BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 15/11/2007

Flightnetwork

Phone: (905) 829-8699Fax: (905) 829-9102

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

149 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 68 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues23
Billing / Collection Issues44
Delivery Issues5
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service76
Total Closed Complaints149

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (149)
01/22/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Over charged of $346.72, I called them on Dec 18 & then emailed them my credit card statement as proof of overcharge. Today is Dec 29, still no reply.
On Nov. 28, 2015, I purchased a flight ticket flying from Maui, USA to Melbourne, Australia on flightnetwork.com for $676.25 (Canadian dollar). Ticket confirmation number is 6TPYWR. (I still have that confirmation email which shows that amount.) When I received my credit card statement on Dec. 18, it shows I was charge $1022.97 instead of $676.25 for that transaction. I called them right away and then they asked me to take a photo of my credit card statement and email that to ************@flightnetwork.com which I did immediately. Then I got a autoreply saying I will hear from them within 3-5 business days. On the 5th business day, Dec 24, still no reply, so I called again, the person say will follow up and I will hear back from them within 24 hours. After 24 hours still no reply, then on Dec 29, I called again, this time they say I will hear from them within today. Now is Dec 29 8pm, still no reply and I have to pay for my credit card already.

Desired Settlement
I just want them to refund the overcharged amount $346.72 ASAP.

Business Response
Thank you for reaching out.

We responded to this passenger with the following information:

"Hello *****, This is with reference to your conversation with our agent regarding your booking with Flight Network. Due to a glitch in our system, your booking was ticketed at a higher fare than that quoted to you. As confirmed, we will be refunding your ticket with a refund fee of US$200. However, we will refund this amount to your credit card in the Canadian dollar equivalent of $279. You should have this credit in your account within the next 5-7 business days. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused. Please contact us if you have any further questions or concerns. Regards."


The refund of $279 was processed on 06th of Jan.
Please let us know if you have any questions.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
When I called again on Jan 4 to request refund of the overcharge, your agent told me that the only option she can offer me is a full refund and then I have to buy the ticket again. I asked does it mean you couldn't honor the original price $ 676.25 of my ticket, your agent replied yes.

Now, more than 1 month after my original purchase. The best available ticket price for the same route has gone up to $770.96, $94.71 more than when I purchased on Nov. 28. On Nov. 28, other companies (e.g. *******.ca) are offering the same route for the same price $676.25. I chose your company over others because I had purchased a few times from you before. If your company discovered the glitch earlier or refunded me earlier (I started complaining on Dec 18), I could still get the ticket for $676.25 from other companies. But now I have to pay $94.71 extra because of your company system glitch and extra slow (18 days) response to my complaint.

Since it is your company's system glitch, you should either honor me the ticket at the original purchase price of $676.25, or offer me a $94.71 credit to compensate the extra cost that I will have to pay to purchase that ticket again.

Final Business Response
In order to regain your trust in Flight Network, we will gladly refund you the $94.71. The refund will be processed within the next 3-5 business days.

Thank you for your time.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

01/20/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
At time of booking additional cost for seat selection was not disclosed. Customer service was not helpful and request for a supervisor was ignored.
We chose our flights on FlightNetwork for 4 passengers on January 7, 2016. As part of the confirmation process we were never informed of payment/pricing for advance seat reservations. This was never disclosed. The seating plan actually came up but when I tried to reserve seats it would not confirm the seats as reserved. I later discovered through the airlines that there is a charge to reserve seats before 24 hours prior to the scheduled departure. The additional cost for early seat selection ($591.88) should have been disclosed prior to payment to FlighNetwork. We are four senior citizens traveling together, including one that has vision impairment and needs to be seated with her spouse.
Customer service was not helpful with resolving the issue. In fact, the customer service representative whom I talked with said he would reserve our seats but could not??? I asked on numerous occasions to speak to a customer service supervisor but one was never available. I also requested a supervisor call me and one never did. I felt like our problem was not very important. At this stage I was frustrated with the service and asked for a FlightNetwork managers phone number and was refused.
FlightNetwork was negligent and deceptive by NOT disclosing hidden costs.

Desired Settlement
Complete disclosure of additional airline costs over and above ticket pricing. No cost seat selection for our party of 4 people. Improvements to customer service.

Business Response
Thank you for allowing us with an opportunity to explain the advanced seat selection process.

We deal with hundreds of airlines that offer various types of restrictive tickets. Some tickets include free advanced seat selection while others do not. This information is constantly changing from carrier to carrier. In this fast paced policy change environment, no online travel agency can provide accurate seat selection information during purchase.

This is the reason why we state the following information in our terms and conditions during purchase:

"Some airlines will charge for advanced seat selection. Advanced seat selection is subject to change at any time and is fully controlled by the operating airline(s).

Once you have purchased your ticket you can request a seat online directly through the airline's website. Advance seat selection is available on some airlines and is subject to availability and the fare type booked. If you are unable to obtain free advanced seat selection online, the airlines do hold a percentage of seats until the day of departure for airport check-in. Customers with special needs should contact the operating airline directly for their seating needs. "

The booking process can not be completed unless our terms and conditions have been agreed upon. In view of this, we will not be able to cover the cost of the advanced seat selection. In order to avoid paying such high fees, we suggest 24 hours prior online checkin option.

We are sorry that we could not be of further assistance.
Warm regards,


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Yes it is true flightNetwork disclosed possible additional charges for advanced seat selection but it was buried in their Terms and Conditions - should be disclosed up front when you make the flight reservation.
FlightNetwork did not address their poor customer service.
Buyer be aware! We will never do business with FlightNetwork again!!

01/19/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My booked multi-segment international and domestic tickets have been seriously changed and got an impossible time schedule. Never heard back from them
Back in August, 2015, I booked my air tickets with Flightnetwork. The travel includes several international and domestic flights in February, 2016.

I got an automated email on 12/11/2015 from Flightnetwork stating schedule change, which including several time changes and conflicts of my flights. This simply meant the whole travel could not be done based on the change.

I then contacted Flightnetwork by a few phone calls to their 800 number and emails to their reschedule team in last December, and wished they could have confirmed my travel schedule ASAP because it would be the could-not-be-worse infamous high season for the domestic travel during my stay at my destination (that is why I booked these tickets well in advance), where I do have some other travel plans. However, even I was extremely worried about the situation, I have never heard back from them.

Today, to my huge surprise, I received the schedule change email again, which is exactly the same as the one I got in last December. Does this mean Flightnetwork was doing nothing for me? I believe so.

My departure time for an international travel is just one month away, but I am very frustrated, disappointed, and anxious right now. This just ruined my holidays and my domestic travel plans at my destination.

It is ironic that I have checked BBB rating of Flightnetwork, which is A+, before I headed to their website for booking as that was the first time I used them. Today I checked back again and found 72 out of 142 complaints to them are related to their product / service. The numbers and percentage tell everythings. I really wish I should have dug deeper last time.

Desired Settlement
Please confirm my air ticket schedule as soon as possible.

Business Response
We are sorry to hear that your experience with Flight Network has not been satisfactory.

When it comes to schedule changes, we work on them based on departure dates. The schedule changes with prior dates take on more priority. This is the reason for the delay.

According to our records, our agent has already dealt with the schedule change on 14Jan, Please let us know if you have any further questions.

We are very sorry again for the delay.

Regards,


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I finally got my tickets changed and confirmed, and new e-tickets issued on January 14th, which is for what I wished. All I can say is better late than never. I still believe this should have been done much earlier.

01/15/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Flight schedule was changed without explanation or recourse
I received an alert advising that the second leg of my trip from montreal-casablanca-beirut via air maroc was cancelled, and I would be put on a flight the following day instead. I had booked the flight expecting a short transfer time, and am now stuck in casablanca for more than 24 hours.
I contacted the customer service dept 3 times to request someone to speak to for options. Each time, I was told the person I was speaking to had sent an email to the rescheduling department, and someone would get back to me within the day. Each time, no one got back to me. On the 3rd call, I asked to speak to a manager and was told to call back in 1-2 hours because he was at lunch. The person I dealt with refused to give me the manager's name so that I could ask for him when I called back.
I feel like my flight was arbitrarily changed and now I have no options or way to find out if I can be accommodated. I am travelling with my parents, both seniors, and no one can even tell us if they will be offering a hotel room for the 24 hour plus layover.
Our preference is to be out on a different flight so that we can arrive in beirut as planned to spend Christmas Day with my sister and partner.

Desired Settlement
All 3 of us (my parents and I) would prefer to be put on a different flight leaving casablanca dec 25 (as per our original reservations). Otherwise, a commitment that we will be offered a hotel room to spend the night as the flight was cancelled and we are being delayed through no fault of our own.

Business Response
Thank you for your feedback.

With regards to your concerns, the airline schedule changes are not in control of the travel agency. The airline can change the schedule for various reasons.

According to our records, our agent has taken care of the overnight hotel prior to departure and this ticket have been used.

Please let us know if you have any further questions.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


12/21/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a ticket from Caracas to Toronto (Confirmation No. XXXXXXX). I had called to change the date from the end of September to October 4th in which the agent over the phone was able to do promptly, an email confirmation was received for this. Unfortunately on October 4 I received an email notifying the passenger (**** ****** ******* ******) that the flight was canceled. I called Flightnetwork and they could not provide any explanation and confirmed the flight was still scheduled and suggested we ignore the email. When **** tried to check-in with ********* Airlines he was not on the passenger list. He called me in panic and I again, called flight network...I spent the next two hours calling back and forth from Flightnetwork to ********* giving codes, eticket and confirmation numbers. Fortunately a Manager at ********* Airlines was able to locate proof of the payment they received and informed me that though I had made the change with Flightnetwork they did not confirm it with the airline-which would explain the flight cancelation. Luckily for **** they was still room on the flight so he was able to board the plane. I paid quite a lot of money for a change in date and the change was NEVER confirmed. I wasted a morning of work calling in frustration. This is my first time using Flightnetwork and would highly not recommend their service. Furthermore, once **** arrived he learned his government did not approve his request for travel dollars, because they could not confirm his flight with *********, because Flightnetwork never confirmed my change with the airline. I had emailed this company twice already requesting to be contacted to resolve this matter and my request has been ignored. I have all the documents supporting my claim.
Product_Or_Service: Plane Ticket
Order_Number: XXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
As I did not get the service I paid for, I believe I should get a refund on the money I spent using Flightnetwork.

Business Response
We are responding to complaint # XXXXXXX. We are very sorry for the situation Mr. ******* ****** had to face at the airport on day of departure.

With regards to the concerns outlined, as we look into the history of the file in the booking system, the ticket was reissued accurately in our system. Our ticket number XXX XXXX XXXXXX that was issued was used by the passenger and we can see the status updated by the airline as "used".
Since the airline was able to tag this ticket that was issued by us, we can confirm that the process from our end was accurate and complete.
********* airlines is a small carrier with limited connection to the booking system. It looks like an error on their part for not updating their records through the system and as a result their agent could not locate the booking. This complaint should be filed with the airline directly.


Please let us know if we can be of further assistance.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As I have already contacted ********* Airlines, the reason they could not check in Mr. ******* the day of his departure is because my agent (FlightNetwork) had never confirmed the date of change with them. I also have an email I received from FlightNetwork the morning of departure saying all Mr. ********' flights were cancelled. ********* Airlines told me I most likely received this email because FlightNetwork never confirmed the date change so the system automatically deletes his reservation and confirmed with me that his flight were indeed still scheduled for on time departure. I also have an email from FlightNetwork acknowledging the change in date but in the information outlined the status is '' in regards to airline confirmation. With these documents I do not believe "everything is accurate and completed correctly" on FlightNetworks end. I believe it is my booking agents (FlightNetwork) responsibility to ensure their clients receive the service they pay for and not pass blame to the referenced airline. I have all the emails referenced in this message to support my claim.

Final Business Response
We are very sorry for the delay in our response.
With regards to the email that is being referred to, it's an automated email that is generated by our system when flights are cancelled by the airline. In this case, the email was generated after the checkin cutoff time of the flight on 04th of Oct. 2015. This means that the airline was holding the confirmed space on their end until date of departure. We are unsure as to why they could not see the space in their system. We can also provide all the transcripts from our system to prove that the change was done correctly form our end. I will be requesting this from the reservation booking system so that you can submit it to the airline for further investigation.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I do want the documented proof everything was done correctly on FlightNetwork end so I can go back to the airline, even though they showed me documentation everything was done correctly on their end already... Ridiculous, I am never using FlightNetwork again. I've flown ********* Airlines many times in the past and have never had this issue.

Page 1 of 13
01/29/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I am contacting to you in regards to a disputed transaction. I booked a flight on Flight Network with emirate airlines. ******* airlines transaction took place Aug 16-2016. The flight was canceled Sept 08 2015. Flight Network insists a refund was done On Oct 15 2015. *** has verified that no refund was received. I am contacting the better business bureau because RBC Visa says that its been over 70 days since cancellation.

Please advice.

Desired Settlement
I am looking for my refund which they have said they have given to me, however *** says they have not done so. Also I would like them to include 4 months of interest for the extra balance that has been sitting on my credit card since Sept.

Business Response
Thank you for reaching out.

We have just received the complete statement history on 23rd of December and started an investigation with the airline. Once we have more information we will let you know.

From our records, the refund has already been processed.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The attached document contains a snap shot of the emails with ****** *********.It does not include the latest email which states:


Hello ******,

We are working with the supplier to verify why the charge is not reflecting on your credit card. Once we receive a revert from them, we will notify you via email.


We appreciate your patience.


Regards,

****** ********* Customer Care Representative
T: ************** A: ***** ******** Dr. Oakville, ON *** ***
Book @ FlightNetwork Check out our Blog Like us on ********


Flight Network has finally agreed that the refund was NOT processed.

I have also provided ******** with my complete **** statement of the past 4 months which shows the charge but no refund.

Please advice.

******
XXX-XXX-XXXX

Final Business Response
Since the funds are always with the airline, we as the travel agency have no access to refund transactions. All that we can see on our end is that we processed the request from the centralized accounting system. The rest is up to the airline to perform. The airline does the refunding part through their merchant. 99.9% the refunds are processed without any glitch. In such rare cases, we have to prove to the airline with Credit card statement that the refund was not processed. We are now in receipt of this information and have approached the airline. Once we hear back, ****** will update you via email. We thank you for your patience.

01/25/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was charged more on my credit card than on checkout for the ticket.
To whom it may concern:

I used flightnework.com to purchased air-ticket. It became a lot of trouble to me. I was charged more on my credit card than on checkout for the ticket. The price is much high you paid than it should be. It's a deceptive pricing strategy to make you think you are getting a deal.
I phoned twice around November 17 and December 7, 2015. It cost me about one hour each for waiting and verifying. After my explanation, the customer servicers said the extra portion would be refund to me in one business day (they should have recording), but they never did.
It is more than one and half month, I still have not get my money back. It looks like the agreed to return my money back over the phone, but they just don't do it. Out of choice, I have to ask for help.
I have had bad previous experiences and learned lessons before so I made a captures for the different charge.
Here is the Flight Confirmation number for reference: ******
Please help me and other consumers to get our money back. I don't have confidence with Flight network but I do have on you. It is all about trust and faith for business.
Thank you.
********* **

Desired Settlement
1. Refund back my money
2. Sincerely apology for their dis-honesty
3. Make up the time and energy cost to me.

Business Response
We sincerely apologize - your refund was held up due to an issue with our accounting system. We will expedite this credit and you should have it in your account within the next 5-7 business days.



01/25/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Flight network provided an appalling level of customer service - evading and refusing to respond to my travel needs - that threatened my trip.
I booked a ticket with flight network from Toronto to Tokyo, transiting in Chicago. About a month later, the airline changed the timing of the first leg of the flight such that I would miss the second leg. After a month of calls (4 calls) and emails (5 emails) flight network has failed to respond in any meaningful way to my need to adjust the flights. Customer service representatives refuse to connect me to anyone with the power to change the reservation, and I cannot proceed in limbo, as I need to ensure my flights are secure on a schedule that suits my needs. Customer service representatives also refuse to cancel my reservation and provide me with a refund. So at this point in time Flight Network has taken my money and provided me no secure flights, an appalling month-long state of affairs. This was the first time I booked with Flight Network and will surely be my last.

Desired Settlement
I want flight network to provide me with adequate flights that suit my timing needs in a timely matter - not two weeks or two days before the flight but as soon as the scheduling change happens so I can assess whether flight network can meet my needs or whether it is best to be refunded and pursue other options.

Business Response
Thank you for reaching out.

This booking was scheduled to depart on 04th of March 2016. Our schedule change team takes action on files based on the departure dates. The files departing prior to this date would've taken a higher priority, hence the delay in us contacting the customer. We are very sorry for this delay.

According to our records, our schedule change agent was in touch with the passenger on 05th of Jan. The passenger has decided to request a full refund. The airline will be processing a full refund on this ticket within 4-6 weeks.

We thank you for your patience.

01/15/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My flight dropped in price, but the website's module to claim Pride Drop Protection was blocked and my call to request help was dropped.
On October 3rd, 2015 I booked two flights from YHZ to YYZ for $519.28 ($260 each). On October 12th, the flights dropped in price to $218.64 each. I attempted to claim the $85 in Price Drop Protection on the website, but the module to do this was blocked. I then called Flight Network and the call was dropped after 21 minutes on hold. I immediately sent them an email with screenshots showing the drop in price and the blocked module requesting assistance claiming the Price Drop Protection. Two months later I still haven't received a reply!

Desired Settlement
I am requesting that the credit of $85 owed to me be applied to my account immediately.

Business Response
Thank you for reaching out with your concerns.

With regards to the Price drop, our records indicate that the file had been cancelled on the 22 October so as a result, the price drop was not awarded. The file has to be active in order to award Price drops, should a confirmed file be cancelled after collecting the price drops, the price drop transaction is reversed. This is covered under our price drop terms and conditions.

We hope that this explanation is satisfactory.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
While I understand the terms and conditions, I would request at least an explanation as to why the Price Drop Protection module was blocked on my file as shown in the screenshots sent to you on October 12th and why my email requesting that this be corrected was ignored even during the 10 days before the cancellation while the file remained active.

Final Business Response
There was a delay due to the agent that handles these inquiries had to take last minute time off to look after his terminally ill father. We are very sorry that we could not respond within the 10 days.

I'm not able to see why the system would not show the flights in the profile. It could be a system issue. He didn't qualify for the PDP because the file was cancelled. If it was claimed/awarded within the 10 days, we would've cancelled the PDP credit anyways upon cancellation.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
It is absolutely unacceptable customer service that Flight Network completely ignored my email to their customer service department for two months. If there was a system issue, Flight Network should have communicated that to me and taken action to find out what the problem was and ensure it doesn't happen again.

As anyone can see reading over other BBB complaints against Flight Network and from the fact that Flight Network did not even meet BBB's deadlines for responding to my last message (the initial deadline was Dec 28th, this was extended to Jan 3rd and their response was sent Jan 12th), Flight Network simply doesn't understand appropriate customer service.

01/13/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
FlightNetwork their advertise my booking ID XXXXXXX on line
Total round trip l paid by ****** **** 175.43.
I have no clear explanations what is sign infront of ( look like letter E)
after i paid
i got the electronic ticket with more detailsl. But i think on ticket
i paid by ****** **** total $175.43 ca
on trips on schedule i flied to destiny and i came back ok
when the ****** **** send me statement
i find out the Flight Network they were charged me as per i tald to them
E175.43, on the end of electronic have another sign
GBP E 175.43
i called flight network they explained
this is British currency to deal as per their ads
i have to pay this kind money
so they converted it became Canada currency
then then total charged me on ****** ****
$354.16 ca it mean equal GBP E 175.43
To whom it may concern
we are all living in Canada
we have to use canada currency not us or Eu..
this business used tricky eay.
i called they are cheating
please ask them stop do it
and return any credit may have back to my masyer ****
i hope will be no one else as a victim ss me
Order_Number: ID XXXXXX

Desired Settlement
No more ads with GBP E
All FlightNetwork in canada
use canada currency

please ask them stop do it
and return any credit may have back to my ****** card

Business Response
Thank you for allowing us with an opportunity to address your concerns.

With regards to the charges on your file, according to the footprints of the booking attempt, you had come to our website from ********** UK, so the prices displayed were in Pounds sterling. We do have the option at the top left corner of our website to change the currency to your preferred currency. In this case, you have been charged correctly. Our confirmation email that was sent a minute after the booking also shows GBP as the currency.

Our email dated 15th of December explained the same information to you. Please let us know if you have any questions.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
All work from Canada but us website from uk
This is not right
Used E 175.43 on advertising but no details explains
After bill collected still used same as about
as per trap conditions with small explain @ very low end said customer agreed to pay
GBP 175.43
questions who are known this sample money sign
E ?, GBP ?
Im moved in Canada 1984. English is my second language
My feelings this is bad advertising
i have never use uk currency. I have never travel to uk

i have never been travel to England
i don't know E or GBP are stand for
i m sure this a business used tricky way and conditions on their.then say i ageed soon i pay on line
surely i don't know
and i don't read @ bottom parts of their Conditions on last pages
Please use some ways to correct this matter. May be help new customers won't be same traps
thanks for all corporations
its may help for all customers and recover credit may have


Page 1 of 17

Industry Comparison| Chart

Travel Agencies & Bureaus, Internet Shopping, Online Travel Agency

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.