BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Staples, Inc. (Canada)

Find a Location

Phone: (888) 723-3444Fax: (866) 830-7178View Additional Phone Numbers6 Staples Ave, Richmond HillON L4B 4W3http://www.staples.ca

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Staples, Inc. (Canada) is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Staples, Inc. (Canada)'s rating include:

  • 4 complaints filed against business that were not resolved.

Factors that raised Staples, Inc. (Canada)'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 89 complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

89 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 17 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues32
Billing / Collection Issues3
Delivery Issues7
Guarantee / Warranty Issues6
Problems with Product / Service41
Total Closed Complaints 89

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Staples, Inc. (Canada)

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (89)BBB Closure Definitions
03/03/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I bought an office chair with an extended service plan back in 2014 from staples that required service and repair. t the time I purchased the chair and extended plan I was told to just come back to the store and they will either fix the chair or replace it on the spot. On Feb. 23 2015 at 3pm I went tot he store with the chair to get it repaired or replaced. I was told at the store that I have to call in a claim and talk to the service department. I called the service department at the store and spoke to a woman named ***** who told me they will have to get a tech to call me back within 48 hours to schedule a home visit to repair the chair. On Feb 25 2015 at 3:30pm I called in tot he service department to find out why I have not been called yet to schedule a time for a repair. I spoke to a woman named **** who told e it takes 48 to 72 business hours for a call back and that I will have to wait 2 more days for a call back. I told her that was not what I was told and that I work during the day the next two days and will not be able to pick the phone. She said that was their procedure and there was nothing she could do and was unwilling to do anything to assist in resolving the issues I have with the service and lack of repair and replacement which I was promised when I paid for the plan.

Desired Settlement
Complete replacement of my chair without any hassle due to the unacceptable service and time frame for scheduling a tech and being given the wrong information.

Business Response
We have been in touch with our customer and have come to a resolution. We have offered a gift card for the cost of the chair and this offer has been accepted by the customer.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


11/04/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
SStaples advertised on their website that a 27in ** computer monitor (**************) came with a 3-year limited warranty (Parts/Labour/Backlight). I chose to buy this product over a competitor's similar product (which only had a 1 year warranty)based on the claim of a 3 year warranty. I purchased it on Oct. 16/14. When I got the product home and opened it, it was apparent that there was only a 1 year warranty on it. I returned to the store on Oct. 20/14 and spoke to the General Manager, He informed me that it was a mistake on the website and that he would arrange to have it fixed. He also said that he would not honour the warranty as advertised on my purchase.

Desired Settlement
I would simply ask that the company honour the warranty as advertised and give me a 3 year warranty on the product. That was the only reason why I purchased from them in the first place. Thanks

Business Response
I have spoken to the customer directly and Staples will cover the additional 2 year warranty. Customer will be attending the store in the next few days to pick up the warranty paperwork and registration form.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
The company is honouring the 3 year warranty as advertised and as I had requested. Thank you Staples and thank you BBB.

11/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
OCtober 3 2014 I ordered and paid for online an external hard drive.I cancelled the order a day later using the email link. I have since contacted Staples twice and they have failed to return my money.

Desired Settlement
I want an immediate return of my money and an apology from Staples.

Business Response
We had received an email from the customer regarding this situation and the refund was processed on Oct 17th, 2014 for $74.29, customer was advised that it may take up to 10 days to reflect on the credit card and to advise us if it does not appear in 10 days. Staples Canada has also processed a further credit for $15.00 today as a customer service gesture for the inconvenience. Again, please allow 10 days for this to reflect on the account.

10/07/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have contacted them several times to inquire about refund of items never delivered.
$110.62 is outstanding balance that they have refused to refund to my ****.

Desired Settlement
My money back and then no further contact.

Business Response

The customer has been contacted and the refund has been processed for $110.62 plus an additional $50.00 credit as a customer service gesture. Please allow up to 10 days for the credit to reflect on your account.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
The refund was posted to my **** October 2, 2014. File closed. Thank you very much as this would not have happened without the BBB. I contacted Staples on numerous occasions and nothing happened.

10/06/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchased tablet on 05/16/14 at staples.ca paid by ********** w/extended warranty cost was $127.24 Started having charger issues about 3 weeks ago. Contacted Staples who told me to contact manufacturer. Returned tablet and manufacturer is sending me a replacement. I contacted Staples yesterday and here is their response. The warranty would not apply to the replacement. You would need to purchase a separate warranty for any additional items purchased.

To me it does not seem fair that I paid 19.99 extended warranty on an item that was less than 3 months old and now when I get the replacement I have to again pay for another extended warranty instead of transferring that warranty to the new tablet.

Desired Settlement
Under the circumstances, since Staples sold a defective product and would not do the exchange through one of their stores, I would like the $23.28 it cost me to send the tablet back as well as the $19.99 they charged me for the extended warranty I was unable to transfer to the new tablet.

Business Response
Staples Canada has given a refund on September 5, 2014 in the amount of $19.00 for the cost of the warranty, this credit will be reflected on the credit card to which the orginal purchase was made within a few days. Staples Canada would also like to offer a further credit of $23.28 for the cost of the shipping.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I accept their offer but an apology would be nice as well. If I had not gone to the BBB Staples would have pocketed my 19.99 and not had to provide a service.

Consumer Response
As per the agreement I accepted from Staples Canada, they stated they would reimburse me for the extended warranty as well as the 23.28 it cost me to send the defective tablet. The extended warranty cost has been credited to my Staples card but I have yet to receive the agreed upon shipping cost of $23.28

Business Response
Staples Canada has processed the refund/credit to the credit card on Sept 11, 2014 at 9:45am EST in the amount of $23.98. The refund/credit will take 3-10 days to reflect on your account, please feel free to contact us directly if you do not see this refund/credit by Sept 25th at 1-************.
We apologize for the delay and any inconvenience that this may have caused.

Page 1 of 15
01/08/2014Delivery Issues
01/02/2014Problems with Product / Service
12/09/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues
11/29/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues
07/21/2014Problems with Product / Service
10/21/2013Problems with Product / Service
03/25/2013Problems with Product / Service
02/06/2013Advertising / Sales Issues
01/03/2013Advertising / Sales Issues
Page 1 of 3

Industry Comparison| Chart

Office Supplies, Internet Services, Department Stores

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 17/12/2001Business started: 15/10/1991
Business Category

Office Supplies, Internet Services, Department Stores

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Staples, Inc. (Canada)

6 Staples Ave

Richmond Hill, ON L4B 4W3

To | From

Find a LocationX
Or, display all locations
Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Mid-Western and Central Ontario. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Staples, Inc. (Canada) is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (905) 737-1147
  • (866) 782-7537
  • (519) 622-5280
  • (519) 888-1716
  • (519) 372-2228
  • (705) 329-3074
  • (705) 733-3329
  • (905) 882-6995
  • (905) 789-5799
  • (416) 620-5674
  • (705) 445-0505

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (519) 622-8515
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on January 21, 2014.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Office Supplies

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.