BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 30/11/2011

Abell Pest Control Inc

Phone: (416) 675-3305Fax: (416) 675-6727View Additional Phone Numbers246 Attwell Dr, TorontoON M9W 5B4 Send email to Abell Pest Control Inc

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 30/11/2011

BBB has determined that Abell Pest Control Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Abell Pest Control Inc's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Abell Pest Control Inc

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
07/21/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Paid for full service, follow visits have not happened.
Contacted for service January 8, paid for full service which included a follow up visit in Feb and March. On March 29th contacted Abell as nothing had happened since January. They sent out a new technician for what they called his first visit. Second visit never happened. On May 25th I contacted Abell again and was told, with apologies for the service, that I would get a call from management. That call has never happened.

Desired Settlement
They offer a money back guarantee - I believe that I have been patient enough to have reached that point.

Business Response
I have spoken with the Mr. ****** and offered to upgrade their 100 day rodent control program for a full one year residential home protection program, including the usual 17 pests covered based on the money that they have already paid.
I also stressed that we wished to solve their pest issues, not forget about them as he felt we were not responding to his inquiries. He seemed pleased to hear this and wished to proceed and we will make every effort to continue to provide excellent service. I will also assign one specific technician to be responsible for his account.
Thank-you
***** ******
Abell Pest Control

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I have spoken with *****, and we have agreed to a one year residential home protection program dating from resolution of this problem. This is satisfactory to me.

04/13/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
company has disappeared, they do not return our calls and did not come back to remove mouse feeding stations
we paid 279.00 in sept 2014 and after a few visits we could not get a hold of anyone from this company.

Desired Settlement
would like my money back to inadequate service

Business Response
First Service September 17th, 2014. The customer contacted Abell about a mouse problem, we agreed to a $279 service that included a 100 day guarantee (September 17th to December 15th, 2014). It was explained to the customer that this program includes 3 services. The warranty period is written on the first service ticket. On this first ticket we explained details on the problem and what we did including utilizing a number of bait stations.

Second Service October 8th, 2014. We came a second time and provided comments to the customer that no feeding in the bait stations was found. We asked them to clean up the old mouse droppings (that's we tell if new mice droppings are being left) and to seal the gaps in the pipes where mice could gain access from the outside.

Third Service November 25, 2014. We included an inspection of the property and left additional comments.

Fourth Service December 15, 2014. Technician arrived at 2:30, the time agreed upon by the customer. At this time normally the bait boxes would have been removed from the property. The customer was not home for the appointment. We left a note in the mail box.

The gaps in the pipes were not sealed as we had recommended to the customer. These holes allow mice access from the outside. In Integrated Pest Management program for mice would involve baiting for mice, but also for the customer to resolve these structural problems that allow for additional mice to enter the home. We did provide the customer a guarantee period at the outset of the program which we honored. A mice control program does not offer permanent control, especially if the house has structural issues that allow mice to come in from the outside.

We checked ******* voice mail. No messages were left by this customer during this entire period.

We did see from the complaint that we had not removed the bait boxes, as the customer was not home. We would be happy to arrange to remove them if the customer wishes.
We are happy to attach our warranty:
Abell's Guarantee is Simple, your contractual pest is Gone and Guaranteed. If you are not satisfied with the services provided to you within the guarantee period, you will receive a Full Money Back Refund! All Abell Sanitation and Structural Recommendations must be complied with and follow up services allowed for during the guarantee period to be eligible for any refund.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Pest Control Services

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/04/2006Business started: 01/01/1924
Business Management
Principal: Mr. John Abell (President)
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr Mike Heimbach (Director, Business Development and Marketing)
Business Category

Pest Control Services

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Abell Pest Control Inc

246 Attwell Dr

Toronto, ON M9W 5B4

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 246 Attwell Dr 

    Toronto, ON M9W 5B4(416) 675-3305
    (888) 949-4949
    Fax: (416) 675-6727
    Fax: (416) 675-6727

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Mid-Western and Central Ontario. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Abell Pest Control Inc is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 949-4949
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on January 21, 2014.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Pest Control Services

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.