BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/04/2002

Brock Doors & Windows Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (905) 791-2850Fax: (905) 791-2854View Additional Phone Numbers278 Orenda Rd, BramptonON L6T 4X6 Send email to Brock Doors & Windows Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/04/2002

BBB has determined that Brock Doors & Windows Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Brock Doors & Windows Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 13 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues3
Problems with Product / Service10
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 13

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Brock Doors & Windows Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 3 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (13)
02/29/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Defective windows installed in house
I had hired Brock doors and windows to replace all windows, front door, patio sliding door, the garage door and install a solarium by the front door.
The contract was signed in August 2015. They started work within a few weeks with defective garage door, incomplete window installation and defective window. Most of the issues has been resolved after many phone calls however one window is defective and the room is so much colder after the windows were replaced. Tried to get that resolved with *** who told me that nothing could be done to replace the defective window. The window that was there prior to Brocks window was so much better in quality. The room was much warmer. My last call with *** was at 11:58 AM on January, 2015 where he told me that the windows will not be fixed and I must pay the balance owing. He told me that he will see me in court. I have paid a lot of money for this windows and I want a better work done. If they cannot do better than at least leave to where it was before I contracted them to replace the windows.

Desired Settlement
Replace the defective windows and conduct a proper installation. Final payment will be made as soon as the outstanding items are completed.

Business Response
Your representation of the facts are very skewed. Your garage door was not and is not defective. I understand you were disappointed your garage door opener did not come with lightbulbs. We happily purchased you some lightbulbs, delivered and installed for you. Furthermore they have changed the way openers work over the years including the safety features. Your new opener does not work the same way your old opener did because of these safety features, but this also does not make it defective.
The defective window you refer to is a circular shaped window. The window is not defective at all. You are not happy with the appearance of the welds that join the 2 halves of the circle. This is a cosmetic issue. Circular windows are the toughest shapes to manufacture and their will always be a visible seem. We have never had any other complaints regarding this seem and I'm not sure we would be able to make you happy. I would argue that the minimal credit we offered you was significant however you wanted the window for free. I cannot tell you why you believe this room feels colder now than before. Furthermore I have no temperature readings from inside this room before the new windows were installed to compare to prove or disprove this statement. I can only assure you that the cosmetic appearance of the welds on the circular window have no bearing on the temperature. I offered to send a crew over to remove casing trim around the windows in this room to prove to you the windows are insulated correctly. You refused this offer. At this point I had exhausted all the options I could think of to resolve your issues and you were withholding payment equal to many times the value of this window. You had already confirmed to me you were not willing to pay and challenged my installation manager to take you to court. I did indicate that I have gone to court a number of times but nobody wins except the lawyers in that scenario. I am calling you on this so we do not have to go to court.

I am satisfied that you thought about things for a bit and called me back and we eventually found a way to settle things and finalize your payment.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Although, Brock gave me credit for one defective window, I would rather have that replaced with the quality window instead of the credit. Also, the room remains unusually colder then before these windows were replaced.

10/21/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Brock have not installed matching locksets on doors as specified and agreed with representative, or corrected installation error on one door.
When a Brock representative came to the house to give a quotation we went through the options for the doors and I specified the identical door components to be used for both doors - door, frame, style, quality, accessories, locksets, finishes etc. for each of the two entrances. I specifically asked the Agent if the same price applied to each of the doors and he confirmed that they did. I accepted the contract on that basis.

Brock installed the two doors and several windows on 12 August 2014. When the doors were installed, I noticed that doors did not match as arranged, since the locksets on each door varied in brand as well as quality. I pointed this out to the installers.

As the doors needed to be locked, I had to accept the provided locksets until the ******* lockset was replaced. Also, the work was finished after dark, so it was difficult to check all the work, and only the next day did I notice that the weather seal on the front door had not been installed correctly, and was letting in air (and light) from outside.

I subsequently reported these deficiencies several times, without receiving any response from Brock. Only after I contacted a Brock Vice President, did I receive new contact information that resulted in a response. While there were various communications between Brock and me since then, there has been no resolution. Their replies tended to read like responses to queries different from mine.

Customer service is inadequate, to say the least. Ten months after installation, no service technician has repaired the door seal, which let in cold air throughout a very cold winter, and one of the doors has yet to be restored to the original specification; i.e. the ******* lockset has not been replaced with an ***** lockset to match the other door, as originally arranged with their representative.

Desired Settlement
Replacement of ******* lockset with ***** lockset on one door and replacement of door weatherseal on other door.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** - GM
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *******@brockwindows.com
I have left a voicemail for Mr **** to call me. I know their was some confusion over what our sales manager offered to do and what Mr **** wanted.

******* unfortunately discontinued the ****** gripset as a running change, meaning when they were available until ******* ran out. This gave all consumers 0 visibility of inventory. We were unable to get the ******* ****** gripset so an upgrade to an ***** gripset was provided at no extra charge.

This meant that the front door hardware is a slightly different colour than the ******* Side Door lever and deadbolt.

We have offered to come out with a matching ***** Lever and deadbolt and exchange the hardware on the side door. We will also address the weatherstrip issue at the same time.

If Mr. **** will accept this we will get things underway. I apologize for any confusion that he may have experienced.

Consumer Response
The matters raised in the claim have been resolved.
In particular, I would like to thank ********* for her assistance.

07/20/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Bought and paid in full for a sliding glass door that has leaked and caused water damage in my home ever since Brock windows installed it.
I bought and paid in full by **** on day of visit from salesman 1650$ for a 6 foot patio door installed and guaranteed by Brock windows. The original receipt is hard to read due to poor penmanship from salesman. The date appears to be April 8th 2014. Installation took place a few weeks later by 3 guys. The door appeared to be fine until the first rainfall when my carpets got soaked due to the leaking door. The company sent the original installer over who caulked the frame with more caulking, only to discover after the next rainfall that it was still leaking. The company then sent over **** who did a water text with a hose and tried to blame it on the roof being in need of repair. I fought with the company through emails and many angry phone call to finally convince them to fix the window. They finally agreed to fix the window and after a few more visits from managers they agreed the work wasn't done right and tried to correct the problem. The window has been fine for the past few months however I came home tonight to find the window leaking yet again and more water damage to my floors and walls. I'm filing this complaint because the company is not taking this probłem seriously. My previous patio door gave me no problems and there were never leaks. I know this is a problem that is only coming from the installation of this patio door. I paid in full for this door even before it was installed. There is a 5 year warranty on installation and on the door and Brock windows is refusing to honour the warranty. I am frustrated beyond belief and need third party help to rectify this problem. Water damage to a home can be very expensive. My carpets are ruined and there is mld issues happening as water is being trapped in the door frame because of a bad installation job. Brock refuses to fix the issue offering only temporary solutions.

Desired Settlement
I want Brock windows to re-install the patio door replacing the water damaged door frame, drywall and carpet. I want the window to be installed properly and I want the 5 year warranty to be honoured without further hassle. I want competent workers installing this door. An expert, not someone who is going to put the blame on someone or something else. I want Brock to fix the water damage that has been done and a completely new install of the patio door. I want the work done immediately as this water damage is decreasing my property value with each rainfall.

Final Consumer Response
Thank you for your attention in this matter. Brock windows came and took care of all my concerns. ****, their service representative, came to my home and solved all issues regarding the door. Brock has filled their end of the terms of their contact by providing the service they said they would.

I'm satisfied on all levels.

Thank you again for your time and attention.
Sincerely
****** ********

10/16/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Contract September 10th, 2013.November 3, 2013 or November 10, 2013 Installation date agreed upon.After the agreed date, received a call that the installation date was would be after the New Year.I talked directly to the installer who scheduled December 16th, 2103 for the installation of windows and doors. Six windows re-installed due to errors, one window not ordered. December 16 to December 21, installations of windows and doors. All nine (9) windows were removed at the same time on the main floor. Door lock did not work installer had to reinstall my old door lock from my original door.On April 11, 2014, I sent a letter and a list of problems to Brock.April 22, 2014 **** came to replace my old front door lock and install new lock. He arrived with the wrong lock and another lock delivered hours later. On May 1, 2014, I sent a letter to Mr. **** *****, President, copy to service department and *** **** requesting a resolution to these problems.On May 20, 2014, *** **** inspected all these issues and only the re-installation of the Patio Doors. He was aware of all the existed issues and took a picture of the door on Bemersyde.On June 10, 2014 both the installer, Raza and the service representative, ****, came to re-install the patio doors. On June 23, 2014 **** attempted to repair damaged doors and window unsuccessfully.On June 25, 2014, I sent an email to all concerned that the repairs were not acceptable and a list of problems. On July 21, 2014, I did not receive a response to my message on June 25. Left an urgent message and an email asking for *** to resolve these issues and for an inspection appointment with him.On July 21, 2014 I received a response from *** **** offering another service date and stated that the services I mention are not required, only offering me repairs.On July 23, 2014, I sent an e-mail expressing my concerns.I asked independent inspector who agreed that the doors should be replaced and cannot be repaired.
Product_Or_Service: Doors and Windows
Order_Number: XXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
The following are problems that still need to be resolved:The side glass of the front door on ****** improperly installed. The molding is crooked, Door Jam damaged during installation. Attempted repairs have discoloured and damaged the installed fittings. Installation not square, plumb nor levelled resulting in the door binding in the frame. The sweep cover at the front of the door is oversized and appears unfinished.The upper door on ********* is not leveled and too tight

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** - GM
Contact Email: *******@brockwindows.com
We are scheduled to be at Ms. ********'s on Monday Oct. 6 and have every intention of settling the situation. Our installation Manager, our service tech and an installation crew are scheduled to be there. Everything that can be repaired will be and we hope to resolve all of the issues on that day.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)

They did some repairs.



The front door on ****** was unsatisfactory.



They asked for additional money for errors they made in the contract.



They have written off all outstanding money owed and have cancelled the warranty.



The front door will have to be replaced at a latter date.



Thank you for all your support. It has been a long stressful ordeal and relieved that's it's over.



Thank you again for helping put an end to this.




Sincerely yours,

**** ********

Final Consumer Response

10/20/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
i have a problem with Brock ignoring my continues complaints. quality issues of workmanship, and the product it self.
after the workers left i had two destroyed screens.
the quality of workmanship the trim of the doors was not mitered properly leaving gaps for water to enter.
the doors them self were made of the cheapest material
they are so cheaply made you can actually dent it by knocking on the door.my step plates are destroyed with dents,from walking or stepping on them. this is what there made for.

Desired Settlement
to replace my screen and my doors with the quality of product they said they deliver.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** - GM
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX x***
Contact Email: *******@brockwindows.com
Hi *******. I'm sorry to hear that you are having some issues with our product. Looking into your stated issues I see that we installed product for you in 2012 and 2013, however I do not see any notes regarding issues with your screens, your doors or your trim. In fact there are no service tickets logged for either one of your projects. I have further checked with my accounting department and their correspondence with you regarding the financing of the project in 2012, however there was nothing in those emails either regarding any concerns or complaints. Had we been aware there were issues at the time of install we certainly would have dealt with them. Please feel free to give us a call and we can find a way to help you with your screens and evaluate the other issues you have raised.

04/28/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
False, misleading or deceptive representations that the doors supplied and the installation of storm doors will be warrantied for life or 20 years.
On 16th May 2014, I entered into an agreement with Brock Doors & Windows Inc to purchase the following:

1. 36" Fiberglass Antique Mahogany finish door with composite frame, sidelight and 3/4" Amsterdam nickel caming
2. 32" Steel white paint door with 3/4" Amsterdam nickel caming
3. 32" Steel white paint door with internal grill.
4. 5'Patio door with 1/4" x 5/16" white internal grill
5. Storm door white glass and with hidden vent for steel door.
6. Storm door brown with glass for fiberglass door

On 16 May 2014 a sum of $ 1300.00 was paid by credit card for the above order.
On 26 August 2014 a sum of $ 10,000.00 was paid by check number 008 drawn on ***** ****, Canada for the above order.

The salesperson convinced me that I need to install the storm doors on both the fiberglass and steel doors to prevent it from the harsh Canadian weather and assured me that affixing the storm doors will in no way affect or void the manufacturer's warranty, which I later learnt was a false and/or misleading statement made by him.

On 25th and 26 August 2014 I informed the installer from BROCK that the Patio door has the wrong size grills and the front fiberglass door has buckled and the door sticks when it is closed. He assured me that someone will come from the manufacturer to my house and replace the Patio door take a look at the fiberglass door in 2 weeks as the door is not supposed to buckle.

On 1 December 2014, a service person from BROCK came to my home with a Service Ticket number XXXXX to stain the fiberglass door. He was completely unaware that the fiberglass door was buckled and thought that it was the manufacturer's responsibility to fix it. However he proceeded with pulling out hinges, hacked the fiberglass below the hinges, removed the original installed seals and beadings that hold the glass and wedged the door between the door frames to straighten out the door. This resulted in damaging the door and scratching the door in numerous places which was further made worse by dabbing stain on it which now gives the door an ugly patchy appearance. On the same day he removed the glass from the patio door and replaced it with a 1/4" trim glass. During this process the original seals on the glass was cut, the spacers discarded, trim damaged and a screw broken and the door left far from its original new condition.

On 5 December 2014, I called ******* regarding the fiberglass door and was informed that ******* has no record of BROCK informing them of the buckle in door and that if they would have been informed they would have sent someone from their organization to check the door out. Also since the work was done by BROCK without prior approval from *******, it is deemed as unauthorized tampering with the door that may have voided the warranty. ******* also informed me that if a storm door is installed on their fiberglass or steel doors the warranty on the door is immediately void. BROCK has installed the storm door in a deceptive and misleading manner without informing me of this stipulation or providing me with the manufactures warranty documents.

Interest will accrue on the amount of $11,300.00 paid to BROCK at the rate of 24% per annum from the date of payment to BROCK (26 August 2014) until the date all work is completed by BROCK to my satisfaction.

Desired Settlement
The following needs to provided/replaced by BROCK:

1.The fiberglass and steel door needs to be replaced due to damage caused during installation and repair, as well as the warranty becoming void because of the installation of the storm doors. Any repairs to these existing doors is not acceptable.
2.The two storm doors with locks, etc. need to be returned and my account credited for the amount.
3.The entire patio door is to be replaced as the wrong product was installed and the repairs are shoddy and not acceptable.
4.A detailed invoice listing each product (doors, windows, locks, etc.) with cost of each product needs to be provided immediately.
5.A copy of all warranties detailing the time covered for each product with serial numbers needs to be provided immediately.
6.Refund any amount that has been paid in excess and/or interest that has accrued (from date of payment until date of replacement of the doors) on all amounts paid to BROCK for purchase of door, windows, locks, etc.

Once satisfied and upon completion of all pending work for the doors, windows, shutters, locks, etc., and after receiving a detailed invoice with corresponding costs and all corresponding life time warranties in writing from the manufacturer for all products purchased from BROCK, I will make the full and final payment (if any) to BROCK for the balance amount due for doors, windows, etc. minus the cost of all products returned and minus the interest that has accrued on all amounts paid to BROCK.

This is written without waiver of or prejudice to my rights or remedies, all of which are expressly reserved.

Business Response
Dear Mr. *****.

The following is written with respect to your desired resolution.

1. We are not aware of any damage to the fibreglass or steel doors. This is the 1st mention of damage, especially to the extent that a new door system is required. An inspection would be required to assess this and determine a resolution. Your fibreglass door is a door with 2 sidelights. During manufacturing the sidelights jambs were bowed in slightly. The solution to this is to remove the glass stops thus freeing the glass from the frame and allowing the sidelight frame to be straightened and eliminate the slight bow. This in no way voids your warranty. With respect to your storm door, there are specific conditions in which a storm door may generate excess heat and cause damage to the entry door system. The manufacturers warranty reads "Dark colour doors combined with the use of a storm door or unusually heavy exposure to sunlight must be avoided as this may cause paint peeling and failure of the glass lite frame." Your warranty is not void because of the addition of the storm door.

2. As a show of good customer service and in an effort to resolve things, we will agree to take the storm doors back and credit the amount you paid for them back to you.

3. The patio door system had the incorrect size of internal grills. The sealed units were changed with ones containing the correct grills according to the manufacturers specification. There is no problem in doing so and in no way affects your warranty. I fail to see how this make the installation shoddy and as this is the 1st mention of an installation issue we would require further inspection before we can address this with you.

4. A more detailed invoice can be prepared for you.

5. A copy of all warranties can be provided to you. Please be aware that you have products installed in which you have indicated no issues with and yet have not paid. Contractually you are obligated to pay in full before any service will be performed. As you have noted we have been to your house on several occasions even though you have not paid for your product.

6. As you have not paid for your products in full there is no interest to be paid back to you. As I'm sure you are aware we can charge you interest on the balance outstanding but have not done so in an effort to maintain positive customer relations.

We are disappointed that you feel you have not had the positive customer experience you would like and will continue to try and work with you to resolve your issues.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
1. Your statement that you were not aware of the damage to the fiberglass door or other doors is false. I had reported the damage to your installer on the day of installation and to your office immediately after installation via phone and further followed-up via phone with your office on numerous occasions thereafter. The doors ware also inspected and the damage confirmed by your service manager. Please refer to my letter dated 8Dec2014 addressed to Mr. ***** for details.
2. Your statement that the fiberglass door jambs were bowed in slightly from the manufacturer is false. On inspection of the door by your installer and me prior to installation, there was no buckle/bow or damage on it. The door buckled only during/after installation and was most likely due to improper or faulty installation and was extensively damaged after your shoddy repairs.
3. Your statement that the manufacturer's (*******) warranty is valid is false, misleading and a deceptive representation. Please refer to the manufacturers warranty at http://*******.com/warranty-2/ which states that their warranty is void if:
a. "Damage or malfunction caused by improper handling or installation."
b. "All door systems with storm doors installed will null and void this warranty; due to excessive heat build-up."
4. Please note, as per the purchase agreement dated 16May2014 with BROCK, the one Fiberglass door and two steel doors ordered and priced for were from the manufacturer "******** ******". I never ordered or consented to the installation of doors that are manufactured by *******. The supply/installation of unsolicited goods (i.e. doors manufactured by *******) by you is not acceptable by me. As per the laws governing the province of Ontario, I am not required to pay for any unsolicited goods supplied and/or installed by you at my premises. Any demand for payment by you for the above said doors is illegal and I demand that all payment made to you for the aforesaid doors be immediately refunded to me with interest.
5. I had ordered the patio door with a specific size grill. As acknowledged by you, the wrong door was installed by BROCK and you were duly informed of the same. The installation of the wrong doors is either BROCK's or the manufacturer's mistake. At the time of installation and via phone with your service department, it was explicitly agreed by BROCK that the entire door will be replaced. The replacement of the glass panels is not acceptable and this was clearly mentioned to the installer on the day of installation and thereafter to your service department personnel. The only acceptable resolution is to replace the entire patio door (brick to brick).
6. Please prepare and submit a detailed invoice to me for each product purchased with corresponding costs, description of each product in detail with corresponding serial numbers, the manufacturer's name and contact information and the duration of warranty for each product in writing. The certificate of warranty for each product must be signed and dated by the manufacturer and must clearly state that the said product has a lifetime warranty. Please note as discussed and confirmed by your sales person Mr. *****, all products purchased from you were stated to have a lifetime transferable warranty.
7. As agreed with your salesperson Mr. *****, and as documented in my email to him dated 17Sep2014 any balance will only be paid after the entire order, both for doors and windows is completely executed to my satisfaction. As such no payment is due to you now.
8. You have stated you have been to my house on several occasions; this is because you have failed to supply the correct products, failed to supply them on time or have come to rectify defects in the products or its installation.
9. Interest at the rate of 24 per annum will accrue on all amounts paid to BROCK from the date of payment until the day of completion of the entire order to my satisfaction or receipt of refund of the entire amount paid to you with interest and costs.
10. BROCK has/is resorting to false, misleading or deceptive representation, has provided unsolicited goods and service, damaged the products during installation, caused unreasonable delays of many months in executing the contract, and caused me great mental anguish and financial burden for a prolonged period of time. BROCK is hereby required to do the following within 10 days.
a) The amount for the 2 storm doors and any costs of hardware such as locks, etc. be credited to my account.
b) The one fiberglass door and the two steel doors that are installed at my home and that are manufactured by ******* need to be replaced by doors manufactured by ******** ******.
c) The entire patio door needs to be replaced.
d) The window shutters need to be installed.
e) A detailed invoice as mentioned above needs to be provided.
f) All warranties with details as mentioned above needs to be provided.
11. Failure to replace the doors and install the window shutters within the above stipulated time, will construe that BROCK is not interested in resolving this issue and has relinquished all rights to any and all products/goods installed at my house and BROCK will be required to immediately refund me the entire amount of $12,600 paid to BROCK with interest and costs.
12. This reply is written without waiver of or prejudice to my rights or remedies, all of which are expressly reserved.

Final Business Response
Thank you for the photos. The "damage" shown is wood filler applied to 1 or 2 glazing stops and 1 piece of burlap. Although these could probably be touched up, I would be happy to replace them. The mark by the hinge can be touched up.

With respect to the warranty, ******* would have no problem in supplying something in writing indicating your warranty is not void on your doors.

Further to your comments regarding ******* vs ******** *****, please refer to Section 13 in the terms and conditions on the reverse of your contract. The Company reserves the right, at its discretion, to substitute products or materials of equal or greater value in order to complete the installation in a satisfactory and timely manner.

I believe we have been very accommodating in dealing with the issues you have raised and have addressed all of them.
- Your warranty is not void
- The "damage" to the fibreglass door is filler and could be touched up, but I will replace the glazing stops and burlap for you.
- You have not substantiated your claim that the other doors need to be replaced aside from the warranty which is not void.
- I have provided the door warranty info
- I am willing to take the storm doors back and credit you
- The patio door glass can be changed and we will do so by exchange the complete sashes, not just the glass
- I am willing to provide window warranty information
- I am willing to provide a detailed listing of the products you purchased

Your demands for replacement and your reasoning for withholding a large sum of money is unrealistic. We would like nothing more than to take care of your outstanding issues and have been trying to do so for some time prior to your filing with BBB. Please be advised that if we are not able to come to a resolve we will have no other option but to turn this file over to our legal counsel to seek compensation.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Please note: BROCK's statement that "The Company reserves the right, at its discretion, to substitute products or materials of equal or greater value in order to complete the installation in a satisfactory and timely manner" is not applicable to my purchase of ******** ***** doors. However, in the interest of getting the matter resolved amicably, BROCK's offer in the replies to BBB are acceptable upon the following conditions:
Since the order was placed for ******** ***** doors, but ******* doors were installed, BROCK will provide detailed description, price, warranties and maintenance schedules, etc. for the fiberglass and steel doors from the manufacture's of ******** ***** doors and ******* doors that is signed and dated by the manufacturer's senior executive on their respective letterheads to determine if the ******* doors are equal to or superior to the ******** *****s doors.
BROCK will arrange for a representative from ******* to come to my house, assess the damage to the fiberglass and steel doors and provide in writing the details of the damage caused during installation and/or repairs to the doors and state how the doors will be repaired to its original factory finish. If the doors cannot be restored to its original factory finish, the doors are to be replaced brick to brick. If the doors are to be repaired and the storm doors removed, a senior representative from ******* needs to clearly state in writing how these repairs and removal of the storm doors will affect the manufacturer's warranty.
As proposed by BROCK for the ***** **** patio door, you will remove the existing sashes containing the incorrect grills and install new sashes containing the correct grills. Essentially everything will be changed but the frame which is secured to the wall and the door will be restored to its original factory finish.
BROCK will provide a detailed invoice including the cost, order number, name of the manufacturers, serial numbers, with detailed description of each product purchased with their corresponding warranties.
BROCK will provide details of all products being returned (such as storm doors, hardware, etc.) to them and list the amount credited to my account for each product.
Payments will be made after receiving all documents/warranties, upon completion of all work for the doors and windows to my satisfaction and after deducting all amounts due to me from BROCK.
This reply is written without waiver of or prejudice to my rights or remedies, all of which are expressly reserved.

03/23/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased windows from Brock at the end of September. They were installed at the end of November. During installation it was noticed that one window was missing a screen. I was then told that it could have been missed during the pick and could be still sitting at the warehouse. Since my son, who lives in the house next door was going to get his windows installed in late December I was told that they would bring me my screen over at that time. It is now January 27th, Brock has been paid in full since the installation date and I have yet to receive my screen. When my son called and mentioned it to the GM in mid-January, my son was told that he never heard anything regarding a missing screen. So I have no screen, therefore I cannot open this window and yet Brock has been paid in full. Your help would be appreciated.
Product_Or_Service: Wi
Order_Number: XXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I would like my screen, which I have paid for, so that I may open my window.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** - GM
Contact Email: *******@brockwindows.com
I apologize but it was not noted in our system that the screen was missing. If you could provide us with the serial number from the window which is missing the screen we will order a new one. Sorry for any delay.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Unfortunately all of the stickers on the windows were removed. I have no idea how to obtain the serial number for this window. What I can do is describe for you which window it is. I hope this should be sufficient as you have a copy of the contract and should be able to look it up. The missing screen belongs to the downstairs, front of the house window in the living room. It is the only front of house window that was replaced on the main floor.

Final Business Response
We have been in contact directly with our customer and apologize as we were not originally aware of the screen missing. We have established which screen is missing, and are expecting to receive the new screen within the week. We will setup delivery once received. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

02/10/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased windows for my entire house from Brock, 28 windows total. I gave my initial deposit in late September. I was promised installation would take place within 4-6 weeks. After numerous phone calls I finally got my windows installed after 3 months of waiting. Three of the windows that were installed were not what I originally asked for. In the living room, and in 1 of the bedrooms we wanted a single fixed picture installed. Instead we ended up getting a fixed picture with a split in the middle for both of these rooms. Since these rooms appear one on top of the other in the front of the house it makes symmetrical sense that they should be the same. But on the contract these two windows were drawn differently. It is clearly visible that on the company's copy of the contract there was a line drawn down the centre of the picture of the window to make them appear the same. In addition to this, the downstairs bathroom window was supposed to be a slider but instead we received a casement window. I spoke with a sales rep in late December about this, who said he would be willing to change the downstairs bathroom window. After a week and a half of not hearing from anyone we put it in a call again and spoke with an installation manager. We were told that we needed to wait for the sales rep to come back in order for the matter to be resolved. We waited another week with still no answer. I put in yet another call and spoke with the GM. At this point it was a month after I originally spoke with a sales rep. I was then told they would be willing to replace the upstairs bedroom window and that's it. He said the living room could only be replaced at a cost to me. Nothing further had been said about the bathroom window. I found this company to be very friendly to deal with before I gave a deposit. It felt like once I'd given them my money I was dealing with a different company. I am very disappointed wit the entire process.
Product_Or_Service: Windows
Order_Number: XXXXXXX
Account_Number: XXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I would like all three windows to be replaced with the ones that I originally asked for.

Consumer Response
I received an email from the GM today, Tues. Jan. 27th, with two options. Option 1: they would replace one window and the second window would cost me $698.34 (1/2 price) or Option 2: I can keep the windows that I didn't want and they would credit me 665.57 (1/2 price). However, there was no mention of the third bathroom window. Which the salesman had agreed to change way back in December. They've given me a deadline of February 2nd to reply.


Business Response
Your contract is dated September 28, 2014. We began your installation on December 19, 2014. A little of 11 weeks later. We experienced higher than expected demand on our services throughout the fall and did out best to keep lead times as low as possible. We do indicate on our contract that delivery is ESTIMATED at 4 to 10 weeks.

In our phone call on January 23, 2015 you did not mention the bathroom window before you hung up on me or after I called you back. I have reviewed your emails with our installation manager and there was no mention of it there either. If I was aware of the issue I would have addressed it in my letter to you.

I understand you feel that you did not received what you wanted. In the sales process there were a number of changes in your requirements. In the end these were documented and discussed with you by our sales rep. I would encourage you to refer back to your signed contract. If we misunderstood your requirements or you did not understand what you were getting this was your opportunity to ask questions. The 2 windows in question are both documented as fixed picture-fixed picture on the contract. Our salesman did have a conversation with you regarding what these windows are and they happen to be exactly the same as what your existing windows are. Our salesman went a further step and drew a picture of the windows. In his error he drew one of these windows as a single picture window rather than two picture windows. The other window in question, he drew correctly. Although intuitively given the drawings and wording for the other windows on the order you would think this is drawing is wrong, we agreed to change it for you at our cost just to resolve things. However the window that was drawn correctly is what you received. It is clear on the contract what was going into that opening and not fair for you to decide now that it is wrong and completely our fault. We documented what you wanted. We went over it with you. You signed in agreement. I don't know how you can say we got it wrong and it's 100% our fault. All this aside, we've come back to you and said we would change this second window for you at half the price on the contract. I will be losing money doing this, but again to be fair and an effort to resolve the situation this places the blame 50% on you and 50% on us.

The bathroom window which has just been brought to my attention. Again I would encourage you to look at your copy of the contract. This was originally quoted as a single slider. At the time of signing you changed it to a casement. A casement is more expensive than a slider but my salesman made the change for you. You also added frosting to this window and the Laundry room window to which you were charged an extra $45 each. We ordered and installed a casement window as per the signed contract. I'm not sure how we are wrong here? This window was offered to be changed for you back in Dec. by the salesman in an effort to settle the situation.

It is unreasonable to think that we should change all windows at our expense when we provided what is on the contract.

I think we have been very reasonable in trying to resolve this situation with you. We have offered to replace a window for free in which there is a discrepancy with what is written on the contract. On top of this we've offered to split the price of a window that is correct as per the contract. As an alternative we have offered you a reasonable credit as a gesture of good customer relations to resolve the situation.


01/05/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Windows installed with v inferior trims. Have followed up by phone, email & they are v lax about the issue & dont care. they have complete payment.
Job # XXXXX, placed with ****** ******* July 8, 2014. Windows installed 4-5 Sept. 2014.

The trims had gaps and all nails were showing. The trims seemed like they were second hand. I spoke to service dept they tell me each time yes it will be fixed, nothing has happened to date. I had emailed and left messages Mr. ******** a few times to speak to him about the matter. First he suggested he was not in town and then he was busy. To date never heard from him, when he wanted to sell product he had all the time.

Now I am just waiting consistently for them to send me some info about what will happen. They know its terrible work because i have sent them a dozen pics just of about 1 window. They are very bad at returning calls, In fact NO one ha called me back, I am the only one calling them to follow up. One person called once because he was in the neighbourhood and wanted to come over immediately.

Also note I have advised them I have no window coverings I am waiting for them to come and resolve the issue, they just dont care because they are fully paid.

Desired Settlement
Only to come and replace the trims with newer ones or trims that dont seem old and used. Ensure the nails dont show, as well as ensure that the workmanship is good and there are no gaps between the trim and that there are no scratches and protruding things on trim!!

Business Response
I believe there is a misunderstanding in what the trim would be left like. We supply and install primed trim. It is not finished or painted. I believe this customer was expecting painted finished trim. Upon inspection the nail holes were filled, however primer can be easily marked which is what the customer was seeing. This would disappear once painted. From inspection the job was done well. I'm sorry for the misunderstanding.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
On October 3 and 6, I contacted Brock's customer service. I spoke to ******** ************* Ms. ************ saw some pics of 1-2 windows and she said Brock provides windows that are not painted but these particular windows were showing more nails than usual. And she agreed someone should come and fix the windows a bit, fill them up a bit so they look better than what has been installed in my house. By looking at the pictures she agreed this was not such a great job done. Back and forth I sent information to Brock and called them a few times, because Ms. ************ had left for an emergency surgery.

One day ***** called up because he was in our neighbourhood and he wanted to 'fix' the windows. We missed the call. Back and forth at least another 5-6 times with Brock (*******, *****, Ms. ************ and other staff) and then on Nov. 3, 2014 I was told **** would come to look at the windows. By back and forth I mean I was the only one calling them NO ONE HAS EVER TO DATE CALLED ME FROM BROCK OR EVER RETURNED ANY OF MY CALLS OR EMAILS.

also after that one call ***** never called back or made it back to our home.

On Nov. 3 **** came and saw all the windows and said that is how they are supposed to be. I disagreed especially because this 'unfinished' look was NEVER explained to us prior to sale. IF I had known that this is how I was going to receive them then I would have factored in the extra cost of priming, painting and scarping them etc. I would not have agreed to pay them what I had paid them had I known I would have to spend a few hundred dollars extra AFTER having installed them, He agreed but said that Brock's sales-person, Mr. ******* should have explained this to us. I also told him that Ms. ************ from Brock had said these looked like 'worst' than the ones that Brock usually provides its customers. The nails should be filled. He disagreed.

There was not much discussion between **** and me, because we agreed to disagree. However, then he produced some paper work and insisted I MUST sign off that I am satisfied with his visit. I said I was NOT satisfied with his visit since he did not resolve anything. He still made me sign off BUT I WROTE I WAS NOT SATISFIED. He said Mr. ******* will call me and explain to me that HE SHOULD HAVE EXPLAINED THIS TO ME PRIOR TO ME SIGNING UP AND IT WAS HIS ERROR. Two issues, even if Mr. ******* apologized after the fact how does it help me after the fact because now it was going to cost me extra to have these primed and painted. And secondly I don't think Mr. ******* cares since to date he has never called up or explained ANYTHING TO ME. Despite the fact I had emailed him and left him a few messages, initially when the problem happened, he only sent me one email saying he is travelling and will get back to me. After that Mr. ******* disappeared.

One inspection has happened and NO NAIL HOLES HAVE BEEN FILLED. I AM PAYING FROM MY POCKET TO HAVE THEM PRIMED, PAINTED ETC. Like I said with the exception of one email from Mr. ******* saying he is travelling TO DATE NO ONE HAS CALLED ME OR EMAILED ME EVER!!

One visit from **** which was of no use to me.

Yours truly,



******* ****

Final Business Response
I'm sorry you thought the trim was going to be completely finished meaning no painting was required. That is simply not the case. The upper left corner of the contract should indicate the trim will be primed with a check box. There is no option for a finished or painted trim as we do sell this. I'm sorry you feel you have been mislead, but Mr ******* did not indicate to you the trim would be anything other than primed. Part of the reason this is not done is there are way too many shades of white and different colours that it could be painted. If you thought you were getting this, I would ask if you indicated what colour you wanted the trim painted? If you didn't indicate the paint colour to us how were we going to match the rest of the trim in your house and provide this to you? The second reason it is not painted is there are nail holes an potentially mitres that may need to be filled in. Once those are filled in you will need to paint the trim. So it would need to be painted again afterwards.

If there are nail holes that need to be filled or mitres that you feel are not close enough, I would be happy to send the installer or our service tech back to rectify. From ****'s original visit he felt that what you were looking for was completely finished trim work, paint and all and this is simply something that we do not offer. Please let us know if there is something we need to come back and do.

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Windows & Doors - Installation & Service, Windows - Vinyl, Windows, Doors - Installation, Doors, Windows - Installation & Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 19/06/2001Business started: 01/01/1990
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Nolet (President)Customer Contact: Mr. Randy Sibbald (Controller)Mr. Mike Nolet (Vice President)
Business Category

Windows & Doors - Installation & Service, Windows - Vinyl, Windows, Doors - Installation, Doors, Windows - Installation & Service

Alternate Business Names
Brock Home Improvement

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Brock Doors & Windows Inc.

278 Orenda Rd

Brampton, ON L6T 4X6

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in BBB Central Ontario. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Brock Doors & Windows Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (905) 836-4770
  • (905) 619-1147
  • (905) 844-4287
  • (905) 471-1075
  • (905) 857-1515
  • (905) 525-3232
  • (905) 873-9999
  • (905) 257-4200
  • (416) 324-2604
  • (905) 579-8000
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on January 21, 2014.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Windows & Doors - Installation & Service

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.