BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Boss Landscaping Ltd.

(416) 816-006410 - 8707 Dufferin St, ThornhillON L4J 0A6 Send email to Boss Landscaping Ltd.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Boss Landscaping Ltd. is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Boss Landscaping Ltd. include:

  • Failure to respond to 2 complaints filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service5
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Boss Landscaping Ltd.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (6)
04/29/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

******* ********* of Boss Landscaping misrepresented himself as a ****** installer.He said he was and his website says he is, but he is not(confirmed)
04/20/14 ******* ********* of Boss Landscaping came to our house to quote on a interlocking extention of our driveway and a walkway to our home.
His advertising said on his website and his pamphlets how he was a ****** Authorized Contractor, and member of the BBB. His BBB rating was an A, we spoke to a client with a good reference, and ******* told us himself how ****** just doesnt let anyone get authorized with them and he was so young he had to prove himself to them before he could get authorized. He said how he always had his phone with him and could be reached at any time. Then with those things all checked we signed a contract for $16000.00 and gave ******* $6400.00 in cash. We arranged that in 1 1/2 weeks we would meet with ******* to look at samples when we tried to reach ******* he was unavailable with family issues. When after some time we still could not contact ******* only his assistant ****** we thought something fishy and contacted ****** to find out that he is no longer an Authorized ****** Installer. We spoke to ***** ******** from ****** who confirmed this. When we asked for our money back due to the fact that ******* misrepresented himself and Boss Landscaping does not have the backing of ****** we finaly got hold of ******* who said he wanted to continue with the job. WE DO NOT WANT THIS. We have been unable to contact him since April 8th

Desired Settlement
We would like a full refund of our $6400.00 We would like cash or certified cheque as this is the way we paid

Final Consumer Response
I'm just emailing you to let you know I received my full deposit of $6400 back today. As far as I'm concerned the case can be closed.

Regards **** ****.

02/27/2014Problems with Product / Service
04/08/2014Problems with Product / Service
04/08/2014Problems with Product / Service
07/08/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Boss was hired for snow removal. The company was found to be very unreliable, caused property damage, and was next to impossible to contact by phone.
I signed the agreement with Boss in November 2013. Right from the beginning, I found the service to be very delayed, resulting in a huge inconvenience to me. Their voicemail was always full, making it impossible to reach the owner. The phone box attached to the side of my house was almost completely ripped off the wall and is hanging by a few wires. The frame of my garage door was damaged and the stone area adjacent to my driveway was torn up.
Unfortunately, the size of their shovels were too big for my new home.

Desired Settlement
I want my complaint to serve as a warning to other potential customers.

07/08/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

A refund of $100.00 from ******* ********* of Boss lanscaping, promised on March 21, 2014 has not been delivered. There are no responses to inquiries
******* ********* promised a refund of $100.00 in an email dated March 21, 2014, for services not rendered. To date this has not been received and there are no responses from the company to email or telephone messages.

Desired Settlement
We are asking for the promise of a refund to be fulfilled.

Quoting from the email of March 21, 2014
"I have a bank draft I will drop it off in the next week. Thanks *****

Industry Comparison| Chart

Landscape Contractors, Snow Removal Service, Landscape Designers

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 01/03/2013Business started: 25/01/2007
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mike Fleischer (Owner)Ms. Beverly Fleischer (Owner)
Business Category

Landscape Contractors, Snow Removal Service, Landscape Designers

Mail Returned

BBB attempted to send mail to 10 - 8707 Dufferin St., Thornhill, ON, L4J 0A6. Our correspondence was returned from this address.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Boss Landscaping Ltd.

10 - 8707 Dufferin St

Thornhill, ON L4J 0A6

To | From


1 Locations

  • 10 - 8707 Dufferin St 

    Thornhill, ON L4J 0A6(416) 816-0064

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in BBB Central Ontario. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Boss Landscaping Ltd. is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on January 21, 2014.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Landscape Contractors


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.