BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 28/03/2000

RCC Waterproofing

Phone: (416) 747-1920Fax: (416) 747-7130View Additional Phone Numbers201- 4101 Steeles Ave W, TorontoON M3N 1V7

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


RCC Waterproofing has been waterproofing basements since 1920. Basement waterproofing is all RCC waterproofing does.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 28/03/2000

BBB has determined that RCC Waterproofing meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised RCC Waterproofing's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

13 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on RCC Waterproofing

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 13
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 13 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
12/16/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Basement leaking where they had waterproofed and they are not getting back to me to fix it.
I first called 2 months ago leaving messages on various machines and being passed from one person to the next. Finally after 3 weeks I had a call back. They they put me in touch with *** the Hamilton contact and she said he would send a crew out that night to look at it. This did not happen they showed the next day. ***** came to look at it an I explained to him what happened...we had to tear our finished bathroom down because water was pouring in from the outside. We never had a leak int his area before it was waterproofed outside it was the other end of the wall. It is now leaking in the car port area and the back wall where they rehooked the weeping tile. He didn't know what to make of it so he was going to speak with the crew that actually did the work and come back and talk to me. He went to the truck spoke with them and said that **** the sales man would be in contact with me that evening to discuss things. A week and a half later again me calling the office again I finally heard from him. I then had to explain everything to him because he had no idea what the problem was. He also said I have to talk to the crew and *** and I will call you this evening with information. You are on the top of my list I know this is a serious issue and I will call you tonight for sure. It has been 4 weeks since that call and I have not heard from anyone from RCC. I have left messages and had no return calls from anyone.

Desired Settlement
We want this leak to be fixed and since the bathroom had to be torn apart we want it to be replaced as well. They were to fix the problem not cause more problems in our house and we feel that this is up to them to now repair.

Final Consumer Response
I have spoken with rcc and they are fixing the issue free of charge.
Thank you **** *****

11/04/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Unable to get deposit back of $1000
I gave the contracter $1000 deposit - he did not know that a building permit was required for this work so the company was ready to start work on October 1st - we found out that a building permit was required and would delay the process about one month - it would be too late to do the work at that time so we cancelled the contract due to the fact that the builder did not get the permit or inform us to do - we were not interested in doing business with a company that appeared to try to do the work without a permit - company is refusing to return the deposit because we cancelled when we cancelled because of what i believe is bad business practice

Desired Settlement
i just want my $1000 back i have been living with a leaky basement for 17 years - i will have to get more estimates again next year and start the process all over again and another winter living with mould and dampness

Business Response
October 28, 2014

BBB Central Ontario (attn. *** Bowman)
903-30 Duke St. W
Kitchener, Ontario
Re: case# 1308025: ***** *******

To whom it may concern,
I have spoken with ***** ******* since this letter was written by her. I have apologized for our estimator *****, who failed to fully explain the permit requirements of the City of St. Catharines building department to her at the time of Sale. She was thankful for the call and understands now that I have explained to her in detail. She is still considering having us do the job next Spring.
In St.Catharines, unlike other City hall building departments, they do not allow third party contractors to apply for permits unless they have an architect's bcin# (i.e. ; someone who designs and constructs additions to a home). Because we simply waterproof, we do not have this designation at RCC and the only place it becomes an issue is at the City of St. Catharines. We deal with many other Municipalities across Southern Ontario and apply for permits on behalf of our customers in those locales. ***** claims that he verbally explained this to ***** at first meeting and she believes that he did not. I believe Mrs. ******* in this case.
We should have instructed the permit situation for her area on all copies of the agreement, and we did not. When a neighbor who was concerned about us having to possibly move a mutual fence brought up the permit, it came to light that we failed to communicate to her from the very beginning and Mrs. ******* became suspicious and upset, I am sure partly because we mishandled this but also because the City told her that it would take a month for the permit to be issued. (note: Ontario law gives City building departments' ten days to issue if all necessary documents are submitted- but I guess beside the point at this time).
I have instructed our accounts payable to issue Mrs. ******* a cheque for her $1000 deposit. We certainly are returning that at this time. Sorry for the miscues here that resulted in these happenings.

******* *****
RCC Waterproofing
4101 Steeles Ave. W, Toronto, Ont. M3N 1V7

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

11/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

A second repair was done to our basement wall on the driveway side and now leaks worse than before they initially started !
see above

Desired Settlement
A proper sealing of the wall.
I had mentioned to the salesman , ******* , that I had almost had it solved myself before they came , but thought they would do a better job. Now it's worse than before .

Business Response
November 7th, 2014

BBB Central Ontario (*attn: *** *******
903-30 Duke St. W
Kitchener, Ontario
Re: case# *******: *** ******
To whom it may concern,
I have met with our customer since this letter was written by him. I have apologized for our initial inability to seal his crack. The repairs made by our team failed to fully fix the problem. I met the homeowner last week in his home along with a colleague and we have come up with an action plan, at no cost to him, to permanently address the leak. He was thankful for the call and the visit and understands how this happened and is satisfied with our proposed remedy. The home lacks sufficient aggregate under the floor slab and our team did not catch this fact on both attempts to fix. Older homes of this construction can be tricky to repair from the inside, the chosen repair, and the customer now understands and is awaiting a confirmed date of our return.
I am sorry for the frustrations and initial lack of communication he has had to experience.
I am obtaining a job start date today from our operations department and I will communicate this to our customer right away to confirm when we will return to make the adjustments needed. Sorry for the miscues here that resulted in these happenings.

******* *****
Area Manager
RCC Waterproofing
4101 Steeles Ave. W, Toronto, Ont. M3N 1V7

Industry Comparison| Chart

Waterproofing Contractors, Foundation Contractors

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 01/06/2001Business started: 01/01/1920
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

City Hall Toronto
100 Queen St W
Toronto, ON M5H 2N2
(416) 338-0338

BBB records show a license number of T85-3951214 for this company, issued by City Hall Toronto.

Type: City Occupational License

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tony Romanelli (President)
Business Category

Waterproofing Contractors, Foundation Contractors

Products & Services

Waterproofing Basements, Wet basement repair, foundation repairs, basement water problems, crack repair, leaky foundations, leaky basements, water seepage, basement floor water removal, free waterproofing estimates, free waterproofing consultation.
RCC Waterproofing provides a 25 year guarantee

Hours of Operation

7am to 6pm Monday to Saturday

Refund and Exchange Policy

RCC Waterproofing provides a 20 year guarantee

Service Area


Alternate Business Names
Wet Basement ? inc, RCC Group Inc, RCC Construction, Romanelli Construction Company

Photos & Videos


Select a thumbnail below to view the full-size image.

17 Photos

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for RCC Waterproofing

201- 4101 Steeles Ave W

Toronto, ON M3N 1V7

To | From


1 Locations

  • 201- 4101 Steeles Ave W 

    Toronto, ON M3N 1V7

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Mid-Western and Central Ontario. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*RCC Waterproofing is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 766-2071

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on January 21, 2014.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Waterproofing Contractors


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.