BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 01/03/2007

Monitoring Center The

Phone: (866) 247-4999Fax: (905) 829-8587

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints2

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
03/24/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

They agreed to Monitor my home and since I have canceled the contract and there still is 7 months remaining in the contract of monitoring services.
I want my money back for the remaining 7 months, and they refuse to refund me. The contract that I signed was 5 years ago, Contract was just renewed less than a year ago over a phone call. They needed my credit card information. I was not faxed new contract details. I should have been asked to review the contract and sign.
I do not wish that they keep my private information in the eventuality that I become a customer in the future.
I prepaid for a full year for monitoring my home alarm, and there is 7 months left. Since they're not monitoring my home any longer, they're not providing any service anymore, its only fair that they return my money.
Thank you. I tried and they're just refusing.

Desired Settlement
Money back for 7 months.

Business Response

Mr. ***** signed up to our services and his existing alarm system was successfully converted to The Monitoring Center on March 5th, 2010. Mr. *****'s automatic renewal date would occur October 2011 as he was also awarded a 6 month FREE alarm monitoring sign up bonus. He therefore paid for 12 months of alarm monitoring but received 18 months.

it is a 1 year automatically renewable agreement. Our contract also clearly explains to our subscribers that 15 days' notice prior to renewal is required in order to effect cancellation of their alarm monitoring service. It further outlines that prepaid funds are transferrable but not refundable.

TMC Contract

Clause #1
I/we authorize TMC to debit my Bank account/Credit Card named above for all future charges plus any applicable taxes. If I/we make any changes to the Bank account or credit card above I/we agree to notify TMC prior to any such changes etc..

Clause #4
This is an agreement between you ("Subscriber") and The Monitoring Center a division of Energy Savings Corporation ("TMC"). All charges are payable in advance of the renewal date. Agreement for service is for a period of 1 year. Except where noted otherwise, service commences when the necessary connect on is effected. This agreement is automatically renewable annually unless terminated by either party in writing. Subscriber must give The monitoring Center 15 days notification of termination in writing. Upon termination by the Subscriber it is understood that all pre-paid funds are forfeited or transferred to a new location established by you and agreed to by TMC. Etc...

Mr. ***** states his contract was renewed over the telephone when in fact it was simply a credit card renewal conversation in order to continue his existing contract with The Monitoring Center whereupon we have been deducting his annual renewal fee every year since his renewal date in October 2011. Clause #1 of our contract advises our subscribers to contact The Monitoring Center prior to renewal with any personal bank information changes.

Mr. ***** is also expressing concern about his credit card account information. We would like to assure Mr. ***** that this information is not held by The Monitoring Center and is deleted immediately from our accounting screens upon written notice of cancellation from our subscribers. In order to verify this for Mr. ***** please see a print out of his account audit history ARXXXXXX which demonstrates the deletion of his account information March 13th, 2015.

Page 5 print out
a) "discontinuance" deletes all pre-authorized banking information
b) "Active" changed from "Y" for yes to "N" for no (changed to inactive account)
Page 6 print out
This is a current screen shot of Mr. *****'s Auto Debit Accounting screen which demonstrates that all accounting and banking details on ARXXXXXX are blank.

Upon receiving Mr. *****'s cancellation on March 13th, 2015, our accounting department forwarded him an email explaining his 7 prepaid monitoring months on account which can be transferred to his new residence. The letter goes on to explain that these funds are his monitoring funds and will be held on account in the case he is in need of alarm monitoring anytime in his future. The Monitoring Center also offers subscribers the option of transferring these prepaid monitoring funds to a friend or relative.

These above options are offered to our TMC subscribers as a good will gesture as our contract clearly states these funds would be forfeited by the subscriber if not cancelled 15 days prior to renewal. The Monitoring Center is under no contractual obligation and I must say that I am personally very proud to be affiliated with a company that not only provides the lowest alarm monitoring fee in our industry, but also offer our subscribers alternatives for use of their forfeited funds. We urge Mr. ***** to consider the quality of service that has been delivered to him and the price point that he has enjoyed over the past 5 years in the hope that he understands the importance of TMC staying true to our business model and our contract so we can continue to offer subscriber affordable monitoring rates.

We are optimistic that this will clear things up for Mr. ***** and want to ensure he understands that the 7 prepaid months are not refundable in cash, however these funds are allocated "alarm monitoring dollars" in his name that can be recuperated by him or gifted to another subscriber of his choosing at any time. It is important to note that we would require written notice of the gifting of these funds for our records should he decide to move forward with this option.

We further wish Mr. ***** well and thank him for his 5 years of patronage, hoping to part ways on good terms and hoping to be of service to him, or someone of his choosing in the near future.

Thank you for your assistance.

Sales Manager

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Contract was signed in 2010. My cancelation were for financial reasons. The services that I paid for are for monitoring. Its not like You've sent me a product for me to consume.
Since its an automatic renewal, even if you were planning on cancelling and you forgot to cancel 15 days upon renewal which I was not informed of, your stuck for another year. Did I mention contract was signed in 2010?
Renewal was over the phone.
I ask to please consider your decision and make an exception in this case. Thank you.

Final Business Response
We stand by our original response. Thank you.

05/19/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Non discolure of charges.
My alarm service is not working since past 15 days. Monitoring Center has given me so hard time to call my Home phone provider 2 times payed them twice they cant fix it now they never disclosed there fee when they sold me there system now they want to. Charge me $70 for there tech to come out.

Desired Settlement
Please I want my system to be fixed

Business Response
Mr. ****** signed up to our services by placing an order for us to take over the alarm monitoring of his "existing" alarm system on September 23rd, 2013. His system was converted to The Monitoring Center successfully on October 7th, 2013.

On October 7th, 2013 Mr. ****** had one of our technicians attend his home in order to switch his alarm monitoring to us for only $9.99/month. Once completed the technician presented him with our contract and our Acknowledgement form for acknowledgement and signage. Because we take over existing alarm systems and fully check and test these systems upon the conversion process, customers are asked to sign this acknowledgement form which clearly states "I/We also acknowledge that any required future service of the security alarm system may be charged at The Monitoring Center's prevailing hourly rate of $79.00 + parts (taxes extra) if required (rate subject to change). This clause is not in small writing and is worded in a straight forward manner so that there is no future confusion.

Mr. ****** was also presented with our Service Form which he also signed acknowledging that the technician programmed and tested his system. At this point Mr. ******'s alarm system was fully functional and we were receiving all alarm signals from his home.

On March 27th, 2014, Mr. ****** called in to test his signals and this test failed. Mr. ****** advised us that he had switched telephone line providers from ****** to ****** which would explain this "new" non-communication issue as alarm system signals travel through the phone line. It is clear that when the ****** technician came to hook up the new phone service he/she did not connect the alarm system correctly. We created a service ticket in order to try to assist Mr. ****** over the phone which is free of charge. Our phone technician tried to troubleshoot the new phone provider connection problem with him but we were unsuccessful as Mr. ****** was unable to locate the phone jack. We advised Mr. ****** that we would be happy to send a service technician to his home at the rate of $79.00 per hour in order to re-connect the phone to the alarm properly. He was advised that if this miscommunication error was in any way a problem The Monitoring Center caused that he would not be responsible...we also reduced our $79.00 service charge down to $65.00 in order to try and satisfy Mr. ******'s dissatisfaction with the servicing fee.

We would like very much to get Mr. ******'s alarm system up and running for him once again.

Our website Q&A the last question addresses our service charges.

Please advise if there is anything further we can do.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)

Final Business Response
I left ******* a message to please contact me personally so I could try to assist him.

******* did contact me yesterday afternoon and I have arranged (with special permission from our President) to have one of our technicians visit him on May 15th at no charge in order to try and remedy his connection issues.

It is so important to understand that The Monitoring Center keeps its' monitoring rates at only $9.99/month whereas our competitors are $25.00 to $30.00 per month and this service call is sincerely being covered by us and is a loss to the company as we do not have that extra monthly $15.00 to $20.00 cushion in order to absorb these costs.

******* was very appreciative and I do home we have met his expectations.

Thank you,


Industry Comparison| Chart

Burglar Alarm Systems - Dealers, Monitoring & Service

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.