BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 28/12/2012

401 Auto RV Canada Inc.

Find a Location

(519) 650-4771View Additional Phone Numbers2200 Eagle St N, CambridgeON N3H 0A1View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 28/12/2012

BBB has determined that 401 Auto RV Canada Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised 401 Auto RV Canada Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 16 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

16 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues4
Billing / Collection Issues1
Delivery Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service9
Total Closed Complaints 16

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

11 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on 401 Auto RV Canada Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 9
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 11 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (16)
04/28/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Never picked up item at all no payment made, won't let me cancel contract , never stated first payment date rushed me through contract process.
I was interested in buying a Trailer and went to 401 auto RV for help, it was April 23. Applied for financing and was approved I don't have any model numbers I don't even have the paperwork in my hands as of April 24, 2015 they rushed me never explained when the first payment would come out, was told one price for weekly payment then charged another , I have not made a payment and the deposit I did put down which was 1000$ they told me they would give right back as soon as I approved then when I went to leave they told me no it was when I picked up the trailer , after getting angry they gave it back to me today , I told them I would take cash out so I could pay right back my credit card they gave me a check. I called today saying I no longer wanted the trailer and it was not even at their location yet they said they already had the money and I couldn't cancel even though nothing was done to the RV yet no plates or anything . I have not made any payments yet and I want to cancel as I feel I decided as they didn't tell me intrest rate, or final payout . And they won't budge and said it was final even though I never received anything and don't even have possession of the paperwork to review. I want out of the contract due to the fact I was completely mislead and promised things. No repreacussions as they can resell the trailer and there is no loss to them. The sales rep is ***** , the payemt amount was to be $50 weekly but they changed that and made it seem like nothing to somewhere like 55.00 and they went ahead and approved adding extended warranty into the finance . Sorry no other info as they made me sign but gave me no copies to review.

Desired Settlement
I just want out of the contract with no repercussions to my credit as I have not paid anything to this finance company and they can re sell the trailer for the same price as I have never used it or even set foot in it . They didn't even have it on their lot , and there is no plates on it yet as of April 24 as it is not even in my possion I have not even signed the ownership. That is all there is no lossto the company as it can be resell to someone else for the same rate and same price as they told me today there were "tons of people interested in it" I tried to resolve peacefully but it seems they just want the money.

Business Response
Good morning,

Ms ********'s complaint has been resolved in-house.

We thank ***** for her valued business, and look forward to assisting her with all of her camping needs for years to come.

Thank you

*** ****
CampMart 401 Auto RV

Consumer Response

I am writing concerning my complaint with 401 auto RV , I have resolved the issues with them personally so the case is no longer valid.

11/28/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They found the car I wanted and figured out the financing.Then they forced me to buy the warranty.
Oct 08 2014
Initial meeting. Found salesman really wanted to only give monthly or bi weekly price of any vehicle. I told him specifically what vehicle i was looking for, and again they only provided monthly or bi weekly numbers. It wasnt until i emailed them on Oct 8 asking them for the purchase price of the vehicle when the warranty fees were uncovered.
On Oct 14 -Warranty was forced upon me to buy. When I asked to opt out, I was told the company wouldn't source the car in and I wouldn't be able to use the financing that had already been arranged with ** BANK. At this time, I was already approved for the loan, the hassle work was done and rather than move to another dealer which would delay my goal further of purchasing a vehicle I went along with it. However I felt bullied into purchasing this un needed service, that adds no value to my vehicle, and added $2000 to my principle which I will be paying interest on. The vehicle has 13k left of factory warranty, and this "new" warranty is for the next 40k. The warranties will run together therefore I am paying for warranty that I don't need, and won't use for the first 13k.
These points were brought up however there was no change.

Desired Settlement
I would like a full refund with the amount put towards the principle of my loan.

Business Response
Hello

When we first received the complaint, I asked my sales manager at the Ingersoll location to look into the matter. He has spoken to the client and explained the situation to him once again. He has also made mention to the client that he intends to do a "little something' extra for him, as we value his business and appreciate the deal.

After speaking with my finance manager that handled his paperwork, I was assured that the client did in fact have all the figures and breakdown of price and options aprox one week prior to picking it up.

In essence the following occured: the client requested a "Special Order" of a used car that we regularly do not carry in stock.
After sourcing the unit and submitting it to the bank, the bank's allowable dollar advance came in too low to fund the vehicle. (Funding advance is based on the vehicle, year, kms, the client's overall financial situation and many other factors).
The finance manager explained to the client that in order to finance this unit he would either have to have a sizeable downpayment, or we could add a value enhancement to the loan in the form of a warranty that would add some mark-up for the dealer... and put the deal into the black for us and allow us to carry on with the transaction,

The client agreed a week prior to picking the unit up. We then purchased the vehicle based on the numbers agreed upon, transported it back to the dealership, certified it, e-tested it and had it detailed. Upon pick up the client again asked for clarification on the matter... and he once again agreed and picked up the car.

We are a full disclosure dealership and value honesty and being up front with our clients.

I propose the following: $100 parts and service credit, and 10% off any parts and service for as long as he owns the car.

Thank you
*** ****

Consumer Response
Hello again,
I was in contact with the dealer on Thursday November 13 2014. I spoke with ******* ****** General Manager. He was going to try to cancel the warranty. He also said he would be getting in touch me again that evening, or in the morning.(Friday)
I still haven't heard from him as of Monday @ 11 am on 11/17/2014. I did try to call him this morning and they are telling me he is not in the office.
I sent in a reply to my complaint on Thursday November 13 saying that i was in contact with him and that we were working on a resolution. However can you please send a second request to them anyways?

Final Business Response
Good morning.

To be clear and not have any misunderstandings:

The warranty cannot be cancelled for a refund at this point, as such we offer a One Time Offer of $500 to put this matter behind us.

We are under no contractual obligation to compensate the client, however in the spirit of good business relationships coupled with our appreciation of his business, we are offering to compensate him.

The warranty will remain in effect.
Nothing changes, except for a compensation of $500.

Thank you

*** ****

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Thank you for clarifying. I accept the company's offer of $500. Although it's not the ideal solution for me, I feel it is a fair offer to close the matter.
thank you for your time Mr. ****,
Regards,
***** *******
PS- how will the funds be transferred? Does the company need any contact info?

11/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a vehicle from 401 Auto. Contacted them 7 days after days later report tire issuse tires replaced. Around month later tire issues again.
7 days after receiving ***** ******* the tires were showing wires and break issuses contacted them as it was prior to safety being up. They replaced 30 days later tires and MISSING brake part question there safety at that time. Contacted them 30 days later tire issuses again. This time I was very fusterated as we live 3 hours away. Ended up contacting them several more times over tires and ongoing electrical problems and took months to replace the tires last time was in June I started asking whats wrong with the car tp cause these problems with tires so many times. Once again end October belts showing again this time I took it to a garage in local area. ********* tireto replaces tires myself and do 4 wheel allighment that 401 had assured was fine. I was speaking to *** ***** out of *********. He asked if car was in any accidents none that was report to me by 401 I'd ask for carproof never received to veiw. Regardless ********* tires said they could not repair or do allighment as frame and upper linkages were beyound repair. Contacted ***** *****, **** ******* and ******* unknown last name to replace vehicle as we had traded in 2 vehicles that were in excellent repair for this that better suited our needs. None of them would willing to replace contacted ***** because over factory warranty nothing they can do. So im stuck paying 500 a month in payment for 5 years for a car that can not be moved out my driveway ********* is writing a full report of why the rear car is not repairable. I also have it booked to go into another garage on 24th for third opion. Contacted *** ******* they received pictures of damages from ********* to see if they had suggestions they can't be repaired either contact ***** itself and see if anything can be done and dealer we bought car from did so ***** cant over warranty and contact dealer 401. I did so once again with results to replace or give use other vehicles back we traded in or similar if not on lot. Unknown if they still have our 2 vechiles. *** ******* unwilling to write report as they had yet to see car in person only pictures and will not have time for several weeks. So booked another place to veiw and report on 24th 10am November. All I was requesting is replace vechile refinance us into a different car or give us back 2 trade ins.

Desired Settlement
We are wanting our vechiles back we traded In 2008 ***** ******* and ******* ******* 2010. Or replace vechile.

Business Response
Good Morning,

I have gone over the file with great detail, and nothing stands out of the ordinary.

We purchased the vehicle from ***** auction, Canada's most reputable auction. Nothing about an accident was disclosed at that time to us. The vehicle passed the ***** auction inspection at that time.

We have furthermore purchased a full Carproof report, which backs up the ***** reports: No Damage Records Found, No US history, No Police reported accidents, no insurance estimates, no insurance claims.

We understand that from time to time vehicles will require repairs above and beyond the Ontario Safety standards inspection, and if this discovered at time of sale: We perform the necessary repairs prior to pick up date. In this case we certified and reconditioned the vehicle with many new parts to bring it up to spec.

We should not be held to a higher standard than the manufacturer itself, for a possible factory defect. Especially if we have not had the opportunity to inspect the alleged "irrepairable" issue.

We propose that the client make their way to our main repair shop in Cambridge, and we will have the unit inspected by our master mechanic, as well as the ******** STORE NEXT DOOR for an independant assessment of the vehicle.

At that time we can have clear facts to deal with.

In my 20 plus years in the industry I have never personally come accross a vehicle that could not be repaired. And I am confident that together with ******** we can diagnose the problem and find a way to assist the client.

If you could please have the client contact me personally to arrange to get the unit here to Cambridge, I will be happy to assist.

Thanks

*** ****
Dealer Principal

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The vechile has been brought back for same issues several times since purchasing it. 1st time was 7 days after delivery. The tires have been replaced several times and yet they continue to have issues. The damage is a result of allighment that can not be repaired because of structure issues. With this being an issue from date of purchase that alone implies it's a pre exciting problem prior to my purchase. On several occasions we have taken the time off work and drove the almost 4 hours to bring that vechile in for inspection and repair and on not one of those occasions have you rectified the on going outstanding problems. I have the car booked to be serviced and looked at by a garage MTO recommend, received this garages name when we contacted MTO about what we believe to be a faulty safety.

Final Business Response
Good Morning

I personally spoke with ***** ******* yesterday in the afternoon. She agreed and accepted the following:
We are in the process of picking her car up from her home, loaning her a car in the meanatime, and getting the vehicle inspected at a ******** dealership for a complete and independant inspection.

The snow is quite heavy up by her house, so we may be picking it up tomorrow or Saturday.

Thank you

*** ****

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
once inspection is completed and pending the outcome of inspection, I believe any issues with the vehicle can be rectified now that I am dealing with *** ****, rather then ******* or ***** ****. I would like to thank you for the assistance you've been this far and any future assistance to rectify the outstanding problems with the vehicle.

10/16/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Added charges made after signing binding bill of sales. Husband and I thought we were signing for credit checks. Not given original bill of
sale.
On Sept 13th. 2014 my husband and I went to 401 Auto RV to purchase a travel trailer and pick up truck combo. We were given the price of $19,000.00 for the trailer and $27,000.00 for the truck. We were given papers to sign by the finance manager **** ****** and told by him that it was for a credit check. We were distracted while signing as he was talking about his family and because it was getting late on a Saturday that he was going out for the evening. We signed the papers not realizing that they were incomplete bills of sale (one each for the truck and trailer) he said that he will not be able to complete the financing until Monday 15th. Sept.and that he can drop off the paper work to us late on Monday evening either at our home or a nearby coffee shop. Before we left, I asked to see
some figures as to what everything would cost.He
produced the two bills of sale and all I saw was figures which he said were not yet complete. I remember when leaving that they seemed rather high but because it was getting late we left. At no time did he go through any figures on the forms with us.Later, we realized that the amounts
did not add up to the agreed price and that it would not be affordable for us to take on such a heavy debt.The next morning Sunday Sept.14th. I sent an e-mail off to the salesman (****** ******* and cc'd **** ****** that we wished to cancel the purchase as it was a heavy debt to take into our retirement. He phoned us on Monday Sept.15th.and asked us to come to their office to speak to their boss *** ****. We were taken far off upstairs to a board room where no one could hear any conversation and I asked Mr. ****** for acopy of the bill of sale as we had no figures to go on. He gave me a copy. I was shocked when I saw that extended warranties were added on totalling $3,795.00 for the trailer and $1,597.00 for the truck. We did not want extended warranties. We spoke to the owner *** **** and explained our position, but to no avail. he refused to release us from the sale. At the time of writing we still do not have original copies of the bills of sale. I spoke to a lawyer nTuesday Sept.16th.She faxed a letter to Mr. **** explaining that because the documents were incomplete and that we were informed when signing that it was for credit checks, and that we are without any original copies that we are not prepared to complete the transaction under the circumstances.On Thursday Sept. 18th. we received aa registered letter from Mr.**** giving us 7 days to pick up the truck and trailer from their yard or they will commence proceedings against uus.They are holding a $1,000.00 from my husband's **** which was not even used as a down payment on the purchase but rather the salesman ****** told us we can use that money to spend in their in house camp store. Mr. **** refused to refund our money also they took the plate portion ffrom our vehicles and he refused to give them bak to us also. I was trading in my vehicle towards the trailer and my husband was using his current licence plates to put on the pick up truck. The trailer details are as follows: 2015 ********* ****** Trailer, V.I.N.***************** and the Pick up Truck is a 2013 **** ***** V.I.N. *****************. The total amount is $36,062.40 for the Travel Trailer and $41,292.48 for the Pick up Truck making a grand total of $77,354.85. Weekly payment amount on the trailer: $34.57 and on the truck: $99.88 weekly. They have no payment information from us and I am not sure whether a credit check was done. I do have copies of documents should you wish to see them. We were also told by Mr. ****** that when we can't afford to pay for it any more that they would come and take it back.(I guess he means repossess). I would really appreciate your help in this matter as we are at a loss as to how we can afford to have this happen to us. Please help us! Thank you.

Desired Settlement
Although we have stated a refund, we mean that we do not wish to make this purchase from them. We would not feel comfortable taking on this type of high debt
as it was not agreed upon. We would like for Mr. **** to please cancel this agreement and release us from any binding contracts because of the way it was handled. We would like a refund on my husband's **** of the $1,000.00 which they are holding and we would like our plate portion from our current vehicles be returned to us.

Final Consumer Response
The consumer indicated the business has agreed to release the consumer from the agreement.

06/26/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Was told that we would received a refund on unwanted loan insurance.Refund has not yet been processed.
Unwanted loan insurance was added to loan for new trailer awaiting refund.

Desired Settlement
I want written receipt of insurance refund on loan.

Business Response
Good afternoon,

As agreed, the client's refund cheque for $1,510.92 was processed and sent directly to ** bank against their loan principal.

The cheque was processed on the 18th, and should be reflected on their loan balance as soon as the bank applies the credit to their account.

Thanks for taking the time to assist our client.
And kindly thank the client once again for their valued business.

*** ****

401 Auto RV Canada inc.
2200 Eagle street N
Cambridge
519-650-4771

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
** bank has still not received money from insurance company.Money has not been applied to loan.Therefore no resolution and remain not satisfied.This will only be considered resolved when the money has been credited against the loan as reassured many times but still has not happened.

Final Consumer Response
We have resolved the issue regarding the loan.401 RV
have complied to our request and we are satisfied.

06/09/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I first contacted the company because I would like to buy an RV I called and spoke to the sales manager I advised him I have credit issues and wanted to no the % On approval rating I was advised that it was 100% i searched the business online an seen they had an A+ raiting with the BBB so I believed him and called back did the application with my wife the sales manager called us 2-3 hours later and said we CANT get you approved (I was told 100%) he then said I need more income instead of your wife (my wife's credit is not great at all) so I had my brother call and act like a co-signer we called a few times over a few days and kept getting told he would ask his finance guy and call back (still have not got a call) so at this point I emailed there website advising how disgusted I was with the company being untruthful and ignoring there customers I then got a reply from *** **** (dealer principle) advising me he took a look into everything and it's because of credit (I realize that's why I was applying at a bad credit place that has 100% approval) he then emailed asking if I will take a pre own RV if he can make it happen (that what I was looking for not new) I said yes and he advised me that he would contact me on Monday again I waited and trusted this company ( he's the owner of course he would keep his word) again no reply back at the end of the day this company **** to there potential customers and have NO attention to detail or customer service***************** ?*************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

Desired Settlement
I am not sure how I want this resolved obviously off my credit report (the inquires) and ???

Business Response
Good afternoon,

Due to the nature of the inquiry dealing with Privacy and Personal Credit information, we are not in a position to discuss this matter further in an open forum.

We invite the client to call or visit us in person to discuss further.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I feel this response was not a response I stand by my original complaint because I was mislead not only from the sales manager but the owner/operator of the company I do not feel it is my responsibility to contact them when this company is in the wrong I have zero trust in this company to waste my time as well as there's they can email me at the email they have to discuss but at this point it is not my responsibility I am not in the wrong

Thanks

Final Business Response
Thank you once again for taking time out of your busy schedule to let us know your frustration with the credit department.

Rest assured that we are disappointed with the results as well. Afterall we only get paid if the banks pay us. And you only get the product if the bank lends the funds.

Once again we must defer to our original stance that our bank and privacy requirements prohibit us from discussing your personal credit in public.

Thank you once again.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I will consider this issue closed and NOT resolved it is apparent that this business does not care about the issue at hand the original complaint was the misleading a customer into doing a credit application at no point did I ask to discuss my credit on and "open form"and that is there response it's a shame that the owner of the company is involved in this issue and has no care about customer interactions with his employees

01/25/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Requesting Refund of warranty
Purchased a trailer April 30, 2015 and because the trailer was being financed through ********* we had to also purchase the $3,000 warranty plus taxes. The warranty with **** who 401 Auto uses does not take affect until April 30, 2016. We have since sold the trailer and requesting a refund from **** and they said I had to contact 401 Auto. 401 Auto says no refund. A review of the warranty contract does not stipulate that the policy cannot be cancelled and further the warranty doesn't take affect until April 30, 2016. We want our money back and also this is negative billing.

Desired Settlement
Refund of warranty

Business Response
Thank you Mrs ****** for your inquiry.

As we previously mentioned in our earlier emails, there is no provision for cancellation of the Service Contract. However there is a transfer option. Contact us directly if you wish to exercise this option.

Once again thank you for your past business and best wishes for the Christmas and holiday season

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
His response does not address what my point is. He keeps referring to a transfer which is not what I am asking for.

My point is that the contract does not address a cancellation policy, it does not state that we cannot cancel without a refund. Nowhere in the wordings does it say that. Further the contract does not start until April of 2016 therefore a full refund is being

Final Business Response
We believe our point has been made and consider this matter to be closed for further comment on our part, as we believe that the client is not entirely relaying an accurate account of this matter.

If the client continues to disagree, they may pursue whatever avenues that are available to them.

We are confident that we have acted in good faith. And will not allocate more time to this matter only to convey the same message over and over. The **** company contract has NO PROVISION FOR CANCELLATION. ONLY TRANSFER.

We have offered the client "good will" and have been met with no flexibility on the client's part whatsoever. We are a fair company and appreciate every one of our clients valued business.


Thank you.

401 Auto RV Canada.



Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Nothing has changed. The left hand isn't talking to the right hand. All contracts should have a refund option and this one doesn't. It does not state that the premium charged is 100 percent earned, it does not state a minimum retained and doesn't state that you can not cancel. Based on this 401 Auto and **** is absolutely wrong and owe the money back as the contract doesn't start until April of 2016. There is an obligation for 401 Auto and **** to fulfill this request.
I will be sure to explore any avenues to escalate this matter.

There is no exaggeration and I have the email conversations to confirm this.

Further, there was no good faith at all, and if you think by offering a store credit to your store will satisfy this you will be absolutely wrong. As well trying to sell a trailer to us that is worth double the price is ******** not good faith.

This matter will not be dropped until I am completely satisfied by receiving a full refund.

11/02/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was told I was getting an awd suv and found out it was an fwd
When I went to but my equinox truck I was told by the sales person (***** ********) that the truck was an awd truck, and thats what I wanted. So I agreed to buy this vehicle. At the time I eas sighing the papers I noticed that it said fwd and I asked him about that and he stated that it was all awd and not sure why it said that. The lady that also worked there said the same thong to him and he stated again that it was an awd. I didn't think much about it cause I thought it was just a mistake. So I bought it and as O was driving home a light came on and I found out that I had no air in my 2 front tires. So when I got home I thought what else is wrong with this truck. So I brpught it in to get an oil change and I asked them to check out rear differential fluid for the awd. That is when they informed me that my vehicle didnt have one and that I have a fwd not an awd truck. I eas very ******. Iwas told that it is cheeper for Inc for an fwd then an awd truck. So later on I called my Inc company to see what they put my truck under and they registered it as well as an awd truck. So they had to adjust my policy and fix my rate. As I was paying to much for it if it was only an fwd. I do have a paper confirming this that it was registered as an awd. Which the company did. I am very not happy as I was sold a vehicle that if I knew I wouldn't of bought. I would of kept looking. But I was told different. I felt very rushed through to whole thing. My warranty from ****** wide also as my vehicle as a awd in with the company did that registration as well. When I thought that they were going to fix their problem. They now told me that, that never happened. I have proof from my Insurance that when I bought this vehicle that the company registered it as an awd and I also have my policy from ****** **** that it is also registered as an awd which the company did that as well.

Desired Settlement
An awd vehicle that is what I wanted in the first place with low kg

Business Response
Good afternoon and thank you for your inquiry.

First of all we would like to take the time to point out some inaccuracies that are contained in Ms *******'s initial case description: Bear in mind that this is now ONE YEAR LATER. However we keep very detailed files of all transactions.

*The vehicle was sold as FWD, and at no point was it ever referred to as an all wheel drive.

*Our paperwork and bill of sale clearly state FWD

*At no point did an employee mention to her that it was an AWD, and certainly not an error on the paperwork. This is either a mistake by the client, or a deliberate attempt to mislead the BBB with false and defamatory statements. THIS IS SIMPLY NOT TRUE. We have made contact with the other employee that no longer works with our company. She remembers the client and categorically denies Ms *******'s claim that she was told the vehicle was AWD.

*Registration: As a dealer or individual, we do not have the option to register a vehicle in any other way than what it was originally licensed with the MTO by the manufacturer. We simply do not have the ability to make such a change.

*Insurance: We do not have the ability to insure a vehicle on behalf of a client. It is the client's responsibility to insure their vehicle and correspond with their insurance agent. If her insurance company inputted it incorrectly... this is not something within our control or responsibility.

Over the past month we have been in close contact with Ms ******* regarding this matter. Our paperwork clearly states that the vehicle she purchased a year ago is in fact a FWD and not all wheel drive.

It seems that she has received incorrect information possibly from the extended warranty company or some other source that may have made an internal error inputting the vehicle into their system.

Our bill of sale and service RO clearly states:
"2008 ********* ******* LS FWD V6"
This paperwork is indisputable and contains Ms *******'s initials and signatures.

We have attempted to assist Ms ******* in her desire to trade-in the vehicle and finding her something that she would prefer to drive. This process is pending as I type this letter.

As always, we strive to provide the best possible service (before and after the sale) to all of our clients. Ms ******* is no exception to this.

We will continue to try and put a deal together with her that will satisfy the bank approval requirements as well as both Ms *******'s and the company's best interests. We appreciate Ms *******'s business and look forward to a happy resolution to this matter soon.


Thank you

*** ****

08/17/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Multiple issues - false sales, forcing extended warranty for item that is not even on the trailer and minimal followup regarding the concerns. We provided a $500.00 deposit (to hold the trailer) that was not taken from the sales price but we had to wait for refund cheque from head office for over a month. Finance person indicated the extended warranty was required to keep the interest rate at the offered rate and monthly charge down. This extended warranty would cover the propane fridge if it ever stopped working. On pick up day - came to find it did not even have this fridge - electricity only! We can buy a replacement fridge for $150. Indicated the trailer had stabalizers installed but they were not. Duel propane/electricity fridge would be great for long travels since keeps food cold and could pull off road for "break and eat in the trailer" since food would be cold (no need for ice and coolers) - was not in the trailer. A week after pickup the trailer, when asked about these items, they indicate it has been "forwarded to Head office". The only follow up we have received is around the add-a-room that they were going to charge $1000.00 for but ended up being included. They now have it in stock but until the extended warranty is removed or reviewed, they can keep it for us.
Product_Or_Service: Trailer

Desired Settlement
I would like the bill of sale adjusted to have the entire extended warranty removed without the interest rate being increased. A written explanation as to why it has taken so long to follow up with us.

Business Response
Hello *******

*** **** here from CampMart 401 Auto RV Canada.

I received your correspondence with the BBB today and was quite surprised that such a simple matter was not handled immediately by my Barrie team.

We have a major expansion on the way in the Barrie location, and are building up
our clientele portfolio in the interim. The last thing that we need is to have unhappy clients.
I wish that you and I had sat down to review and rectify your situation sooner. I assure you that this issue is most certainly isolated. And that we do not conduct business in the manner that you have described. Our goal is 100% client satisfaction and a Happy Camping Experience every time.

Kindly drop me a line when you get a moment so that we can go over your requests and
find a happy solution that works.

PS. We will be holding a job fair in the early spring of 2016, in the interim if you know of
anyone that may be looking for work we would be pleased to chat with them and begin to build our team as soon as possible. Let me know if you know of anyone that may fit.

Chat soon


*** ****

401 Auto RV Canada inc.
Camp-Mart
X-XXX-XXX-XXXX
www.401auto.ca

06/15/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On April 28th I saw an add in the ******* *** for a Bh 27 bunkhouse trailer stk715T reg price 28995 on sale for 16995 big red bold letters save 12000
I inquired immediately and received a confirmation number. I also during this time inquired about trading in my 2005 trailerr and would they accept trade ins as well. During this time Several flyers were emailed to me with the same trailer save 12000 (I still have all the flyers that were emailed to me) when I went to look at the trailer they tried to sell me a 2016 Pioneer 27 ft bunk house trailer. Telling me this was the one in the add I went to the manager and told them I was there to see the trailer in the add that was emailed to me. I waited for half hour while the service lady took my phone to the manager to show him the add. There response was that the trailer in the add was used and was sold weeks ago. They are still advertising the same trailer 12000 off which I find very irritating because that is not the case at all. I also told them it was false advertising and I would be reporting them. The lure people in by lying and totally false advertising.

Desired Settlement
I do not think they should be able to continue to be able to false advertise company name is 401 auto and rv Cambridge ontario location

Business Response
Good afternoon,

After reviewing the comments by the potential client, we cannot recall such an event. We do not advertise units that are sold, however timing is everything as they say. And we would like the opportunity to earn her valued business and her trust.

The used trailer that she was interested in is now sold, however if she would like to reconsider a deal we would be pleased to offer her A BRAND NEW ONE FOR THE SAME SALE PRICE of $16,995 + freight and pdi, admin and HST.

We can evaluate her trade in once we see it to do a proper appraisal.

We never deliberately mislead our valued clients in our advertising. And would be happy to have her as a client if she would have us as her dealer.

Thanks

*** ****

President

Consumer Response
Although I find it very hard to believe that they do not recall the occurrence considering there are over 40 pcs of correspondence between myself and them and they did have a paper quote stating the offer of 47 dollars a month for 20 years the day I visited, I would like to request further information as the response was very vague. Are they offering me the 27 ft ******* BH that they continue to advertise or another trailer? The reason I was looking to upgrade is because of specific features this trailer had Eg:rear door entrance to bathroom with tub and double bunks in the back. The specs were emailed to me on Apr 28 and are attached. I would also request information concerning the "fees" they are referring to and if they are still going to honor the trade in value that had
been discussed. In order to accept this offer I need to know the exact year, make and model of trailer and a detailed summary of the complete transaction detailing any and all charges like the one they presented to me at their sales location. During my telephone conversation with ***** a trade in value of 9000.00 was acknowledged and I expect this to be honoured however I do understand that if my description does not meet what I have communicated to them this will affect the price( I also have an emailed copy of what I sent if required)



Final Business Response
Please feel free to contact the dealership personally to discuss further.

Thank you

Page 1 of 3

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - Used Cars, Campers - Dealers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 13/06/2012Business started: 01/04/2012
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Ontario Motor Vehicle Industry Council
789 Don Mills Rd, Suite 800
North York, ON M3C 1T5
(800) 943-6002
http://www.omvic.on.ca

BBB records show a license number of OMVIC for this company, issued by Ontario Motor Vehicle Industry Council. Their web address is http://www.omvic.on.ca.

Type: Provincial

Type: unknown

Business Management
Principal: Mr Jim Rose (Owner)
Contact Information
Mr Ruby Baines (Owner)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars, Campers - Dealers

Alternate Business Names
Camp Mart

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for 401 Auto RV Canada Inc.

2200 Eagle St N

Cambridge, ON N3H 0A1

To | From

LocationsX

4 Locations

  • 2200 Eagle St N 

    Cambridge, ON N3H 0A1(519) 650-4771

  • 325 Ingersoll St 

    Ingersoll, ON N5C 3J7(519) 485-2100

  • 2060 Commerce Park Dr 

    Innisfil, ON L9S 4A3

  • 29 Paris Rd 

    Paris, ON N3L 3J1

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in BBB Central Ontario. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*401 Auto RV Canada Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (705) 881-4771
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on January 21, 2014.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - Used Cars

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.