BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Central Ontario

BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Dave Elliott Auto Sales Inc

Phone: (519) 883-4000Fax: (519) 883-4222View Additional Phone Numbers81 Bridgeport Rd E, WaterlooON N2J 2K2 Send email to Dave Elliott Auto Sales Inchttp://www.daveelliottauto.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Dave Elliott Auto Sales Inc is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Dave Elliott Auto Sales Inc's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Dave Elliott Auto Sales Inc

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
04/30/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The consumer brought **** ****** ****** (Fully Automated/Loaded) Automobile from Dave Elliott Auto Sales on Nov 18, 2013. The dealer promised to provide the missing owner booklet within a week time, but has not been received to this date. Repeated phone calls and personal visits to obtain the book have seen no success.

Desired Settlement
Please provide the owners booklet.

Business Response
We did order the owner manual from ****** ****** and they sent a Navigational Manual by mistake on Feb 28/14. They informed us that the owners manuals were back ordered. We inquired about the status once again on April 25/14 and were advised that the order was no longer in their system. We re-ordered the manual again and are awaiting response from ****** ******. They did advise that these manuals were very difficult to get and we could possibly wait up to one year. We have kept Mr.***** advised of this information from the beginning so we do not understand why he is complaining. All we can do is order it and follow up with ******. If they are unable to deliver, I can't see what else we can do. If we had another ******, we would be more than happy to give him the manual out of one that we may get in stock.
Regards,
***** ********
General Manager

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)

(2)Fyi Today Apr 29, 2014, while checking the availability of the owner book with ******/****** (Automotive Family),they said it might take one month or less or may be more provided required amount paid in advance.

(3)If this business firm (****) was genuine enough this book (owner manual) could have been in my glove compartment by now as promised in Nov 2013.

(4)If they(****)are serious and honest this time and if genuinely ordered the owner manual book, I can wait and eager to see the accomplishment and request for a written confirmation on same.

Otherwise the car will be useless without the instruction booklet (owner manual).

Thank you again for your assistance.

Sincerely,

****** *****
Phone # (*************




Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 25/03/1998Business started: 01/10/1997
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dave Elliott (President)Mrs. Leona Elliott (Secretary/treasurer)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Industry Tips
Buying a Used Car
Dont Get Soaked Buying a Flood-damaged Vehicle
Purchasing a Car Online
Know the Facts About Used Car Fraud Before You Buy
VIN Cloning Swindles Luxury Car Buyers

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Dave Elliott Auto Sales Inc

81 Bridgeport Rd E

Waterloo, ON N2J 2K2

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 81 Bridgeport Rd E 

    Waterloo, ON N2J 2K2

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Mid-Western and Central Ontario. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Dave Elliott Auto Sales Inc is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 367-2170
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on January 21, 2014.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.