BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Central Ontario

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 31/07/2007

Anta Plumbing & Drainage

Phone: (416) 231-3331Fax: (416) 231-1464View Additional Phone Numbers364 Munster Ave, EtobicokeON M8Z 3C7 Send email to Anta Plumbing & DrainageView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 31/07/2007

BBB has determined that Anta Plumbing & Drainage meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Anta Plumbing & Drainage's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues2
Problems with Product / Service3
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Anta Plumbing & Drainage

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (6)BBB Closure Definitions
05/27/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failing to install promised service, missing invoice to claim grant from City, failing to compensate for propperty damage
I hired Anta plumbing on April 10th to upgrade our water service from a ½" to 1" pipe as well as to install a backflow valve.
The work was not conducted by Anta plumbing, but a subcontractor.
Firstly, Property damage: The subcontractor's workers helped themselves to access a power outlet which was connected an extension cable to our deep freezer. They disconnected the extension cord without plugging the cable back in after they had completed their work. I discovered this four days later and the food in the fridge was spoiled. Compensation was agreed upon and I accepted a cheque as payment. When I attempted to cash the cheque it had a stop payment placed on it.
Secondly, Failing to provide invoice: I spoke to Anta Dispatch and they informed me that I allegedly had not paid the invoice in full and would therefore not receive the invoice. However, the full amount minus the with the sales rep **** agreed upon discount for the downgraded service of ¾" pipe was paid.

Desired Settlement
I expect Anta plumbing to live up to their committments and compensate me as agreed for the property damage as well as to immediately send me the required invoice and documentation for my grant claim with the city of Toronto.

Business Response
In response to complaint, case# XXXXXXX

1) Upon completion of the service on April 25th 2014, Mr. ********** was provided with a sign copy of the service report signed by him and our technician. Mr. ***********, now had the opportunity to download the required rebate forms from the City of Toronto's website in order to submit his claim. Anta Plumbing provide customers with the required rebate forms as an extended complimentary service when mailing client invoices. Please note it is not the responsible of Anta Plumbing to do so.

On May 1st, it was discovered that there was an outstanding balance on the clients account.As a result our accounting software would not generate an invoice until this balance is cleared. On May 2nd a cheque was deposited, it takes 5 to 7 business for cheques to be cleared. This information was communicated with the customer. On May 9th Mr. ********** cheque was cleared. On May 12, the invoice along with the rebate forms were mailed out via ****** ****. Please note the client could have generated the rebate form via the city's website using the service invoice he received upon completion of the service.

2) In response to the property damages. We were informed by Mr. ********** on May 2nd of the situation with the freezer and alleged spoiled food. After learning that our technician was forced into a side agreement with the client he was advised against this. As per our technician, Mr. *********** demanded $400 to compensate for the food he claim was damaged as a result of the technician using an outside power source. The tech removed a plug which he advised was connected to Christmas lights in order to access power to complete the service. Upon further investigation, Mr. ********** took a personal cheque from the technician and also kept the food he claimed was spoiled. As per our technician, all the food in the freezer was still frozen and Mr. ********** refused to allow him to take the food. Please note the work was completed by Anta on April 24th and inspected by the City of Toronto for compliance on April 25th. Also note, Mr. ********** received additional discounts of up to $200 before the work had started.

We here at Anta Plumbing value both our customers and our employees and we take the necessary steps to protect our clients and most importantly our employees.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Re no 1: Statements in the first paragraph factually wrong. A) the only document I had from Anta was the estimate / contract. There was no additional document provided neither was anyone from Anta plumbing present to provide any signature. All labour was conducted by a subcontractor "*** ***** Plumbing Co."
B) There was no proactive communication from Anta plumbing to me. The clarification of the payment took place after I called the office twice.

Re no 2: Again, the facts are plain wrong: Together with ****, the owner of *** ***** Plumbing Co. I assessed the content of the freezer. Together we established a value of $375. At no point in time I had advised anyone of Christmas lights. I was attempting to discuss with Anta plumbing, but during the time we discussed the property damage **** from Anta was available by phone only. In the end it was agreed between me, **** (Anta's subcontractor) and **** to settle at $300. I accepted a cheque since the contractor claimed to have no access to cash. It is also wrong that I did not allow for the contractor to take the food away, but after warning him that the food had been defrosted (especially the frozen fish) he was no longer interested in taking it.
Just as a side note the claimed dates are wrong. Work was conducted on April 23rd and April 25th.

And yes, one should pay special attention to the additional discount of $200. Only after the building inspector pointed out that the installed service was 3/4 service and not how agreed (and written on the invoice) 1" service. Again, Anta was not proactive pointing out this deviation in delivered and agreed service.
On May 5th the cheque from *** ***** on behalf of Anta plumbing was dishonored.

The new damage to be paid by Anta plumbing is $300 plus $7.50 service charge for the dishonored cheque.


Final Business Response
Upon receipt of your response and further investigation, Anta plumbing will like to apologize to you and honor your request. Clearly we in the office were misinformed based on some of the information you provided.

Please note a cheque from Anta Plumbing for the sum of $307.50 will be mailed out you today May 20th. I will also being following up with you by telephone to ensure we have satisfied your request.

Thank you.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Received a new cheque from Anta Plumbing today and held a brief phone follow up discussion with ****** the office manager. The issue is resolved now. Thank you very much
******* **********

10/18/2013Problems with Product / Service
03/28/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On May 30, 2013 Anta technician **** insisted that the basement bathroom floor and the Y sewer pipes underneath needed to be broken as they were clogged with tree roots. He stated at least 3 times that this was an "emergency" and had to be done immediately. At no time was I given any other options for consideration and was told that my basement (which is renovated with both ceramic tile and hardwood flooring throughout) would be flooded.
In addition to the work already done in the front yard (which did have some roots and I am not contesting)and the so called "emergency" work to be done in the basement bathroom, Anta technician spent close to an hour drawing diagrams (which I have) and negotiating the costs of replacing all drain and storm pipes throughout. Estimates were provided in writing ranging from approx.$13,00 to $11,000, inclusive of the work already done in the front yard and bathroom floor. I was offered a better price if I would commit to a full excavation of pipes. Shortly after this discussion and once the bathroom floor and pipes were broken, it was clear that there were no roots as alleged but rather tree catkins from the downspouts. Unlike roots, the catkins were not dense, hard or rooted into the clay pipe and as such easily removed. It was at this time that I began to question what was going on, the validity of the findings and the push and urgency I felt to commit to breaking up the bathroom floor and a full excavation (breaking up the bathroom floor was the first step to get me to commit to a full excavation).
I then challenged **** stating that disconnecting the downspouts would eradicate the catkin problem and be far less costly. Although he agreed that it was an option, he stated that regardless I would have to excavate everything anyways, whether now or in two years' time and I could take time to think about it. It appeared that the "emergency" was suddenly abated. At this point I reneged the verbal intention for a full excavation and advised **** I would get back to him later. on further reflection I decided to contact another company to either verify or dispute my concerns (at additional cost of $310 to myself). On Aug 10, 2013 a thorough camera inspection was conducted and concluded that the pipes were in acceptable condition and replacement (although always preferred in older homes) was not necessary - I am in possession of the inspection video. I was also advised that the catkin issue could have been easily resolved with a simple and economical power flush. This was news to me and instead I was left with a hole in the bathroom floor, a broken up 'Y' sewer pipe and broken ceramic tiles. I presented my concerns verbally and in writing to Anta's office manager but to no avail.
Anta failed on several fronts. They failed to follow proper safety procedures by excavating the front yard prior to a Gas Line Locate Inspection (I am in receipt of that report). They failed to thoroughly inspect all accessible pipes and downspouts. Anta failed to provide me with all reasonable options and their associated costs.

I have since engaged a plumbing company to complete the bathroom. I have disconnected all downspouts and have experienced no water issues whatsoever even with the torrential storms we have experienced this summer.

The basement bathroom floor costs were included in 2 May XX XXXX invoices that address complete pipe replacement throughout: Invoice# 9932, $12,204: invoice# 9934, $11,125.

Desired Settlement

I propose the following Resolutions:
* Anta Plumbing reimburse me for all costs related to the basement bathroom excavation which are as follows:
o $1872.76 - plumbing - Y pipe replacement
o $500.00 - new tiles and repairing bathroom floor
Note: the above costs be reduced by the 'usual' costs of a power flush.

* Anta Plumbing directs its technicians to always provide customers with all possible options and their related costs so they are able to make an informed decision.

Business Response
March 6, 2014

CASE #XXXXXXX

Please see the following explanation as to the order of events that took place in May 2013.
Anta Plumbing received a call from our client who advised us that the basement at her house was flooded. The office dispatched our technician right away to assist our client of the situation at this particular job site. Our technician discussed with the home owner what he recommended be done and the home owner agreed and signed an Invoice / Contract (#9927) giving us permission to proceed. Our technician had advised on Contract / Invoice #9927 that once we excavated if there were any additional drain issues found at this time it would come as additional work and there would be a new Contract written up .
Anta Plumbing excavated in the front of the property and replaced a portion of the drain and installed back to back clean outs. Once we had the ground excavated we did a complimentary camera inspection. Our technician noticed at this time that there was an additional blockage located in the basement bathroom of our clients home.
After discovering the second blockage our technician provided a quote to remove the blockage for our client . Our office received approval from the client / home owner to start the job. We received once again our clients signature on the second Contract (#9934) and it was agreed with the client and Anta Plumbing that this needed to be done.
Anta Plumbing proceeded with the work regarding the second Invoice / Contract (#9934) on May 30TH, 2013. Our drain crew removed the blockage on this day. Our office received a phone call from the client / home owner stating that they had an emergency with another contractor and so Anta Plumbing work had been postponed . We complied with our clients specific request and did not return to the job site the following day. Our customer was not charged any fees on Contract #9934 even though we had started but was asked to put the project on hold as per the home owners phone call request. So in fact our work on Invoice / Contract on #9934 was free of charge to our client .
Labour and materials on Contract #9934 were covered by Anta Plumbing Management to pay for the salaries for our crew, no charges against the home owner were applied on Contract #9934.

In conclusion, Anta Plumbing always provides our customers with expert advise.



Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)


A key issue in my original complaint was the lack of being provided with any options other than a full excavation and replacement of all drain and sewer pipes. Anta avoided addressing this key issue in their initial BBB response and now has come up with a false scenario. As such, I reiterate the following and note:
1. At no time was I given any options for my consideration. I was told it was an emergency and work in the bathroom had to proceed immediately to avoid flooding.
2. Anta failed to investigate the downspouts
3. Anta failed to follow safety procedures
4. Upon the discovery of catkins (not roots), I was the one to suggest downspout disconnection to which Anta technician agreed. However, he said I would need a full excavation regardless, if not now, then in two years. The EMERGENCY was averted but the bathroom floor and pipes were already broken and the damage was done.
5. Re disconnection of downspouts - the City of Toronto has exempted my property from downspout disconnection.
4. As I noted in the initial complaint, I elected to disconnect the downspouts as an option to full excavation at a fraction of the cost as compared to the various estimates Anta provided. I have had no water issues whatsoever even during the torrential rain storms of last summer.

The following is a listing of my evidence:
a) various estimates, dated, undated, signed, unsigned, scratched out, amended, etc.
b) Gas Line Locate document
c) video of drain and sewer pipes
d) Application for downspout disconnection exemption
e)City of Toronto exemption document
f)My initial complaint to Anta of Sept 25, 2013 notes and Nov.19, 2013 response
g)Two investigative reports from Anta Office Manager dated October 5, 2013 and January 23, 2014

I have tried to resolve this issue amicably with Anta last September but no avail.Please note that all my issues concern one Anta employee. The company as a whole may not ascribe to the sales tactics used by this employee.

Final Business Response
March 27, 2014

RE: Case #XXXXXXX

The information provided to our client regarding the Toronto Municipal Code was with hopes to benefit our client, to advise the home owner of something that was to be done according to the City of Toronto. We were not aware that this home owner was exempt from disconnecting the down spouts at this location as it was never mentioned to our technician at any time. Anta Plumbing found out that our client eventually had their down spouts disconnected as per our clients statement through the BBB to Anta Plumbing. We are very happy to hear that our recommendation was helpful to our client & they followed our recommendation.
Anta Plumbing at all times provides our customers with the best options under specific circumstances. Going through the bathroom floor to get to the blocked drain and repairing it was the best option for our client at this time and was discussed and approved by the home owner. This was stated as an emergency because our experienced technician knew that if this blockage was not removed this would at some point cause a flood / damage in the basement of this home. The solid blockage was discovered after a camera inspection was provided to our client. Anta's technician showed the blockage that was found on the screen of the camera to the home owner .After discussing with the home owner the steps needed to be taken Anta's technician wrote up Contract #9934 in which our client agreed to and signed giving us permission to proceed with the repairs.
At the time the pipe was exposed and the blockage removed the emergency was abated.
Please note that the proper gas locate procedure was followed and completed the morning of the service, Anta has all necessary documents and can provide upon the request of the BBB.
Anta Plumbing has completed approx 30 % of the work on Contract #9934, this contract is incomplete as well as outstanding in our Accounting Dept. Anta Plumbing has followed all procedures in a timely and professional way. Due to an unpaid balance against the invoice in question refunding any amount is not an option.

01/23/2014Problems with Product / Service
11/28/2013Billing / Collection Issues
08/02/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Plumbers, Foundation Contractors, Drainage Contractors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 25/07/2007Business started: 24/01/2005
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

City Hall Toronto
(416) 338-0338

BBB records show a license number of T85-3957205 for this company, issued by City Hall Toronto.

Type: City Occupational License

BBB records show a license number of T94-4304188 for this company, issued by City Hall Toronto.

Type: City Occupational License

BBB records show a license number of T95-3952250 for this company, issued by City Hall Toronto.

Type: City Occupational License

Contact Information
Principal: Mr Anatoliy Syvak (CEO)Ms Tatiana Tchoudinova (Project Manager)
Business Category

Plumbers, Foundation Contractors, Drainage Contractors

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Anta Plumbing & Drainage

364 Munster Ave

Etobicoke, ON M8Z 3C7

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 364 Munster Ave 

    Etobicoke, ON M8Z 3C7(416) 695-1464
    (416) 231-3331

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Mid-Western and Central Ontario. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Anta Plumbing & Drainage is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (416) 695-1464
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on January 21, 2014.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Plumbers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.