BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 13/08/2001

Rockbrune Brothers Limited

Phone: (905) 683-4321Fax: (905) 683-3972

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints2

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
10/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Overcharge of 2-1/2 hrs. on 4 hr. minimum moving services for a move-out and carry-over move-in over a 2 day period.
Dear Mr. *********:

My husband and I used your Company's services to move out of our old premises on Friday, August 29, 2014 and move in on Tuesday, September 2, 2014. This move over two days was as a result of us being tenants who had to vacate before August 31, 2014 and due to Labour Day weekend and the fact that your Company was not able to work August 31st or Labour Day, September 1st, we moved in on September 2, 2014. When ***** ********* came to our old premises to provide an estimate of the move, it was decided that we should move on the Friday, August 29 (4 hour minimum) and opposed to Saturday, August 30th (a 7 hour minimum) and on the understanding that it was a carry-over move because we could not get into the new premises any sooner than September 2nd. We fully understood the $250.00 storage fee for those days.

We sent ***** ********* an email on July 25, 2014 (shown below) asking about when payment was to be made (move-out day or move-in day) and asked about the 4 hour minimum. ***** responded that he added 2 more mirror/picture boxes, but ignored our query about the 4 hour minimum so we assumed we were correct in our understanding. However, such was apparently not the case on move-in day.

My husband and I found out on move-in day, after all our possessions were in the new premises, that we were required to pay a 4 hour minimum on both August 29th and September 2nd. We were very upset, called ***** who told us "I know I told you about the 4 hour minimum for both days." We beg to differ as he did not. We only talked about 4 hour minimum for Friday and 7 hour minimum for a Saturday move.

We had gone to the Bank to get $1500.00 which I felt was more than adequate to cover the move and storage as we only used 3.5 hours on August 29th (which would be bumped up to 4 hours minimum). The move-in took approximately 2 hours and up to 1/2 hour would be added on to get the truck back to the depot. We should have paid for approximately 6-1/2 hours only plus storage and taxes ($1,351.75). Then deduct the $100.00 deposit off $1,351.75 and we should have paid the movers $1,251.75. After ***** got in touch with you, you advised ***** to accept the $1,500.00 cash we had on us and forget the balance of $87.09. We paid it with reluctance.

The movers told me that the Bill of Lading (Order #XXXX-XXXXXXX) noted "***4 hour minimum *** each day". However, no where on our Estimated Cost of Service does it mention 4 hour minimum each day. On the Confirmation Letter dated July 2, 2014 from ***** ********** it also states that we will be invoiced for the actual amount of time it takes *********/United to fulfill our commitment to you with a four-hour minimum." This confirmation also goes on to state the "three full-time, experienced movers at a rate of $150.00 per hour with a four-hour minimum". Copies of these three documents, Bill of Lading, Estimated Cost of Service and Confirmation Letter are attached for your reference.

If ***** ********* estimated it would take a total of 7 hours for our move on both dates, and he supposedly knew about the 4 hour minimum of EACH day, why did he not put 8 hours on the estimate and explain this.

In short, this is the seventh time we have used your Company and this is the first time we have every had a problem. We have never complained as every other move has been very efficient and must have been because we kept booking your services. We are grateful that you waived the $87.09 off the Bill of Lading, but we do feel that we are entitled to a further refund of $248.25 ($1,500.00 paid minus $1,251.75 the actual cost of the 2 day move and deposit).

We look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,

***** and ******* ******


Desired Settlement
We are grateful that you waived the $87.09 off the Bill of Lading, but we do feel that we are entitled to a further refund of $248.25 ($1,500.00 paid minus $1,251.75 the actual cost of the 2 day move and deposit).

Previous emails and responses:



Jul 25

Further to my voicemail of today, this is to confirm that we will need an additional two mirror boxes (a total of 4) for our large pictures.

Also, what day do we pay - move out day - Friday August 29th or move-in day, Tuesday September 4, 2014? I would imagine the movers will keep track of the hours it takes to pack up on the Friday (say 2.5 hrs) and this will be added to Tuesday's move-in date hours to accommodate the 4 hours minimum.

Thanks for your time.

*****


*****'s response to above email:



Jul 25

Hi *****,

I have added two more p/m boxes for you.

Payment will be due on the Tuesday once everything is inside your new home.

Have a great weekend!

*****

Business Response
This customer was NOT overcharged. We have a 4 hour minimum per day on our moves. We pay our crews a 4 hour minimum per day. In our confirmation letter that we send to the customer prior to the move it states we have a 4 hour minimum. The customer was only charged 4 hours to load on one day and 4 hours to deliver the next. We did respond to the shipper . This is the letter we sent to the shipper:


Rockbrune Brothers Ltd.
Toronto XXX XXX-XXXX Movers since 1931
Oshawa XXX XXX-XXXX XXX ****** Avenue
Ajax XXX XXX-XXXX Ajax, Ontario
Fax XXX XXX-XXXX *** ***
XXX XXX-XXXX
****@*********.on.ca
www.*********.on.ca

Ms. L. ******
**** ******** Ave
Oshawa ON

Dear Ms. ******,

We are on receipt of your email and would like to say thank you for choosing Rockbrune Brothers Ltd for all of yours move and can understand you questioning the charges.

Due to the fact that we pay our crews a 4 hour minimum per pay to work for us we must therefore charge our customers a 4 hour minimum per day.

We presume ***** estimated how many hours he expected your move to take so he could give you a ball park quote. He could have said 8 hours but for some reason did not.

As a side bar our Company is extremely busy the last few days of the month and usually charge an 8 hour minimum per day. We presume ***** recognized your past moving history with Rockbrune Brothers Ltd and got permission from the Management to reduce the minimum per day charge to 4 hours.

We apologize that we cannot refund you the money but we are willing as a goodwill gesture to write off the outstanding balance of $87.09.

Again thank you for choosing Rockbrune Brothers Ltd for your move.

Regards,




******* *********
President
Rockbrune Brothers Ltd

Consumer Response
Dear Ms. ******:


Rockbrune Brothers' response is not satisfactory to us.


Rockbrune Brothers is only presuming what their consultant's (***** *********) part was on the quote for the move.


Rockbrune Brothers is only presuming that ***** got permission from Management for a 4 hour minimum move due to the number of times we had used their Company for in the past. ***** ********* knew exactly when we were moving out (August 29th) and moving in (September 2nd) and never once mentioned that because this time was at the end of a month and the beginning of the next month that the minimum was going to be 8 hours or 8 hours per day. ***** ********* only advised that it would be best for us to move out on Friday, August 29th which would mean a minimum of 4 hours for that day as Saturday, August 30th would mean a 7 hour minimum for a Saturday move. ***** ********* also advised of the $250.00 storage fee which we fully understood and are not disputing. We had to vacate our existing rental premises before September 1, 2014 and could not move in before September 2, 2014 as the existing tenant in the new premises was still there and it was also Labour Day weekend and the moving crews did not work on Sunday, August 31, 2014 or Monday, September 1, 2014.


***** ********* never once mentioned due to the end of a month move was there a minimum of 8 hours per day. Rockbrune Brothers' response of September 9, 2014, the Estimated Cost of Service of July 2, 2014 and the Confirmation Letter of July 2, 2014 all fail to mention 4 hours per day minimum. Yet, Rockbrune Brothers stated 4 hour minimum each day on the Bill of Lading which was presented to us after all of our possessions were moved into the new premises. We had no knowledge of a 4 hour per day minimum until all of our possessions were moved into the new premises. This discrepancy is very misleading and we are the innocent parties here. We would not be in this position of disputing this overpayment if Rockbrune Brothers through their consultant, ***** ********** had been upfront in the first place when he came to our prior residence on July 2, 2014 to give an estimate of the cost of the move and confirmed those upfront details in his Confirmation Letter of July 2, 2014.


It baffles us that Rockbrune Brothers' response to us of September 9, 2014 states "As a side bar our Company is extremely busy the last few days of the month and usually charge an 8 hour minimum per day. We presume ***** recognized your past moving history with Rockbrune Brothers Ltd and got permission from the Management to reduce the minimum per day charge to 4 hours." Did they not inform their consultant, ***** *********, of this 8 hour per day minimum for the end of the month moves? As stated above, ***** ********* only mentioned 4 hours minimum for Friday moves and 7 hours minimum for Saturday moves - never once "per day" or "8 hours minimum per day". From what we understand from ***** *********, the period June 1st to September 1st in any given year is the busiest time for Rockbrune Brothers and their hourly rate is $150.00 for three men and a truck and during this busiest time, the senior discount mentioned on their website does not apply.

This dispute involves the missing words "4 hour minimum per day" from the Estimated Cost of Service and the Confirmation Letter, both dated July 2, 2014. We booked this move with ***** ********* on July 2, 2014 on the basis of a 4 hour minimum for the two-day carry-over move on Friday, August 29, 2014 and the move-in on September 2, 2014. This dispute also involves the fact that we have been overcharged $248.25.

We look forward to receiving the overcharge of $248.25 promptly. We have acted in good faith and under the terms of the contract provided to us, now Rockbrune Brothers must do the same.

Thank you for your assistance in this matter.

Sincerely,

******* and ***** ******

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Rockbrune Brothers has not proposed any resolution to this complaint in its September 30, 2014 response. In fact, Rockbrune Brothers has done nothing but relied upon its **** of Lading only which was initialed by ***** ****** on Load Day (August 29, 2014 as to time only) and totally ignored its Estimated Cost of Service and Confirmation Letter, which are both vital documents to this entire transaction as this is what we based our move on and the fact that we have used Rockbrune Brothers on six other occasions.

On August 29, 2014 (load day), ***** ****** initialled for the time of 3.5 hours only and DID NOT SIGN this Bill of Lading. The Bill of Lading was signed by "*. ******" on the delivery date of September 2, 2014. If ***** ****** had signed on August 29, 2014 AND September 2, 2014, her signature would have shown TWICE.

We will reiterate that we are relying on our previous discussion with ***** ********* on July 2, 2014 when we booked this move who estimated a total 7 hour move for move-out date of August 29, 2014 and move-in date of September 2, 2014 and also stated a Friday move is 4 hours minimum and a Saturday move was 7 hours minimum. We opted for a Friday move (August 29th).

We are relying upon the Estimated Cost of Service dated July 2, 2014 which states a 7 hour move at $150.00 per hour with a $250.00 storage fee and DOES NOT state 4 hour minimum per day.

We are also relying on the Confirmation Letter dated July 2, 2014, which states "3 fulltime, experienced movers at a rate of $150.00 per hour with a four-hour minimum".

After the truck was unloaded on delivery day (September 2, 2014) and the movers presented the Bill of Lading and advised that we were paying for a 4 hour minimum EACH DAY,

In the event Rockbrune Brothers is not going to refund to us the $248.25, we would like to have this matter heard before an Arbitrator at the Better Business Bureau. Rockbrune Brothers has not fulfilled the terms of its Confirmation Letter nor its Estimated Cost of Service. The words "per day" are mossing from its Estimated Cost of Service and not only once, but twice, in the Commitment Letter.

Thank you once again for your indulgence.

Sincerely,

******* and ***** ******

Final Business Response
We feel we are correct in this matter and as a good **** gesture would like to donate the 1/4 hour discrepancy to the Heart and Stroke foundation or The Cancer Society in the shipper's name.


**** *********
Regards,

Co-Owner
Rockbrune Brothers Ltd

04/07/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My main concern was billing. To move from one side of Barrie to their storage facility on the other side of Barrie, I received a bill worth almost $1800.00I was charged 115.00/hr for 3 men and a van for 6.5 hours. However, an hour after they arrived, 2 or the 3 men and the van had to leave to go to another previously scheduled job for the majority of my billed costs. In essence I paid for the other customers move.Also, I was never once told of an almost $400.00 charge entrance fee to their own storage facility. There is also a miscellaneous $200.00 packing charge on my bill. This confuses me, as I was paying by the hour and the boxes they had to use (as I did not have enough) were previously used boxes.It was also quite a hassle trying to get a copy of my bill even though they never called to inform of when my payment would be coming out nor price. (I was made aware of this via my M/C)They are a few other concerns, but these are the most pertinent.
Product_Or_Service: Move and Storage
Order_Number: XXXX- XXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I would like my bill to reflect services rendered (especially not paying for another persons move!)at a fair and reasonable price. There is still a second part of a move required from their storage facility to Orillia. I cannot imagine using them to do this as trust is gone and the amount is astronomical! Very sketchy in their business practices.

Business Response
******
We are willing discuss the charges further. I wouldn't have any time on
the previous bill because the shipment the crew that ended up loading
your goods was loading, was for out of town and not charged by the hour.
The crew which ended up being sent at 1pm and a 4 men crew (only charged for 3 men)
to load was back at the yard by 5pm. We only charged for 4 hrs. which is the minimum and less than
the estimate **** had sent to *******.com instead of *******.ca., I really
wish you had made sure it was sent to you because it did explain warehouse
handling. Your credit card was not on file, but charged when you called it
in after the move and we emailed charges to the *******.com address
with no intention of misleading you. The confusion on the bill was the crew leaving
to allow the one packer to get caught up and prepare your goods better for storage.
When time cards were checked the invoicing department misinterpreted how the move
actually took place and charged from the first crew's arrival. I will further remove the
packing charge, although that will mean the gentleman's time, the packing paper and
tape will be free from his arrival in the morning. Again, I can't imagine the difficulty
in dealing with your father's passing and moving, but a lot of the issues could have
been avoided if you were able to be there more, provide a little more guidance and sign
off on the charges.
We are a family owned and operated business, our intention is never to mislead anyone,
we have been doing this for many years and recognize we don't make money by
ripping people off, but having satisfied customers.
I would greatly appreciate you revisiting your ******** discussions
on this matter as well, I really don't wish to air our issues in public like that when we
are working towards a resolution.
Your move to Orillia will be 3 men and a truck @ $115/hr. for an estimate of 5 hrs. plus
a $55 fuel surcharge. Because there is a whse handling fee already charged, we will
not charge you to have someone else come and take it from our warehouse. We will remove the $200 packing charge as well....
Kind regards,
*** ********* ***
Rockbrune Bros. Movers

Industry Comparison| Chart

Moving & Storage Company, Movers

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.