BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 30/09/2011

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 30/09/2011

BBB has determined that Nutri-Lawn of York South meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Nutri-Lawn of York South include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Nutri-Lawn of York South

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
11/13/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Asking me to pay due to mistake on their end
I have been a customer of Nutri-Lawn for many years. Year after year, I call them in the spring and agree for the upcoming year's program and pre-pay. Same happened this year where we agreed to do the same program as last year and negotiated a price. As in the past years, the agreed program included aeration. Somehow, they got confused about aeration. They tell me that I called them and cancelled it, then ordered a new one. None of this has happened. I did not call and did not cancel it (why would I do that?!) They want me to pay extra for what I prepaid already.

This company has been good to me for many years, and I would hate to stop dealing with them. But these harassing calls lately and their unwillingness to admit their mistake are forcing me to file this complaint.

Desired Settlement
Do not ask me to pay for aeration, the service I prepaid for early in the year. Just like in previous years, this must be included in the overall program. All I want is to continue receiving the same service I was receiving from them year after year.

Final Consumer Response
They contacted me after receiving complaint from you and promised to address the issue by correcting the outstanding balance to zero. Thank you for your help!

07/11/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
In 2011, I entered a contest at the Markham Home Show to receive free lawn care for a year. I was advised I won from Nutri Lawn, however, they never actually provided it. When I emailed to find out why, I was told that I was too stupid to expect them to come out when it was such a hot summer. (Note that I won in MARCH and this is CANADA.) Since this was a pretty big sign that I didn't want to work with this company, I didn't pursue it.

Last week (5 years later...) I received a solicitation call asking to purchase service from them. I gave my spiel that I don't purchase anything over the phone, and they were welcome to email or snail mail information and I would review it. I received an email, looked at it, knew I had no desire to work with this company and didn't reply to sign up for service. Two days later, I woke up to find a stranger putting **** all over my lawn and an invoice in my mailbox. For service I NEVER requested and had no interest in having.

So, now there are chemicals on my lawn that I didn't want (we've been going the all natural route) and a bill that I absolutely will not pay since I never asked for this service.

I called the office to find out how this happened and to give them a chance to rectify the situation. I was promised a call back that has yet to come.

This is quite frankly ridiculous. You cannot expect someone to pay for service they didn't contract for, nor can you damage someone else's property just to try to drum up business.

Desired Settlement
I would like the cash value of the prize I won in 2011, the cancelling of this invoice (#XXXXXX), and restitution for the damage to my lawn.

Business Response

Over 5 years ago our company had a booth at the Markham Home Show. At this time people could fill out a ballot for a free Turf Revitalizer. This service consists of a slit seeding with our top dressing.
Ms. ***** was chosen as the recipient of this prize. We attempted to provide the service but unfortunately we could not as her lawn had to be cut. We told her we would try again. 2 more attempts were made later in the season, once the hot summer temperatures had passed but unfortunately we could not connect with Ms. ***** to make this happen. Ms. ***** did not contact our office to advise when we could proceed with the service.
Fast forward to May 2016. We were contacting customers in our data base to inquire if they would be interested in using our lawn care services for the 2016 season. Ms. ***** was called and had a conversation with ********* from our office about service for this season. Ms. ***** asked for an estimate (never mentioned anything to ********* about missing her prize in 2011).
The estimate was emailed, but unfortunately we made an error and activated the service. We applied a fertilizer and fiesta weed control to Ms. ******' lawn. It was the letter from you that brought this to our attention. We immediately called Ms. ***** and apologized for our error and reversed the charges.
****** from our office spoke with Ms. ***** and explained what happened and also tried explain to her what happened 5 years earlier. Ms. ***** claimed that she had only ever heard from us one time when we told her that the grass was too long. She states that we never tried again to complete the service. Rather than belabour the point (classic she says/he says scenario) ****** explained that we will provide her with the service this season, although we certainly are under no obligation to provide a service for a prize that was not claimed some 5 years earlier. Our thoughts are, this is lawn care and at the end of the day we just want our clients past or present to be happy with our service.
Prior to our visit to complete the Turf Revitalizer, Ms. ***** explained that she still had a lot of weeds and asked for another weed spray. We sent our technician to spray the weeds again, with ****** weed control. After the slit seeding /top dressing had been completed ****** called and asked if Ms. ***** was happy with completion of service. She seemed to be happy, we even went so far as to let her know that in an attempt to keep her lawn nice, we will do one more fertilizer and weed control application, no charge, later this season. We asked her to notify the BBB that she's happy with the service and she said she would but it's difficult for her to locate the correct office to call etc. ****** emailed her ******* ******' name, phone number and email address in an attempt to make this easier for Ms. *****.
As far as we know, to this date, Ms. ***** still has not contacted the BBB to let you know that we have made every attempt to appease Ms. *****.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Lawn & Tree Care, Lawn Maintenance, Lawn & Garden Sprinkler Systems, Landscape Lighting, Christmas Lights & Decorations

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 17/06/2011Business started: 23/12/1997
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Keith Williams (Owner)Mr. Chris Fulawka (Owner)
Business Category

Lawn & Tree Care, Lawn Maintenance, Lawn & Garden Sprinkler Systems, Landscape Lighting, Christmas Lights & Decorations

Products & Services

Lawn care - weed management, underground sprinkler systems, landscape lighting installations and Christmas lighting and decor installation.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 09:00 AM to 09:00 PMTue: 09:00 AM to 09:00 PMWed: 09:00 AM to 09:00 PMThu: 09:00 AM to 09:00 PMFri: 09:00 AM to 05:00 PMSat: 10:00 AM to 02:00 PM
Refund and Exchange Policy

Nutri-Lawn will make every effort to ensure you are completely satisfied with our services and stand behind our product and service offerings.

Service Area

Markham

Alternate Business Names
1273315 Ontario Limited
LocationsX

1 Locations

  • P.O. Box 642 

    Gormley, ON L0H 1G0(905) 887-5296
    Fax: (905) 887-5506

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in BBB Central Ontario. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Nutri-Lawn of York South is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Web Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on January 21, 2014.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Lawn & Tree Care

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.