BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 20/03/2009

Kobian Canada Inc

Phone: (905) 948-9967Fax: (905) 948-1601

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

16 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Delivery Issues2
Guarantee / Warranty Issues6
Problems with Product / Service7
Billing / Collection Issues0
Total Closed Complaints16

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (16)
07/29/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

My tablet went in for repair under warranty and was swapped for a BROKEN refurbished eBook reader or lesser value.
Hipstreet Customer Support Log

My tablet froze while writing an email. I contacted support via online chat and we attempted a repair. When that failed, they called voice to attempt a few more difficult things. All failed. They requested a copy of my reciept to verify warranty and was given Case #: XXXXX and RMA #: **** and told to mail the defective unit for diagnosis. Diagnosis revealed that it was unrepairable and they mailed me a "new unit". The unit I recieved was not "new at all". It was a used, refurbished, previous model with a physically defective screen, buttons that boardered on failure and a different operating system. IT WAS NOT THE TABLET I SENT IN!!!

I reported these problems and was instructed to mail the unit back for diagnostics. They recieved the unit and report the unit is in working order.

I was informed at that time that the unit I had was discontinued, this is the unit they are replacing it with. They did not notify me of the "replacement to a lesser device".

I have requested a refund if the unit cannot be repaired or replaced with the same make, model and operating system. I was denied this option entirly!

Please contact...
Peter Cameron
RMA and Customer Service Manager
560 Denison Street, Unit 5
Markham, Ontario, L3R 2M8

Desired Settlement
If the unit has been discontinued and they cannot provide me a new replacement under what I understand to be a standard canadian agreement then I herby request that full monarary refund of the device and all expences as a result of its lack of repair or proper replacement.

Cost of the original tablet $155.90
Cost of initial repair shipping $30.79
Cost of returning defective ereader $22.13
Total sought for Refund: $208.82

Business Response
The customer had contacted us June 25, 2015 with an issue with his product and after we were unable to troubleshot the problem over the phone our next step was to confirm proof of purchase to provide an RMA, which was purchased March 10 2014 (03/10/14 confirmed with store #**** date code) from ******** and was technically out of warranty as we only provide a standard one year warranty, but we sometimes go outside of the warranty to help our customers and I had approved in this case to allow a repair or replacement.
We received the device July 2 which was confirmed to be a ***** * rev 1 (9DTB7) OS 4.2 and deemed defective and we replaced with a ***** * rev 2 (9DTB7A) OS 4.4 which was an upgrade in firmware and hardware and based on the condition of the device received in we replaced with an equivalent condition model if not better condition model for a customer who had had his device for over a year.
We were contacted again that the device was received but had a list of issues and was not happy with the replacement, so we requested that the customer return the device and we would evaluate the concerns. Once back on site we checked the device per issues the customer was having and per standard spec test and tested customer issues found no issues with the device. We informed the customer that no issues were found and that the problem he had with a function required a different step to complete and that we would be returning the same tablet.
We have provided the customer with a fully functioning newer version replacement of their original product and cannot offer a refund as their device was out of warranty (purchased March 10, 2014) and also discontinued. If the customer does have an issue with the replacement product we have approved a standard 90 day warranty that we will support the customer.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The first thing I did when the tablet crashed was to go to ********* to see about replacement. When I showed them the receipt, they confirmed for me OVER THE COUNTER that the device was purchased OCTOBER 3rd, 2014 and is beyond their typical 7 day exchange policy if you don't buy the extended insurance.

After reviewing countless webpages, I have learned (though not absolutely) that the ****** is an European/Oriental version of the hardware. It was made that way to prevent international knockoffs from entering the Americas and vs versa. The replacement unit is one of those illegal knockoffs!!!

The device they sent me was not of like condition, not at all. My tablet had been pampered it existence and even had a non static mat and private charging table. The replacement screen was scratched, defective display, resistive touch, buttons soft and about to fail, and USA/China software. Basically, someone did a VERY BAD job refurbishing a USED AND DEFECTIVE unit and is now trying to dump the unit on me. I wont have this error.

I returned the defective substandard off-continent replacement with a list of problems. In their infinite wisdom, they deem that these defects do not exist and have again sent me the same defective tablet back (it has not been received) regardless of my exclamations otherwise.

I HAVE AN EMAIL FROM THE REPRESENTATIVE DETAILING... When I first attempted to report the replacements issues, I was initially told that it was in part due to the distance between us and that shipping it may have caused damage.

All evasion to the responsibility even then.

It is my believe that they are doing this in order to alleviate themselves of the obligation of warentee and are attempting to dump their issue onto the post office as a damaged claim instead.


Final Consumer Response
This company has finally elected to ship me a Grade #1 unit to replace my warrentee device. It has cause much greif and expence to have this completed with such difficulty that the matter should have been resolved this way in the first place.

Though I concider the matter complete and final now, I should like this complaint to remain on file as a record of these difficulties.

11/19/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

The tablet will not get past the start screen. Prior to this it constantly froze and problems with volume button.
I purchased a Hipstreet Flare2 at ******* in Edmundston, New Brunswick on December 20th 2013. I had multiple problems with it but the day came when it no longer started. Tablet froze at the start screen. That was over 2 months ago. Called customer service. I explained the problem. I submitted a form RMA with a copy of the receipt as per their request. I had to pay out of pocket the return of the tablet. The tablet itself was in mint condition. I contacted the company a week after they received the tablet to find out if they were able to fix the problem with the tablet or if they would have to replace it. To my horror I was informed that the tablet screen was cracked and that the warranty didn't cover this. I mailed a tablet that was not cracked to them. I was informed it would cost me $65 to repair the screen and I would have to pay shipping costs. I wasn't happy with the news. I paid $88 for the tablet on sale. Today I was told they would reduce the price to $45. I will not pay to repair a screen that was like new. I want the tablet fixed or repaired at no cost to me. I e-mailed them today and asked to fix the unit and keep the supposidely cracked screen and to return it at their expense. This way it should be covered by the warranty.

Desired Settlement
I would like a replacement tablet including shipping at their expense or a refund. If they return the tablet with a now cracked screen (according to them)I want the unit to at least be fixed so I can log on/get past the start screen. What good will it do to return a tablet that doesn't work. I purchased the original Hipstreet Flare and had problems with that unit also but never persued it. I figured they had made improvements with the Hipstreet Flare2. They added a rear camera, it had ****** **** ... Turns on the second version has major flaws also. I realize the tablet isn't expensive and that you get what you pay for but to deny the warranty for something that I'm not responsible for blows me away. I wrapped the tablet in the bubble paper and white spongy material that came with the tablet when it was purchased.After that I wrapped it several times in paper to provide more cushioning. I was told I didn't have to send the accessories since they were working fine. I'm unemployed so I tried to keep the shipping costs down.

Business Response
Here at Hipstreet we are always striving to bring great products to market, and when we are contacted by our customers with regards to an issue they are having with our product we take the appropriate action to resolve that issue. When we were contacted by ****, we first tried to trouble shoot the issue over the phone, and when that didn't resolve the problem we then provided her with an RMA number and per industry standards she covers the cost to ship to us and we will cover the cost to return her device and clear instructions to safely package the device to avoid any damages that could occur in shipping as we will reject the shipment and return it to the customer. When we received her RMA and the device with now broken screen, we took pictures showing what we received and informed her that we can either return her device as it was damaged in shipping or charger her to replace the screen and then proceed to repair the under warranty issue she had and returned her device for. After a few messages were exchange between **** and our team, I felt it was important for me to get involve and help to resolve this issue.
Before we knew that this complaint was filed, we had already agreed to replace ****'s device and she was satisfied with the fact that a Canadian company like Hipstreet will step up and help to make things better when things out of our control go wrong.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

06/24/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues
06/11/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues
04/17/2013Advertising / Sales Issues
Page 1 of 2
05/04/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

We sent our Hipstreet tablet for repair in early January, Our case number is ****....My son ***** contacted the company in feb and was told the product had been shipped jan 29th and signed for jan 30 but to Mississauga, Hipstreet tells me they are in markham, we live in welland Ontario and hipstreet has the correct address for our home in welland so Im confused how they shipped the tablet to mississaugua. Hipstreet number...X-XXX-XXX-XXXX

I stepped in and called today (April 20) to receive the same information from Hipstreet, although we have been without our tablet, Hipstreet has our proper address and shipped the tablet to Mississauga. They asked me to contact Canada post, I told them this was there issue. They proceeded to check the website of Canada post and found the information from Feb., that the tablet was delivered to Mississauga not welland. This info is more than two months old and they have done nothing to solve the issue or get us a tablet that we have paid for.

I asked to speak to a supervisor(*****) and asked if she indeed worked for Hipstreet, she confirmed she did. Since, they have been unable to solve the shipping issue in two months and I am uncomfortable with the condition of a tablet that has been shipped and kicked around "wherever", or who knows where. I requested to solve the issue in short order that Hipstreet replace the item and send it directly to the correct welland address.

She responded very vaguely, and would not guarantee when I would be contacted or what may happen. I think, and stated that a complaint of this nature should be handled promptly and expected to be contacted well before days end she gave no guarantees. I have zero confidence that Hipstreet will do anything in this situation. I fear this company is a scam and has at this point in fact stolen my money. Not to mention has wasted a significant amount of my time, my sons time and caused significant frustration.

Desired Settlement
I requested to solve the issue in short order that Hipstreet replace the item and send it directly to the correct welland address.

Business Response
First of all let me start off by apologizing for the disappointment and frustration that you have experienced with our product and the process in resolving your issue. We have since processed a replacement and it will be shipping to the correct address as per our earlier phone conversation. Sorry for the delay as we have been investigating our shipping system to insure that we had not made any other error in shipping and waiting on the status of a claim with the courier. We hope that you enjoy the replacement and thank you for your business.

04/21/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

I purchased the ******* tablet (Model # ************) at ******* on 12/17/13. As per included documentation, the device is covered by a 1-year manufacturer's warranty. On approx 02/28/14, the device experienced a continuous boot-loop issue - it would freeze on the loading screen when turned on. On 03/07/14 I contacted Hipstreet's Tech Support line. After 2 unsuccessful attempts to resolve, Tech Support emailed a warranty form for completion and instructed me to return it with a copy of the original sale receipt; upon receipt, Hipstreet would issue a return authorization number (RMA), without which it could not be returned for service. These were emailed to Tech Support on 03/11.On 03/18, having recd no response, I called Tech Support again and was advised my email had been recd. I was told my request would be expedited to the appropriate dept, and that I would have a response within 48 hrs.Several calls to Tech Support between 03/18 and 03/25 to inquire re: the status of my request, were not answered. On 03/25, having not recd a response, I emailed Tech Support and advised if I didnt receive an RMA by end of day, I would escalate to the BBB and media. I recd a response advising my completed form and receipt had been rec'd, and that I should continue to wait for the RMA #. After complaining on Hipstreet's ******** and ******* pages, Hipstreet contacted me on ******** to confirm the device is still under warranty, and advised that my request would be expedited. I have since heard nothing. I called Tech Support again on 03/27, and was informed my request had been expedited to the dept responsible. I was also advised of a backlog in obtaining RMA #s, but that my case has been given priority. However, no ETA for an RMA # can be provided.
Product_Or_Service: 9" Hipstreet ******* Dual Core 8GB Tablet

Desired Settlement
I am requesting that Hipstreet honour the warranty included with the tablet and either service or replace the defective unit.

Business Response
Replacement device shipped out to the customer April 1st.

04/14/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Kobian (Hipstreet) has not fixed my Broken tablet.
I have tried to contact them several time during last two week but no response. They have my claim details and necessary information but failed to issue RMA.

Desired Settlement
My broken Tablet should immediately be replaced.

Business Response
Contacted Mr. **** this morning to confirm details of the case. We will be sending Mr. **** a brand new unit and will include an accessory at no charge. Mr. **** was satisfied with this resolution.

05/21/2015Problems with Product / Service
06/21/2013Delivery Issues
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Electronic Equipment & Supplies - Dealers, Computers - Supplies & Parts

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.