BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Central Ontario

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/06/2003

Fibernetics Corp.

Find a Location

Phone: (519) 489-6700Fax: (519) 653-7686605 Boxwood Dr, CambridgeON N3E 1A5 Send email to Fibernetics Corp.View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/06/2003

BBB has determined that Fibernetics Corp. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Fibernetics Corp.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 32 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

32 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues4
Billing / Collection Issues6
Delivery Issues2
Problems with Product / Service20
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 32

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (32)BBB Closure Definitions
03/25/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Service Complaint Issue

Complaint: I pay for a server every month from this company. It hasn't worked for 18 days and they will not respond to support tickets or inquiries.
This complaint is in reference to a company owned by ****************. The company I am dealing with is vps-hosting.ca.

I have had a server I pay for every month from this company since June, 2013. It went down on January 15, 2014. I tried to access it remotely via the console(as is part of the product they advertise)and was unable to connect.

I opened a support ticket about this issue on 1/15/2014. Today is 2/3/2014 - 18 days later - and my server still does not work.

I do not have an account number for this site, but my account is registerd under my email address - ****************.

The front page of the website says the following things. I have included how they have failed to live up to the promises posted on said website:

1. "99.99% uptime" - I've been down for 18 days.
2. "We offer 24/7 Support using our support ticket system" - I've had the same ticket open for that entire time (********), and have gotten very minimal (and wholly unhelpful) replies.
3. "In the event you cant access your server over the network you can open a direct console to see what is wrong" - The console worked once on day 1, but not since.

Initial Business Response
Sorry for the delay as this was in a spam filter.
We had a problem with our support ticket system and this customers ticket was unanswered because it didn't get assigned to anyone.
We since contacted the customer and helped get his server fixed and also credited him.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

02/06/2014Problems with Product / Service
02/03/2014Delivery Issues
07/29/2013Delivery Issues
07/24/2013Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 6
05/20/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to respond to phone calls or written requests for assistance or support

Complaint: Fibernetics is the service provider for the telephone number ************. We have been receiving many "robo-calls" from the number day and night.
These calls have persisted for many months now. I have complained to **** ****** and they seem powerless to do anything about it, in that it is not one of their numbers. A complaint to the CRTC has gone unanswered. I was able to trace the number to Fibernetics and called their "Customer Experience" officer, ******* *******. She acknowledged that it was one of their clients and initially seem prepared to investigate and take corrective action. Since then, no action has been taken and my calls to her extension are never answered and neither does she ever pick up the phone. The caller display on our phone indicates the caller as ***-***-****. When the call is answered there is never anybody on the line. If one calls back the message is "This account is blocked". We now receive many calls each day and during the night.

Initial Business Response
Fibernetics blocked activity on the phone number XXX-XXX-XXXX early in March. The last call on record through our system was placed on March 6th, 2014 at 10:43 PM (EST).

Unfortunately, when companies or people engage in fraudulent behaviour, it is not unusual for them to "spoof" the caller ID, meaning that the number displayed on the caller ID is not actually the number they are calling from. Since this number is not active, this must be what is happening and our measures will not prevent this from happening again.

As a result, if the phone calls persist, I would encourage contact with the Anti-Fraud Center (X-XXX-XXX-XXXX) who should be able to pursue this further.


Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)

In that activity through this number has been blocked by Fibernetics one assumes that the company became aware of misuse of the service and certainly would know the identity of the customer.
It seems reasonable to assume that the erstwhile customer is now spoofing the same number, using another line.
I'm not sure what call tracing ability Fibernetics has, but I clearly have none.
The advice that I call the Anti-Fraud Centre does not answer the problem .
I understand that on some telephone equipment it is possible to enter any information in the caller ID field. Although this is apparently illegal, it is not clearly fraudulent. In fact, I am not alleging fraud but extreme harassment.

I will follow up with the Anti-fraud squad.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

02/07/2013Problems with Product / Service
09/05/2012Advertising / Sales Issues
12/23/2011Problems with Product / Service
11/18/2011Advertising / Sales Issues
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Internet Services, Telephone Service - Long Distance, Telephone Communications

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/06/2003Business started: 01/03/2003
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Carolyn McGuire (Customer Experience Manager)Mr. Mike Brown (Director Of Operations)Ms. Jennifer Byrne (Manager)Mr. Jody Schnarr (President)
Business Category

Internet Services, Telephone Service - Long Distance, Telephone Communications

Alternate Business Names
Onlinetel Corp (Formerly), Worldline Inc, Worldline International, 295.CA, 1011295.com
Industry Tips
BBB Alerts Businesses to Beware of Voice Mail Hackers
Beware of Fraudulent International Phone Calls
Changing Wireless Carriers? You Can Now Keep the Same Number
Choosing a Web Hosting Service for your Business Web Site
Has Your Computer Modem Been Hijacked?
Phone Leasing
Prepaid Cell Phone Services
Protecting Your Long Distance Service

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Fibernetics Corp.

605 Boxwood Dr

Cambridge, ON N3E 1A5

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 605 Boxwood Dr 

    Cambridge, ON N3E 1A5(519) 489-6700

  • 210-55 Northfield Dr E 

    Waterloo, ON N2K 3T6

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Mid-Western and Central Ontario. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Fibernetics Corp. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on January 21, 2014.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.