BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 17/05/2012

Rewards Travel China Inc

Phone: (905) 597-1290Fax: (289) 597-2605View Additional Phone Numbers606 - 15 Wertheim Crt, Richmond HillON L4B 3H7 Send email to Rewards Travel China Inc

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 17/05/2012

BBB has determined that Rewards Travel China Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Rewards Travel China Inc's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Rewards Travel China Inc

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
04/14/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I bought a trip and it was not disclosed tat we would be required to attend up to 7 different "tour stops" that were sales pitches of at least 1 hour.
I just returned from a trip with Rewards Travel China and DON'T recommend them for a couple reasons. I bought a ******* and it seemed to be a value, however, they have you sequestered essentially from 8am to 8pm every day, No available free time!
they take you to AT LEAST 2 government owned shops a day. We went to a pearl factory, jade factory, silk factory, silk embroidery factory, tea house and carpet factory. All told, each stop was responsible for about 3 hours between travel time and time at the locations that totaled 18 hours of "sales pitches" that I did not sign up for. They tuck them in the day in a way that doesn't allow you to opt out. By the last day I left the tour altogether along with 11 other people from or tour of 30. Lastly, they say the gratuities are optional, and then told us after we bought the ******* that they were mandatory as it was an integral part of the bus driver and tour guides salary.

I am very well traveled and was told that a tour or driver and Guide was nesessary in going to China, which I agree with as noone speaks English, at all!

Desired Settlement
I want our gratuities refunded as the tour guide and driver received commissions based on the sales stops we were required to be part of. Gratuities are optional, as stated on their site, but they sent threatening emails that they were mandatory prior to depart in order to be allowed to depart, and China is not a tipping based country. I want our $100 per person for me and my friend refunded. $200 total refund.

Business Response
Good morning, Jen:

Thank you for your message, we appreciate BBB understand there are always two sides to every dispute.

Now, with fair and due respect, I would like to respond to the filed Complaint:

1. Rewards Travel China did not disclose the shopping stops.

When we did the promotion with *******, all detailed day by day itinerary are listed on our website, what's included, what's not included, where are the shopping stops all are clearly indicated, there is nothing less we offered, there is nothing more than we indicated in our itinerary. As part of the tour, we do selected some shopping stops to subsidise the whole cost of tour and pass it over the savings to our clients, and our clients are not forced to any shopping if they do not want to.

2. Gratuities and refund request
I am glad to see that after all the complaints from *******, she did not complain that our tour guide and driver's service.

As part of the ******* deal, tips to our Chinese tour guide, drivers and other service members will be collected before the departure date and will be shared by all the China team. We already explained the reason for this to ******* and other clients:

In China, all our tour guide are licensed English speaking tour guide, they do not have fixed salary, their income are heavily relied on tips from our clients. We do not collect tips for them before, and 99% of clients are very good and do not mind to tip our tour guides and drivers while when they were in China. I order to make sure all our clients are having a wonderful time in China, to make sure that our staff to be treated fairly, we decided to collect the payment before our departure, most of our clients understand the reason and they really appreciate our tour guide's service. Whether they can have some commissions from the shops or not, it has nothing to do with the tips they should receive, as long as they provided the excellent service, they deserve to have the tips from our clients, therefore we would not be able to issue to refund.

3. Regarding the Lunch/ Dinner food and not having some free time during the trip

This is a budget group tour, not a private tour, we understand that for most of our clients, this will be the only time for them to visit China, that's why within this 10 days 8 nights tour, we packed as much as possible to let our clients to see, to experience in china; Our clients pay about $1399 per person, that include a round trip flight from U.S to China ( almost $1000 market value), 2 round trip domestic flight in china, plus 8 nights 5 star hotel stay ( at least $150/night) all the buffet breakfast, and lunch, dinners, and all the tours, so the lunch and dinner is designed to be quick and easy ( 8 to 10 dishes per table to be shared by 10 people), if this is not a value for money, I am not sure what else it is. Having that said, we do understand that our clients do want more varieties regarding the lunch and dinner, all the menus are under review at the moment.


Rewards Travel China understand that we cannot please all the clients, however, we are willing to listen to our clients, as long as the comments are fair, objective and reasonable. Each year, we have about 3000 clients from U.S and Canada join our tour program to visit China, we are committed to constantly improve our service and products.

Thank you very much for your time.

Regards

**** ****

Industry Comparison| Chart

Travel Agencies & Bureaus

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 16/05/2012Business started: 15/03/2011
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Travel Industry Council Of Ontario
2700 Matheson Boulevard, East Suite 402, West Tower
Mississauga, ONL4W 4V9
(888) 451-8426
http://www.tico.ca

BBB records show a license number of 50019248 for this company, issued by Travel Industry Council Of Ontario. Their web address is http://www.tico.ca.

Type: Provincial

Contact Information
Principal: Mr Geng Wang (Owner)
Business Category

Travel Agencies & Bureaus

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Rewards Travel China Inc

606 - 15 Wertheim Crt

Richmond Hill, ON L4B 3H7

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 606 - 15 Wertheim Crt 

    Richmond Hill, ON L4B 3H7(905) 597-1290
    (877) 618-3886

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Mid-Western and Central Ontario. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Rewards Travel China Inc is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (877) 618-3886
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on January 21, 2014.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Travel Agencies & Bureaus

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.