BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 30/04/2009

SoftCom Inc

Phone: (416) 957-7400Fax: (416) 957-7401View Additional Phone Numbers1610 - 10 Bay St, TorontoON M5J 2R8 Send email to SoftCom IncView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 30/04/2009

BBB has determined that SoftCom Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised SoftCom Inc's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues2
Problems with Product / Service6
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on SoftCom Inc

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (8)BBB Closure Definitions
05/18/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The service was not what I was lead to believe. Once canceled, I was issued a credit memo. They now refuse to honor that document for full refund.
On March 25, 2015 I had been searching for a ** ********** hosting service. My search brought me to myhosting.com (http://myhosting.com/**********/#) where I reviewed the service that was being advertised and decided to purchase the service. I followed the links as they were presented to me, provided my payment information, and completed the registration process. This became (SOXXXXXX) in their system.

Here is where the problems began. My order was immediately placed on hold pending 'manual verification'. Over the next few days, I did not complete the verification process as I had other business to attend to. During this time, I noticed that my bank account had been charged. I assumed (wrongly) that they had verified the account by other means and that the service would soon be available to me. Having not yet been granted access to the service, I called again on April 2,2015 and requested that the service be canceled. At which point, I was assured that this was uncommon and that if I decided to keep the service I would not encounter these types of issues in the future. I still wanted to try the service as it did appear to be the solution I had been looking for so I opted to keep the service. It was not made available to me until April 8, 2015 (6 days later).

After a few days of reviewing the service (and not seeing anything about ********** which was what I had been looking for in the first place), and also exploring ways that I might be able to make the service work for my needs, I decided to cancel the service. It was not what I had been looking for and would not suit my purposes.

On April 14, 2015, I received a credit memo (#XXXXXXX) in the amount of $134.85 which was acceptable to me as the original order was for $136.32. They could have the ~$1.50 and I was pleased with the mostly full refund.

I waited. And waited. And waited until finally on April 27, 2015 I called again to see if the refund had been processed. I was told that it hadn't but that it would be. You can imagine my surprise the next morning when I received 2 emails with 'Debit Memos'. I couldn't believe it. Here they were now deciding to make up charges and refusing to honor the credit memo that I had already received. Additionally, they were now charging me for a domain registration which according to the original sales order was $0.00

It was only after repeated phone calls and emails (showing them the credit memo and sales order) that they decided to 'go against their policy' and issue most of a refund. They still refuse to issue a refund of $14.95 for a domain registration that was supposed to be free.

I haven't yet seen the refund but they assure me that all but that $14.95 will be refunded in 3-5 days.

I am so frustrated by this whole mess that I have quit banging my head against the wall that is their customer service/billing department.

Desired Settlement
It's really quite simple. As I have repeatedly told them, I do not want any of their services and I want all of my money back. It does not seem unreasonable for me to ask that they honor the credit memo that they issued to me.

Business Response
Thank you for reaching out to us on behalf of ***** ******. We are sorry if there has been confusion surrounding charges and our refund policy. Our Acceptable Use policy is quite explicit regarding the free domain offer at http://myhosting.com/privacy-policy/aup.aspx# Clause 5, Item 4:

"If You are provided with a free Domain Registration as part of any special offer at the time of sign-up with myhosting.com for any of the Services, You agree to pay all related Domain Registration fee(s) should any Services be cancelled by You or by Us before the Initial Term has lapsed from the date You signed up for said Services."

We are more than happy to reverse this $14.95 charge if Mr. ****** places the cancellation order for the domain, and it will remain in the ownership of myhosting.com until its expiration. Please advise how this will be handled so that we can assist further.

Thank you for your time,

****** E.

11/04/2013Billing / Collection Issues
04/30/2013Billing / Collection Issues
02/13/2013Problems with Product / Service
01/14/2013Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2
05/17/2013Problems with Product / Service
10/03/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Internet Services, Internet - Web Hosting

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/07/2001Business started: 31/01/1997
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Carr (CFO)Mr Kaan Soran COO
Business Category

Internet Services, Internet - Web Hosting

Products & Services

domain registrations
file, email, web and application hosting
application service provider
webmail service provider
internet access - dial-up and wireless

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for SoftCom Inc

1610 - 10 Bay St

Toronto, ON M5J 2R8

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1610 - 10 Bay St 

    Toronto, ON M5J 2R8(416) 957-7400
    Fax: (416) 957-7401

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Mid-Western and Central Ontario. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*SoftCom Inc is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (866) 289-5091
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on January 21, 2014.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Internet Services

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.