BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Gatestone & Co. Inc

Phone: (888) 606-9615

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

65 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 13 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues56
Problems with Product / Service9
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints65

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (65)
03/15/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have been getting constant calls from gatestone by ****** . yes I understand I have an outstanding debt etc they have been calling my parents place for my info not once but 3 times they have called me at my work every other day. it started on day one I told ******** I cant pay in full 1600 or something she told me payments aren't an option and told me about a 3rd party loan company I took the info down and sat on it, 2 days later she calls again I said I was just talking to she proceeded to say I didn't email her saying I contacted progress (the loan) I said I am not dealing with a loan company that isn't a bank and am willing to do payments, she said they want the money now and that the ship has sailed to do payments so I gathered my info even bank statements and sent them off to this company just to get her off my back the next day (today) I had a epiphany and thought I would ****** and from my understanding ******** had no right to deny me a payment method or a compromise. no right to keep calling my parents who I haven't lived there for 2 years and calls my work in which my boss picks takes the call and somehow knows who they are and what they want! the boss is my father as well which it didn't end well when he found out about my problem! I have emailed ********* asking to take down my application. lets see how that goes! so not only am I in hot water with gatestone I have seemed to have dug myself a bigger hole by a company that the agent thought would pull over my head without giving me other options

Desired Settlement
I would like gatestone not to call my parents and work and to at least give me a chance with payments its only roughly 1600 it can be paid in no time just not in full ASAP as they would like

Business Response
March 9, 2016

Dear Miss *****,

We are in receipt of the complaint filed with the Better Business Bureau in regards to an account placed with our office. Our Compliance Department has reviewed the complaint and offers the following response based on your account information:

An account under your name was assigned to our office on February 11, 2016 by ******* for collections. The last letter was sent to the address mentioned above on February 12, 2016, confirming the assignment of your account to our company. The current outstanding balance is $ 1708.49.

We have added the following phone numbers XXX XXX-XXXX and XXX XXX-XXXX to our internal "Do Not Call List" and you will no longer receive calls on those numbers.

We would be pleased to offer you to speak to our Manager ******** *********** directly at 1-866-468-3201 x **** and discuss a payment arrangement that is best suited for you or any other questions or concerns that you may have.

In regards to your recent experience with Gatestone, we would like to take this opportunity to formally apologize for the inconveniences caused.


Sincerely,



*** *****
Associate Vice President

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

10/02/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Paid my collection debt in full, never was sent a letter stating it has been removed and never been contacted since I sent money to gatestone account.
September 02, 2015 I had made contact with gatestone co. in regards to a debt outstanding, made contact with a ****** ******* at the company who I dealt with over the phone, found out the total amount owing which was $945.94 for a visa/scotia bank account from years ago.

I was given their bank account number *********** (verified at my local branch before transfering money) I then transferred the $945.94 from my bank account and received a transaction record and bank receipt with the bill payment reference number XXXXXX to Gatestone & Co. INC paid full.

I then sent a fax copy to a fax number provided (X-XXX-XXX-XXXX) attention saleem with a copy of the bank transaction record showing proof of money being moved to their account.

I waited and tried to call the next day to verify that they had received my fax that I sent, I was sent straight to voice mail multiple times before I left a message in regards to the debt, left my name, phone number and account number and never received a call back in over two weeks.

I tried calling the same number X-XXX-XXX-XXXX and after they give a disclaimer that your phone call will me recorded for quality purposes it just sits on a blank line and doesn't give any options to further the phone call.

I called the phone number provided on the BBB site (XXX) XXX-XXXX and it goes straight to voicemail aswell.

The employee I dealt with said it would be cleared right away from their records and they would send a letter in the mail verifying that the amount has been paid, but this is the kicker today on september 9th, 2015 I received a phone call from a DIFFERENT collection agency saying I owe money to scotiabank even though I paid $945.94 to gatestone co. over a week ago!

I have my transaction record with proof I paid the account XXXXXXXXXXXX in full, pictures of my online banking account showing the money transferred aswell.

All I want is gatestone co. to acknowledge the debt has been paid full with a letter in the mail stating they received payment full and the collections account is CLOSED, I don't want to have anymore calls regarding this collections that has been paid full.

Desired Settlement
Acknowledgement of payment, debt cleared from credit or at least stating "PAID IN FULL" and a letter sent to my mailing address from gatestone stating I paid my entire amount owing in full, I sent a fax receipt but never received follow up and when I try to phone gatestone to talk to someone I just get sent to voicemail instantly.

Now I have a different collection agency trying to collect the same debt a week later after I paid gatestone out in full.

Business Response
September 30, 2015

Dear Mr. *****,

We are in receipt of the complaint filed with the Better Business Bureau in regards to an account placed with our office. Our Compliance Department has reviewed the complaint with our Manager and offer the following as our response:

An account under your name was assigned to our office on August 15, 2015 by ********** for collection. As per your complaint, we requested ********** to reassign your file to our office and it was successfully reassigned. We have posted $632.31 of the payment to your account and a refund check for the excess payment of $313.63 has been attached to this response.

Your account status will be updated as paid in full. If you have any further questions or concerns, please call one of our Managers, ***** ******* directly at 416-961-9622 Ext. *****

In regards to his recent experience with Gatestone & Co., we would like to take this opportunity to formally apologize for any inconvenience and misunderstanding that this recent incident with our office may have caused.

If you have any additional questions or concerns, please contact one of our Managers ******** ********** at 1- 866 - 468 3201 x *****

Thanks,

*** *****
Associate Vice President

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Thank you *** for taking the time to reply to this response and to get it corrected in a quick manner.

Apology accepted, when you say the excess refund has been attached, will that be mailed to my mailing address provided?

Take care!

09/11/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They are collecting money and not forwarding or notifying the company the collected for
My ****** cell phone account was sent to Gatestone for collection, I came to a settlement with them and paid it off May 13, 15. They haven't notified ****** even though I've made repeated attempts to get this done and refuse to give me any documentation on the payment. In the meantime ****** has now sent my account to another company for collection who is harassing me 4-5 times a day and won't stop until I can show them documentation and on top of that it'll still be going against my credit rating.

Desired Settlement
I want them to notify ****** that the account has been paid, I want it showing paid in the credit bureau and I want some documentation showing my payment so that I can get this other company to stop calling

Business Response
September 10, 2015

Dear Miss. ********,

We are in receipt of the complaint filed with the Better Business Bureau in regards to an account placed with our office. Our Compliance Department has reviewed the complaint with our Manager and offer the following as our response:

An account under your name was assigned to our office on February 25, 2014 by ****** ************** for collection. In regards to your complaint about the settlement arrangement with our company; we have reviewed your account and it was confirmed that the settlement arrangement was fulfilled in May 15, 2015 for $2750.00 and all payments made to Gatestone were remitted to ****** *************** However, upon receipt of the settlement payment, the representative handling your account failed to follow our company's settlement procedure and as a result the account was not closed as settled.

The account was later reassigned to another agency by ****** for the aforementioned error. We have notified ****** ************** about the issue and your account was closed with the other agency. In addition, we have updated both your credit report to reflect the settlement arrangement with our company.

In regards to his recent experience with Gatestone & Co., we would like to take this opportunity to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience and misunderstanding that this recent incident with our office may have caused.

If you have any additional questions or concerns, please contact one of our Managers ******** ********** at 1- 866 - 468 3201 x *****

Thanks,


*** *****
Associate Vice President

Consumer Response
I am satisfied with the result but think Gatestone should be aware that I tried to resolve this matter directly with them several times and was treated very ignorantly by their manager when it finally went to him after weeks of me trying to get this looked after.

Thank-you for your help in this matter.

07/22/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
A ****** ****** from this company has been repeatedly harassing us looking to collect a debt from an individual we have never heard of, nor are related to. We do not know an ***** ********. I can only suspect they ******* the last name and have been harassing anyone with the same last name. We have left several voicemails indicating they had the wrong number yet the calls continued. They would not provide my with their collections license number for the province of BC, nor would they tell me how they obtained my phone number. They did say that they would remove the number but couldn't gaurantee that it wouldn't be called again. This is unacceptable.

Desired Settlement
I Want All Calls From This Company To Cease And Desist!

Business Response
July 21, 2015

Dear Mr. ********,

We are in receipt of the complaint filed with the Better Business Bureau in regards to an account placed with our office. Our Compliance Department has reviewed the complaint with our Manager and offer the following as our response:

As per your complaint, your phone numbers XXX- XXX-XXXX and XXX-XXX-XXXX were added to our internal "Do Not Call List" and you will no longer receive calls from our office.

In regards to your recent experience with Gatestone & Co., we would like to take this opportunity to formally apologize for any inconvenience and misunderstanding that this recent incident with our office may have caused.

If you have any additional questions or concerns, please contact one of our Managers **** *********** directly at 1-888-891-6691 ext *****

Thanks,


*** *****
Associate Vice President

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

07/09/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Has called several times for a person in collections that does not live here. Wrong phone number and refuses to take my number off their files.

Desired Settlement
stop calling me

Business Response
Dear Ms. ********,

We are in receipt of the complaint filed with the Better Business Bureau in regards to an account placed with our office. Our Compliance Department has reviewed the complaint with our Manager and offer the following as our response:

As per your complaint, your phone number XXX XXX XXXX was added to our internal "Do Not Call List" and you will no longer receive calls from our office.

In regards to your recent experience with Gatestone & Co., we would like to take this opportunity to formally apologize for any inconvenience and misunderstanding that this recent incident with our office may have caused.

If you have any additional questions or concerns, please contact **** ****** directly at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX extension ****

Thanks,

*** *****
Associate Vice President

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

Page 1 of 5
04/11/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was accepted by ********* to receive a loan of $1700 to pay gatestone so that I was able to gain credit by paying the loan. This all happened in the beginning of February 2016 and it is now March 2016 and I still have not received the settlement letter that I was promised. I have a recording that states that he was sending me the letter and I expect gatestone to send me one stating that my settlement offer was accepted at $1700 instead of 2368.34 so that I am not chased by an other collections company for the rest of the money.

Desired Settlement
I expect gatestone to send me my settlement letter stating that my settlement offer was $1700 and that it was paid to them so I am not chased for the remainder of the money.

Business Response
March 16, 2016

Dear Miss ********,

We are in receipt of the complaint filed with the Better Business Bureau in regards to an account placed with our office. Our Compliance Department has reviewed the complaint and offers the following response based on your account information.

An account under your name was assigned to our office on July 1, 2015 by **** of ********* for collections. At the time of the assignment, the balance on your account was $2149.18.

We received a payment in the amount of $1700.00 on February 10, 2016. Your account was closed with our office as settled in full on March 1, 2016.

A settlement release letter confirming the completion of your settlement agreement was forwarded to the address mentioned above on March 1, 2016. We have enclosed a copy of the settlement release letter for your reference.

You no longer have any obligations towards this account. If you have any further questions or concerns, please contact **************** directly.


Sincerely,



*** *****
Associate Vice President

02/22/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This collection agency is trying to collect some debt on card 0000 which is not mine and can't explain the debt or specifics
I own **************** Card ending **** since over 8 years and have regularly been paying and have zero balance to pay even today.

This collection agency has been harassing me for a debt on a card that is not mine and not explaining what this debt it. **** has cancelled even my active card and I have escalated the matter to **** also as well as Banking Ombudsman.

I live in India and I was trying to pay for my sons Admission application fees to ******** and ********* via my active card ending **** when I realized that it was declined. I logged in to my account and it showed zero balance due but also it showed that my card stood cancelled. I did not cancel my card. So I followed up with **** support and they gave me number of GatesStone agency which has my file. **** has no data on the incident. I followed up with their number 18008095850 and asked specifics but they didn't have it and said that I had to pay $720 for a debut of $137 on my card 0000 and I said that I don't have this 0000 as active card nor is my account showing any balance due.. it shows zero balance so pls provide details of the bill and they could not provide.

I need to know:

What is this debt about?
What was the date of transaction and who was the merchant?
Was it from a valid and active credit card?
Did **************** send bill on this? When and where?
When was my file been given to a collection agency?
What is the licence/registration number of this collection agency?
Who from **************** gave the file to collection agency to collect the money?
Was the transaction in dispute mentioned in there by ****************?
What has gone into my credit file?
Who will pay for damages to my credit and harassment?
Why is my card ending **** cancelled?

I have also asked Banking Ombudsman of Canada to cancel their licence if they cannot provide answer as well as pay me for the pain and harassment I have gone through. I was against a timeline to pay for my son's admission application fees and this transaction denial on my active card put me under lot of psychological harassment and stress. Since last 3 hours I am trying to figure out what exactly is this collection agency trying go do here and what is this debt for which they want me to pay this amount?

Desired Settlement
Pls provide copies of exchange with **************** to authorize this collection. Either **** of GatesStone should pay for damage to my credit and harassment.

Business Response
January 25, 2016

Dear Mr. ****,

We are in receipt of the complaint filed with the Better Business Bureau in regards to an account placed with our office. Our Compliance Department has reviewed the complaint and offers the following response based on your account information:

An account under your name was assigned to our office on November 24, 2015 by **************** for collections. A letter was sent to the address mentioned above on November 25, 2015 confirming the assignment of your account to our company. The original credit card number is as follows: XXXXXXXXXXXXXXX and your spouse ********* **** is listed as the co signer.

On January 5, 2016, we received a call from you, where you were informed about the account and you stated that the account would be paid in full as long you received a letter. A letter was mailed to the afore-mentioned address on January 6, 2016.

On January 7, 2016, we spoke to you again. You disputed the account, because you believed it was fraudulent. Your dispute was forwarded to **************** for review.

At the time of the assignment the balance of your account was $704.60. We have received balance adjustments from **************** on January 11, 2016 and your account status was updated to paid in full.

Your account was closed with our office on January 11, 2016 and was returned to ****************. You will no longer receive calls or correspondence from our office. In addition, we have also requested a Validation of Debt package to be mailed to your address for your review.

If you have any additional questions or concerns, please contact **************** directly.

Sincerely,

*** *****
Associate Vice President

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
1) The following address of my brother was not on file with Gatestone & Co till I spoke with them on 5 January 2016

XXXXX XX ***
******* ** *** ***

So there was noway they could have sent any collection letter on Nov 25, 2015 as stated in their letter.

2) I gave them address of my brother on 5 January 2016 asking for detailed bill after which I said I will review and pay if the charges are genuine or I can pay in full if Gatestone can guarantee that I can claim refund and damages of my time, etc . But the response only says part of the conversation and selectively ignored the other part.

I confirm that my brother did receive letter dated 6 January and that letter image was sent to me via ********. This letter is also bogus as it did not detail the specifics of charges that I requested.

In their response they have not replied to my questions on how the debt was validated in the first place by them prior to harassing me.

Collection agencies needs to work with caution and I would like more details on the functioning here so I can write to Canadian government authorities also on how someone without checking on factual record, substance is harassed.

Even if the account is made NIL, I would want this file to be kept open till each and every of my question I asked in original complaint is responded. It is very important that it is replied and I be given copies of all correspondence. Today my active credit card is cancelled and I am already suffering for no fault of my own.

Neither Gatestone nor **** should be allowed to get away with this.

Final Business Response
February 8, 2016

Dear Mr. ****,

We are in receipt of the complaint filed with the Better Business Bureau in regards to an account placed with our office.

According to the information on your file, all letters were mailed to ******************************************************** until January 6, 2016. At the time of our last response, due to a system error the address you provided on January 5, 2016: ******************************** showed as the only address on file and that is why we said that the letters were mailed to that address. As per your request on January 5, 2016, the address was updated and a balance letter was mailed on January 6, 2016.

Although we would like to help you with the validation of debt you requested, **************** has closed your account in our office as paid in full. We are no longer handling your account at our office. Your dispute was forwarded to **************** for review and we were advised that you are in contact with them.

Due to the current status of your account we are unable to provide you with the information you have requested. Please contact **************** for any further questions that you may have.

Sincerely,

*********
Associate Vice President

01/04/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
October 21st - collection letter received asking to contact gatestone within 48 hours. After 2 weeks of trying to speak with someone at gatestone I wanted to know the breakdown of the charges, invoices, and how long the balance has been outstanding. As gatestone was unable to provide this information I sent in an email of dispute on November 16th to ****@gatestoneco.com advising not to report the matter to the credit bureau. To date I am still receiving phone calls from gatestone asking to pay the balance and they are unable to provide me with any answers but demanding the funds to be paid.

Desired Settlement
As per the collection agency act, gatestone should have honored my request and not file an outstanding balance to the credit bureau.

I want this balance removed and my credit history removed from this incident. I await for an apology from gatestone and answers to my questions on why they are contacting me.

Business Response
Dear Mr. **************

We are in receipt of the complaint filed with the Better Business Bureau in regards to an account placed with our office. Our Compliance Manager has reviewed the complaint and offers the following as our response:

An account under your name was assigned to our office on October 21, 2015 by the City of ******** for collections. A letter was sent to the address mentioned above on October 22, 2015 confirming the assignment of your account to our company. This account is for a parking ticket which was issued by the City of ******** for violation of the highway traffic Act - section 53 - Driving under suspension.

On November 12, 2015 we received a call from your spouse ******* ********** and she was advised that we would need written authorization from you in order to discuss the account with her, which was later provided to us. Your spouse later advised us that you will be filing personal bankruptcy and was advised to contact the City of ******** directly in regards to that matter. On November 24, 2015 we received another call from your spouse where we were advised that you are disputing the account and to stop the calls. We have not placed calls after that.

We have added all phone numbers attached to your account to our internal "Do Not Call List" and you will not receive any further calls from our office.

As a courtesy, we have attached the copy of the statement from the City of ******** for your review. You can directly go to the POA Court in ******** to obtain a copy of your parking ticket.

If you have any additional questions or concerns, please contact our Manager ******* ********* at XXX XXX XXXX ext *****


Sincerely,


*** *****
Associate Vice President

10/19/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have been contacted by your company many times in the past regarding the account of ***** ******* You have contacted me through the following phone-numbers:
1. XXX-XXX-XXXX
2. XXX-XXX-XXXX
I have attempted to inform you on multiple occasions that I am not that person. I have spoken with a manager at your organisation and have explained this situation to them (this occurred a few months ago). I was recently contacted by other members at this company despite being assured that this would not happen again (3 times in the last few weeks).
Please do not attempt to contact me again or I will continue with a formal complaint to Ontario's Ministry of Consumer Services.

Desired Settlement
I do not wish to be contacted at the above mentioned phone numbers.

Business Response
October 6, 2015

Dear Miss. ******,

We are in receipt of the complaint filed with the Better Business Bureau in regards to an account placed with our office. Our Compliance Department has reviewed the complaint with our Manager and offer the following as our response:

As per your complaint, your phone numbers (XXX)-XXX-XXXX and (XXX)-XXX-XXXX has been added to our internal "Do Not Call List" and you will no longer receive calls from our office.

In regards to his recent experience with Gatestone & Co., we would like to take this opportunity to formally apologize for any inconvenience and misunderstanding that this recent incident with our office may have caused.

If you have any additional questions or concerns, please contact one of our Managers ***** ******* at 416-961-9622 Ext. *****

Thanks,

*** *****
Associate Vice President

10/01/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Gatestone Rep continues to call place of employment after I have left a message asking to not contact me at there as cannot take these calls at my place of employment. However the rep continues to call after I have resquested to stop.

Everyday they call from the same number and it needs to stop immediately. I have given the agency my cell to contact me and thats the only number they should call.

Desired Settlement
No more further contact at place of employment as requested

Business Response
September 10, 2015

Dear Miss. *****,

We are in receipt of the complaint filed with the Better Business Bureau in regards to an account placed with our office. Our Compliance Department has reviewed the complaint with our Manager and offer the following as our response:

An account under your name was assigned to our office on May 12, 2015 by ****** ************** for collection. A letter was sent to the address mentioned above on June 11, 2015. As per your complaint your work phone number (XXX) XXX XXXX was added to our internal "Do Not Call List" and you will no longer receive calls on that number.

In regards to his recent experience with Gatestone & Co., we would like to take this opportunity to formally apologize for any inconvenience and misunderstanding that this recent incident with our office may have caused.

If you have any additional questions or concerns, please contact one of our Managers ******** ********** at 1- 866 - 468 3201 x *****

Thanks,


*** *****
Associate Vice President

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This business has stated that as of September 10, 2015 my work number was placed on the do not call list. However, am still receiving calls from them at work. How long does it take for this process to take affect. I will not be satisfied until the calls completely stop at my workplace. Thank you.

Final Business Response
October 1, 2015

Dear Miss. *****,

We are in receipt of the complaint filed with the Better Business Bureau in regards to an account placed with our office. Our Compliance Department has reviewed the complaint with our Manager and offer the following as our response:

In regards to your complaint about receiving calls on your work phone number; we have reviewed our records and found that no calls were placed on your work number (XXX) XXX XXXX after August 18, 2015 as it was added to our internal "Do Not Call List."

In regards to his recent experience with Gatestone & Co., we would like to take this opportunity to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience and misunderstanding that this recent incident with our office may have caused.

If you have any additional questions or concerns, please contact one of our Managers ******** ********** at 1- 866 - 468 3201 x *****

Thanks,

*** *****
Associate Vice President

Page 1 of 9

Industry Comparison| Chart

Collection Agencies

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.