BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

8Com Inc

Find a Location

(416) 745-99006A - 1315 Derry Road East, MississaugaON L5T 1B6 Send email to 8Com Inchttp://www.8com.ca

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

8COM provides High Speed Cable Internet, Home Phone Service, Mobile Phone Service and Television Services in Canada, Coast to Coast coverage.

BBB Accreditation

8Com Inc is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised 8Com Inc's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 28 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

28 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Billing / Collection Issues10
Problems with Product / Service16
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 28

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on 8Com Inc

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (28)
06/10/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
8Com inc said my monthly bill will by $24.99 but increased this to $35.99. They are also demanding a $50 cancellation fee.
On May 11, 2013 I bought a pre-paid cell phone plan with ************/8Com Inc. The service provider was ***********. 8com inc changed the service provider to ***** in November 2013. During the change there was no cellular service for more than 1 week. They did not credit me for the week with no service, even though I had paid for it in advance. Before going with ***** I personally visited the ************/8com Inc office and asked about my plan with *****. I was told the plan will be the same and there will be no change, the monthly fee will continue to be $24.99/mth. On Jan 7, 2014 I received a text message from 8Com inc informing me they were cancelling the contract. After cancelling the contract, I received a second message on Jan 25, 2014 that my monthly fee will be increasing to $35.99/mth which is a 44% increase. I did not agree to this as it was not what I had originally signed up for. I requested to cancel my service and they said I have to give them 1 month notice and pay $35.99. I agreed to provide the 1 month notice, however I was not going to pay what I did not agree to originally nor was I going to pay a cancellation fee on a pre-paid service. They said I have to pay the final bill which included a $50.00 cancellation fee. This is unfair because they changed the terms of the contract and then expected me to pay a cancellation fee. I paid until Feb 10, 2014, but I was going to pay until March 10 to comply with 1 month notice request. They cancelled my service on Feb 6, 2014. They opened a ticket for cancellation on Feb 5, 2014, ticket number ******. Now they are demanding that I pay a cancellation fee and pay for service from Feb 11 to Mar 10. I was completely willing to stick to the terms of our contract, however they changed them and are now trying to make me pay more than what was originally agreed to.

Desired Settlement
I should not have to pay $35.99 when I originally agreed to pay $24.99. And I should not have to pay $24.99 when they didn't honour the 1 month notice and cancelled my service early. I was told by 8com that my monthly bill would remain $24.99 and I was happy with that. They upped the charge and then are trying to make me pay a cancellation fee. I don't want to pay a cancellation fee when they are the ones who changed the terms of service. Ultimately I would like a written statement through regular mail from 8com indicating I have a 0 balance and to stop *********** ** with a collection agency.

Business Response
Dear Sir, Thank you for coming in and speaking to our manager, and resolving the matter. Your account is fully paid and up to date. Thanks again for giving us the chance to serve you.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I accept this but reluctantly as I still had to pay for 1 months service that I didn't receive. I don't want to drag this out so I will agree.

02/19/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I got plan for $24.99 for 2 years contract on nov. 2013. I paid $60.00 activation fee too. My contract is cancelled now and my price is increased by 8com.ca I don't know what to do. I messed my old phone plan too.
Product_Or_Service: RIM /z30/canada wide
Account_Number: ************

Desired Settlement
refund my money or keep on $24.99 per month.

Business Response
Hi Mr.****, we can offer you $29.99 for Canada wide as an exception, or $24.99 Province Wide calling, again this is for our special clients, such as yourself, do let us know if this is something that is suitable and you would like to do this.

Thanks

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


Final Business Response
Thanks for accepting our offer.

$29.99 you can call XXXXXXXXXX and request it, and we will process it.

Also the $50 account closing fee is mandated within the Wireless Code it is Law, please review the CRTC website it allows the $50, this is charged by our supplier Telus, you can check their website also.

02/24/2014Billing / Collection Issues
01/31/2014Problems with Product / Service
03/10/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
When I bought a deal with this company, 3 years ago, its name was ***. They charged a price of $10.00 (plus tax) and made me pay a price of $50.00 as security deposit. The company then increased it within the 3 years to, $17.00 and later to $22.00. In December 2013, they changed their name to 8com and due to it, my bill was about $28.24 (including tax). Now in February, after I made an advance payment for the month, they wanted $35.00. Moreover, they also want me to pay February with that amount even though I had already paid that month. When I refused and discussed this issue with them, they disconnected my phone service. They want me to pay a $50.00 fee, in order to port my phone number.

Desired Settlement
I would like my $50.00 security, and my money for the month of February back since I was disconnected on February 10th and have paid for the month. I would also like them to port my phone number so I could buy another deal with another company.

Business Response
Dear Sir, the $50 deposit you said you have paid, do you have a receipt? as I do not see any deposit.

As well, the $50 is mandated by the CRTC, under the Wireless Code, this is for closing your account, with the carriers.

In any case, since you have taken your time out to write this complaint, we are offering to waive the $50 account closing fee.

And if you have any proof of the deposit being paid, please provide that, and we can refund it to you.

Also, we have new plans:

$24.99 is Province Wide
$29.99 is Canada Wide

Let us know if you would like to keep service and use these plans.

Thanks

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Yes 8com is fraud. I am not only facing this problem. lots of people are facing the same problem. Don't talk stupid, if you want you can give thousand dollars to charity, I don't care. YOU WILL NOT DECIDE ABOUT MY MONEY AND WHAT TO DO WITH IT.


Final Business Response
Mr. ******, please provide something to demonstrate you gave a deposit.

At this point you are calling us a fraud, after years of using our service, do you really think its fraud after using our services all these years, and the thousands of dollars you have saved with a $9 plan, when every other company was selling service at $50 for the same sort of plan.

If you like we can donate $50 to charity in your name to resolve this issue, is this something that would be acceptable to you to resolve your complaint?

06/22/2015Problems with Product / Service
06/15/2015Billing / Collection Issues
03/30/2015Billing / Collection Issues
01/13/2015Billing / Collection Issues
Page 1 of 5

Industry Comparison| Chart

Cellular Telephone Service & Supplies

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 29/07/2010Business started: 20/11/2005
Contact Information
Mr George Bagaco (Spokesperson)Miss Shauna Belford (Manager)Miss Sandip Kooner (General Manager)
Business Category

Cellular Telephone Service & Supplies

Products & Services

Internet, Home Phone, Wireless, and Television Service to Canadians, all across Canada.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 10:00 AM to 06:00 PMTue: 10:00 AM to 06:00 PMWed: 10:00 AM to 06:00 PMThu: 10:00 AM to 06:00 PMFri: 10:00 AM to 06:00 PMSat: 12:00 PM to 06:00 PM
Refund and Exchange Policy

We have a 30% restocking fee which is strictly enforced on hardware. Mobile Phones should have less than 15 minutes or 15 days whichever occurs first to consider a refund or an exchange.

Sim Cards and Accessories are non-refundable and we will not exchange.

Service Area

Canada

Alternate Business Names
formerly MSN Wireless Inc

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for 8Com Inc

6A - 1315 Derry Road East

Mississauga, ON L5T 1B6

To | From

LocationsX

3 Locations

  • 103 - 8434 - 120 Street 

    Surrey, BC V3W 7S2

  • 18420 Hurontario St 

    Caledon Village, ON L7K 0Y2

  • 6A - 1315 Derry Road East 

    Mississauga, ON L5T 1B6

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in BBB Central Ontario. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*8Com Inc is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on January 21, 2014.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Cellular Telephone Service & Supplies

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.