BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 16/11/2001

CFJ Paving Ltd

Phone: (519) 624-9487Fax: (519) 624-4316

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service8
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints8

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (8)
06/02/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
repair required for cracks in concrete sidewalk
had a new paved driveway & concrete patio & sidewalk put in 2012. concrete work was done aug.12 & in the spring saw cracks in sidewalk. contact ******* & said he will fix. paid $7006.00 for the concrete part of contract.called numerious times & said they will fix but would never show up. on apr.16 2015 said he will fix in may.called many times & says coming week of nov.9 than week of nov.16. again no show & back to not answering calls.so here is my complaint

Desired Settlement
fix the sidewalk cracks or reimburse me so i can get a new contractor to fix

Business Response
Please take note that CFJ Paving has shut down for the season. As per ******* repair will be done in the spring of 2016. It has been put on our repair list as a priority.
Thank you

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As stated in my original complaint many times i was told my repair would be done.******* would not show up. Until he does actually do the repair in the spring of 2016 i would like this case to remain open.
Thank you

Final Consumer Response
CFJ Paving repaired the concrete job as promised in the spring to my satisfaction and I now consider this matter resolved

12/03/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failure to complete agreed upon job of paving driveway.
On or about mid July CFJ Paving provided a quote to replace the shared Driveway at *&* ****** St. The quote was agreed upon and on Oct 3, 2015 CFJ tore up the driveway and compacted the underlying ground. We were told that the paving would be complete in 3-4 weeks. No other contact by CFJ was made until Monday November 9, 2015 at which time a vehicle had been left in the driveway and the work could not be completed; NOTE" CFJ did NOT notify that they were coming to complete the work to ensure the driveway was clear. Since that time the only contact that has been made was after I called the field supervisor (Nov16, 2015) who told me that they may be able to do the work that Friday or the next Monday or Tuesday. I have attempted to contact the Owners as well as my neighbor (* ****** St) on several occasions with no reply, I have txt messaged the site supervisor again with no reply. My Drive way has been torn up since Oct 3/15 and with the weather getting colder I may have to have a gravel driveway until spring. I would apprecieate proper communication from CFJ as to when my driveway will be completed as per the quote.

Desired Settlement
I would like to see CFJ contact me with a solution to this issue and maintain proper client/contractor communications. I also feel CFJ should be providing an explanation as to why it has taken so long , why they failed to contact me and provide a good will discount on the quoted amount

Business Response
******* got in contact with Mr. **** to arrange paving day and payment. Mr. ***** **** has made it very clear that he no longer wants CFJ Paving to pave his driveway after CFJ paving has done the excavation at his place and the neightbour.
Mr. **** forwarded an email advising that CFJ Paving is NOT PERMITTED to enter both properties to do any work. Mr. **** also had a letter sent to our office by a carrier to regain signature upon delivery.
Due to Mr. **** not allowing CFJ Paving in both properties and he did make that very clear in both of his letters and to ******* when he called *****, no paving will occur at both properties.
CFJ will be billing Mr. **** for the excavation portion its only fair due to the time, material and labour expenses that CFJ has had doing the excavation at both properties.

Consumer Response
Communications by CFJ paving would have been only fair as well. I find it terribly suspect that CFJ contacted me to complete the work only after a BBB complaint and 2 letters of termination.

As the excavation was done Oct 2/15 more than 45 days had elapsed, we are considering the job to have been in non-conformance. I will consult with my attorney as to my legal obligations regarding work performed as another contractor may have to take up the ground work in order to offer warranty.

This is very unfortunate, however CFJ could have avoided this issue had they conducted themselves in a more professional manner. Their lack of communications and information to their client is very apparent not only in the reviews here but on other web pages.

Final Business Response
CFJ Paving respects Mr.**** decision in not wanting to proceed with CFJ Paving as his paving company, please take note that time, material and labour costs were involved in the excavation portion of both driveways and an invoice has been sent out to cover the expenses.
Thank you

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I will review the invoice from CFJ and if reasonable will consider payment after advising my attorney. I will require CFJ to sign a "Release" prior to any payment.

10/07/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
After four weeks asphalt is still too soft and just leaving parked car marks asphalt. Also edge is crumbling.
Driveway paved and paid by cheque to owner, $2712 Aug. 14, 2015 Invoice #****

I have left three messages on CFG's phones and have had NO response. In third week after rainfall, I could see recent tire tracks in the asphalt. I do not spin my tires or turn my front wheels on the pavement, as I back in to avoid that. I parked on road for at least a week before parking on new asphalt. I need a resolution as this is not a long lasting driveway and may never be hard enough to stand up.
I'm just frustrated.

Desired Settlement
If the driveway cannot be repaired? then it must be replaced. I had this done originally in hot weather so it would be smooth and hard. If it is redone now in colder weather, it may well be no better.

Business Response
******* contacted Mr. ******** yesterday Sept, 17th to go by and have a look at his driveway concerns.

Thank you
CFJ Paving

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
***

I don't accept a response from the business because I haven't had one after any inspection. I have no idea whether anyone has been here or not. This is just dragging on needlessly.

****** ********

Final Business Response
******* is to contact Mr. ****** to further discuss and arrange a repair time.

Thank you
CFJ Paving

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
If the driveway doesn't stand up during the winter and the frost I will be calling ******* in the spring.
******

08/24/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
company will not complete the job they started and will not answer my calls or respond to me at all.
I hired the company in May of this year to remove my old driveway and to install a new one that includes 8-10"of gravel, grading and compacting, 2.5" of asphalt. They removed the old driveway in May and did not lay any gravel. After two months of chasing them with numerous phone calls and requests for contact, they have installed the new curbs. They have not installed the asphalt and once again refuse to answer my calls or requests for completion. when I attempted to speak with ******** at the time he installed the curb, he simply glared at me and did not respond to me at all. I cannot get any response from ******** or from his head office other than to "speak to him".

Desired Settlement
I would like them to finish the driveway as per the agreed-upon specs and to do so in a timely manner. I would like a firm finish date with the assurance they will do so without retribution:

Business Response
Please take note that ******* has been in contact with the home homeowner, Mr. *** ******* and the work has been scheduled for the week of August, 17th.
Thank you for you time.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The company representative ******* has not spoken to me as he indicated in his response. He phoned my wife at my home. He told her that he may show up on August 17th or may show up on the 18th. He needs to deal directly with me, set a firm finish date. If I had not already given a significant down payment for this work I would no longer deal with this company at all.

Final Business Response
Please take note that work has been scheduled for this week. ******* to contact homeowner.
Thank you

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I accept the finishing of the work. They did not complete the work in a timely manner, manipulated circumstances to suit themselves alone and certainly did not put any effort into maintaining a reasonable and respectful business relationship with me as a customer.

10/02/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Poor quality of driveway. Left marks on new drivewa; took a chunk out of break wal; damaged a new garage door in 2 different spots. No call back.
Overall job was inferior. Did not come when scheduled; came when it was convenient to them. Took out ashpalt, damaged part of break wall. (new parging done year before) Waited for 3 wks before they decided to pave. Their paving machine put marks/dents in new garage door. Left a double line down the whole side of driveway....on day of installation. After was going to fix tire marks....looked worse. So frustrating to deal with people who don't care. Poor job....looks terrible. Paid $4000 for an inferior job and will have to get someone in to fix their issues. No return calls. No communication at all. Awful company to deal with. Should not be in business.

Desired Settlement
Billing adjustment

Since they won't communicate with me, perhaps they will with you.
I am going to have to pay someone to fix what they damaged AND fix the driveway.

Business Response
Please take note that Mrs. ***** came into our office and talked to the owner ******** ********, they discussed repairs and Mrs. ***** is to invoice CFJ Paving for her property damages in the amount of $300.00 + .
Thank you

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
They have attempted a bit:
1) They have patched my break wall.
2) They have offered to pay the repair on my garage door. $350.00 cost.
However the outstanding issue is the look of the driveway. The double line that they have left on the one side of the drive is really visable....and all the stamping of the tire marks, makes the driveway look like it has chicken pox. Not a nice looking driveway. Looks old & patchy ..... I will attempt to call the owner again.

Final Business Response
CFJ Paving has done it's best to clear up all of Mrs. ***** concerns. The bigger issue is that the driveway at **** ***** St, North stands at a very high traffic area where most cars turn into the lot to do turn arounds, CFJ Paving did get a call into our office 2 days after paving was completed to be advised and was asked if we could go back and re-roll some areas due to someone driving in and doing a turn on the freshly paved driveway. CFJ Paving is not responsible for tire marks.
The only thing that is being recommended to the homeowner at this time is for sealer to be applied to the lot (at homeowners expensive). Mrs. ***** has also advised CFJ Paving that there were damages to her garage door and CFJ Paving has agreed to cover her expense. Thank you

11/10/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The concrete step at the front of my home is in need of repair as a result of CFJ not putting an expansion joint in at the time of installation.
I regret to involve the BBB in a complaint process as I have been very impressed with the worked completed by CFJ paving at my home.

Unfortunately the crew forgot to install an expansion joint next to the front step where concrete was poured in the summer of 2013. Expansion joints were installed everywhere else. Over the winter the step has completely cracked making it unsafe. The concrete has not been able to expand properly when the temperatures have fluctuated.

******* ******* from CFJ paving visited my home in the spring of 2014 admitting to the mistake. Again, I was very impressed with him responding in a timely manner at the time and owning the mistake. He stated that he would rectify the issue by removing the concrete and replacing the step with one that is poured concrete. He indicated that he would only charge a small amount in labor.

******** had indicated that he was busy and that he would not get to the job until the end of May 2014 or early June 2014 (approximately). I have been in touch with ******* approximately 6-8 times by telephone asking when he will be coming to do the work. His response has consistently been "either this week or next week". These empty promises have carried through into September *******************

All I wish for is that his crew return to rectify the issue as I am happy with the work that they have done.

Desired Settlement
All I wish for is that his crew return to rectify the issue as I am happy with the work that they have done.

Business Response
Good afternoon,

Please take note that CFJ Paving Ltd. will be doing repair the week Of October,06th - Oct,10th.

CFJ will contact the homeowner Mr. ******** 1 day prior to heading out to advise of specific day and approx. time of arrival.

Thank you

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)




Consumer Response
I would like to request that case # XXXXXXX be re-opened.

As you are aware CFJ paving provided the following response to my initial complaint: "Please take note that CFJ Paving Ltd. will be doing repair the week of October 06th - Oct. 10th. CFJ will contact the homeowner Mr. ******** 1 day prior to heading out to advise of specific day and approx. time of arrival".

I did not hear anything from the company so decided to call and inquire with them on October 8th. I spoke on the telephone with ****** at their main office in Cambridge who advised that she will have ******* ******* call me back with a time for the work to be completed. I received a call on Friday October 10th from ******* who stated that the work will be completed "either Tuesday afternoon or Wednesday morning". It is now Wednesday afternoon and the work has not be completed and I have not heard anything from the company.

I would appreciate if you can follow up with the company as I am anxious to rectify this matter as soon as possible.

Sincerely,
**** ********



Business Response
CFJ Paving apologizes for any inconvenience it has cause. CFJ is running behind schedule (short staffed and the weather has not helped the last one and half weeks(rain). ******* will have the repair completed by the end of this month Oct,31/2014.

Thank you
CFJ Paving


Business Response
Oct, 27th/2014

Please be advised that repair has been completed with customer satisfaction.

Thank you
CFJ Paving.

06/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
CFJ Paving was to excavate my driveway & patio and fill in with compacted A gravel. They did not excavate, nor compacted the driveway/patio.
CFJ Paving was to: Excavate 12 inch depth on the old driveway gravel base (1500SqFT), and replace it with 10" of Gravel A compacted at 97% ; Excavate 6" and supply and install 4" of A gravel and 2" of Stone dust over 900 SqFt (Old parking lot that would be transformed into a patio).

When I drove home, the driveway & patio area looked mint for 2 days, and then started significantly sagging. After consulting with experts, this should not happen unless: the gravel is not compacted enough, or there is Clay underneath the base.

After drilling sample holes, we noticed the gravel was not compacted at all, and discovered Clay at 6 and 7 inches (meaning CFJ cannot have dug below 6 inches), and materials coming from the home renovations, such as black shingles (new black roof in 2012), bricks and other waste, at 1 and 2 inches deep.
After talking with ******** (the sales person at CFJ paving), after first advertising it was brand new gravel, he finally admitted verbally that they "re-used" my gravel base.

Talking with experts, upon discovering Clay, the clay should have been removed, and the gravel should have been compacted at 3 inch intervals. As CFJ was on site for less than 6 hours, and according to a witness, there were only two people onsite, it is not possible to escavate 12 inches, and compact the gravel base on 1500 sqft in that time frame.
Besides, the gravel still contains the waste from the house at the same depth. Meaning it has never been replaced. All CFJ Paving did, is flatting out the driveway, and drop a tenth of an inch of stone dust to give the illusion that the driveway/patio had a new gravel base.

I talked with ******** about this, and requested to have the job done in order to be paid, as well as that I would have to witness the excavation depth and the compacting. He claimed such a work would be much more expensive than what he quoted me (although the depth and compaction was written on the quote!).He took 48 hours to think about it my request, and refused. He sent me the full bill to be paid.
No payment or deposit have been done at this time, but CFJ is charging me $6,500. The "work" happened around May 14th. I did not see an account number, however my address is *************, in Kitchener.

Desired Settlement
I would like either: CFJ to do the work properly, and that me or an inspector witness the work being done, measure the depth, and the compaction for each layers, or that I do not have to owe anything to CFJ, as they did not do the work that was quoted.

Business Response

I want to start by advising B.B.B. that our company CFJ paving Ltd. has tried to clear up all of Mr. ******'s issues with no out come of a agreement between Mr. ****** and CFJ Paving Ltd.
We were contacted by Mr. ****** for a quote and following the quote Mr. ****** confirmed that he would like to proceed with the work.
CFJ Paving commenced the work as Mr. ****** followed our steps in regards to the work being done. I ******** of CFJ Paving after much tough I decided that our company would cancel any further work with Mr. ******. This is out of character for our company to make a final decision like that but Mr. ****** broke the rules to our contract.
From the beginning Mr. ****** had issues every step of the way as CFJ Paving was getting the work done, after too many complaints from Mr. ****** I ******** agreed to meet with him on site and go over all of his issues, concerns and questions. As we did the walk through all that Mr. ****** told me is that it was all done wrong, he had asked an expert to come by and have a look at the work and as much as I tried to explain things I felt that Mr. ****** had made his mind up on how he wanted things changed in opposite direction of what was quoted and agreed on. We could not come to a conclusion based on Mr. ******'s new job request's.
CFJ Paving has wasted time, material, labour costs, supplies and diesel with no deposit of 50% as requested from Mr. ****** as he denied/refused to do so.
We will take this job as a loss of $6,102.00 (quoted price that was agreed on) but we will no longer do any work for Mr. ******, we feel that we have tried and done our best to meet Mr. ******'s standards of satisfaction with no good outcome. When CFJ Paving quoted the work Mr. ****** did review it himself and was aware of step by step as stated on the quote, If extra work is requested there is an extra cost that applies.
We have cancelled out all of the remaining work so that Mr. ****** can hire one of his expertise to do at his request's. Thank you

Consumer Response
Good morning ***,

Thank you very much for your email and your help, it is much appreciated.
I am not happy with CFJ's answer, as they never did the work agreed on, and still say that they did the work:

"When CFJ Paving quoted the work Mr. ****** did review it himself and was aware of step by step as stated on the quote, If extra work is requested there is an extra cost that applies."

The quote was to excavate 12 inches in the current driveway, and to add 12 inches of new gravel, compacted at 97%. CFJ paving never excavated more than one inch (debris from the construction at 1 inch deep, clay at 7-8 inches), and the gravel was not compacted. CFJ's 2 people-crew was on site for less than 6 hours.

I since had other paving companies and excavators quoting me for the job, and they all told me it would be at least a two day job for them to excavate the driveway (first day), bring new gravel and compact it at 97% (second day). They quoted me the same price as CFJ's quote.

They warranty the work for one year only. I have asked CFJ paving to set the ashfalt on the base only at the end of the summer, which allowed me to realize that they did not do any of the work required (and quoted) in order to have a proper base. The base represents 80% of the work and the costs of the total work.

I am however satisfied not to have to pay CFJ. It is not fair to pay that much money, and to have the work to be done again.


Thank you again for your help ***. I wish you to have a great day,
Best regards
**** ******

08/26/2016Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Paving Contractors

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.