is NOT listed with the National Do Not Call List.

We are saddened that they feel the way they do, will immediately place them on our internal No Call List and wish them all the best.

Sincerely,
Landmark Home Solutions



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We repeatedly asked them NOT TO CALL but the calls got more frequent. When I researched the number and found their website to request they stop calling, the calls increased at least by double per day. When I did manage to catch one of the calls and talk to them all she would say was "you were on our website", "you were on our website"! When I told her I was on their website to tell them to quit calling us she repeated again, "you were on our website"! She hung up when I raised my voice and told her to take us off your list! How did they know to call this number from their website, which is not connected to my online account?

02/27/2014Problems with Product / Service
01/20/2014Problems with Product / Service
08/13/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Windows, Windows & Doors - Installation & Service, Contractors - Gutters, Windows - Installation & Service

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.