BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 29/04/2011

Lawn Savers Plant Health Care Inc

Phone: (905) 707-9994Fax: (905) 707-8966View Additional Phone Numbers14 - 160 Cidermill Ave, VaughanON L4K 4K5 Send email to Lawn Savers Plant Health Care Inc

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 29/04/2011

BBB has determined that Lawn Savers Plant Health Care Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Lawn Savers Plant Health Care Inc's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Billing / Collection Issues3
Problems with Product / Service3
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Lawn Savers Plant Health Care Inc

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (8)BBB Closure Definitions
08/01/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Requests to cancel all services from the company and remove from my number from the calling list was made in 2013.
Requests were made over on numerous occasions to stop with the calls and to cancel the services offered by the company in 2013. The last time was in Oct 2013. The account was paid in full and for the season upon the initial contact, but due to poor service I asked for a discontinuation of all services beyond the 2013 season and a stoppage to all calls from the company. I had also unsubscribed from their emails to no avail. In 2014 I received an email in my junk inbox noting that a service was performed on my lawn. I called the company and notified them that I had not requested the service and had cancelled all services and requested no calls from the 2013 year. The rep ********* stated that I had a balance for a service that was rendered. I noted that I had not given permission or accepted a renewal for the 2014 season. I also requested that ********* check the recorded calls regarding my request for cancellation of services and the stoppage of call, as I had called on several occasion, but she declined at that time and proceeded to use the notes made by the various reps. The rep insisted I must pay for a service for this season. I declined since I cancelled the year before, nor did I give my permission and I declined at a reduces rate of appx $22.00 that was offered for the service. The rep also admitted that there was information in the notes that I requested a cancelation of services and a request for removal off of the calling list.
The rep noted that they use the language program in reference to their services and that there was a possibility of a miscommunication, but still insisted I pay a fee and I declined.

Desired Settlement
I would like the balance on the account removed. All services/programs, emails and calls from lawn savers should be stopped as I am not interested in any services that they provide.

Business Response
Unfortunately we never received a formal cancellation from this customer. It is important in all communication that we get explicit and clear instructions.

Back IN September of 2013, we called the client to follow up on observations ion site at their property. The customer asked not to be called anymore about extra services needed. We left it at that, placed a "do not call to upsell" flag on her account and only left written service reports on subsequent visits at their house.

1 - 09/04/2013 06:02 PM - ***** - SALES - REJECTED QUOTE:
spoke to *** in regards to LeatherJackets on her lawn, said she has seen a lot of crane flies on her property but is not interested in anything we are offering, said that we call her way to often and sell her services, and wants us to stop calling her and offering her extra services.

The only "cancellation" communicated to us was after our first service in the Spring.

1 - 05/07/2014 02:25 PM - SSD - CUSTOMER SERVICE - CX CANCELLED:
mrs called in.
-said she doesnt know why she received invoice/service, she didnt renew with us
-explained the continual service policy and that we had given her two letters along with two call aheads
-said that any automated calls she just hangs up
-she then said she had been asked multiple times to be removed from our calling lists, the 'do not telemarket' flag is on her account
-asked her if there were problems with services, said she was unhappy with the results of lawn, didnt look like anything had changed, said she will be looking for a new lawn care company
-told her i would stop all services and a manager would call her back just to follow up
-said she doesnt want any more calls from us, if its from the balance she said she isnt paying because we did services without consent, its our responsibility
-passed call to *****

As per the customer's contract, and numerous communications submitted to the customer in writing about their obligations, it is clear that the customer is required to formally cancel in writing or over the phone by calling and telling us to stop services. This is always honoured. However, a wish to not receive additional marketing material can not be inferred to anything more than that.

On May 7th, *********, our customer service manager called Mrs ***** to speak with her and we cancelled her services. In addition, we have fairly offered to split the cost of the services received with her in order to reach a mutually acceptable resolution.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
A cancellation of all services beyond the service season which had already been paid was asked for in Sept 2013. It was explicit to the rep that no further services beyond what had been paid for the season, should continue. II is possible that the rep made a transcription error, but the company noted they recorded calls, but declined to investigate the original calls beyond the transcription by various reps. I requested cancellation in terms of no services to be continued beyon that which was already paid, so I'm unsure why the calls and mail persisted, since this was declined by myself on multiple occasions.

Final Business Response
I have reviewed all the information for this client.
There was only a request to stop emailing and calling for additional services.
There was NO cancellation of the existing or ongoing services (which continued on after the call of September 4th with another visit on Oct 15th which is not in dispute either).

We also called ahead and reminded the customer the service was re-starting in the spring on April 10th and the day before the first service on May 5th. We also sent 2 letters reminding the service was re-starting on Nov 6th 2013 and March 16th 2014.
In each of these 4 communications we reminded the customer to advise us by email, writing or to phone us if they did not want there service to continue.
We did not get any communication back from the customer.

I want the customer to be happy, and I accept that she might have intended to cancel. That is the precise reason why we have offered to split the bill.

That being said, we always honour instructions from a customer and never want to service someone who does not want our service. In good faith I will remove the bill from her account.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Thank you.
I accept the response, given that the balance/bill on the account will be removed and total $0.00 (as per my understanding of the response from the business).
I hope my understanding of their language is clear, since there seems to have been a language/communication issue in the past.

04/29/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
hired Lawnsavers for the 2013 summer season. after numerous service disappointments I cancelled my service with an email on Dec 9 2013 asking them not to continue with the 2014 automatic renewal contract. I was contacted by phone by a LawnSaver's manager on March 13 11:29am asking me to re-consider, I again expressed that I am not interested. I have now received a contract in the post (April 10 2014) for $515.57 stating that "services will begin in the spring as promised unless we hear from you".
Lawnsavers comes to your property unannounced and performs serviced then asks for money afterwards. I have emailed my records to them again. how do I make them go away?
Product_Or_Service: lawn services
Account_Number: ******

Desired Settlement
how can I make it more clear that I do not want their service.

Business Response
Hi Mr. ****,
I'm very sorry you are upset.
We sincerely tried to remedy any issues you had since signing up with our service half way through the season last year. (June 27th).
We have also acknowledged your cancellation that we did receive in our office in the off-season. Your cancellation was processed as requested, however we may not have communicated that to you to make sure you knew.
I understand you were upset to receive another letter from us this spring. PLEASE NOTE- this was only a marketing letter and we would never have re-instated your service, as it was a marketing letter alone.
BUT, I do recognize that the wrong language was used on that letter and made you think that we were coming out again- This was simply a mistake within our office by a human. This has been corrected within our process.
My wife and office manager ***** did try to reach out to you to explain, but never did receive a reply.
I hope you understand that we are sorry for inconveniencing you and wish we could have spoken to explain.
We never intended to frustrate you or make you upset.
Please accept my sincerest apologies.
**** *****
President.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

01/20/2014Advertising / Sales Issues
11/11/2013Advertising / Sales Issues
10/29/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I AM BEING SENT A INVOICE FOR A SERVICE I PREPAIN IN FULL.
I WAS QUOTED FOR LAW SERVICES FOR THE YEAR BY LAWNSAVERS. I AGREED AND PRE PAYED IN FULL.THEY PROMPTLY CAME OUT AND APPLIED 2 SERVICES ON THE THIRD VISIT THEY CONTACTED ME AND ADVISED THE PREVIOUS TECHNICIAN HAD BEEN FIRED AND HAD UNDER QUOTED FOR THE SERVICE. I INFORMED THEM I HAD CONTACTED MANY COMPANIES AND THE QUOTES WERE VERY SIMILAR. I ADVISED THEM I WOULD NOT ACCEPT ANY ADDITIONAL CHARGES SINCE I PREPAID AND THEY HAD BEEN ONSITE TWICE ALREADY WHY NOW WAS THERE AN ISSUE TO WHICH I WAS ADVISED THE PERVIOUS TECHNICIAN WAS FIRED AND MAY HAVE MADE AN ERROR WITH THE SIZE OF THE PROPERLY. NOT SURE WHY THIS IS MY ISSUE THEY WERE CONTACTED 4 TIMES EACH TIME ADVISING ME TO IGNORE THE BILL AND THEY WILL REMOVE IT. AS YOU CAN SEE IT CONTINUES TO HAPPEN.

Desired Settlement
FOR THEM TO STOP SENDING ME A BILL AND REMOVE ME FROM THEIR CONTACT LIST THIS ISSUE SHOULD HAVE BEEN RESOLVED.

Business Response

Hi ******,
I apologize for the mistake my company made. ********* talked to me yesterday about it after her conversation with you.

We do own our mistakes, and this should have been handled a little differently from the outset, with either a full refund (early on), or we could honour the price for the rest of the season.

At no point should this have been your issue.

I apologize for the inconvenience. We do strive to make it easy to do business with us, although we are also human and make mistakes.

********* will be contacting you today to make sure the balance is reversed as it should have been from the beginning.

I trust this will resolve this complaint to your satisfaction.

In addition, I would like to offer you a free overseeding if you decide to come back in the future (value of 189.00+tax).
Sincerely,
****!

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
It was only after I contact the BBB that they offered an apology. As you can see from their response, they were very wrong in the way that they dealt with me ( a customer who prepays and owes nothing). I wish to have no further contact with this company and advise them to remove me from any contact list they may have. I do not wish to be contacted by them.

08/26/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Bought a year package. During the aeration service broke sprinkler system. Left the system on for 8 hours, then did not remainder of services.
Bought a year package from Lawn savers. Damaged the irrigation system during one of the services and left water running for 8 hours with a large water bill. I asked to discontinue from the remainder of the contract and they overcharged the services they already provided to offer a small refund.

Desired Settlement
Proper refund for services received. I paid a total of 556.82 for a total of 9 treatments and only received a bill for 3 at a total of 471.10. They overcharged the treatments already given.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** *****
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX ext ***
Contact Email: *****@lawnsavers.com
The sprinkler system at Mr. ******'s company was installed unprofessionally and just below the sod. Contrary to all best practices* of the irrigation industry and manufacturer installation specifications regarding pipe depth- *(********, ******, **** & ********* *******)
LawnSavers called ahead before the treatment to mark any areas of concern in addition to advising the client of the risks of aeration when he signed up.
We require being advised of any concerns (just like this) so we can avoid the area.
We were not advised of any concerns (but also accept that he may not have known- one should expect that their sprinkler system is professionally installed at the proper depths).
Moreover, LawnSavers took the initiative to help the client with the punctured pipe, called him right away and even repaired it at no charge, as soon as the client was able to shut off the water for us.
We went out of our way and would normally be thanked for such service. (Initially the client was thankful)
Instead the client changed their tune, cancelled the service and blasted us online with reviews that are beyond explanation. We have issued the refund directly according to the contract he agreed to.
****I am also willing to pay for the large water bill if he could provide proof in writing of excess water usage beyond normal seasonal variances, BUT our inspections on the 3 occasions that we attempted to fix his sprinkler before he finally turned off his water revealed only a very minor leak that produced a small puddle. (this was not a major leak or puncture of any sort that required emergency attention)
I must say I have been really surprised at the nature of Mr ******'s actions.
In no way can this situation be considered inferior work, poor service, poor communication or anything but good proactive business.
I am still available for him to reach out to as i provided my personal cell phone and email and I have not heard back from him.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)

1. First, the owner can call the client back once he has left numerous messages via his personal phone and through his secretary.
2. The company could have taken responsibility for the line being damage, however decided to blame a faulty installation.
3. Issue a refund that is fair (a refund of 87.00 for a contract that was $600+ for nine treatments, where only 2 were administered does not seem fair.

The issue is very simple. The lawn has had numerous treatments prior to this incident for aeration.Therefore, this is the first I have heard about faulty installation from a landscaper. They punctured the line, left the water running for 8 hours (without notifying myself) then did not come and fix the system until the following day after numerous phone calls were made to the company. I have recorded video on how badly the line was punctured and how much water had leaked out (not just a small puddle). This is the first that I am hearing about refunding me for any water bill. As usual, this has been the best way to contact **** therefore I have chosen this method. At the end of the day, it's not about the money anymore as **** and Lawn savers have already demonstrated they refuse to refund the cost for the services.

Final Business Response
I have submitted the facts.
All of our phone call communication was recorded on our phone system.

I understand people can get upset and misplace their blame, however his issue is with his sprinkler installation company.
We specifically told Mr. he was required to mark his lines- He told us we should somehow know that his system was installed poorly and less than 1" below the sod?? (we cant see through the lawn)

I welcome him to come buy our office with any documentation to prove this could somehow be
a)installed correctly.
b)marked by him as required by his contract
We went out of our way to fix the puncture for him- but he still has an improperly installed system.

Again- Call your irrigation installer and complain to them- You are blaming the wrong people!!!
His refund was verified by **** on 08/05/14

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The facts have never changed regarding this case. It's alway been that the company was irresponsible and lacked customer service in it's handling of their mistake. There was never a refund given (even the small amount which they offered). The goal here is to prevent anyone who is thinking of using their service to not do so. There are many many other choices for a better product and better customer experience.


02/11/2014Problems with Product / Service
08/02/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Lawn Maintenance

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 04/02/2005Business started: 01/05/1989
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kyle Tobin (CEO)Ms. Jenny Dwight (Customer Service)
Business Category

Lawn Maintenance

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Lawn Savers Plant Health Care Inc

14 - 160 Cidermill Ave

Vaughan, ON L4K 4K5

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 14 - 160 Cidermill Ave 

    Vaughan, ON L4K 4K5(905) 707-9994

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Mid-Western and Central Ontario. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Lawn Savers Plant Health Care Inc is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 503-5296
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on January 21, 2014.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Lawn Maintenance

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.