BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 28/11/2008

Maid-For-You Home Services

(416) 691-9221200-1978 Yonge St, TorontoON M4S 1Z7

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 28/11/2008

BBB has determined that Maid-For-You Home Services meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Maid-For-You Home Services' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Maid-For-You Home Services

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
05/12/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Have been charged for more hours than possible for scope of job done.
I hired maid for you to clean my home twice. I regularly use a cleaning service (twice a month) but was in need of a new company. My 4 level 3 bedroom split house is always 5 hours to clean.

I wasn't thrilled with the service the first time, many surfaces like all my bedside tables and coffee tables were not wiped down, but it was their first time and I gave them the benefit and decided to give them a second try while I was on vacation.
My husband was there to let the cleaning person in and instructed him to not clean 2 bedrooms out of 3 upstairs and the two basement levels (which is a little more than half my house).

When I got home I did indeed find that only half the house cleaned so expected the bill to reflect that. I was very shocked to find I was charged for the full 5 hours on my credit card.
I called in the morning to discuss this as it was obviously an error. There was no way it took the same amount of time to clean half a house as it does a full house.
The lady I spoke to (the owner). She kept saying "we did what your husband told us". Which had nothing to do with what I was saying. I totally understand my husband said to not clean the 2 bedrooms and the basement, but there's no way it took 5 hours to clean 600 square feet!


Desired Settlement
I am requesting to be refunded the $160 that has been charged to my credit card without my consent. I will contact my credit card company in 2 business days if this has not been resolved amicably. As I could not get anywhere with speaking to the owner directly.

Business Response
Good morning

Ms. ****** arranged service via email This was her second appointment with our company. She indicated her husband would be at home to let the hsk in. There was no mention of altering the time required. On the day of service her husband was getting into his car a few minutes before our staff was scheduled to go in. The staff member who was waiting outside ( our staff don't go in appointments early out of respect for the clients time) approached the client and asked if anyone was at home as he was there for an appointment. The husband seemed surprised and said no one else was at home. He let our staff in an instructed him not to launder the sheets and to not do two bedrooms. The office staff spoke to the husband and confirmed that information. The husband was asked if he wanted anything else done because they had booked five hour service he said no just a good cleaning of everything else. The staff stayed the full five hours and cleaned the home.
More than a week later at five after eight am Ms.****** called and was screaming at the office staff that the person who. When clients book with our company they reserve an amount of time. This time is dedicated to them and held. Our staff stayed and worked for the full five hours. We called and left a message checking on the appointment the next day as we do with all clients. There was no return call from the client. If the client wanted to change the service the onus is on her to call and make the adjustments. We did what we were contracted to do and we did a very good job, the client now does not want to pay. After more than a week a house will not be as clean as it was on the day it was cleaned.
We have attempted to have a conversation with this client. This client is not owed a refund the service she requested was provided.

07/24/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

House Cleaning, Janitor Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/08/2001Business started: 09/01/1996
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Khadine Baker C. Doull
Business Category

House Cleaning, Janitor Service

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Maid-For-You Home Services

200-1978 Yonge St

Toronto, ON M4S 1Z7

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Mid-Western and Central Ontario. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Maid-For-You Home Services is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on January 21, 2014.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for House Cleaning

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.