BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Brothers Plumbing Ltd

Phone: (416) 656-6717Fax: (416) 656-8160

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues3
Problems with Product / Service4
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints8

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (8)BBB Closure Definitions
08/05/2013Problems with Product / Service
06/14/2013Advertising / Sales Issues
12/17/2012Billing / Collection Issues
12/17/2012Problems with Product / Service
02/06/2013Billing / Collection Issues
04/02/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company quoted $250 for job to fix pipe, I was charged $625. Called to complain **** said rate was $600/hr.

Others qouted $260/ $250 for same job

Feb 16th, experienced crack pipe. I called 3 plumbing companies for quotes.

Received 3 quotes 2 at $250 the other quote was at $260.

I selected Brothers Plumbing. ***** arrived at 6:45 pm (appointment was for 3 pm).

***** initially cut wrong pipe, but eventual fixed problem.

He indicated that it would be $400, then changed his mind and said $625.

I questioned him on this, but he said that was the rate.

I did not want to get in a fight over this since my three children were present.

***** spent 1.25 hours on this job.

My credit card was charges $625 + hst.

To resolve this issue I need Brothers Plumbing to credit my credit card for $375 + hst, and honor their quotte of $250!!

Desired Settlement
I want the company to honor their quote of $250 + hst.

Company needs to process a credit on my credit card in the amount of $375 + hst.

03/13/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I believe I was severely overcharged for a plumbing repair. It took approximately 35 minutes to replace the (free) part and I was charged $411.88.
On December 21, 2014 our shower handle broke off from inside the housing. This necessitated us to use the main water shut-off when we required water because water would run in the bath tub and leak from the shower. Not a big deal, but inconvenient. It tried to remove the cartridge but was unable to pull it out. Because it was Sunday, we waited until the next day to contact a plumbing company to ensure that we not incur overtime or emergency expenses. I called Brothers Plumbing (recommended by a neighbour)about 9AM and left the message that the single handle for our tub/shower had broken off inside the housing the day before. They got back to me around 11AM saying that they were sending a repairman to replace our shower cartridge. The repairman showed up at 12:00 and knew exactly what to do as he said he had replaced 3 **** cartridges last week. He struggled with it for about 20 minutes and even drilled a screw into the plastic part of the cartridge to gain purchase. He certainly used far more force than I would have been comfortable using. He tested for leaks before assembling it. It took no more than 35-40 minutes. His manner was very pleasant. Overall I was impressed with the service. However, I did think the cost was somewhat exorbitant. He presented me with a bill to be paid on the spot with cash or credit or debit card. His invoice #XXXXX was for $411.89. I was shocked but paid with my credit card. He said that the replacement part was very expensive. Since then, **** has sent me one FREE and said that plumbing companies should provide them FREE as well! Home Depot does as all **** products are guaranteed for life! After discussing this with some friends, I decided to send an e-mail to Brothers on December 23 asking for a cost breakdown as I felt as though I had been taken for a ride. I finally received a response on January 7, after a few gentle prods from me, that they would get back to me by January 9 at the latest. Not hearing from them, I contacted them the next week with an offer to resolve this before I bring it to the attention of BBB or with the ****'s ***** *******. I suggested that I should be charged only for a trip and labour and for only approximately 1/3 of their total bill. Again I received an e-mail on January 14, after more prodding, that stated Brothers would like to resolve this issue and they would send me a full and detailed response to my complaint no later than January 15. I have since spoken to Brothers. They suggested that my offer did not cover all the costs and they would try to work out a more acceptable compromise. Since then I have heard nothing from them and have even had them hang up on me. On Friday, I asked that they respond to my request that day or I would be alerting BBB. I have been in contact with them at least 8 times to try to resolve this issue. I have never received a cost breakdown. I feel that I cannot recommend them.

Desired Settlement
To return at least half of the $411.89

03/13/2015Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Plumbers

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.