BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 31/10/2013

B & B Asphalt Sealer & Repairs

(905) 356-9435View Additional Phone Numbers6763 Glengary St, Niagara FallsON L2J 1L7 Send email to B & B Asphalt Sealer & Repairs

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

We do commercial, residential and industrial.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 31/10/2013

BBB has determined that B & B Asphalt Sealer & Repairs meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised B & B Asphalt Sealer & Repairs' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on B & B Asphalt Sealer & Repairs

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
12/12/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I called for a quote to repair the cracks in my driveway after a quote to seal it was dropped off. They called. I never booked. They did it anyways.
B&B Asphalt dropped off a random quote to seal my driveway as they did all houses on my street. I called to see if I could get a quote on them repairing the cracks as I seal my own driveway. They did call back to my house but I didn't have a chance to return the call to book them to come give me a quote to repair the cracks. While on vacation, they came to my house and sealed the driveway. We weren't even home. They left a generic handwritten bill in my mailbox. They didn't even have my name or nothing. I did NOT book this service. I did not sign anything either. ***** from B & B continued to call the house ********** us to pay. I spoke to him and his wife and said I wasn't paying. I called for a quote to repair the cracks. I did not call and book a driveway sealing. 3 months go by and he now is coming to my home demanding money. He spoke to my husband making him agree to pay PART of the $282 bill. He wants us to pay $150. He wants us to pay for something we never booked. He said he did this driveway for 29yrs. We are tenants who have been leaving here for 4 yrs. They have NEVER done our driveway or left me quotes. Nothing. He keeps ********** us and won't take no for an answer. When I came home from vacation and called them as I couldn't drive on my driveway as it was ropped off. I had to lug all our camping stuff in from the road. I called and said listen, you must've made a mistake and your guys did my driveway when maybe it should've been someone else's on the street. They said you called and left a message. I said yes for a quote on crack repair. I did not book any appointments or sign anything agreeing that this be done. I think they do people's driveways and then guilt them into paying for it as the service was performed.

Desired Settlement
I feel the company should leave me alone and not hound me or talk me down to get money out of me in guilt for a mistake they made. The company best start getting written consent or signed documents before they feel they can just seal a driveway. We did not book anything. I request him to stop bothering me and never stop here again leaving any kind of quotes. Stop calling my house. $150 before christmas is crazy. I am not saying they didn't do a good job. But I did NOT book it. I did not sign consent.

Business Response
******** ******'s husband called to have the driveway sealed. I never spoke to her until after the drives was sealed. When I spoke to him we made a verbal agreement on price for $250.00 + HST. Total $282.50. She called after she got back from vacation and said she never booked driveway to be done. That was the first time I spoke to her since it was her husband who called to have the driveway sealed. 90% of my residential work is done by verbal agreement. After the driveway was done she called and left a message. I called her back. This was the only time I spoke to her on the phone. I checked my records and it showed **** ****** had called to have the driveway sealed.
I went to her house Nov. 15spoke to husband **** we agreed he would pay 150.00 also he liked the job we did on his driveway. He told me to come back following week. I went back the next Sunday Nov. 23 ******** answered door, Said he was at ******** **** with her son, he would be back in 20 minutes. I told her I would come back in half an hour. I was going to *** ********* for coffee. Her husband **** showed up there at "*** ********* to pay. He said Thanks did a good job.
I was shocked to see his letter of complaint to the BBB. I never hounded or ********* anyone. no money was ever demanded. I was nice enough to give her the benefit of the doubt. I agreed to pay half. I will not change the way I do business to please one person. All my costumers are please the way I do my business. I will not have anymore contact with her in the future. This is the only complaint filed with the BBB in 29 years. My record speaks for itself. I am sorry she feels this way. I am glad she said we did a good job.

Your Truly,
******* *******

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
There is NO doubt or question that they did an amazing job. Their work is amazing. Maybe it would be best to confirm bookings and jobs with the client before going ahead with what someone would feel is a QUOTE. **** called and spoke to the wife...not ***** initially and said he got a quote on sealing the driveway and would like a quote on getting cracks filled. She booked it as a job. Her error. Not once prior to the driveway being done did anyone call and confirm a booking, a date, or the job being wanted. None the less, like I said...they work is truly amazing. There's no question on the job they did. It was all about the booking.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Paving Contractors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 12/08/2011Business started: 01/06/1985
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: May 1999, ON

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Vincent Bagnulo (Owner)
Business Category

Paving Contractors

Products & Services

Oil base sealer
Hot rubberised crack repairs
Hot asphalt patching
Lines & markings & layouts
Raises Catch Basins

Free estimates!

Service Area

Niagara Region

Alternate Business Names
1340338 Ontario Inc

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for B & B Asphalt Sealer & Repairs

6763 Glengary St

Niagara Falls, ON L2J 1L7

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 6763 Glengary St 

    Niagara Falls, ON L2J 1L7(905) 356-9435
    (905) 371-6990

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in BBB Central Ontario. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*B & B Asphalt Sealer & Repairs is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (905) 371-6990
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on January 21, 2014.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Paving Contractors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.