BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 31/03/2005

Gala Travels Inc

Phone: (905) 940-4646Fax: (905) 940-43772 - 7780 Woodbine Ave, MarkhamON L3R 2N7 Send email to Gala Travels IncView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 31/03/2005

BBB has determined that Gala Travels Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Gala Travels Inc's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Problems with Product / Service3
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Gala Travels Inc

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)BBB Closure Definitions
03/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Multiple cancellations of tickets that I was trying to purchase. When I wished to cancel service, they called multiple times in middle of night
I attempted to purchase a flight ticket from Detroit MI to Portland OR through the website. I was informed 2 days later, that my purchase was not complete because of a failed credit card. I responded on the first week day back at work with an alternate credit card. I was told by email that the ticket was cancelled and I would have to place a new booking. I responded that I would appreciate some assistance in rebooking the same flight. The company responded that this was not possible. I then indicated by email that I would be cancelling my service. They responded by email that my ticket was rebooked and that payment had been processed. On the same day, I was then called 3 times in the night, after 11:30pm indicating that my payment had not been processed and that I needed to respond immediately with new credit information.

Desired Settlement
I wish for them to ensure that all my credit card information deleted permanently from their system, and that any tickets that may or may not be in process be cancelled and not penalized to me.

Business Response
The client had initially made a booking with us through our online portal on February 15th. Unfortunately our quality assurance team were unable to verify the credit card with the issuing bank as part of our standard procedure to protect card holder's from fraudulent transactions.

The contact number the client provided was that of their office, and our agent called that number to update the client, however the office was closed. Our agent followed up with an email to advise the same and request an alternative contact number.

After receiving no response from the client our agent emailed them to advise the booking had now been cancelled. The client contacted us by email expressing their dissatisfaction that they received the email late.

In the interest of customer service our agent made a new booking on behalf of the client requesting approval and correct credit card details. The client approved the booking by email but the credit card provided declined at the time of issuance.

As the client had previously expressed dissatisfaction at not being contacted earlier for their original booking, and due to the nature of ever changing fares, one of our agents tried to contact the client to follow up.

We have not processed any bookings that were made and will discard any payment information provided. No charges have been made to the client.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I accept the commentary that they provide, however I am disappointed that they did not acknowledge the fact that they called 3 times in the middle of the night, even after on the first call I asked them to call back during standard business hours. It is primarily the calling in the night which was what I found objectionable, but then to have them continue to argue and dispute with me after I ask for the service to be cancelled was frustrating.

02/05/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
they ripped us off for bag limit they lied to us
they told us we are allowed to take 2 bags 23 kg each but according to klm airline only one bag is allowed they gave us printed tickets which says 2 bags.inv ******** agent *******

Desired Settlement
if i have to take extra bags air line will charge me $75 extra so i need them to pay for 3 extra bags .$75x3=225

Business Response
Dear Sirs

These passengers have purchased tickets which have been ticketed on a specific airline contract 'VF100'.

KLM's normal reservation centre will not be able to differentiate this ticket as specifically based on this contract, and will therefore advise the baggage allowance as a standard 1 Piece per person.

As per the rules of our contract VF100 on KLM, baggage allowance is 2 Pieces per person as specified on the ticket, which will be honored upon check in.

Find below an extract of the rules pertaining to contract VF100 from KLM (the airline):

SEAT SALE EXTENSION

INDIA VF100

Dear India Specialists,

We are pleased to advise that recently expired sale has been further extended

Don't forget that at times, price may not be the only factor when choosing a fare type.
For this extension, below is a brief outline of the benefits of a VF100 net vs BK100 net / AFKL published fare

- 2PC baggage allowance vs 1PC
- 12M max stay vs 3M
- No Advance Purchase vs 7D advp

We hope this clarifies the issue.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


Final Business Response
Unfortunately, it may happen that not everyone at KLM's call centers are aware of all the private fares which may also have special rules that are outside the norm.

As a general rule the typical global baggage allowance is 1/23kgs per client so if client has called the call centre to confirm their booking, they may been given this same information, which is true.

However, if the base fare is a specialty VF100, which is exclusively given to a handful of agents (Gala Travels being one of them)- the baggage allowance increases to 2 bags per client (23kgs max per bag), except infants which are only entitled to 10kgs carry on.

We are ready to commit to the above and if for any reason you are prohibited from taking the above mentioned bagagge allowance, please pay the fee related to additional bagagge and we will be glad to compensate you on your return.

We trust that this will put a close to the matter in question.

05/29/2014Problems with Product / Service
10/16/2013Advertising / Sales Issues
04/19/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Travel Agencies & Bureaus

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/07/2004Business started: 01/10/1979Business started locally: 01/01/1992
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Travel Industry Council Of Ontario
2700 Matheson Boulevard, East Suite 402, West Tower
Mississauga, ONL4W 4V9
(888) 451-8426
http://www.tico.ca

BBB records show a license number of 1906454 for this company, issued by Travel Industry Council Of Ontario. Their web address is http://www.tico.ca. The expiration date of this license is 09/30/2015.

Type: Provincial

BBB records show a license number of 1947036 for this company, issued by Travel Industry Council Of Ontario. Their web address is http://www.tico.ca. The expiration date of this license is 09/30/2015.

Type: Provincial

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Naeem Thaver (Manager)Mr. Zakia Thaver (Vice President)
Business Category

Travel Agencies & Bureaus

Alternate Business Names
www.flightdepot.ca

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Gala Travels Inc

2 - 7780 Woodbine Ave

Markham, ON L3R 2N7

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2 - 7780 Woodbine Ave 

    Markham, ON L3R 2N7(905) 940-4646

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Mid-Western and Central Ontario. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Gala Travels Inc is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Web Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on January 21, 2014.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Travel Agencies & Bureaus

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.