BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 14/12/2001

Swan Moving and Storage Inc

Phone: (519) 821-6683Fax: (519) 821-2824

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints3

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
09/02/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
SERVICES OF THREE MOVERS WERE PAID FOR, HOWEVER ONLY TWO MOVERS DID THE WORK RESULTING IN MAJOR OVERCHARGED FOR SERVICES PROVIDED!
Here is a copy of the letter we sent on January 12, 2015


Swan Moving,
15 Petrolia Street,
Guelph, ON
N1H 2V8

ATTENTION; **** ****

Dear Mr. ****:

We used your moving services on Friday October 31st to move from ADDRESS A TO ADDRESS B, also in Guelph.

Circumstances beyond our control have caused a need for us to move three times in the past two years. The first two times we used **** *** *****.
We asked around and SWAN MOVING was suggested to us a few times, so we went with you folks this time.

We felt the need to give you some feedback.

We were told we would have 3 movers and one truck. Two of the movers did virtually all of the work. The truck loading was not planned out properly. Everything was pointed out at the beginning of the process, however, the fellow in charge did not allow proper room for the boxes /items in our garage. These boxes ended up getting loaded last minute on a different area of the truck. My husband commented that he was glad I was not present to witness the way they were loaded.

Everything got to our new place and unloaded, again, mostly by two of the movers. My husband was in the basement the entire time taking boxes and items from the two movers and placing them in the appropriate spots - we realize the movers would have done this for us - but at this point, we wanted to possibly save some time and money.

The bill - WOW!!

As I mentioned, this was our third move of the exact same goods in a 2 year period. Here is a comparison:

October 11, 2012 - moved from Hespeler to Guelph, **** *** *****, 3 men and a truck, $140 per hour plus a $35 fuel fee, TOTAL $672.35





On May 16, 2014, we moved fromxxxx Street in Guelph to xxx Road and used **** *** ****** We moved exactly the same goods. Again, three men and a truck at $140 per hour. Total Bill $711.90

Friday October 31st, 2014, only 6 months late= - Your bill, for the EXACT same truck of goods, moving approximately the same distance was $932.25 - THAT'S 31% MORE!!! WOW!!

This letter is not meant to point fingers or to get any employee in trouble. We felt compelled to let you know that our experience with SWAN MOVING was not a good one at all. Very disappointing when SWAN came so highly recommended to us. We feel we paid for three able bodied experienced movers, and turns out we got the services of only two movers and a less experienced load planner. The truck planning and organizing slowed the process considerably. Our bill was substantially higher, and we did not receive the best service.


We hope this information/feedback will be of some value to you


Best Regards,

*** and **** *****

OK, so the response from **** ****.. Comparing our move to a Toronto Montreal Hockey game!?!?!? He did some number crunching, but did NOT address that fact that one mover was not able to do the job, yet we paid for it.


Thank you for your comments and letter of January 12, 2015. It is good to measure our performance against the competition. Please remember as far as competition is concerned that some nights the Toronto Maple Leafs win and some nights the Montreal Canadians win.

I noticed that the May 16, 2014 bill with **** *** ***** was a 41/2 hours and that our bill on October 31st 2014 was 5 ½ hours. This is a difference of 1 hour. If you divide 1 hour by 4 ½ hours that our service took 22% longer than our competition to do a similar job. Movers charge more on month end dates. Our rate for October 31, 2014 was $150 hourly. Our mid month rate for a May 16 date was $140.00 hourly. This month end premium added an additional $55 to your bill total. 5 ½ hours to move a house seems a reasonable timeframe. Every day, every job is a different moving situation. I am sorry that we failed to satisfy your expectations, but thank you for your business of October 31, 2014 and your recent comments of January 12. I wish you the very best in your new home.

Desired Settlement
We are seeking a partial refund of $200.00

Business Response
We have no record of a client by this name in the months of June, July or August 2015..Nor has this or any client made this complaint known to us to seek remedy..What date does this person claim to have been moved on??? **** ****...owner
operator Swan Moving & Storage

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)

Here is the letter I forwarded the BBB with the moving dates in question.

Please advise if you need me to re-forward Mr. ****'s response letter dated dated January 19, 2015.


Swan Moving,
15 Petrolia Street,
Guelph, ON
N1H 2V8

ATTENTION; **** ****

Dear Mr. ****:

We used your moving services on Friday October 31st to move from XXXX to xxxx, also in Guelph.

Circumstances beyond our control have caused a need for us to move three times in the past two years. The first two times we used **** *** *****.
We asked around and SWAN MOVING was suggested to us a few times, so we went with you folks this time.

We felt the need to give you some feedback.

We were told we would have 3 movers and one truck. Two of the movers did virtually all of the work. The truck loading was not planned out properly. Everything was pointed out at the beginning of the process, however, the fellow in charge did not allow proper room for the boxes /items in our garage. These boxes ended up getting loaded last minute on a different area of the truck. My husband commented that he was glad I was not present to witness the way they were loaded.

Everything got to our new place and unloaded, again, mostly by two of the movers. My husband was in the basement the entire time taking boxes and items from the two movers and placing them in the appropriate spots - we realize the movers would have done this for us - but at this point, we wanted to possibly save some time and money.

The bill - WOW!!

As I mentioned, this was our third move of the exact same goods in a 2 year period. Here is a comparison:

October 11, 2012 - moved from Hespeler to Guelph, **** *** *****, 3 men and a truck, $140 per hour plus a $35 fuel fee, TOTAL $672.35





On May 16, 2014, we moved from ***** Street in Guelph to ******** Road and used **** *** *****. We moved exactly the same goods. Again, three men and a truck at $140 per hour. Total Bill $711.90

Friday October 31st, 2014, only 6 months late= - Your bill, for the EXACT same truck of goods, moving approximately the same distance was $932.25 - THAT'S 31% MORE!!! WOW!!

This letter is not meant to point fingers or to get any employee in trouble. We felt compelled to let you know that our experience with SWAN MOVING was not a good one at all. Very disappointing when SWAN came so highly recommended to us. We feel we paid for three able bodied experienced movers, and turns out we got the services of only two movers and a less experienced load planner. The truck planning and organizing slowed the process considerably. Our bill was substantially higher, and we did not receive the best service.


We hope this information/feedback will be of some value to you.




Best Regards,


*** and **** *****

Final Business Response
Our Oct 7, 2014 estimate of service emailed to this client was for 5-6 hours worth of service at $150 per hour to equal $750-$900 plus HST. On Oct 31, 2014 we completed this job in 5 1/2 hours for a total of $825.00 plus HST. Client now complains her previous mover completed a similar job in 4 1/2 hours and asks for a refund despite the fact we competed her Oct 31st job in less time than our written estimate. To move an entire house in 5 1/2 hours is a very reasonable time frame. It is our opinion this client received good service as promised, however there is 2 sides to every story. We offer a $100 refund and hope this will satisfy client and put this matter to rest.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

07/09/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
****, ************** movers on site 06/24/14. Damage to furniture and property. Overcharged for the service.
Swan Movers were hired to move me on 05/27/14 from my old address. All items were being moved into storage, and removed and moved to my new address on 06/24/14.
The first part of the move went smoothly, with no complications. I was billed 1 hour from Guelph to Cambridge, 2 hours to load the truck, 1 hour back to Guelph, and 2 hours to unload. A total of 6 hours were billed on the first half of the move.
The second part of the move to take place on 06/24/14 required the movers to remove all items from storage and put on the truck, drive from Guelph to Cambridge, unload and then back to Guelph. Based on the initial move I had anticipated a load time of approx. 2 hours, 1 hour drive from Guelph to Cambridge, then approx. 2.5 hours to unload, and 1 hour back to Guelph. For a total of 6.5 hours on the second part of the move. In the end, the movers indicated it took approx. 3 hours to load into the truck, drive to Cambridge from Guelph, 2 hours to unload and 1 hour back to Guelph. Total bill of 7 hours. When I questioned the driver (employee in charge of the job and all documents/billing) he started to indicate that on the first job (initial move) they did not take a lunch or break, and that I was billed incorrectly. The first job is irrelevant of this second job in my opinion as I paid in full on 05/27/14 per our agreement.

In the process of the move, my electric fireplace was damaged, front door stop damaged, basement door not put back on it's hinges, along with several scratches on various walls.

Moreover, the movers were repeatedly standing on the truck smoking during the move - which I was also paying for.

I spoke with the owner of Swan Moving on 06/25/14. He indicated that the guys are entitled to breaks (in reference to the smoking) and that I had a lot of furniture and that is why it took so long to load. I immediately brought up the fact that it only took 2 hours to load, and 2 hours to unload the first time around - why so long this time. Again I got told, "you had a full truck of stuff." In the end he did offer to either a) discount my bill by $65 or b)send out a furniture repair guy in lieu of a discount to repair my fireplace.
The fireplace is worth much more, and is visibly missing a piece at the side, and I now need to have the front door stop replaced and repaired. I also had to have someone come in to put the door back on the hinges after they left the door laying in the bathroom.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking more than a $65 discount for the service provided on 06/24/14.

I am seeking compensation for the damages caused to my furniture and home as a result of Swan Moving & Storage.

Please note I am not interested in any contractor and/or employee of Swan Moving into my home to fix the furniture.

Business Response
Client questions time charged for redelivery of storage unit contents. On May 27, 2014 client was billed 6 hours for pickup and delivery to our Guelph storage warehouse. On June 24, 2014 client was billed for 7 hours for redelivery of storage contents from our warehouse to her new home. The additional 1 hour charge was absolutely legitimate. The job went 1 hour extra because her new address was further away. Traffic was congested on local roads because the 401 was closed due to an accident. The delivery of some goods to basement was a difficult tight fit. Client's anticipation of job length was 6 1/2 hours. We billed an honest 7 hours. We will refund this 1/2 hr between actual charges and clients anticipation.
Client complains of mark to fireplace. We did offer and now offer again to send a repair professional to repair this mark. *** of ***'s in home furniture repair is a master craftsman and very capable of this repair. If client will not accept our repair person we will refund to her as per our legal and her singed acknowledgement of liability of 60 cents per pound for a 100 lb fireplace equals $60.00
Client was fine with service received and our manpower until the 7 hour bill was presented. Client paid then hustled the men out of the house, locked the door behind them so that the men were unable to replace a door on to its hinges.


Thank You


**** ****
Owner /Operator

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

04/15/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
**** Movers and Storage Inc. broke my Dinner Set plates & cups, Computer Desk, Wooden Foot On & wheel of my TV Cart. They have not paid my full loss.
For my home moving from Hamilton, Ontario, I used the services of BBB member, **** Moving & Storage. They picked my stuff from Hamilton in August 2013 and moved to the Warehouse in Guelph. I paid all moving expenses and warehouse cost from August 2013 to February 2014. When I got my new home in Kitchener, I contacted with them to move my home stuff to my new place in Kitchener. **** movers brought my stuff on February 14, 2014, at ** ***** Ave, Kitchener, Ontario.
I noticed that they have broken my,
* Dinner set plates & cups
* Computer Desk
* Wooden Foot On
* Wheel of my TV Cart
When I contacted with the owner **** ****, he advised me to pay the current moving cost to the driver and he will send a person to evaluate my loss and pay for that. I paid the moving cost $791.00 to the truck driver. After couple of days I received a call from Mr. **** and he said that my stuff was not covered under insurance and he is willing to pay $50.
I requested him that my loss is greater than $800 and $50 dollar is nothing. That is **** Movers responsibility to deliver my stuff safe and sound. I was in my office and not have time to make arguments with Mr.***** ****. He finally paid to my credit card only $100.

Desired Settlement
My request to BBB is that help me to get at least my loss which is more than $800. I have all supporting documents which I can provide whenever they require.

I will be also happy if Mover can replace my damaged stuff.

Business Response
Better Business Bureau
354 Charles St. W
Kitchener, ON
RE CASE: XXXXXXX


We tried our best to work with this client and thought we had reached a settlement with him in late Feb 2014. He lists 3 damaged items.
Item 1:
Broken dinner set plates and cups. There is no insurance on the contents of client packed boxes as movers have no control on the quality of packing inside a closed box. We handled this box carefully. Things broken inside, no insurance.
Item 2:
Computer desk - This desk was old, made of pressboard and no longer structurally sound.
Item 3:
Wooden foot and wheel on TV cart. We have already refunded $100 to client for this damage.
As per the Highway Traffic Act, and identified as Option B on our Declared Value Protection Form and signed by this client our legal liability is set at 60 cents per pound. If the box of broken dishes weighed 30 lbs and the computer desk weighed 100 lbs. Then our liability in this claim is 130 lbs x $0.60 per pound equals $78. We have already refunded $100 to client re: item 3.
All furniture in this shipment was old and in ill repair. Still it is important to the client. To settle this account we will refund to our client our legal liability as per the Highway Traffic Act of $78 plus an additional $50 towards goodwill and clients inconvenience. We hope this is satisfactory to this client and wish him well in his new location.


Thank you
**** ****

Supporting documentation attached.

Consumer Response
Hi ***,
Thank you for your e-mail.

Approximate loss of my belongings is $800. Only, the price of my Wooden foot is $750.

Swan movers has paid to me $100. their resolution is unfair and unsatisfactory. They need to pay $700 more to compensate my loss.

Best Regards,

******** ****** ****** M.Sc., B.Sc. & P.G.D.


Final Business Response
Please note this client once accepted our refund of $100.00 as settlement in full for damage to leg of TV cart. He is still concerned with this damage.

Does the client have all of the broken pieces of T.V cart leg? If so we are willing to dispatch a professional repair person to fix this leg. Once leg is repaired this will be the end of the claim.



Thank you

**** ****

Swan Moving and Storage


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Dear **** ****,
You have paid to me $100. I replaced the broken (which your company did) Wooden foot for the price of $700.

Yes, I have every broken thing at home. Please if you send a person to fix my TV Trolley, Computer Table and replace the damaged Dinner Set, it will be great. What I want the repair, replacement or cost of my damage.

I shall be very thankful for your cooperation & help.

Regards,

******** ** ******

Consumer Response
The consumer indicated they have come to an agreement and his credit card has been refunded.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Moving & Storage Company, Movers

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.