BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 16/12/2005

Canadian Choice Windows & Doors

Phone: (416) 848-6930Fax: (416) 848-6929

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues4
Problems with Product / Service10
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints15

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (15)
04/01/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The company promised repeatedly to take care the condensation problem of my windows as every time I contacted them, but never do anything.
I have Canadian Choice Windows & Doors installed 3 windows to my house on June 3, 2011. The condensation problem appears in 1 of the 3 windows. Last year, 2015, after the condensation appeared many times, I called their office and **** answered and asked me to send email with pictures, so I did. After that, I repeatedly called the office and left messages to ****, but never got reply again.
I then tried to contact the sales person,****** ****, I had originally contacted, she said she need the detail in order to talk to the service and asked me to send email, so I did again on Nov. 4, 2015. I did a number of follow up, but so far she has not got me back.

Desired Settlement
The business should reply to my email with pictures. Then they should send a person to my home to do the inspection. The resolution should be repair or replace one of the three windows.

Business Response
Hello,
Contact with the customer has been made, where we confirmed that service for the windows is needed. We have ordered the necessary parts; as soon as they arrive, we will contact the customer to schedule the service appointment. This process may take up to 6 weeks.


Consumer Response
Hi, Dear ***,

I have contacted by representative from Canadian Choice Windows & Doors, a person came to my house and did inspection, service department told me later that they have sent out an order for replacement panels. Yesterday, I have been called by the company producing window glass and set a day for their coming to my house for installation, April 19th. I will report to you then as the task finished.

Thank you so much for your help, which made this progress possible.

******* ****

08/31/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Promised by the sales associate on 10/14 that a window missed on the original instillation would be measured & replaced. To this date, no action taken
On Sept. 10th the sales associate measured main floor windows and patio door to be replaced. All instillation was completed in Oct/Nov 2014. At that time we realized that one window was not measured. The sales rep called the instillation contractor and had him measure the window. I was informed at that time that the window would be replaced at the end of the winter 2015.

I have contacted the sales associate several times, almost weekly and he continues to reassure me that the window will be replaced and someone will return to measure the window. To this date, measurements have not been taken and the sales associate continues to promise to send someone to take measurements however, this has not transpired.

Desired Settlement
Please send someone to measure the window and replace the window as promised. Thank you.

Business Response
Good Afternoon,

Upon receiving the complaint from Ms. ****** ******, the office had followed up with the sales representative about her complaint against Canadian Choice Windows & Doors.
As per the sales representative, this window that Ms. ****** mentions is not listed on the Agreement that was signed nor the quotation that was originally given. It is an additional window that she wishes to replace after the completion of the installation. The sales representative admits that Ms. ****** had contacted him on a few occasions to which he advised her that due to his and our installer's schedules, we are unable to replace this window for her at the time. He had informed Ms. ****** that that when he will be in the area, he will sign a new contract with her, for her request of this new window. Should Ms. ****** still wish to proceed with purchasing this additional window with Canadian Choice Windows & Doors, we will arrange for either her original sales representative or a new sales representative to visit and write up an Agreement with her upon the visit. We hope that Ms. ****** will also be willing to accept our current turn-around time for window replacement which is between 8 to 10 weeks from the date the contract is signed.

Thank you

Sincerely,
Canadian Choice Windows & Doors

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
i accept the response however, I am totally dissatisfied that the sale representative has taken almost a year to respond to replacing the window, when the measurements for the window were recorded by the "actual installer" the day my windows were being installed. I was promised then that the order for the window would be placed and to this day I have been given numerous excuses as to why it was not ordered when the measurements were already taken..Don't understand the lack of urgency and feel their customer service is really not acceptable.

02/27/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I had them come to my home and give me a Quote and I decided to go with them for some Basement Windows. When I call them they told me I had to send $150.00 by money order as soon as possible. I sent them one that day. Which was August 28, 2013. They had someone come and measure my windows sometime in October. I haven't heard anything from them since. I have called them 3 or more times and all I ever get is I will pass the message on to the Sales Rep. I tried to tell them that he does not call me back and if I can talk to someone else. The receptionist came back and told my order was cancelled so I asked why and why didn't at least get my money returned and she said again I will ask ***** to call you. That was a month ago and I don't have my money and didn't get a phone call of course.
Product_Or_Service: Basement Windows

Desired Settlement
************************************************************************************ All I want is the windows installed and or my money back so I can go to another company.

Business Response
Canadian Choice Windows & Doors received complaint from **** ***** ******* on February 19, 2014. We forwarded the complaint to our accountant and a cheque was issued for the deposit amount and have been mailed out on February 21, 2014.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Thank you. I did receive my money back. But I do not recommend this company to anybody that is wanting windows or doors.

03/07/2016Advertising / Sales Issues
11/19/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues
Page 1 of 2
03/15/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
No problems have been fixed and no real attempt to do anything in over 5 months.
All 3 basement windows leak. They are also very hard to open and close. Someone did come and replace something on the windows, but it was already cold and never tested them again for leaking when it rains.

Front door is very hard to close, needs to be slammed real hard and still does not close properly. It leaks cold air. It also looks like it's warped or something. I have pictures of the light coming in from the outside plus the bottom of the door where you can clearly see both sides line up very different.

Outside screen door does not lock properly. With it locked, you can still easily open the screen door with no effort at all. They also installed the wrong screen door. We had requested one with the screen at the top because of our cats, and that's not what they installed for us.

They cracked the siding on my house in the front and back.

Living room window was also leaking when it rained, all they did was put more silicone to stop the leak.

Not one of the windows has the drip cap installed, or doors either. Even though that was there when they took the old windows out. I was told I needed to get a siding company to come and install that for me. If this was the case, they should have at least installed the drip cap for the new window cutout we had them do. But either way, I think the window installers should have installed this at the time the windows were installed.

Back door also does not always close properly unless it's slammed. Spacing on the hinge side does not look correct either. Back door screen I think was installed or made backwards, lock for it is on the outside. Plus there is no real way to lock that either, it was not put in when the door was made I guess. The back door screen also looks like it is warped or something. Weather stripping on the back door is also not complete. There is a gap at the top.

One of my kitchen windows leaks air and has frost build up. And for a different window, the lock is loose and it can be moved up and down by hand.

All the windows actually feel cold. It's pretty hard to explain all the problems in text and with pictures though.

I have called Canadian Choice Windows and Doors many times to get these problems look at and fixed, but the guy who comes really never does anything except add silicone, change some kind of seal, tells me to keep the window open on the front screen door to make it easier to close the front door, even then it still is not close properly as you can see in the pictures.

I have actually seen better quality second hand doors, or even rejects from home depot than what they installed for me here.

Desired Settlement
I would like everything replaced and installed properly.

This also includes replacing the siding that they broke on my house.

Business Response
Hello,
Thank you for your insightful review. We appreciate you taking the time to address your concerns.
We would like to firstly bring to attention our first contract dated April 23rd, 2015 to replace all windows in the home (excluding the kitchen unit) and replacement of the Front entry door and storm door. Arriving on the Installation day, June 18th, 2015 the siding had been complete. The first question from our Installation Crew to the Homeowner was, "Why is the drip cap (which is tucked under the siding with a lip exposed to cover the top edge of the window) which is supposed to be installed underneath siding... Not here?" It is not possible to remove this on this site as it is installed underneath siding. The home did not have drip cap arriving onsite as it was removed before the installation of siding. When installing the Door, the Customer did not provide us with a new lock and handle as usual practice and noted on all Contracts. By his request, the existing lock was installed. The existing lock provided onsite only had 1 bottom latch strike for the handle. It was missing the Deadbolt latch strike, which is required to be installed for the proper function of the door. The customer stated he would purchase and install this for himself because it was his responsibility to provide this for our installers the day as in original plans. The storm door was installed at the same time and it was brought to our attention the preference of the Screen area (it being on top rather than the bottom). This is something that has to be specified when signing and going over the contract for the project because the door is not reversible and changes cannot be made on site. At this time a pet screen was provided at no additional charge, in good will with care and understanding for the customer's request. Upon finishing the install in the home the Customer was happy with the work. A walk through is done to show operations and finish after completion and nothing was brought to our attention indicating Cracked siding which is now a mentioned problem.
The Customer was so happy that 3 months after our initial installation and our services, we were contacted again to replace and install a new garden door and the remaining kitchen window. Again, the customer was pleased with our work. Approximately 1 month following installation a call was received stating there were some issues with the front door being it was hard to close and there was also mention of the basement windows which were leaking water. The customer requested a service in the home to have this addressed. Our technician visited the home and did some adjustments with the basement windows. The front door everything was found to look fine it was working properly although the lock strike still had not been installed by the customer as months before was mentioned as a definite need. Doors can be slightly tough to close for the reason that between a door and storm door there is a vacuum-like suction air space and pressure can be required to close the door. The customer was advised of this. It was suggested that if he wanted the door to have a smoother close, the storm door window/screen area could have a slight opening releasing some air pressure.
We will remain in contact with this customer to see if there is anything we can further do to ensure satisfaction.
Sincerely, Management.

02/08/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The company constructed a glass enclosure to the wrong dimensions. I want it reconstructed properly or an appropriate refund.
I don't know if you can help me at this stage, but here's my story.

I own a house with a separate side entrance to the basement. The entrance consists of a concrete stairwell descending from ground level down to the door on the side. Over the years, because of heavy rainfall and minor flooding, I have tried various solutions to shelter the entrance from excessive amounts of water entering the stairwell and basement. Solution 1: An awning supported on metal posts that covers the entire stairwell. Not sufficient. Solution 2: Glass panes added along the side length of the stairwell and underneath the awning. Still not adequate due to exposure on both ends. Solution 3: Completely close off both ends of the stairwell with additional glass, including a screen door at the entrance. This was sometime in the late summer or fall of 2013.

Started making inquiries. Was advised that several concrete patio slabs would need to be removed and replaced with a solid concrete base. Could not mount enclosure atop patio slabs. Arranged for the construction of such a slab (cost: $1000) in about Oct 2013. Winter was approaching. Decided to look into constructing the enclosure the following summer.

Summer of 2014: Continued my inquiries and obtained a couple of proposals from contractors. Proposal 1 (Consumers Choice): About $4000; included a wider two-door opening to more easily facilitate the movement of furniture and large objects by tenants and movers. Proposal 2 (Canadian Choice Windows and Doors): About $3500; included a single screen door. Decided to go with Canadian Choice because of the lower cost and adequate similar design. According to the sketch on the contract that I signed: glass panel to close off one end of the stairwell, side panel to extend the existing glass to the end of the new concrete slab, and panel on the other end to include the screen door. This was on Sep 8, 2014; still have the contract with the sketch on it, including dimensions and estimated cost. Payment: Was told that they offered financing, which interested me; paid initial deposit with my credit card however. Installation: Was given estimate of 4-6 weeks for installer to arrive and complete the job the same day. Job had to be completed before end of October due to my travel plans and the coming winter. Sales rep assured me about the financing and the timing of the installation.

Problems started when:
1. Installer did not be arrive until sometime in November, despite repeated inquiries. Had to arrange for my son to meet the installer. Was not available to supervise installation personally due to travel out of the country.
2. After installation, I noticed that they charged my credit card for full cost of the job without my consent. What happened to the financing?

Was willing to overlook these issues, but I noticed the biggest problem in April of 2015. Most of the side panel was missing! The enclosure was too short! Hadn't noticed earlier because I didn't have adequate opportunity to examine the work due to combination of travel, work, illness, winter conditions, and my age. Had no idea all winter that anything was wrong with the installation. Tried to find the original contract; it was not until June that I found it in pile of papers that I had accumulated.

As soon as I had proof of the mistake, I contacted the company immediately. Despite repeated phone calls to company and sales rep, I could not get any resolution. Had my son reach sales rep and speak with him at length. Sales rep claimed: manufacturer was at fault, not Canadian Choice; not possible to go back to seek remedies from manufacturer at that late stage; enclosure could not be fixed without damaging its appearance; would offer refund for difference in installation but not for cost of concrete slab. No refund received, no offer to fix installation, no effort to take responsibility for their mistake. Yes, I reported it late, but I had good reasons.

Desired Settlement
Put simply, I would like the enclosure built the way that I wanted and the way that we agreed to. I want the company to redo their work properly at no extra cost. As for the appearance, I am not particularly concerned about any silicone residue that may be left over from the old installation; it can be removed. Any extra drilled holes in the metal can be covered. Despite their claims, I am confident that the work can be repaired.

Specifically, the only panels that require rework are the side panel and the front panel with the door; the back panel is fine the way it is. The enclosure should cover the concrete slab, so that one enters through the door onto the slab and then descends down the stairs, instead of the current arrangement where the door is right at the top of the stairs.

Failing this resolution, my second choice would be a refund for the difference between what was installed and what was agreed to (about $240 according to the sales rep), plus the cost of the concrete slab ($1000), which was a precondition of the installation.

Business Response
Good Afternoon,

To response back to customer's complaint (case # XXXXXXX) we did provide a refund for the difference in installation on November 18, 2015 upon conversing the customer. Our sales representative had confirmed with the client's son at the time that they would settle for the refund. We did not agree to pay for the cost of the concrete slab as it was not done by our company but by the customer prior of our initial visit.

Sincerely,
Canadian Choice Windows & Doors

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First of all, in trying to resolve the matter, the sales rep spoke to my son, not to me. The only reason that I could not speak to him myself was because I could not reach him; he would not return my phone calls but was willing to speak to my son when he called. It is true that the sales rep offered a refund for the difference and my son felt that was reasonable. However, my son is not the customer, and when he relayed the message to me, I told him that that was not acceptable due to the cost that I would likely have to incur to have the enclosure fixed, either by Canadian Choice or by another company. After that, my son did not take any further action. Furthermore, I did not have any record of any refund until this response from the business; it would seem that the refund took place TWO MONTHS after my son's last conversation with them. In any case, I don't want this refund and will be instructing the credit card company to reverse the transaction. This refund is inadequate; I can't have their work fixed with just $232.80. Something like $800-$1000 would be more acceptable.

I am out $1000 to have the concrete slab constructed without the enclosure covering it. It would cost me hundreds or possibly thousands more to have the front end of the enclosure constructed to my satisfaction if I were to have another company do the job. I should not have to pay for the entire cost of this.

To the company, I simply say: FIX THE PROBLEM. Is that too much to ask? I have dealt with countless businesses in the past and have been in business myself, but I have never seen this kind of disregard for customer service in response to a complaint or issue about a product/service. Many other businesses would be apologizing profusely, offering free replacements, redoing work free of charge, etc., but not this company.

I really don't think that this is my fault and that I should have to absorb the cost of this foul-up. As well, I just want to get what I am entitled to as a customer without having to resort to this kind of complaint process or legal action.

Final Business Response
Good Morning,

We apologize for the delay with our response.
We are a little surprise with the customer's complaint and rebuttal. Customer states that she did not realize there was an "issue" with her enclosure until more than half a year had passed and that our company's sales representative did not return her calls when she finally decided that she is unsatisfied with the enclosure. It is unfortunate that the customer is not happy with the product or our company's service. However, as per our records, our sales representative had tried to appease her and to resolve her issue. Customer personally decided to involve her son and had him spoke for her behalf when she felt she could no longer communicate with our company. During the conversation with her son, our company did offer two options in hope to satisfy the customer. The first option was to remove the short panel and replace it with one that would extend to the length of the concrete slab. With this option however, we had warned the son that the result will not look pleasing to the eye due to the construction that would need to take place to replace the panel. The second option would be to credit the customer for the cost of the panel, which is $232.80. The client's son chose the latter option and therefore Canadian Choice Windows & Doors acted upon his request since it was informed by us that he was speaking on Ms. ****'s behalf. We regrettably inform Ms. **** that we will not be crediting the amount that she suggested in her rebuttal dated December 12, 2015 as the credit amount was negotiated and settled by her son who she appointed to discuss with us on her behalf.

08/06/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We have been contacting this firm by email and telephone since May 13,2015 to advise them that our kitchen window does not lock.
An email was sent on May 13,2015 to this firm advising them that kitchen window does not lock. Again on May 26 we called and were told to take a picture of the window so they could tell us how we could lock it. An email was sent to them the same day,still no response. We called sales representative two weeks later,became to look at the window and said he would get the service person to call us. No phone call. We again called the sales representative two weeks ago, he again said he would contact service person and again no called. We also have the front screen door that does not open properly and closes very quickly.

Desired Settlement
Replace or fix the kitchen window so it will lock. If the front screen door so it closes slower and the handle so it does not stick when trying to open.

Business Response
Canadian Choice received the complaint from customer through Better Business Bureau on July 22, 2015. Upon receiving the complaint, immediate actions were taken. The installer who performed the installation visited the customer's household on July 23, 2015 but had no success in contacting the client. As a result, our service department tried to contact the customer by telephone as well as email in hope to rectify the issues quickly. An appointment was scheduled between our service technician and Mrs. **** on July 30, 2015, between the timeframe of 1:30pm to 2:30pm. During the appointment, the technician showed Mrs. **** how to properly operate the windows (as there is no defect to them) and adjusted the storm door as well for easier operation. As noted in our system, the service is completed.
Thank you.

Sincerely,
Canadian Choice Windows & Doors

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The initial complaint started May 13, 2015. I want to know why my conversion with a represenative at the company and my email with pictures of the window was not responded to as well as my, email of May 13,2015.
Why did we have to resort to trying to find someone to resolve our issue.

12/01/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have been ignored by this company to replace a window they installed which is under warranty.
In early October I contacted **** from Canadian Choice Windows. He said he will look at my window October 20, 2014 as he would be in the area. I had my tenant wait for him. He left me a message and said my tenant was not there. I tried to call him as I spoke to the tenant who was there. He did not answer. My tenant said he was there and measured the warranted glass and told them he would contact me. He did not. I followed up with phone call after phone call to find out the next step. Yesterday was my last attempt. I spoke to the receptionist who had no idea about anything and promised he would call me back today. Again, no return call. I really just want this glass replaced as soon as possible as it is warranted.

Desired Settlement
I want the glass replaced and some communication.

Business Response
We received this complaint on November 10th. We originally spoke with this customer on November the 7th as we received her message on the 5th. Upon our conversation with the client, we are aware that there is a glass defect and a new sealed unit has been ordered and will be replaced on December 1st. This appointment was made and confirmed by customer with our Service Technician on November 17th at 11:10am.

10/16/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They keep delaying, not following through on the commitment,5 times they missed the dates, and i've asked for them twice to get it done or refund me.
we met on August 20 and agreed on windows and a sept install, I gave them 500 deposit at that time, they had told me that an installer would call and come within a few days to take exact measurements, this has not happened, I have contacted them 4-5 time via email and several Times on the phone, they keep pushing back install date and keep telling me the installer will contact me within a couple day to take the measurements so they can get it ordered, then they dont call nothing gets done. Below os copys of the emails ive sent and received.


Hi ****
It's ** ******** from ** ******** rd brantford, we met on August 20 and agreed on windows and a sept install, at that time you had told me that an installer would call and come within a few days to take exact measurements, this has not happened yet, with out this windows cannot be ordered and sept install seems less likely, just wondering when things will proceed?



Hi **

I am apologies for inconvenience. Usually we doing measurement within no longer them 10 days. A little delay happen probably because it was the long weekend. Let me talk to installer. This delay will not be affect on the installation date which is going to be 5-6 weeks from the date of signing agreement. It is will be end of Sept - beginning of October.

Thank you
****



Hi ****
Still waiting for your installers to contact me




Hi ****
** ******** here we met on August 20 and agreed on windows and a sept install, on sept 5 I emailed you in regards to installers not coming to measure, you replied on the 5th saying it was delayed do to long weekend, you also called me on the phone and said the installers would be in touch ASAP, it is now sept 19, fourteen days later still have not been contacted by the installer, when you met in my home you, prided yourself on the professionalism and why Canadian choice was the better choice, tomorrow is 30 days since agreement was signed and since my deposit was cashed, at this point as in the contract states you have not begun commencement of performance, which you could not have, as your installers have not come to measure yet and therefore nothing could be ordered and no process is progressing I am very dissatisfied, at this point I require dates when this will be done if you cannot follow through it would be time to issue my full deposit refund.





Good Afternoon Mr. ********,

Our office has received the email that you sent to **** *******, your sales representative. We apologize for the delay with the measurement and installation of your windows. We have appointed a new installer to attend to your file, the gentleman's name is Mentor and he will be in contact with you shortly to measure your windows. We informed him to take the measurement within 2-3 business days. Afterward, our order desk will order the windows and we will request the factory to expedite your order. We aim to have your windows replaced before the middle of October.
We thank you for your patience and if you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact our office at XXX-XXX-XXXX.
Thank you and have a great day

Sincerely,
Canadian Choice Windows & Doors
***** ***
Office Administrator

It, is now sept 26 I sent 1 more email to *****, saying i've not been, taken care of, no reply, I called and spoke with "*****" today she said she would have installer call me by end of day, I told her if I don't hear from him today I want my full $500 refund, she said she understands, yet again not contacted to just take initial measurements.

Desired Settlement
They cannot keep simple dates, and keep delaying the simple things, if they cant even take measurements in 36 days, after the time they told me it would be installed, by the time they order the windows from the factory roughly another month delay and then delay install again for 2 more months it will be middle of winter which is not acceptable, so I want exact dates, when measurements will be done and the exact date when the install will start, failure to do this I want my full refund.

Business Response
On Oct 2nd, Mr. ******** had contacted our office in regards to the status of his measurement, he confirmed that he did not want to proceed with our company and we requested that a written cancellation be sent to our email. Upon receiving his email for the cancellation on October 6, we have refunded his deposit and canceled his contract.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I had contacted them many times, to resolve this issue, multiple emails and phone calls, I did take the decision that was forced upon me by this company to request a refund because after 60 days 30 days after promisied completion date they had yet to start, anything. Even after telling them several times that I would like my deposit refunded they, ignored my request then oct 2nd I told them to send me a refund because I'm tired of there game to which I was told that I would need to email them to request this, so I did at the email address we had several communications through, on monday oct 6th I called them to ask the status of my refund, Oct 15 I received a refund cheque. I gave the deposit on day one with the sales person.

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Windows & Doors - Installation & Service, Doors

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.