BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Fibernetics Corp.

Find a Location

Phone: (519) 489-6700Fax: (519) 653-7686605 Boxwood Dr, CambridgeON N3E 1A5 Send email to Fibernetics Corp.http://www.fibernetics.caView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Fibernetics Corp. is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Fibernetics Corp.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 14 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

14 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues3
Delivery Issues2
Problems with Product / Service8
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 14

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Fibernetics Corp.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (14)
08/15/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

I ordered their internet service, promised complete intall in 7, I cancelled by 10th, they still shipped it..Told I to wait 30 days for refund! $36.66
On June 26th, I spoke by phone with rep ******...She assured me as soon as I paid $36.66 I would receive their modem in 4 days, complete install in 7...By July 4th, I cancelled #********...They sent me an email later stating my modem is on its way...I called again...they assured me it wasn't ...that service was cancelled and I would receive refund...Then *** ** made two attempts...First, I ignored..second I told him I wouldn't sign...He insisted he needed my signiture to send it back to *********.....but when I called 2 or 3 times they assured me I would receive a credit in 3-4 weeks by cheque...I paid them as a payee through my bank...and they told me unless I give them a credit card, there is no way to reimburse my money immediately...I shouldn't have to wait for a month for a service that was ***** from the start!

Desired Settlement
I would like a complete refund of $36.66 paid on June 27th through my ************* bank..

Business Response

Cheque number **** for #36.66 was issued August 7, 2014. We apologize for the delay, but the manual cheques are run in batches and therefore do take longer than a credit card refund.

Please let me know if any additional information is required.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

02/06/2014Problems with Product / Service
07/29/2013Delivery Issues
07/24/2013Problems with Product / Service
04/22/2013Problems with Product / Service
11/02/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

I referred a new customer to Worldline as I had in the past. Now they refuse to give me the referal bonus advertised on their website.
Worldline offers a referal bonus to existing customers when they bring new customers to Worldline. I referred several people in 2014 so the process was not new to me. However, apparently, at some point they changed the policy without telling their existing customers. A few months I referred someone. That person contacted me and thanked me first of all, then said that the Worldline rep, named "*****" confirmed that I would receive the bonus as I had in the past. 2 months went by and I still had not received my bonus. I have complained to Worldline several times in the past about billing issues. They can't seem to ever get it right. I've had enough of it. So I made it clear to them that I would not pay my bill until they corrected it,including my referal bonus. They refuse to do that. At this point i owe them for 2 months but they owe me $20 as a one-time bonus and $5/month following. They have now suspended my service including 911 service. I have tried to tell them that I will pay my bill in full once they correct the problem, but they refuse.

Desired Settlement
I would like my referal bonus as per Worldline's representative's statement. Their rep said I would get the bonus so they should stand behind that whether it was a mistake or not.

Business Response

This customer has received referral bonuses in full for two referred customers that he referred to us in 2014. These credits appeared on invoices from June 2014 - June 2015. During this time, the terms of our referral program have not changed.

The terms of our referral bonus program are:

Upon successful completion of the registration and installation process, the referring Worldline customer will receive a $20.00 referral credit on their invoice. The referred customer will receive a $25.00 referral bonus on their first invoice. Each time the new referred customer invoices, the $5 referral credit applies to the referring customers account up to twelve (12) times for a total of $60 over a year, as long as the following conditions apply:

Both the referred and referring customers must have the Worldline Internet and Home Phone Bundle.

Referrals must be for new customers only, not current Worldline customers.

All accounts MUST be in good standing.

Both customers must remain Home Phone and Internet bundle customers. If either customer downgrades or cancels, referral credits will cease. If either account is in arrears, referral credits will stopped until the accounts are up to date.

Cannot be combined with any other offer.

This offer has no cash value.

We are happy to provide additional details on the two customers the credits were provided for, however providing them here would include identifying names, so please respond if that is needed. Our system automatically checks the above criteria and automatically applies credits if the conditions are met.

We were not made aware of any other customers that the complainant referred that meet the criteria of the referral program. The phone calls the customer made to inquire about other customers he referred were customers who did not meet the criteria listed above (they had not purchased one of the Home Phone and Internet Bundle products).

As of this response, service on the account is suspended for non-payment and disconnection was scheduled. We are holding off on disconnection awaiting a resolution to this complaint.

Please advise if additional information is required.

Consumer Response
My wife went ahead and paid the full amount Worldline claimed we owed, because she was getting frustrated with their lack of action. Earlier in my communications with Worldline, their representative at that time said that I couldn't receive the discount owed to me because my account "wasn't in good standing." When my wife called to find out exactly home much they wanted as a payment, she was told in no uncertain terms, that only one month was outstanding but 2 months payment would bring the account to $0. So she made the full payment. I have still not received my discount. So to recap - when the customer I referred called to place their order, the Worldline rep, "*****" said I would receive the discount. I never did, so I filed this complaint. In response to that I was told that I couldn't receive the discount while my account had an outstanding balance, which it did NOT, but I paid the account up anyway. I still have not received my discount. I did receive a new statement in the last few days, but still no discount, despite two of their reps saying I would.

Final Business Response
Hi ***,

On October 15th I sent an email to ***** at the email address on file (************

"Hello *****,I am investigating your BBB Complaint and would like to do further research into your referral credits. Can you please provide the names or phone numbers of the people you have referred so that I can look into this?Thank you,******* *******, Customer Experience Manager, Fibernetics Corp."

I am happy to investigate further, but will require the information on the referred customers in order to do so. There are two active referrals on file for which he is getting credits, as provided in the previous correspondence, so I need to know who the customers are that he referred that he is not getting credits for, to determine if he should be getting credits for them.

I have not had a response to this email yet.

Thank you,

07/20/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Took money out of my bank account
I stoped service with this company 2 weeks ago and was told i owe nothing on the phone and today i checked and it said they took out $25.82 and i am not sure how they can do this as i canceled my credit card attached to my account. No one has answered my questions and now i owe my bank a nsf fee

Desired Settlement
billing adjustment and nsf of 30 dollars

Business Response
According to our records, a request was made on June 23rd to cancel the account in question, effective immediately.

We were able to process this request on June 25th. When we cancelled the account, we prorated the charges as of the 23rd.

The last payment taken from the customer's credit card was $46.36 on June 9th, for the service from June 9th - July 9th. Do to the cancellation during this time, we refunded $24.73 to the same credit card on June 29th.

We are not showing any payments taken of the customer's credit card after June 9th and no money ever taken from a bank account at any time. We have no bank account information on file for this customer.

We would happy to investigate this further with additional details on the withdrawal, including the bank, branch, amount, date and reference number.

03/02/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

I signed a contract with **** for some telephone equipment, after *********** service, I cancelled my contract, and paid the balance in full. I was told by **** the equipment was then mine. A week later, I get a letter from national leasing stating I owe them the amount for the equipment, as apparantly they financed them on behalf of ****.now I supposidly owe 8000 that I understood was paid to ****.
Product_or_service: telephones

Desired Settlement
I want to be free and clear and own my equipment. For **** to deal with national leasing.

Business Response

We have reviewed the account and would like to provide the following information in rebuttal of the allegations.
1) There are two different types of equipment involved in this customer's service. There is Fibernetics owned equipment that was not ever invoiced for or paid for as it is equipment we require returned when the service is cancelled. This return requirement is covered in our Masters Services Agreement, which was signed by Authorized signatory ******** *********-*******.
2) There is also equipment that is offered for Lease or Purchase, including things like telephones to work with the service.
3) The equipment that could be leased or purchased was leased by this customer, with financing through ******** *******. We have a copy of the contract signed by Dr. **** with ******** *******. It is lease Number XXXXXXX authorizing ******** ******* to charge the customer $178.00 X 66 months, with an option to then purchase for a buy out after the lease expires.
4) The agreement with Fibernetics was for monthly services. Regularly, this customer would have received an invoice from Fibernetics (bills as "****") for their monthly services and then would have had another invoice from ******** ******* for their leased equipment.
5) The Fibernetics owned equipment provided to Dr. **** to facilitate the service can't be used on any other telephone systems as it is specific to our services. We have offered to arrange for pickup of the equipment so there are no charges incurred by the customer.
6) Since this Fibernetics owned equipment was not returned we have invoiced for the cost of the equipment. That invoice, totalling $1553.75 remains unpaid and the equipment has not been returned.
7) We don't have access to the invoicing from ******** *******, but if they are invoicing the customer for leased equipment that has not been paid for or returned, then we would need to direct that complaint back to ******** *******. Any payments the customer has made to Fibernetics were not against the invoicing or leasing from ******** *******.
8) Phone calls with our service and billing teams are recorded and a review of calls made to or from the phone numbers we have on account for this customer do not back up his claim that we told him that paying us for the services would allow him to keep any of the equipment he had, either ours or the leased equipment.

At this time, if the customer calls our service team and allows them to pick up the Fibernetics owned equipment, the Fibernetics will be closed and there will be no monies owing.

If the customer has additional information we have not addressed here, like other payments or signed agreements, we are unaware of them and can reassess if those are provided. Any of the documentation mentioned can be provided via email at the request of the BBB.

05/20/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Fibernetics is the service provider for the telephone number ************. We have been receiving many "robo-calls" from the number day and night.
These calls have persisted for many months now. I have complained to **** ****** and they seem powerless to do anything about it, in that it is not one of their numbers. A complaint to the CRTC has gone unanswered. I was able to trace the number to Fibernetics and called their "Customer Experience" officer, ******* *******. She acknowledged that it was one of their clients and initially seem prepared to investigate and take corrective action. Since then, no action has been taken and my calls to her extension are never answered and neither does she ever pick up the phone. The caller display on our phone indicates the caller as ***-***-****. When the call is answered there is never anybody on the line. If one calls back the message is "This account is blocked". We now receive many calls each day and during the night.

Desired Settlement
Fibernetics should withdraw service from this customer or take other corrective action that will result in the cessation of these harassing calls.

Business Response
Fibernetics blocked activity on the phone number XXX-XXX-XXXX early in March. The last call on record through our system was placed on March 6th, 2014 at 10:43 PM (EST).

Unfortunately, when companies or people engage in fraudulent behaviour, it is not unusual for them to "spoof" the caller ID, meaning that the number displayed on the caller ID is not actually the number they are calling from. Since this number is not active, this must be what is happening and our measures will not prevent this from happening again.

As a result, if the phone calls persist, I would encourage contact with the Anti-Fraud Center (X-XXX-XXX-XXXX) who should be able to pursue this further.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)

In that activity through this number has been blocked by Fibernetics one assumes that the company became aware of misuse of the service and certainly would know the identity of the customer.
It seems reasonable to assume that the erstwhile customer is now spoofing the same number, using another line.
I'm not sure what call tracing ability Fibernetics has, but I clearly have none.
The advice that I call the Anti-Fraud Centre does not answer the problem .
I understand that on some telephone equipment it is possible to enter any information in the caller ID field. Although this is apparently illegal, it is not clearly fraudulent. In fact, I am not alleging fraud but extreme harassment.

I will follow up with the Anti-fraud squad.

03/25/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

I pay for a server every month from this company. It hasn't worked for 18 days and they will not respond to support tickets or inquiries.
This complaint is in reference to a company owned by ****************. The company I am dealing with is

I have had a server I pay for every month from this company since June, 2013. It went down on January 15, 2014. I tried to access it remotely via the console(as is part of the product they advertise)and was unable to connect.

I opened a support ticket about this issue on 1/15/2014. Today is 2/3/2014 - 18 days later - and my server still does not work.

I do not have an account number for this site, but my account is registerd under my email address - ****************.

The front page of the website says the following things. I have included how they have failed to live up to the promises posted on said website:

1. "99.99% uptime" - I've been down for 18 days.
2. "We offer 24/7 Support using our support ticket system" - I've had the same ticket open for that entire time (********), and have gotten very minimal (and wholly unhelpful) replies.
3. "In the event you cant access your server over the network you can open a direct console to see what is wrong" - The console worked once on day 1, but not since.

Desired Settlement
I just want access to my server and my data.

Business Response
Sorry for the delay as this was in a spam filter.
We had a problem with our support ticket system and this customers ticket was unanswered because it didn't get assigned to anyone.
We since contacted the customer and helped get his server fixed and also credited him.

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Internet Services, Telephone Service - Long Distance, Telephone Communications

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 05/06/2003Business started: 01/03/2003
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Carolyn McGuire (Customer Experience Manager)Mr. Mike Brown (Director Of Operations)Ms. Jennifer Byrne (Manager)Mr. Jody Schnarr (President)
Business Category

Internet Services, Telephone Service - Long Distance, Telephone Communications

Alternate Business Names
Onlinetel Corp (Formerly), Worldline Inc, Worldline International, 295.CA,

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Fibernetics Corp.

605 Boxwood Dr

Cambridge, ON N3E 1A5

To | From


2 Locations

  • 605 Boxwood Dr 

    Cambridge, ON N3E 1A5(519) 489-6700

  • 210-55 Northfield Dr E 

    Waterloo, ON N2K 3T6

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Mid-Western and Central Ontario. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Fibernetics Corp. is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Web Addresses


Additional Email Addresses


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on January 21, 2014.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Internet Services


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.