BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 31/07/2007

Tangerine Investment Management Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (888) 464-3232Fax: (416) 497-89083389 Steeles Ave E, North YorkON M2H 3S8View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 31/07/2007

BBB has determined that Tangerine Investment Management Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Tangerine Investment Management Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues3
Problems with Product / Service7
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Tangerine Investment Management Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (11)
02/20/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Tried to reactivate an old savings account with the former ING Direct currently operating as Tangerine Banking . I had not used this account in 11 years and had lost the password *********** . Called with intentions of using this savings account again or opening a new account. I was told by the first service representative that the best way to do this was send a current cheque from my chequing account at **** to make a deposit which would reactivate the old Tangerine savings account and that once the cheque was cleared to call Tangerine with the bank information on the cheque and that they would issue me a password * then they would set up a link between my current chequing and the old tangerine savings account. I waited for the cheque to clear and it did right away , then I called them again and spoke to a different Tangerine representative . She informed me this was not acceptable and told me there was nothing I could do to access my money because the cheque I sent in was considered a business cheque, I had informed her I was a self employed farmer and my bank manager at **** had set me up long ago with one account for personal and farm use . Not sure why I cant access my money , the cheque has all of my information on it , so I told her that if this was an issue to please close the account and refund me my money . They would not do this , nor would they tell me a different option to get my money back out of the Tangerine account.

Desired Settlement
I would like an answer on how to fix the problem ( what information is needed to access my account) . I would like the account to then be closed and the money of mine to be refunded to me.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* *********
Contact Phone: X-XXX-XXX-XXXXx5508
Contact Email: *********************@tangerine.ca
Our mutual Client called Tangerine Bank on January 22, 2015 to discuss reactivating his dormant account. The Client was not able to authenticate his identity using his Personal Identification Number (PIN) and as result was asked manual validation questions which the Client could not answer. Tangerine must validate each Client to ensure we are speaking with the correct person in order to release any personal account information and/or transact on any account(s).

Due to the Client not being able to authenticate his identity, Tangerine's next steps in the validation process would be for the Client to send in a personal cheque from their external bank account in Canada. As per our process, once we have received the cheque, the Client can call back with their full banking information (of the cheque they mailed to us) to reset their PIN. We received the Client's cheque on January 29, 2015, however, we were unable to use this cheque for validation as it was a business cheque not a personal cheque.

The Client called back on February 13, 2015 and was advised by one of our representatives that we could not use the cheque he sent in order to setup a new PIN due to the fact it was a business cheque. The representative suggested that the Client obtain the details of the current external banking information on file in order to setup a new PIN.

The Client called back on February 17, 2015 and was able to validate with the representative. Since the Client did not have a personal active bank account at another Canadian financial institution, the business account could not be linked. As per the Client's request, the account was closed and a bank draft was sent via mail on February 18, 2015.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
We were able to go through our home branch at **** and with the help of our bank manager , we got validation . I am satisfied that we were finally able to get our money back . Bad customer service has resulted in me taking my business elsewhere.

05/21/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
ING provided me with a mortgage repayment penalty fee by telephone. When I received the actual written statement the fee was much higher.
On Mar 27, 2014 @ 5:15 pm I called ING Direct to find out how much my repayment penalty would be if I broke my mortgage. The customer service rep (***************************) told me that the penalty would be $645.21 plus a discharge fee of $250.
I proceeded to transfer my mortgage to a different lender. When ING provided the written "Discharge / Transfer Statement" the actual penalty charged was $1056.93 plus the $250 discharge fee.
I called the phone number provided on the statement for questions (X-XXX-XXX-XXXX) to ask why there was a $411.72 discrepancy. I called 4 times in total and there was no answer. I left 3 detailed messages on Apr 28-29 and never got a return call. I based my decision to transfer my mortgage on a cost assessment that included the initial discharge penalty that I was quoted. I am very unhappy that I was charged in excess of $400 more and even more upset that nobody attempted to resolve the issue.

Desired Settlement
I want ING to pay me the amount of $411.72 which is the amount that I was overcharged based on the telephone quote that I received.

Business Response
After thorough investigation into the client's complaint, Tangerine Bank would like to confirm that there was a miscommunication over the phone on the March 27th, 2014 between the associate and the client in regards to the quoted penalty amount.

Please note that the penalty charged to our client was in line with the conditions and clauses stipulated in our Standard Charge Terms (Mortgage Terms) pertaining to the penalty calculation.

In efforts to resolve this situation due to the miscommunication, Tangerine Bank has refunded the difference in discrepancy on the quoted penalty.

Tangerine Bank has been in contact with our client and is happy to report that we have been able to resolve this situation to the client's satisfaction.

Tangerine Bank is now considering this matter closed and resolved.

Thank you,
Stephane Larocque
Complaints Officer
Client Response Group
Tangerine Bank - Forward Banking


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Tangerine bank understanding of my complaint. I appreciate their quick response in resolving this matter to my complete satisfaction. I was impressed with the manner in which they handled this dispute.

12/04/2012Problems with Product / Service
04/27/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Blend and extend offer was negotiated with property tax portion included. The amount has been paid by client, but not directed as agreed, by bank.
Mortgage renewal was due in June 2013. In March, I began my search for rates, etc., in foresight of this pending renewal. I had never had my property tax portion included in my mortgage, which had caused many problems. I was looking forward to finally addressing this issue and having it included in my bi-weekly payments. After a consultation with another bank, and a great offer on the table, my next step was to contact Tangerine (formerly ING Direct), to see what offer they had for me, and to discuss what my payment (mortgage and property tax portion) would be upon renewal. A blend and extend of the current terms was offered, at an acceptable rate, specific amounts were discussed (e.g. $299/bi-weekly to mortgage; and my estimated $120/bi-weekly to property taxes). The suggestion was made to keep my current (prior to renewal) bi-weekly payment amount at the same $426.31/bi-weekly, which would now also include my property taxes. I heard everything I needed to hear to agreed. One year elapsed, my payments were made on time, and upon receipt of my property tax bill, upon contacting the bank to learn about this procedure and how to provide payment to my municipality, was told that "no amount has ever been set aside for property taxes and the homeowner is responsible for making the payment". I did not and would not have agreed to that contract. The terms were clear and I accepted them. Another year has elapsed, I've been trying to find a resolution to this problem and another bill will now make its way to me. I do not have additional funds to pay this bill. The bank has only offered to extend my amortization, which does hint at a manipulated error, much like predatory lending, to force me to accept any offers they extend once they've manipulated and created a problem in my budget and finances.

Desired Settlement
As agreed upon, all payments that were made at $426.31 hold the amount of $120.00 for property taxes. I would like that amount refunded to me to provide payment to my municipality. I understand that if the error was made that the $120.00 was directed to my principle, that amount will also require equal adjustment. My mortgage should then be reduced to reflect the mortgage amount only of $306.31 ($299.00, plus those remainder amounts also negotiated).

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ******** Complaint
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *********@tangerine.ca
On January 7, 2013, our Client called and requested an early renewal with a blended rate and to also include her property tax payments into the final bi-weekly mortgage payment. The Associate gave her the new payment amount, where she told our Client at one point that the tax portion was included and in another point said 'no taxes'. Client received a late tax notice from her city in 2014, requesting for payments to cover approximately $4000, which resulted in the Client calling us on May 3, 2014 to find out what happened. On May 3, 2014 a supervisor spoke to our Client and advised her that he will investigate and call her back. On May 7, 2014 our Supervisor explained the details on the call that took place January 2013 where he determined that the tax portion was not included in the payment due to human error. He also advised her that he will come up with some options to resolve the issue.
In May and September (when the Client returned our calls) we provided her with a few options via email to resolve the issue and we sent her an Access to Personal Information form for her to complete in order to get access to review the call from January 7, 2013. On December 8th, we received the access form signed. Another detailed message was emailed to our Client February 2015 with her options, as well as, a date booked to review the call (delay in response due to that Supervisor now in a new position within the company). On February 26, 2015, we received BBB complaint. On March 3, 2015, the Complaint department reached out to our Client and offered her 4 feasible options (what our Client requested) and gave her a deadline (March 10, 2015) to call back with a decision, however, our Client did not call back. Options provided: 1)Reverse payments back to February 2013 and refund her approximately $4000 as well as increase amortization to approximately 25 years and waive the penalty if Client choose to discharge within 1 month. 2) CAP $4000 into principal of mortgage as well as increase amortization approximately 25years. 3) Put $4000 into a loan as well as decrease payment there taking the biweekly difference to cover loan. 4) To leave amortization at 18 years and by leaving the payment as is, we could advance her $4000 as requested. Client stated that she wanted to listen to the call. We confirmed that our Client could listen to the call, however, the options presented by the Complaints Officer will remain the same. Our Client understood. Our Client did not call on the day she make an appointment (March 5, 2015) to review the call. On March 9, 2015 we attempted to have the Client review the call, however, the call was not clear.
To date, no response has been received from our Client to the Complaints Officer. Our Client was given a deadline of March 10, 2015, in order to decide which option to choose. A Message was left on March 11, 2015 from the Complaints Officer to our Client advising her that if no response is received by end of the day (March 11, 2015), the matter will be closed with Complaints team and the next ladder of escalation would be the internal Ombudsman Office. In addition, any options provided to our Client would not be valid at the Ombudsman office. Please note, we mailed out two annual mortgage statements for 2013 and 2014 and both displayed $0 under taxes.

Consumer Response
In January 2013, I called the bank for information purposes only as my mortgage renewal was due in June 2013. I needed to specifically obtain the bi-weekly payment amount with my property tax portion included at renewal to make an informed decision. The property tax portion had been previously excluded, and it was my sole focus and mission of the discussion. As specific payment amounts were identified, which included the property tax portion, I was satisfied and therefore accepted the offer.

In consideration of the fact that I was seeking information only in preparation for my mortgage renewal only due in June, I would not have accepted a renewal offer that maintained my current payment amount and excluded my property tax portion. Financially, that was not feasible option for me. I needed the amount reduced, or the property tax portion included to maintain my payments. I had been in arrears with my property taxes since 2008 and was ultimately seeking a solution.

The property tax portion in arrears was for the previous year, which was not included in my bi-weekly payment amount. Upon receiving the property tax bill from my municipality, I expected it to be a simple transaction and that the bank would forward the negotiated amount for the property taxes to me to provide payment to my municipality.

I did not anticipate that one full year after renewal, I would instead learn that the property tax portion had erroneously been excluded from the negotiated amount, contrary to the verbal agreement.

I then realized that, instead of a solution, my issues with my property taxes were further affected for the renewal period of five years and fully jeopardized my ability to afford my home.

I requested that the bank contact me on my cellular device or at my daytime number at work. I always returned the bank's telephone calls. The bank consistently ignored my requests to contact me where I was reachable and continued to leave messages on my voicemail at home, I assume to maintain records of failed attempts at reaching me, their client. This revoked my ability to connect with the bank and seek a fair solution to my affairs.

Considering all options to resolve the problem would further penalize me financially, no options were considered fair or financially viable. I declined all opportunistic and unfair offers by the bank as I felt they should not profit nor benefit from their human error. I was repeatedly told that we could not return to the lending department to adjust the interest rate to accommodate and honour our agreement. Yet, I received many offers to prolong my amortization period from 7 to 14 years, which would likely required returning to the lending department to make that adjustment.

When I did connect with the bank on March 3, 2015, I explicitly advised them that I would not be available the following week due to a scheduled procedure at the hospital. They insisted on providing the deadline of March 10, 2015, which I verbalized and advised I would be unable to connect that week. Again, all options provided to me were unfair and further penalized me. I also said, in plain language, that I was not satisfied with any of the options and if that facilitated the process to move to the next level of escalation sooner, that I was providing my rejection now.

I did connect with my complaint officer on March 5, 2015, and was ultimately given the fourth option during this call. I was scheduled to review my telephone call that evening. When I called that evening, I was advised that my complaint officer was supposed to provide identifying information for them to be able to assist and they did not have that information available.
I was then advised to call back on March 9, 2015.

I did call on March 9, 2015, and upon numerous attempts at listening and recording my call, I could not hear anything resembling a call. I could only hear the muffled chorus of other agents in their boisterous call centre.

The agent told me that she would call back that night, outside peak hours. This suggestion was made to help me to hear and record my call from January 2013. The agent also said that she would advise my complaint officer and seek further direction for me to hear and record the telephone call. I stayed up until 10:00 p.m., however, the agent did not return my call that evening, neither did the Complaint Officer.

Again, a message was left on my voicemail at home to advise me that I had a deadline to respond, which was for COB that day. Coincidentally, the deadline had already elapsed when I learned about it that evening, upon my arrival home from my work day and commute. Considering I was unable to meet that deadline as I was unaware of it, I did not contact the bank again at the voicemail message clearly stated that, upon missing the abovementioned deadline, my options had expired, were no longer valid, and my file would be forwarded to the next level of escalation.

I did receive annual statements from the bank. The first in December 2013, 12 full months after renewal and for the entire year that I was completely unaware of the error and was in no position to be able to prepare for the impact of having my budgeted amount for property tax portion deducted from my account, but not directed to the designated area.

And another statement was received 12 months later, for the second year after renewal, specifically the full period that I had been steadily fighting for a fair solution and for our legally binding agreement to be enforced accordingly.



Final Business Response
The Complaints department closed this complaint on March 11th, 2015 due to no response from Client on March 10, 2015. This deadline was mutually agreed on by the Client and the Complaints Officer on March 5th, 2015. The Client will need to follow the banks' Complaints Process. As a result, a written complaint to the banks' Ombudsman Office (Ombudsman email is available on banks website or by calling the bank directly).
In summary, this complaint has been ongoing since May 2014 due to limited action from the Client. The Complaint's department offered the Client four reasonable options in order to rectify this issue on March 3 and March 5, 2015 however, the Client did not respond to accept any options. On March 5, 2015, the Complaints Officer and the Client agreed that the Client would call the bank no later than March 10, 2015 to decide on which option to choose. Since no response from the Client, the Complaints Officer left a message for the Client on March 11, 2015 asking her to call as soon as possible. If the Client did not contact us, her complaint would be closed by end of day March 11, 2015 and she would need to take her complaint to the next complaint level, being the banks' Ombudsman Office. Consequently, the 4 options were no longer valid after the March 10th deadline. Due to no response from the Client, the issue was closed with the Complaints department end of day March 11, 2015.
Options provided to the Client on March 3 and March 5, 2015 by the Complaints Officer were as follows:
1) Reverse payments back to February 2013 and refund her approximately $4000 as well as increase amortization to approximately 25 years and waive the penalty if Client choose to discharge within 1 month.
2) CAP $4000 into principal of the mortgage as well as increase amortization approximately 25years.
3) Put $4000 into a loan as well as decrease the mortgage payment there taking the biweekly difference to cover loan.
4) To leave amortization at 18 years and by leaving the payment as is, we could advance her $4000 as requested.

04/20/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I closed my Tangerine Checking Account on February 28, 2015. Sometime in March they re-opened the account and didn't inform me until March 18.

My checking account was closed as of February 28, 2015. March 18 I received an email from of Tangerine C/O ***** *** informing me that my, "Tangerine Chequing Account has been in overdraft for more than the allowable limit and is currently overdrawn." Their explanation was that my payroll direct deposit was, reversed and was sent back to my employer." First of all I'm not a banker, but I do know that basic protocol to closing a checking account is to have a $0/positive balance. Secondly, Tangerine cleared my direct deposit of my payroll and put it in to my account to use. FYI: I'm aware that on February 27, 2015, "one of 'Tangerine's' third-party providers 'was'...experiencing a delay with direct deposits and as a result some Tangerine Chequing Accounts have been affected." This incident was posted on Tangerine's FaceBook social media page: https://www.facebook.com/TangerineBank/posts/637002349738672. I completely understand that technical issues happens. But I don't and will not accept that I should suffer the overdraft fees and all that will incur, while Tangerine try to investigate and recover the missing funds. And again, I'm not a banker/lawyer (I do know some) but technically speaking the money was my money until I spent it all, correct? And I did spend all the money and was permitted to close the account afterwards. So in layman's term it's straight forward that for me to spend the money in my checking account is to actually have the money in my account, no? Please, someone enlighten me about this (my) following point of view: Because, I believe that Tangerine has done something **********, even if their actual intention was in good faith, on February 27, 2015 (so I can have access to my money right away) by clearing my payroll direct deposit "manually" to my checking account without actually having the money in their possession. It's unfortunate that this happened but I should not be the one bearing the investigation to find out where the money went. I already spoke to my employer and I was told they have no knowledge of return money, but they will look in to the matter. FYI: my employer is short staff due to personal reason, and cannot attend to the matter swiftly. However, I think that the best people to find this missing direct deposit is Tangerine and their third party provider. They're the one that messed things up (for everybody) and I'm not going to be **** by overdraft fees or what not for re-opening a closed account - without my authorization... I know for a fact (and I have my February statement in hand) it was closed in good standing and that the direct deposit money was their money and they lost it! Recovering this lost money which is now in limbo is not my problem, correct? I'm helping but Tangerine seems to me that they're just being ****/**** investigating the matter themselves or practically being a ***** by informing that this missing money will be sent to third party collection and I will pay all penalties incurred and what not! Serious! As of today the unauthorized re-opening of the checking account was penalized with overdraft fee. FYI: I have creditors that have PAD on their systems that will try and debit money from this checking account. I already have them on a consolidated program but most of them are persistent and will try again and again.... That's first and one reason why I had to close this account in the first place, because I was given advice by Tangerine to call to close the account. And I did! And they let me! And now this unauthorized re-opening of my closed account - REALLY!?
I could be wrong on many of my above assumptions but my point and BOTTOM LINE: Checking accounts aren't designed to let you use more money than you have, correct? And that Tangerine and their third party provided should have been more due diligence when clearing direct deposit money on February 27, 2015.

Desired Settlement
I want basically to have Tangerine to keep my checking closed as it was closed with zero balance on February 28, 2015.
Any fees and charges that it accumulates from the day it was reopened should not be impose upon me to pay. And they should (in good faith) not report this unfortunate incident to the credit bureaus. FYI: I was in Consumer Proposal and currently trying to rebuild my credit rating.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* *******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ********@tangerine.ca
Our mutual Client called Tangerine Bank on February 27, 2015 regarding their payroll deposit. There was a delay in the posting of some direct deposits on February 27, 2015 which was caused by a third party vendor used by various employers to facilitate their payroll deposits. The issue was rectified later that evening. On February 27, 2015, the Clients' payroll amount was manually deposited. On February 27, 2015, the Client transferred his balance via Email Money Transfer (EMT) and later called to close the Tangerine Chequing Account On February 28, 2015. On March 2, 2015, the Client's direct deposit was physically received by Tangerine, however, due to the account being closed the payroll deposit was reversed back to the Client's employer/vendor who initially sent the funds to Tangerine. As a result of Tangerine manually advancing the funds on February 27, 2015 and the payroll not officially being received by Tangerine, the reversal of the credited amount needed to be posted. In order to reconcile the deficit, the previously closed account was reopened to reflect the shortfall. On the same day, the Client filed his complaint with the BBB. Tangerine responded to the Client via email to address their concerns regarding the reopening of the account in question and to assure the Client that any fees/charges incurred due to the account being reactivated would be reversed. The Client responded by email, thanking the Tangerine representative who responded to him. Subsequently on March 30, 2015, Tangerine contacted the Client over the phone to confirm for a second time the all fees would be reversed and that Tangerine would contact their employer to investigate further. At this time, the employer has been contacted on April 2, 2015 and April 6, 2015 in order to have the payroll deposit reposted to the Client's Tangerine Chequing Account. Presently, Tangerine is waiting for a response from the employer to rectify the shortfall. Once the funds are received, the previously mentioned fees will be reversed and the Client's account will be closed as they originally intended. Tangerine is in the process of assisting the Client to resolve this matter.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The response is what I know already. It's a good journal for the record. But the problem is not fix, and it's taking such a long time to resolve. What's the hold up?

Final Business Response
Tangerine would like to address our mutual Client's concerns regarding the length of time it has taken to resolve their complaint. The delay has been primarily due to the delay in response by the Client's employer. However, Tangerine is please to advise that on April 13, 2015 the Clients employer called and confirmed that the payroll deposit (initially sent by the employer) was returned to the employer.

The Client was contacted by Tangerine on April 13, 2015 and advised that they will need to instruct their employer to resend the payroll deposit back to Tangerine. Once the funds are received, the previously mentioned fees will be reversed and the account will be closed as Tangerine originally indicated in the initial response. At this time, there is no further action required from Tangerine, until the funds are returned back to the Client's account by the employer.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
My employer told me that the returned fund will be re-deposited in the next pay cycle. However I don't take this as a done deal... so much things could go wrong or be missed... like say my current pay deposit.... I will update this complaint when it's all done and solved... meaning "cash in hand" to Tangerine and my Tangerine Checking close with zero balance. I will follow up in a week or so from today.

04/01/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Last Thursday March 12,2015 the bank did not inform me but froze my bank account due to what they said was an attempted fraud.That same day I fowarded copies of my driver's licence, passport and a recent bill as requested.Despite my numerous enquiries we are at Wednesday Mar 18 and the matter is unresolved and they can not even tell me what is happening.I made a deposit which I can not access, and 2 direct withdrawals to car insurance companies have bounced.Despite my many enquiries, no one from the company has ever gotten back to me.As you know it is unacceptable to your banking functions idle for a week.
Product_Or_Service: Bank Account
Account_Number: XXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
Immediate activation of my account.Have Tangerine contact my two Car Insurance Companies regarding the missed payments.I am now looking for an additional settlement due to this unacceptable service.
----------------------------------------------------

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ********
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *********************@tangerine.ca
Our Client opened their account on January 19, 2015. As this was a new Client to Tangerine Bank, we needed to satisfy "Know Your Client" (KYC) (Anti-Money Laundering Banking Regulations) which entails verifying the identity of our Clients. A restriction was placed on the Client's file on March 12, 2015. To satisfy this restriction, the Client is required to send Tangerine two pieces of identification and proof of address to satisfy the requirement on file. During this time, the Client does not have access to his account until the restriction on file is satisfied as per banking regulations. The Client called Tangerine on March 12, 2015 and was given a list of acceptable documents along with Tangerine's mailing and email address.

On March 16, 2015, the Client called to advise Tangerine that the documents had been emailed in order to satisfy the restriction file. The Tangerine Associate sent an email to follow up on the receipt of the Client's documents. There was no receipt of the Client's documents via email. On March 17, 2015, the Client called Tangerine to advise that the documents were resent via email. Another email was sent to follow up on the Client's documents and to contact the Client if the documents were not received. The same day, the Client called back to speak to a supervisor. The supervisor confirmed that we did not receive the documents from the Client, however, he stated that he would look into the matter. On March 18, 2015, it was confirmed that Tangerine had still not received the documents and that a call would be made to the Client right away. The Client called back later in the evening to inquire if the documents were received. The Client was transferred to a Supervisor upon request. The Supervisor advised that Client that he would look into the receipt of the documents and restriction removal. The Supervisor also confirmed if no documents were received, he would receive a call the next morning with next steps. It was confirmed on the morning of March 19, 2015, that the documents were received.

Tangerine Bank contacted the Client on the morning of March 19, 2015 to advise that the documents were finally received and the restriction was removed. Throughout the time the restriction was file, the Client was concerned that his payments to his insurance companies had not been processed. As a result of the BBB complaint filed, the Client Response Group contacted the Client the morning of March 19, 2015. They reviewed the file and confirmed with the Client that both his insurance payments had been processed manually due to the restriction on file. The Client Response Group sent an email attached with a letter to the Client confirming that these transactions were processed successfully by Tangerine so the Client could provide this information to the insurance companies. The Client suggested that the department (Security Department) receiving the documents should be available to Clients at all times. The Client Response Group thanked the Client for his suggestion. The Client was advised that delay was due to technical issues hence the reason the documents were not being received. The Client conveyed the frustrations to the Client Response Group regarding trying to get this matter resolved. The Client was explained by the Client Response Group why Tangerine Bank placed the restriction and why the documentation was required. Given that there was no financial loss to the Client, the request for compensation was denied. Alternatively, the Client was granted a $50.00 bonus for opening his first account with Tangerine Bank. The Client Response Group apologized for any inconvenience and thanked the Client for his feedback.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
There are a number of issues which cause me concern:
1) Despite all my enquiries, no one was getting back to me ever on a progress report. I felt like the cutomer service people, while taking my concerns, always stated they were sending action e mails. After these E mails, no one would ever get back to me, and I would call again daily, getting stone-walled in the process.
2) Company representatives always stated how they could "just could not call security." It is a 4 digit extension.
3) I went through a week of ****, with my account shut down, even though I did everything I was supposed to do -promptly sending and re-sending all information requested. I was moving, and could not access my funds or pay bills. More stressful was not knowing when my account would be free. And my paycheck was scheduled to go into this account as well.
4. I was informed my account was frozen due to an attempted fraud. No information was given me. I did contact Police to file my own report because of this.
5. The main reason I am concerned is the number of times I called and yet the matter would remain unresolved. If I had not been so persistent, this matter would have dragged on much longer.

06/30/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We received confirmation email from **************@tangerine.ca on Apr 21th that we will get $50 bonus credit within 30days
I opened a Saving account and deposited $2000 for the $50 bonus credit in early April, 2014. My spouse received his bonus on his account already within few days, but I did not.

On Apr 18th, I email Tangerine about my bonus.

On Apr 21th, I recevied response that I would get my $50 bonus within 30 days.

On Jun 6th, I spoke to ******* and told that I would not get the $50 credit and was told that I would get a call back from manager.

Desired Settlement
to issue the $50 credit asap.

Business Response
Dear Mrs. ***
Thank you for expressing your concerns surrounding our most recent promotion outlined on our website (http://www.tangerine.ca/en/landing-page/bonus150/index.html).

Allow us to begin by going over the details of the promotion. Part of the promotion was to offer $50 when our clients open their first savings product. A qualifying savings product is Tangerine Savings Account, Tangerine RSP Savings Account, Tangerine Tax-Free Savings Account (TFSA), Tangerine US$ Savings Account or a Tangerine RIF Savings Account. "To qualify for the $50 Savings Bonus, the Client must never have had any type of Savings Account with ING DIRECT or Tangerine at any time (regardless of registration type). To receive the Savings Bonus, Clients must open a new: 1) Tangerine Savings Account, 2) Tangerine RSP Savings Account, 3) Tangerine RIF Savings Account or 4) Tangerine Tax Free Savings Account (TFSA) between April 8 and July 31, 2014 with a minimum initial deposit of $250. Bonus will be deposited into the new Tangerine Savings Account within 30 days of opening the Account." We take the opportunity to advise you that these terms are stated on the Landing page on the promotion. Unfortunately you did hold a type of savings product with us. Since the system was designed to capture all qualifying account openings and deposit, since technically the criteria to be eligible for the promotion were not met, it is the reason why it did not provide you with the bonus automatically within the 30 days.

We did review your email correspondence with us and we take the opportunity to advise you that since our email channel is considered unsecure, our e-services associates do not have access to your personal details. They can only offer general answers and base them on the information our clients provide in their email. In your email on April 18th 2014, it was stated that you transferred funds to your new savings account and you did not receive your bonus as of yet. There is no other information provided and it was not disclosed that you already held another savings product. As such our e-services associate simply advised that the bonus does usually take 30 days to be deposited from the day of your deposit. Our E-Services associate also advised that the email channel is meant for general inquiries only and they are unable to access your profile and to call us for any specific account details.

On May 28th you spoke to one of our associates. It appears you mentioned to the associate that you were told that opening a Tangerine Savings Account would qualify despite having a Savings product already. As such the associate submitted a request to our Marketing department to see if an exception can be made to enter you in the promotion. We note that submitting this request to our Marketing department is our regular process if the bonus is not deposited automatically. Unfortunately our Marketing department could not find a call in your file where this was promised to you and your request was declined since the conditions of the promotions were not met. After escalating your concerns though our internal ladder of escalation, you spoke to a supervisor on June 9th 2014 who advised you that as an exception and a gesture of good will, the Contact Center extended the value of the promotion to you and we confirm $50 was deposited to your account on June 9th 2014 at 12:52 pm.

We hope that you will find the resolution to your satisfaction and that you find closure in the reasons why this process took some time. I encourage you to contact me should you have any questions or if you wish to discuss any details of your complaint further. I am in the Office Monday to Friday between 8 am and 4pm. My full contact details are included below.

Kind regards,




********* *****
Complaints Officer,
Client Response Group
XXX-XXX-XXXX
Toll Free: X-XXX-XXX-XXXX x ****
3389 Steeles Ave E., Toronto ON M2H 3S8

11/29/2013Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Banks, Loans, Mortgage Brokers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 14/04/1998Business started: 01/04/1997
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Lisa Naccarato (Manager of Public Relations)Customer Contact: Complaints Department Mr. Peter Aceto (President/CEO)Ms. Tammy Ridout (President's Office)
Business Category

Banks, Loans, Mortgage Brokers

Alternate Business Names
ING Direct (formerly), ING Bank of Canada (formerly)

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Tangerine Investment Management Inc.

3389 Steeles Ave E

North York, ON M2H 3S8

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 3389 Steeles Ave E 

    North York, ON M2H 3S8

  • 111 Gordon Baker Rd 

    Toronto, ON M2H 3R1(416) 497-5157
    (888) 464-3232
    Fax: (416) 497-8908
    Fax: (416) 497-8908

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Mid-Western and Central Ontario. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Tangerine Investment Management Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Web Addresses

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on January 21, 2014.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Banks

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.