BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 26/06/2009

Blueline Moving and Storage (Ont) Inc

Phone: (416) 293-3244Fax: (416) 293-4379View Additional Phone Numbers706 - 1776 O'Connor Dr, North YorkON M4A 1W8 Send email to Blueline Moving and Storage (Ont) Inc

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 26/06/2009

BBB has determined that Blueline Moving and Storage (Ont) Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Blueline Moving and Storage (Ont) Inc's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Blueline Moving and Storage (Ont) Inc

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
01/12/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint

The employees of this company are not knowledgeable on how to move furniture with care. As a result of their lack of knowledge, my $9000 furniture had a lot of scratches on it, and when I called the owner (***) to look at the scratches, he said sorry this was done by your previous move, nothing we can do, and he left my place. Rather than him acknowledging that they had caused the damage he tried to put the blame on me, which had made me very very upset at how he was trying to get away by putting me in fault as opposed to him doing something about it. I immediately realized at that point that his company belongs to the category of those moving companies whereby clients would file a lot of complaints, and was not having a good feeling about their service at all.The employees of this company who were moving my furniture had a very unprofessional outlook and poor communication. They were very very slow at moving all the items. Another point to consider if you are choosing this company to service you.When the estimator came to my house, he gave me an estimate for 8 hours of work. Although on the move day I had moved a lot of the boxes myself and there was only 4 hours of work left for them to do, the employees tried to take lots of coffee breaks. There were 3 of them, one of them stayed in the truck for the entire day and only 2 of them were working. They drove my items to the new location at 25KM/hour, I was driving behind their truck and was observing them all the way until they reached their destination. Since they were working very very slow, a job which should have taken them 4 hours to complete maximum, took them 9 hours to complete. I had a lot of scratches on many of my items. Even though they worked slow, they still caused damages to my furniture and coffee table because they did not know how to get them through the door. They were trying all kinds of different ways on how to move the furniture through the door because they had no moving knowledge, hence this was taking them lots of time to finish the job. This company might be in business for a long time, but please be mindful, the employees they hire to do the job are not experienced at all, I could definitely tell from the way they were moving the furniture.The owner of this company has not sent anyone to my place to repair the scratches on my furniture, and he also neglected the fact that the damages were done by his employees. I had to also throw away a $400 coffee table as they had put it upside down on hard concrete during unloading, so the side was completely gone and scratched.
Product_Or_Service: Moving Service
Order_Number: no order number prov
Account_Number: paper based

Desired Settlement
they can send someone to repair the damages they have done to my furniture

Final Consumer Response
Thank you I have been contacted by Blue Line, they will send someone to repair the scratches on my furniture.

******

06/19/2013Billing / Collection Issues
09/01/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Charged for 2 hours travel time, which was never mentioned during phone conversations.
Movers caused some damage to home & we haven't had any reply.
Ist issue was the charge of $155/hour plus tax for travel time of 2 hours. I specifically called what I thought was a local company with a Durham phone number, which should not have involved "travel time". When I spoke to ***** at the office about this(after 3 or 4 phone messages that weren't initially returned), he said he would credit me back an hour of travel time, plus the tax and the **** charge of 3%-that was almost 2 weeks ago & thus far no credits on our **** account. Also, one of the movers walked through our screen door at the new house in the basement. He not only pulled the screen out of the frame, but actually bent the frame. Even more annoying, not one of them mentioned it to us. One of our adult children saw it happen. I spoke to ***** about this as well, & he said he would come and look at the damage on Saturday, July 12th at 10am. When I phoned the office at 11:15am, he was still there & said he just got really busy. He offered to come at that time, but it would have been 12pm by the time he got there & we had other committments. He said that he would then come this past Saturday at 10am (July 19th), but once again was a no show and didn't call. I've now left 3 messages at the office and yet to hear back.

Desired Settlement
I would like to be refunded for 2 hours of travel time, as well as the cost to replace the large screen door in the basement that was damaged. It does not appear to be repairable-the frame is completely bent. I also have very little interest in hanging around on another precious Saturday morning for someone from the company NOT to show up. I would just like some financial compensation. We paid almost $1900 for a move of only 11 kilometers.

Business Response
The business indicated they have supplied the consumer with a refund and the screen door issue is being taken care of.

08/23/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Movers, Moving & Storage Company

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/10/2001Business started: 24/04/1994
Contact Information
Principal: Mr Robert J. Sterritt (President)
Business Category

Movers, Moving & Storage Company

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Blueline Moving and Storage (Ont) Inc

706 - 1776 O'Connor Dr

North York, ON M4A 1W8

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 706 - 1776 O'Connor Dr 

    North York, ON M4A 1W8(866) 281-8536

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in BBB Central Ontario. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Blueline Moving and Storage (Ont) Inc is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (866) 281-8536
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on January 21, 2014.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Movers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.